EDFL moves

kingfooty said:
thats fine if you want to make keilor even more money. surely your club can organise good quality matches without helping your opposition become wealthier. maybe thats why their up near the top every year. only the winner gets any decent money out of it and it is always keilor who wins it. take the bar and canteen money and it is like staging finals every year. 10 to 15 grand before round 1 in the bank is very handy, it can pay for a couple of guns. so if you think helping your rivals is a good idea then go for it....

I find your comments very ironic since your club in the Diamond Valley ran a night series in the early - mid 90's and did exactly the same thing as Keilor!!!!!

oldtimer said:
I find your comments very ironic since your club in the Diamond Valley ran a night series in the early - mid 90's and did exactly the same thing as Keilor!!!!!
oldtimer- how do you think i know these things??? I am only stating the facts.

gday fellas

lets get back to some footy news

go roxy!!

how good we are going to be we got some good ex afl players in our side and i rekon we will go all the way in 2006.

go rooooxy!

jovannaidoo said:
gday fellas

lets get back to some footy news

go roxy!!

how good we are going to be we got some good ex afl players in our side and i rekon we will go all the way in 2006.

go rooooxy!

For roxy to win the flag this year they will have to pick up atleast 6 ex afl footballers, Zantuck is only rumoured remember!

EDFL MAN said:
For roxy to win the flag this year they will have to pick up atleast 6 ex afl footballers, Zantuck is only rumoured remember!

we got 4 ex afl players in our team not including zantuck plus we have got better than average footballers that make up the rest of the numbers. we will be unstoppable.

soapyJNR said:
Last year Billy McGee was playing at East Keilor. Does anyone know if he is going around again?
I'm officially retired due to chronic left knee injury. Will saddle up as assistant coach to Gerard Harrington (originally from Sale or Bairnsdale) at original club, South Melbourne Districts in D3 of the VAFA. Might play a few games if injury allows. Enjoyed my one season at East keilor, but only got through first half of season before breaking down with knee then hamstring. At 34 this year it's all over.

borough31 said:
I'm officially retired due to chronic left knee injury. Will saddle up as assistant coach to Gerard Harrington (originally from Sale or Bairnsdale) at original club, South Melbourne Districts in D3 of the VAFA. Might play a few games if injury allows. Enjoyed my one season at East keilor, but only got through first half of season before breaking down with knee then hamstring. At 34 this year it's all over.

Its a long year and you never know what lies a head of you. Goodluck with South Melbourne Districts

jovannaidoo said:
we got 4 ex afl players in our team not including zantuck plus we have got better than average footballers that make up the rest of the numbers. we will be unstoppable.

Jovanniadoo, yeah lm sure they will beat teams like marby, Airport west, westy and west coburg....... if they dont turn up!

jovannaidoo said:

Okay please name them. Are they under 35? And what do you call better than average footballers? Dont post crap with out backing your claims. Cheers

Joey Jo-Jo Junior said:
would like 2 know if craigieburns ruckman poniewaz is playing this yr, and how was his form last yr? also which young players from pascoe vale could stand up n play good senior footy this?

Jo-Jo Junior, Craigieburns ruckman Poniewaz's form last year was average. Saw him play during the finals series and I don't think he got a touch, had no influence or any bearing on the results of the finals games. In simple terms, he should have stayed home, my opinion only... Pascoe Vale look like they've signed up a few new players that have come with Ezard, looks like they might be the dark horses of the B Grade competition.

kingfooty said:
thats fine if you want to make keilor even more money. surely your club can organise good quality matches without helping your opposition become wealthier. maybe thats why their up near the top every year. only the winner gets any decent money out of it and it is always keilor who wins it. take the bar and canteen money and it is like staging finals every year. 10 to 15 grand before round 1 in the bank is very handy, it can pay for a couple of guns. so if you think helping your rivals is a good idea then go for it....

oldtimer- how do you think i know these things??? I am only stating the facts.
Kingfooty, if you are only stating facts, how about you get a few.

1. The night series is not run by the Keilor Football Club, (KFC) it is run by the Keilor Sports Club (KSC). Subtle difference.
2. The proceeds do not automatically flow to the football club. Of course if the KFC, wins the series they get the prize money.
3. The rest of the proceeds are split amongst the clubs associated with the KSC.
4. Now as far as buying all the “gun” players, question for you, in the EDFL finals 2005, Keilor seniors played in two games. How many “imports” in the team. That is players that did not have any junior background at Keilor? Answer below.
5. All match officials, umpires, scoreboard staff etc, fully paid, for all the games they compete in.
6. Only Keilor wins? Ask St Albans & Parkside if they have ever won.

Answer to the above question, three. Rabee Houacher, Tony Rosios and Lee Fraser. All the rest of the team started as juniors at Keilor or played junior football there at some time. In fact Lee Fraser hardly qualifies as an import any more. Has been at the club for close to ten years, has bought a house in the area, and will probably finish his playing days at Keilor.

More than you can say for most of the high price imports coming into the EDFL and other comps. Will they stay when the bagman leaves with all the dollars? Don’t think so.
If you do not want to contribute to the “wealth” of Keilor, you don’t have to go!

Matthew Pillios said:
We are here together laughing at how funny the last few pages have been.
DOONA may get upset with me mentioning this as he might think I am dropping a name, so just to make him feel alright I better not say anthing more.

Yes, he is Assistant Coach.

There are some great teams in the Keilor Night Series and some great threads on that other edflfootytk.com.au site I have just read.

Matty, there are alot of rumours and speculation on Justin Murphy playing at Marby this year. Is Justin Murphy signed and a done deal at Marby?
Seeing you have such great football knowledge on the ins and outs of every football club, what assurances can you give the readers on this thread that Murphy will pull on the guernsey at Marby this year and not leave?

Deefer4 said:
Kingfooty, if you are only stating facts, how about you get a few.

1. The night series is not run by the Keilor Football Club, (KFC) it is run by the Keilor Sports Club (KSC). Subtle difference.
2. The proceeds do not automatically flow to the football club. Of course if the KFC, wins the series they get the prize money.
3. The rest of the proceeds are split amongst the clubs associated with the KSC.
4. Now as far as buying all the “gun” players, question for you, in the EDFL finals 2005, Keilor seniors played in two games. How many “imports” in the team. That is players that did not have any junior background at Keilor? Answer below.
5. All match officials, umpires, scoreboard staff etc, fully paid, for all the games they compete in.
6. Only Keilor wins? Ask St Albans & Parkside if they have ever won.

Answer to the above question, three. Rabee Houacher, Tony Rosios and Lee Fraser. All the rest of the team started as juniors at Keilor or played junior football there at some time. In fact Lee Fraser hardly qualifies as an import any more. Has been at the club for close to ten years, has bought a house in the area, and will probably finish his playing days at Keilor.

More than you can say for most of the high price imports coming into the EDFL and other comps. Will they stay when the bagman leaves with all the dollars? Don’t think so.
If you do not want to contribute to the “wealth” of Keilor, you don’t have to go!

Deefer, Kingfooty is from a club where they pay over 200k per year on player wages. He is totally obsessed by money buying gun players, which is what they have done at their club. Ask him how many players from there current team are home grown. It would be less than half a dozen.

With all the money that his club have paid it is surprising how little success they have had. 1 premiership since 1991.

EDFL MAN said:
Matty, there are alot of rumours and speculation on Justin Murphy playing at Marby this year. Is Justin Murphy signed and a done deal at Marby?
Seeing you have such great football knowledge on the ins and outs of every football club, what assurances can you give the readers on this thread that Murphy will pull on the guernsey at Marby this year and not leave?
EDFL MAN, from your question, I am guessing that you also have heard that he has moved/is moving on to an A grade team. Yes?

oldtimer said:
Deefer, Kingfooty is from a club where they pay over 200k per year on player wages. He is totally obsessed by money buying gun players, which is what they have done at their club. Ask him how many players from there current team are home grown. It would be less than half a dozen.

With all the money that his club have paid it is surprising how little success they have had. 1 premiership since 1991.

By the sounds of it, Kingfooty should stick to his own threads, or more to the point, people that live in glass houses shouldn't throw stones. Will be happy to take Kingfooty's $10 entry fee and his $50 he throws over the bar, hope you enjoy your night at the footy...............lol

oldtimer said:

Thank you oldtimer, I guess the question has been put.

Deefer4 said:
EDFL MAN, from your question, I am guessing that you also have heard that he has moved/is moving on to an A grade team. Yes?

Yes that's correct Deefer4. I just can't see an ex AFL player one year out of league wanting to play B Grade football.

EDFL MAN said:
. Pascoe Vale look like they've signed up a few new players that have come with Ezard, looks like they might be the dark horses of the B Grade competition.

Can anyone shed some light on these recruits. Have been asking for weeks about Pacco but no one has info or not interested in them. Just wanted to know how the old Broady boy Ezard has em firing and if Johnny Taylor is going round again.

Doona2 said:
Can anyone shed some light on these recruits. Have been asking for weeks about Pacco but no one has info or not interested in them. Just wanted to know how the old Broady boy Ezard has em firing and if Johnny Taylor is going round again.

Doona2, don't have the names of the new recruits, will get back to you with that info. Pacco's pre season started in October last year, heard that Ezard has got them very fit and ready for a big year. C Baker should be back firing this year, due to injuries he did not play much last year he is their gun onballer. Johnny Taylor is going around again from all reports.

EDFL MAN said:
Doona2, don't have the names of the new recruits, will get back to you with that info. Pacco's pre season started in October last year, heard that Ezard has got them very fit and ready for a big year. C Baker should be back firing this year, due to injuries he did not play much last year he is their gun onballer. Johnny Taylor is going around again from all reports.

Cheers will await some news. Have you of Tails getting Essendon CC team mate Craig Sheedy out of retirement for a run?

Doona2 said:
Cheers will await some news. Have you of Tails getting Essendon CC team mate Craig Sheedy out of retirement for a run?

Doona2, there was speculation of a gun cricketer looking to have a kick in the park with his mate/mates this year. That info was a while back, will get an update on that for you. Cheers big ears!

i went to skool with sipthorp at essendon keilor college, he spent one year on the senior list at richmond, then got taken off - was it cos he was just no good, or was there another reason behind it??

Ash Craig said:
Last thing about coburg 2 (Coburg Reserves)
In 2001 this was the finals squad which took on werribe,
D. Weston (MBARY)
M. Budge (G/vale)
R.Little (St/more)
T.Condon (St/more)
A.James (who knows but a gun)
G.Taylor (Who Knows played at FREO)
D.Biggs (Captain old essendedn)
T.Little (Sunbury)
D.Lang (Not sure but gun)
Watto (Monmerance 1's, DVFL)
B.Koutsarsavillous (Year off last year West Coburg 1)
Me (St Albans)
O'Conner (Gr/vale)
D.Bicer (G/vale)
Tortar (Gr/vale)
Nuziator (Nth Coburg)

Other than me all these players have played A grade footy in EDFL or equilvent league. Some even have half of these players in your top 10.
In 2001 it was the third best league in Victoria, since then it has slowly deteraited.

Thats it about me now i have corrected everyone i wish now, so lets get the talk back onto the 2006 season..

Whos going to win the keilor night series

Ash-

You might have your facts a little wrong mate:

Tortora
Weston
Nunziato
Lang
O'Connor
R Little
Bicer

Were NOT a part of the 2's for the finals in 2001..

In fact;

I don't think Weston, Bicer and Tortora ever played a reserves game at Coburg.

If they did, it would not have exceeded 2-3 games each..

Cheers