EDFL moves

Deefer4 said:
I'll answer that for you. The site is being revamped, not before time either. Current site is well........ drab!
Transfer list on line. Board of EDFL, in their typical manner, showing they are still a generation behind, decreed that it will not be done. Can be done easily, but they refuse. Thought those days were gone with Reg Rose & Neil Wood.:rolleyes:

Its a joke these edfl officals... the amount of money they make during the season and during finals time its a joke,they have money in the bank and they wont spend it! Hopefully matty can get into there ears again and make them do something about it, the wrfl have a much better web site than us and there comp isnt as good as the edfl. You really have to question where there brains are some times?

Deefer4 said:
I'll answer that for you. The site is being revamped, not before time either. Current site is well........ drab!
Transfer list on line. Board of EDFL, in their typical manner, showing they are still a generation behind, decreed that it will not be done. Can be done easily, but they refuse. Thought those days were gone with Reg Rose & Neil Wood.:rolleyes:
Reg Rose groomed Ian Price pretty well and Neil Wood's ghost could still be lurking in Stan's office.They won't listen to Matty because they don't like him.

Re: Keilor Night Series!

Travvy43 said:
Scorcher will be good on the panel for the EDFL comments however if he continues to make comments about clayton only being half the player of paxman then he will only make a fool of himself.

The standard of the GV speaks for itself and it does not need me or Tige pumping it up, people who play in it know what type of footy it is.

Below are just a few other names to ask what they think the standard of the league is like last year.

Anothony Stevens
Andrian Hickmont
Shane Clayton
Darren hulme
David Mench
Trent Hotton
Shannon Gibson
Blake Campbell
Derek Hall
Anthony Mellington

Another two to add for the list of people to ask this year.
Mark Porter
Rory Hilton

These blokes just scratch the surface of the players in the comp. There are a lot of very good locals that people in melbourne would know nothing about:
Joffa Anderson
Rhys Archard
Paul Newman
Matt Byres
Brad Campbell
Chris McCarty

The list could go on

All these blokes come to the league for one reason, it is good footy and clean footy. Lets leave it at that.

Cheers

Mate, I spoke to Shaun 'Scorcher' Triplett and he reckons you rate the GV way to highly. He said it is great skilled and fast with big grounds, but hardly any difference with the EDFL of 2005 and this year with all the recruits.

In response to your email- He said which all sounds logical-

*Anthony Stevens - 10 games only.

*Darren Hulme only played 4 games. Can't be bothered playing football anymore is how serious he took it.

*He said Trent Hotton plays in it, because its EASY.

*Dave Mench plays in it because he gets $60K per year to coach. Rekons the Geelong FL is much better.

*Hickmott was going to coach Moonee Valley but the only reason his there because they offered $40K.
*Shannon Gibson - Is bigger than me these days he reckons.
* Derek Hall!!! How old? He makes Shaun Smith look young.
* Anthony Merrington is only there as he wanted a softer comp after being king hit suffering a broken jaw.

Should I go on any further about the great GV you and ONE other have mentioned.
He say's - Reece Archard wasn't taller enough to be a Jockey.
The others are Local Boys, whose towns love them.
Shane Clayton had 50 kicks in the G.Final, because they don't man up.

He said Brendon Hair kicked 8.4 two years ago in the G.Final. Lets see if he can come close to that in an EDFL G.Final.

Othere good points-
Saad Saad kicked 99 goals in 14 games. Say's its EASY...
Joey Amad a friend of mine is 37 y.o and is dominating.

Lastly- Minton Connell would kick 180 in that Comp that is suppose to be rated so high.

Scorcher says the best thing about the Comp was the great Chicken Steaks on G.Final Day.

Scorcher is an idiot, and so are you... there is no doubt the GVFL would smash the EDFL, no doubt whatsoever and i dont follow either of those leagues... the WRFL is better to have got rid of Scorcher, hes a big mouth and speaks before he thinks... Everyone knows the GVFL is the best standard footy outside VFL, along with the Amateurs... give up on talking the EDFL up, they are just an average league at best...

Matthew Pillios said:
Mate, I spoke to Shaun 'Scorcher' Triplett and he reckons you rate the GV way to highly. He said it is great skilled and fast with big grounds, but hardly any difference with the EDFL of 2005 and this year with all the recruits.

*Darren Hulme only played 4 games. Can't be bothered playing football anymore is how serious he took it.

*Dave Mench plays in it because he gets $60K per year to coach. Rekons the Geelong FL is much better.

*Hickmott was going to coach Moonee Valley but the only reason his there because they offered $40K.
* Anthony Merrington is only there as he wanted a softer comp after being king hit suffering a broken jaw.

He said Brendon Hair kicked 8.4 two years ago in the G.Final. Lets see if he can come close to that in an EDFL G.Final.

Othere good points-

Lastly- Minton Connell would kick 180 in that Comp that is suppose to be rated so high.

Scorcher says the best thing about the Comp was the great Chicken Steaks on G.Final Day.

Matty obviously you and scortcher have spent some time on this. The point is all these ex afl players are past their best, we all know that, this is why they are not playing AFL anymore.

Stevens is a gun and would run rings around anyone in the EDFL.

Hulme, yeah hearrt was not in it, probably the reason he was dumped by Carlton, Mansfield took a punt on him and injuries worked against him.

Trent hotton remark is rediculous, no need for comment on that one

Mench, money talks, just look at your club this year. As for the GV v GFL comparison, all we have to go on is interleague resuls, i will let you research last years result.

Hickmont, again money talks, great player, i can understand you would be disappointed missing out on him at MV.

Gibson, well i have not seen you before matty, but if what is posted on this thread is correct, gibson would be the size of one of your legs.

Hall yeah getting on, but good on him for being still in a shape to play in a major league, alah smith.

Mellington, silly comment, thought you could come upw ith something better than that.

Rhys Archard, you have come up with something petty here, do your research, his performances speak for themselves.

Noone could keep up with clayton (result 50 P's)

Heir, is a purple patch player, had one GV GF day two years ago.

Saad is a freak

Amad is a gun, even he would admit though this last year he has slowed up a step, still knows where the pill is, ask him for yourself at Doms over lunch today.

SMC comment, highly unlikely, back to the drawing board on that one.

Looking forward to scorchers chicken steak reports on the EDFL show this year, because judging by this post from you (and him) his football judgement especially about the GV is a bit off the mark.

I am not saying that one is better than the other, but posts of this nature can go on and on.

Travvy43 said:
Matty obviously you and scortcher have spent some time on this. The point is all these ex afl players are past their best, we all know that, this is why they are not playing AFL anymore.

Stevens is a gun and would run rings around anyone in the EDFL.

Hulme, yeah hearrt was not in it, probably the reason he was dumped by Carlton, Mansfield took a punt on him and injuries worked against him.

Trent hotton remark is rediculous, no need for comment on that one

Mench, money talks, just look at your club this year. As for the GV v GFL comparison, all we have to go on is interleague resuls, i will let you research last years result.

Hickmont, again money talks, great player, i can understand you would be disappointed missing out on him at MV.

Gibson, well i have not seen you before matty, but if what is posted on this thread is correct, gibson would be the size of one of your legs.

Hall yeah getting on, but good on him for being still in a shape to play in a major league, alah smith.

Mellington, silly comment, thought you could come upw ith something better than that.

Rhys Archard, you have come up with something petty here, do your research, his performances speak for themselves.

Noone could keep up with clayton (result 50 P's)

Heir, is a purple patch player, had one GV GF day two years ago.

Saad is a freak

Amad is a gun, even he would admit though this last year he has slowed up a step, still knows where the pill is, ask him for yourself at Doms over lunch today.

SMC comment, highly unlikely, back to the drawing board on that one.

Looking forward to scorchers chicken steak reports on the EDFL show this year, because judging by this post from you (and him) his football judgement especially about the GV is a bit off the mark.

I am not saying that one is better than the other, but posts of this nature can go on and on.

Take it easy that Kodak bloke. No need for names.

Trav, how do you know I am just about to go and have lunch at Dom's for a Tuna/Calamari Special???

And yes it was all Scorchers mail.

Matthew Pillios said:

Othere good points-

Is this serious??? Matthew if there was an award for the most idiotic, un-informed post ever on Bigfooty then that would have won it. Thats saying alot as well, ive been on this site for a good 3 years and your last post just takes the cake.

Take your head out of the ground mate and realise that the EDFL is just a good local football league. Its not the best, its not the worst in fact its probably in the top 6 or 7 in Victoria but mate its an insult to mention it in the same breath as the GV. What do you know about the 2 leagues that 99% of the other regional board posters dont???

Ill have to watch the EDFL footy show to see this Matthew fella, can he play or what?? or is he just a twit who raves on and on and on without ever really making sense??

well said!!! I used to play in the EDFL and still watch games now and went to the GVFL GF last year and it was simply the best match of local footy i have ever seen. Pillios needs to swallow his pride and just realise that the EDFL is a strong comp but is quite off the mark compared to the GVFL. I wonder which club will be GA's next project...marby would be nothing without his cheque book, the foundations of a club are based around locals who love the jumper not imports who come in getting jobs and big $$$, in turn driving those locals and juniors away and they are very difficult to retrieve...

Kodak22 said:
Scorcher is an idiot, and so are you... there is no doubt the GVFL would smash the EDFL, no doubt whatsoever and i dont follow either of those leagues... the WRFL is better to have got rid of Scorcher, hes a big mouth and speaks before he thinks... Everyone knows the GVFL is the best standard footy outside VFL, along with the Amateurs... give up on talking the EDFL up, they are just an average league at best...

I think the best way to settle this is with an intra league.But saying that i know clubs have premierships on there mind so the leagues need to get on board with a great outfit plenty of booze for the players. A friend of mine played the country championships last year in Wang and his league flew him up from melbourne. Someone needs to organise a proper cup to play for and at a time when it suits the leagues and clubs.
PS leave the edfl alone and ******** off back to your leagues page!!!!

tige19 said:
Is this serious??? Matthew if there was an award for the most idiotic, un-informed post ever on Bigfooty then that would have won it. Thats saying alot as well, ive been on this site for a good 3 years and your last post just takes the cake.

Take your head out of the ground mate and realise that the EDFL is just a good local football league. Its not the best, its not the worst in fact its probably in the top 6 or 7 in Victoria but mate its an insult to mention it in the same breath as the GV. What do you know about the 2 leagues that 99% of the other regional board posters dont???

Ill have to watch the EDFL footy show to see this Matthew fella, can he play or what?? or is he just a twit who raves on and on and on without ever really making sense??
I cant believe you guys are arguing over this ********. Does it matter who has a better comp? We are all entitled to our opinions but this dragging on. Nobody will ever know unless the 2 play against each other. Names of ex-AFL & ex-VFL players mean ******** all. There are a thousand footballers out there without a name that are gun footballers that either werent given a chance or decided for whatever reason not to play at a higher level. This can (and probably will the way it is going) be argued until we die. The footy is different in most leagues & is hard to compare. The same with Strathmore this year. Although I think they will be hard to beat, they havent won it yet just because they have picked up a lot of new players from a higher level. There have plenty of teams beat better credentialed sides in the past on passion and unity. Time will tell I guess.

scallops i would have to say that is the most sensible and correct statement i've read on all of big footy'
it's true i have seen many so called great players come back to local footy and struggle it's easy on big grounds to get a kick in space it's winning the ball themselves they struggle to do and they have opionions of themselves that far out way their ability.
I must say there have been many great footballers never to have mad afl for one reason or another e.g john lindsay who will play at strathmore if he puts in this year and gets his attitude right he will win the comp medal just take a look at the colts winning last years gf in wrfl he had 35 plus touches and spent 15mins in the sin bin.
what about u scallops u playing at strathmore?

Matthew Pillios said:

Othere good points-

Youve done your homework im impressed

Matty, please don't rely on the word of others to form your opinions - especially when 'Scorcher' is the source.

Take a look at a couple of GV league games and you'll agree that it is clearly better than EDFL.

ROCK07 said:
scallops i would have to say that is the most sensible and correct statement i've read on all of big footy'
it's true i have seen many so called great players come back to local footy and struggle it's easy on big grounds to get a kick in space it's winning the ball themselves they struggle to do and they have opionions of themselves that far out way their ability.
I must say there have been many great footballers never to have mad afl for one reason or another e.g john lindsay who will play at strathmore if he puts in this year and gets his attitude right he will win the comp medal just take a look at the colts winning last years gf in wrfl he had 35 plus touches and spent 15mins in the sin bin.
Nah mate. I will be playing against them though.

ROCK07 said:
Are you Lindsay by any chance, or are you just giving him the meat-wagon?

WRFLfan said:
Youve done your homework im impressed

That was all information from Shaun SCORCHER Triplett who has a lot of knowledge in local footy and does a lot of work with Carlton F.C.

Obviously, there is a moron who has to use names and get so upset.
Maybe he is passionate GV and the truth hurts. I don't know. Blokes shouldn't get upset when others put an opinion in.

Trav43- Joey Amad knew who you are and again said the EDFL now wouldn't be far off. Same with Zerafa.

A lot of people wouldn't realise its miles ahead than it was only 3 years ago.

tige19 said:

Tige19 take another year off champ, l think you may need it by the sounds of it! Next time you go and watch some local footy watch games that are worth watching.
Not everyone can be a no it all like you chump! For simple people like you, and yes YOU he(matty) was quoteing what Scorcher had told him but what would he know....his only pagan right hand man and infact he wouldnt know what a good footballer was if it hit him in the arse.

Matthew Pillios said:

Othere good points-

Read this thread daily because I have mates who play in the EDFL and follow football closely all over Victoria, have watched most leagues we discuss and as a totally independant poster are amazed at some of the one-eyed calls I read on this thread.

Fair dinkum Matt u have really lost any creditability you in my opinion. Get up the bush mate and have a look for yourself, round 1 Euroa vs Seymour. I promise you you'll never see a better standard outside AFL/VFL anywhere in Victoria.

For arguments sake and after the games Ive seen across the board in recent seasons it roughly goes GVFL, EFL, Ammo's, O & M, GFL with DVFL & EDFL about the same in my eyes.

having seen both grand finals last year to say that the gv is not that good is just silly look at the quality of players there ranging from ex afl and vfl plus the local talent.The gv is very strong but still not as good as the diamond valley was from 97 to 02 and like the dv the gv will die in the arse as the clubs will get sick of playing blokes from all over who want big money.And just a reference to a few names saad never dominated the dv like what he is doing now at seymour and joe amads last year at northcote park was a quiet one he has told me that the gv will never be as physical as the diamond valley and now days if you watch the eastern footy league you will see that its by far the strongest league in victoria showcasing the best skill level i have seen at local and country level but still not overly tough just fast free flowing footy

All leagues have their time, at present it's the GV thats attracting the big players by offering the big bucks. As touchofclass suggested it may well move back in favour of the DVFL in a few years as many of the GV recruits hail form those parts. Let them all have there day in the sun because as a spectator it's just great to see the best standard possible every time I look at a draw and think "I might go there for a squizz this week"

Any news on Ezard's mob at Pascoe Vale, how's Johnny Taylor looking?

Disco Bickie said:
EDFL Football = Kick to a pack + Kick to a pack + Kick to a pack

Real good footy that! :thumbsdown:

Next time you come to watch some edfl footy maybe you should get off the disco bickies because by the sounds of it theres not much lefted of you up top or anywhere!

1 Bickie + 1 Bickie + 1 Bickie = brain dead, good work chump.

Disco Bickie said:
EDFL Football = Kick to a pack + Kick to a pack + Kick to a pack

Real good footy that! :thumbsdown:

VAFA Football= Soft + Soft + Soft.

Disco Bickie, i have seen many ammoes games and the standard is good. But dont right yourself the top ticket, there are plenty of good sides out there in the GVFL, and EFL along with sides like Strathmore and Heidelburg. Old Zav's are a great side and their throphy case saids it all, but how are they proven to be Victoria's best football team? In fact most peolpe in your thread conceed a loss to sides Vermont and Seymore