EDFL moves

I'm a born and bred Essendon boy living in the country these days. I like checking out EDFL moves to find out what is going on football wise but lately it seems to have turned into a bogan festival gossip site. Can we please get back to genuine football stories and information please.

ps saw the Abers v Douttas game. Top contest I thought. Carey was fantastic not just in his leading and presenting but refusing to do any u-turns and dishing off by hand. He probably gave off 5-6 goals IMO. Mind you no.38 seemed to start 2 metres behind him all day but that said it's always easier when your'e sinking a couple of cold ones in the outer. Any tips for this week?

The middle core player's along with younger player's will test your club come finals time.
A couple of those players you have named will go missing come finals time and when the pressure is applied.
Let's not get carried away with VFL listed players now saintson, it's now hard to be listed at VFL club!
Torts, Mocca, Bouza are experienced players and will stand up when the pressure is on and let's not forget A.Lurara.
No one talks about this bloke but in my opinion he is the best footballer at the Northern Saints, can play anywhere on the ground.
Time will tell, it's only my opinion.

Age is highly rated around the club, both on and off the field. Left him out as I was talking about players that had that experience at a higher level. And Nunz was tremendous last week across half back. Not getting carried away either by the way just giving reasons why we won't 'fade out'. It may not be hard to be listed but Mills, Nunz, Bouza did quite well at that level and Torts starred for Coburg for a while there.

Considering all that experience plus guys like Titsa that have been around for years, we still have quite a young list. Blokes like Boris, Rocky, Charles, Morgo, Zee, Col, Grayzy, Macheda, Vergs still have plenty of football of years of football left in them. Bouza is only 26 and was unlucky to miss a spot in Grenvales flag last year.

With some solid talent coming though the 16s and 18s, the next few years are going to be good for all the long suffering BOPS/Fawkner fans and new fans alike.

Back to the footy talk.

The last game of the first half of the season can surely see us line up where all sides are at and who is going to be a chance to threaten the juggernaut from Section Rd.

All games except for Greenvale v Oak Park could go either way.

Greenvale will be too strong, they will rest some players with minor injuries and win comfortably they will, Hakim to kick 13. Greenvale by 124 points

Strathmore v Keilor

Strathmore starting to find some form and Keilor just continue to let all opposing teams know they are going to be the major threat this year to Greenvale’s back to back assault. The only downside to this game will be the fact it is played on the worst ground in the competition and I doubt even the Strathmore people would dispute that.
Mighty Mick, for a 1st year EDFL coach, knows a hell of a lot about the opposition. As all good coaches do, he does plenty of homework and will have most bases covered.
Strathmore will be keen to get Doering back and if he plays Gluschenko will get the job; Harvey will be picked up by Zahra unless he has a run up forward as he has done at times this year, Clifton will go to Winter who has found some form over the last few weeks. Good to see Mark Zucco back in the mix at Keilor and could get a job on any of the three stars. Whilst at the other end, Little to Houlihan and Robson will perhaps get James (who could also get Winter) or Clinnick if he’s back in. The midfield battle is going to be a ripper and the strength of Keilor out ways Strathmore’s now that the experience of Holman is no longer and May seems to spend more time on a wing, Ricky Marcy has been in career best form this year and is getting amongst the goals as usual and he is well supported by his brother along with Dann, Moloney and Fraser. Keilor’s depth is what will set them apart at the business end of the year and they will continue on their winning form and notch up 7 on the trot. Keilor by 27 points

Craigieburn v Marbi Park

This is a monster game for both clubs with Marbi needing the win to cement a spot in the four especially if Keilor can beat Strathmore whilst Craigieburn need to win desperately to stay in touch with the run to the finals. It is disappointing that new recruit Chris Stewart will miss through suspension as I couldn’t see the Eagles having a match up for him. Nugent missed last week but could be back this week and would be an ideal match up for Benny Kinnear, Wrigley will most probably get the in form Palmer and Pretty will go to Ayres if he starts forward. I can’t see Craigieburn having enough class for Marbi’s onballers in Butters, Broadbent, Laverde, Gray, Crawford and Karavais. In the ruck Brooksy will beat Kelly I think and he will need to be in form as big Barry dominates in general play especially at their home ground. Nugget Nolan is one of the leading goal scorers in the comp this year as always and will need to be stopped perhaps a Robbins or Matty Towner could get him. The one area where Craigieburn could expose Marbi is if they are able to expose some of Marbi’s loose checking defenders and play through the likes of Adsy Turners, Nolan and the ever dangerous Kenna. I still think Marbi are finally gelling as a team and will establish a position of 3rd on the ladder. Marbi by 19 points

West Coburg v Douttas

Another crucial game for both teams, both have notched up 3 wins so far and both will be desperate to stay in the finals race. This game however won’t be as simple as stop Kade Carey and win the game. Plenty of Douttas players found some form last week and Abers allowed them to get plenty of ball. Last week it was as if Ramsay and King brought their own footy to Buckley Park, hopefully they can be joined in the midfield by Dave Caccamo, who was a late withdrawal last week. The likes of Sammy Tankard and Docs also found some touch last week and will be keen to back up again this week. I would say that West Coburg will do everything to crowd Kade’s space and the West Coburg ground isn’t ideal for centre half forwards although he does play in between CHF and full forward. I really don’t know who West will play on him as they don’t have a notable key back, however what they do have is plenty of running backs and players such as Vizzini, Khouri, Abbouchi and Smith will double and or triple team him and mop up when the footy hits the deck. At the other end good to see big Elvy back last week along with Lee Nicko and Stapleton will most likely go to Elvy but after last weeks effort I would give big Garth Hircoe first crack and start Stapleton on Benny Power who pushes up the ground more. Fidaa and Messaike are the wildcards up forward and I’d say Musca for Fidaa and Davidson to run with “jack in the box” Messaike. I would give Benny Weston first crack at Ash Flavel for a change and see how he goes or he could get the run with role on $1.90 medal favourite Rabee Haouchar. I’m tipping Aaron Ramsey to again have a day out and continue his great form this year along with King and Sutton. Douttas by 4 points

Abers v Avondale

Cam Trewin back in this week and will possibly get the job on Shep as he played on him last year, Fab Mastra to get the job on Sammy Watson and the ruck duel between big Ange Mastra if he returns and or Beau Hopkins against Aaron Lerm. Should be a great game as Avondale always seem to find a leg at Clifton Park but hopefully the two blues can get their season back on track. Abers by 2 points

As usual Puff great run down on the round ahead ;) and other then our game i hadnt really paid much attention to the other match ups but yes it would seem that we have 4 pretty important games that could go either way.

Also it would seem the the Oakers game is quite important,as it would seem that tomorrow could be the final nail in the coffin which will be a real shame,good club,good blokes and gee they were a big powerhouse in the early 2000's and were great to watch and had a sensational team who all played for each other,so yeah if it happens it will be sad.

Im being biased but i backed us some time ago not to be a chance of going down(D.S.) but i guess the only chance i can see for the Oakers is Crazyburn and if they can beat them and sneak another couple of wins and if Crazy have a poor second half this could leave the door slightly open ;)

THE DREBSTER

Another good summation there puff.

Here are my tips:

Strath v Keilor - Strathmore by 24 points, hard to go against Keilor but with i think the Mores will continue to improve with important players coming in and the game plan starting to gel they should win at home. Robson BOG

Craigieburn v Marbi
Seen them both play this year and to be honest Marbi look a much better side, Marbi by 60 points as long as it doesnt rain or the sprinklers are left on

West Coburg v Douttas
If WC can find a way to limit Ramsey and Carey they will win, not as easy as it sounds. West Coburg by 25 points

Abers v Avondale
Abers must bounce back this week. With so many injuries from last week it might be tough but unlike recent years Abers have the depth to do it...Like lastyear it will be close, abers by 1 point

Another good summation there puff.

Here are my tips:

Strath v Keilor - Strathmore by 24 points, hard to go against Keilor but with i think the Mores will continue to improve with important players coming in and the game plan starting to gel they should win at home. Robson BOG

Craigieburn v Marbi
Seen them both play this year and to be honest Marbi look a much better side, Marbi by 60 points as long as it doesnt rain or the sprinklers are left on

West Coburg v Douttas
If WC can find a way to limit Ramsey and Carey they will win, not as easy as it sounds. West Coburg by 25 points

Abers v Avondale
Abers must bounce back this week. With so many injuries from last week it might be tough but unlike recent years Abers have the depth to do it...Like lastyear it will be close, abers by 1 point

Gotta say after all the preseason spruiking and then the first month of pumping the tryes up on the abers bandwagon , I am amazed at how quickly it has deflated . what was it 10 or so new players, 3 new coaches and the two blues were in town .... surely your not predicting 1 or 2 point win against an 8th placed side who have won 3 of 8
is there some doubt creeping into the camp ?

puff what is going on there ,what is a pass mark on the season ?

Really looking forward to the Strathmore V Keilor clash. It will be a good gauge to see where both teams are at. They match up pretty well, and always play out a humdinger no matter where either side is placed on the ladder.

The Club was set for A Grade.

Tess , I dont want to rain on the parade here , the saints are doin a fantastic job , but you are 2 yrs and 10- 14 players off being able to be competitive in Agrade

the difference between the grades is at its highest its ever been at the moment. Which ever club that gets promoted in 2009 will need to be prepared to budget $90kmin ( to match the bottom clubs in Agrade ) and ensure they have at least 6 topline players that would get a game for any of the top 3 sides and then 6 quality players and a host of depth after that..... just to avoid relegation

I think if Oak Park or Douttas played any Bgrade side tomorrow they would win by 10 goals

Really looking forward to the Strathmore V Keilor clash. It will be a good gauge to see where both teams are at. They match up pretty well, and always play out a humdinger no matter where either side is placed on the ladder.

It is unfortunate that this game has to be played on that shit heap at Strathmore. The EDFL should exercise a "duty of care" and shift the game.
Rumour has it Strathmore would never agree to that because they have a Ladies Lunch on :thumbsdown:

I think you'll find it's the 1998 Premiership reunion... I wonder if Oggo will pass up the opportunity to get pole-axed down at Lebanon Reserve or whether he'll line up for the 'Roys, who've got a massive clash against Tulla!

Tips round 9

Greenvale v Oak Park - 88pts - Way too strong.
Keilor v Strathmore - 28pts - Form hard to knock atm
Craigieburn v Marby - 13pts - Must win to stay in touch with 4
Doutta v West Coburg - 1pt - Carey another 8
Abers v Avondale - 14pts - Don't know why ???

Is Oak Park the only team that realistically can't make finals ?
Thoughts ?

Tess , I dont want to rain on the parade here , the saints are doin a fantastic job , but you are 2 yrs and 10- 14 players off being able to be competitive in Agrade

What I meant was not that the Club is now A Grade competitive, but when we set it up the plan was always to move into A Grade. For reasons better left unsaid I am no longer involved but naturally when the Club was set up it was as an A Grade club. I don't think money will be a problem for the Club, as that was never the problem for Fawkner it was for Bops, at Fawkner it was the management of that funds that was the problem.

Tips round 9

Greenvale v Oak Park - 88pts - Way too strong.
Keilor v Strathmore - 28pts - Form hard to knock atm
Craigieburn v Marby - 13pts - Must win to stay in touch with 4
Doutta v West Coburg - 1pt - Carey another 8
Abers v Avondale - 14pts - Don't know why ???

Is Oak Park the only team that realistically can't make finals ?
Thoughts ?

i think the 4 is pretty well settled with GV, Keilor, Strath and Marbi the stand out teams. There is a definite gap emerging b/w the current top 4 and the rest. Fully firing/fit WC and Abers have shown they are capable of playing good footy, but those 4 are showing it consistently so i think the 4 will remain the same.

the difference between the grades is at its highest its ever been at the moment. Which ever club that gets promoted in 2009 will need to be prepared to budget $90kmin ( to match the bottom clubs in Agrade ) and ensure they have at least 6 topline players that would get a game for any of the top 3 sides and then 6 quality players and a host of depth after that..... just to avoid relegation

I think if Oak Park or Douttas played any Bgrade side tomorrow they would win by 10 goals

Could not agree more! Oak Park would comfortably account for the top half of the B grade ladder.

In regards to Abers my personal thoughts on everything won't get aired on this forum but it's a number of contributing factors that is letting us down at the minute.

I'd say if we can get up tomorrow and be 5 - 4 at half way that's a 100% better than last year's 1 - 8.

I think i speak for all abers faithful when i say that abers expectations at the start of the year would be to avoid relegation. We had a close call last year and all of us were gearing up for another tough year. We got lucky catching Keilor and Strathmore off guard in the earlier rounds which may ultimately prove the difference between A grade and B grade.

Also, the 4 is settled, i cant see anyone breaking into it. Hopefully the rain holds out and we have a clean game tomorrow. Go the two blues!!

Age is highly rated around the club, both on and off the field. Left him out as I was talking about players that had that experience at a higher level. And Nunz was tremendous last week across half back. Not getting carried away either by the way just giving reasons why we won't 'fade out'. It may not be hard to be listed but Mills, Nunz, Bouza did quite well at that level and Torts starred for Coburg for a while there.

Considering all that experience plus guys like Titsa that have been around for years, we still have quite a young list. Blokes like Boris, Rocky, Charles, Morgo, Zee, Col, Grayzy, Macheda, Vergs still have plenty of football of years of football left in them. Bouza is only 26 and was unlucky to miss a spot in Grenvales flag last year.

With some solid talent coming though the 16s and 18s, the next few years are going to be good for all the long suffering BOPS/Fawkner fans and new fans alike.

I concur with the comment's you made in relation to Age.
Great bloke and player. In my opinion l just rate him higher than the other's. He might not have played footy at a higher level than some of those bloke's you named, but he is a gun.

Week in week out he will always perform unlike some of the players that you have named. Good player's will perform under pressure and on the big stage, mark my word's he is one.

Could not agree more! Oak Park would comfortably account for the top half of the B grade ladder.

In regards to Abers my personal thoughts on everything won't get aired on this forum but it's a number of contributing factors that is letting us down at the minute.

I'd say if we can get up tomorrow and be 5 - 4 at half way that's a 100% better than last year's 1 - 8.

Who and what is happening down there? Give us the goss!
I'm guessing l know which player it would be, new to the club and has a prior history of it?

Who and what is happening down there? Give us the goss!
I'm guessing l know which player it would be, new to the club and has a prior history of it?

Nothing major at all - as i said no need to air little things that most clubs go through when they have a poor patch.

We've had a couple of lean weeks - time to step up today!

The feeling around the place Thursday night was the best it's been for weeks. Deano took 90% of training and the track was buzzing.

What player are you talking about. PM me if you're not keen on airing it?

What I meant was not that the Club is now A Grade competitive, but when we set it up the plan was always to move into A Grade. For reasons better left unsaid I am no longer involved but naturally when the Club was set up it was as an A Grade club. I don't think money will be a problem for the Club, as that was never the problem for Fawkner it was for Bops, at Fawkner it was the management of that funds that was the problem.
Tess please get your head out of the sand...didnt your presdent rip you off last year?Now dont lie!!! as I know your number one sponsor and he wasn"t a happy man. Lucky for you he still whats to help out.:cool:

Back to the footy talk.

The last game of the first half of the season can surely see us line up where all sides are at and who is going to be a chance to threaten the juggernaut from Section Rd.

All games except for Greenvale v Oak Park could go either way.

Greenvale will be too strong, they will rest some players with minor injuries and win comfortably they will, Hakim to kick 13. Greenvale by 124 points

Strathmore v Keilor

Strathmore starting to find some form and Keilor just continue to let all opposing teams know they are going to be the major threat this year to Greenvale’s back to back assault. The only downside to this game will be the fact it is played on the worst ground in the competition and I doubt even the Strathmore people would dispute that.
Mighty Mick, for a 1st year EDFL coach, knows a hell of a lot about the opposition. As all good coaches do, he does plenty of homework and will have most bases covered.
Strathmore will be keen to get Doering back and if he plays Gluschenko will get the job; Harvey will be picked up by Zahra unless he has a run up forward as he has done at times this year, Clifton will go to Winter who has found some form over the last few weeks. Good to see Mark Zucco back in the mix at Keilor and could get a job on any of the three stars. Whilst at the other end, Little to Houlihan and Robson will perhaps get James (who could also get Winter) or Clinnick if he’s back in. The midfield battle is going to be a ripper and the strength of Keilor out ways Strathmore’s now that the experience of Holman is no longer and May seems to spend more time on a wing, Ricky Marcy has been in career best form this year and is getting amongst the goals as usual and he is well supported by his brother along with Dann, Moloney and Fraser. Keilor’s depth is what will set them apart at the business end of the year and they will continue on their winning form and notch up 7 on the trot. Keilor by 27 points

Craigieburn v Marbi Park

This is a monster game for both clubs with Marbi needing the win to cement a spot in the four especially if Keilor can beat Strathmore whilst Craigieburn need to win desperately to stay in touch with the run to the finals. It is disappointing that new recruit Chris Stewart will miss through suspension as I couldn’t see the Eagles having a match up for him. Nugent missed last week but could be back this week and would be an ideal match up for Benny Kinnear, Wrigley will most probably get the in form Palmer and Pretty will go to Ayres if he starts forward. I can’t see Craigieburn having enough class for Marbi’s onballers in Butters, Broadbent, Laverde, Gray, Crawford and Karavais. In the ruck Brooksy will beat Kelly I think and he will need to be in form as big Barry dominates in general play especially at their home ground. Nugget Nolan is one of the leading goal scorers in the comp this year as always and will need to be stopped perhaps a Robbins or Matty Towner could get him. The one area where Craigieburn could expose Marbi is if they are able to expose some of Marbi’s loose checking defenders and play through the likes of Adsy Turners, Nolan and the ever dangerous Kenna. I still think Marbi are finally gelling as a team and will establish a position of 3rd on the ladder. Marbi by 19 points

West Coburg v Douttas

Another crucial game for both teams, both have notched up 3 wins so far and both will be desperate to stay in the finals race. This game however won’t be as simple as stop Kade Carey and win the game. Plenty of Douttas players found some form last week and Abers allowed them to get plenty of ball. Last week it was as if Ramsay and King brought their own footy to Buckley Park, hopefully they can be joined in the midfield by Dave Caccamo, who was a late withdrawal last week. The likes of Sammy Tankard and Docs also found some touch last week and will be keen to back up again this week. I would say that West Coburg will do everything to crowd Kade’s space and the West Coburg ground isn’t ideal for centre half forwards although he does play in between CHF and full forward. I really don’t know who West will play on him as they don’t have a notable key back, however what they do have is plenty of running backs and players such as Vizzini, Khouri, Abbouchi and Smith will double and or triple team him and mop up when the footy hits the deck. At the other end good to see big Elvy back last week along with Lee Nicko and Stapleton will most likely go to Elvy but after last weeks effort I would give big Garth Hircoe first crack and start Stapleton on Benny Power who pushes up the ground more. Fidaa and Messaike are the wildcards up forward and I’d say Musca for Fidaa and Davidson to run with “jack in the box” Messaike. I would give Benny Weston first crack at Ash Flavel for a change and see how he goes or he could get the run with role on $1.90 medal favourite Rabee Haouchar. I’m tipping Aaron Ramsey to again have a day out and continue his great form this year along with King and Sutton. Douttas by 4 points

Abers v Avondale

Cam Trewin back in this week and will possibly get the job on Shep as he played on him last year, Fab Mastra to get the job on Sammy Watson and the ruck duel between big Ange Mastra if he returns and or Beau Hopkins against Aaron Lerm. Should be a great game as Avondale always seem to find a leg at Clifton Park but hopefully the two blues can get their season back on track. Abers by 2 points
Gezzzzzzz puffpuff .........your should write for the paper.well done !!!!!!!:thumbsu:

Marby defeated Craigieburn by 2 goals after trailing by 7 goals at 3/4 time. Craigieburn was out coached in the last quarter. Ziros went forward and became a great option and Laverede dominated in the middle. Definately, one that got away for the Eagles.