EDFL moves

Yeh well done ________, the game was in the balance until 10 mins into the last quarter. Having cole and shepherd out made no difference of course.

Full credit to craigieburn, played well, fought hard, deserved the win. And eagle, i never said abers would win in the wet i just said that none of our players are soft.

And Neither did I !!!!

I suggested they run forward and are lacking a defensive side to their game. Also suggested that their game would be found out on wet days, and guess what it was !!!

If you look back to other posts, some have suggested that they just did not cope with the wet ground, kicking of the ground rather than putting heads over the footy and winning the ball etc

I stand by my original post, too much forward running and they will get found out on the slow tracks,

And yes I was there on Saturday and whilst the score board might have had you in the game in the last, the reality is that you were never close

Who are your predictions for relegation at this stage?? Surely Strathmore are not in this category, even though they are struggling. I think douttas could be in trouble with all their injuries at the minute. Thoughts??

Based on 5 rds it would seem Oakers and Doutta will fight it out. The Mores will win enough games and are not that bad of a side. Word out and about Saturday night was that Doutta lost 4-5 more from Saturday's game and their seconds had to get players out of retirement to play.

Strathmore and Doutta play each other this week so a crucial game for both. The Oakers have Craigieburn at home another important clash although Craigieburn seem to be finding their form - as are Keilor.

As the season progresses, there will more interest in the bottom 3-4 than the top 2-4.

And Neither did I !!!!

I suggested they run forward and are lacking a defensive side to their game. Also suggested that their game would be found out on wet days, and guess what it was !!!

If you look back to other posts, some have suggested that they just did not cope with the wet ground, kicking of the ground rather than putting heads over the footy and winning the ball etc

I stand by my original post, too much forward running and they will get found out on the slow tracks,

And yes I was there on Saturday and whilst the score board might have had you in the game in the last, the reality is that you were never close

Yeh im happy to accept that craigiburn were better suited to the conditions, but totally disagree that abers did not put put their 'heads over the footy and winning the ball'? It was a tough game of local footy.

Who are your predictions for relegation at this stage?? Surely Strathmore are not in this category, even though they are struggling. I think douttas could be in trouble with all their injuries at the minute. Thoughts??

Too hard to say who will get relegated, be disappointing to see a good local club like the oakers go down but they'd have to be feeling it now. Douttas will never go down again, it took them 10 years to get back up last time they went down so their not going to let it happen again! Oakers v Cragieburn will be massive!

And Neither did I !!!!

Abers have a lot more to look forward to than craigieburn in my honest opinion. We were missing two quality players who i have no doubt would have changed the outcome of the game. Abers home ground is in nowhere near as bad a state as Aitken Reserve. I walked across the ground at half time and nearly lost my shoe in the mud. The whole centre corridor was mud. On that ground and those conditions, greenvale would have found it hard to kick a winning score. Donza was immense in conditions that suited his hard knuckled approach on the ball. That being said, i still think we didnt adapt and we paid the price for that. In fairness to you Eagle, you never called the abers players soft either.

I think the outcome will be quite different the next time the two blues meet the eagles.

Abers have a lot more to look forward to than craigieburn in my honest opinion. We were missing two quality players who i have no doubt would have changed the outcome of the game. Abers home ground is in nowhere near as bad a state as Aitken Reserve. I walked across the ground at half time and nearly lost my shoe in the mud. The whole centre corridor was mud. On that ground and those conditions, greenvale would have found it hard to kick a winning score. Donza was immense in conditions that suited his hard knuckled approach on the ball. That being said, i still think we didnt adapt and we paid the price for that. In fairness to you Eagle, you never called the abers players soft either.

I think the outcome will be quite different the next time the two blues meet the eagles.

Maybe someone left the sprinklers on Friday night ;)

Some very interesting results in both Grades on the weekend.
How nice that there is no coverage or info sources anywhere. Can the league entice Pillios to put on the show again. It was fantastic to have quality game footage, people who had genuine knowledge of the comp and full match reviews & previews.

Even Mick McGuane at the Abers game was saying that he would personally assist Matty hosting it.

Looking at some of the results from the weekend -

Abers well. We weren't as bad as the scoreboard showed. Credit to
the Eagles for wanting it more in the last, but Shane Sheppard would of been a huge difference.
Greenvale vs West Coburg. Only 5 goals, but a 5 goal win in those conditions on that massive ground is like a 12 goal + hiding.
The First DRAW of 2008. Marbo Park look to have comeback from the dead again. From all reports the Mores just ran out of legs and the ground condition was very ordinary.
The Heights. Proving to everybody that they should not be taken lightly and proving that despite Oakers apparently being the fittest team, they are consistantly being run over in the second half.
Keillor. They are the real deal and are playing great football recording the best win for the year.
How bad are Doutta's injuries?

B Grade well APW losing to Roxburgh Park in that fashion was a massive suprise.
The Northern Saints boys have really proven their worth and shut up many critics.
Ash Manning and Glenroy continue to show that recruiting quality and not quantity is the way to go.
Taylors Lakes are the real deal and Pacco again will make up the numbers.

Now to go to the Essendon District Knows Football website to have a look if I can get some more information from the weekends matches.

Some very interesting results in both Grades on the weekend.
How nice that there is no coverage or info sources anywhere. Can the league entice Pillows to put on the show again. It was fantastic to have quality game footage, people who had genuine knowledge of the comp and full match reviews & previews.

Even Mick McGuane at the Bears game was saying that he would personally assist Matty hosting it.

Looking at some of the results from the weekend -

Abers well. We weren't as bad as the scoreboard showed. Credit to
the Eagles for wanting it more in the last, but Shane Sheppard would of been a huge difference.
Greenvale vs West Coburg. Only 5 goals, but a 5 goal win in those conditions on that massive ground is like a 12 goal + hiding.
The First DRAW of 2008. Marbo Park look to have comeback from the dead again. From all reports the Mores just ran out of legs and the ground condition was very ordinary.
The Heights. Proving to everybody that they should not be taken lightly and proving that despite Oakers apparently being the fittest team, they are consistently being run over in the second half.
Keillor. They are the real deal and are playing great football recording the best win for the year.
How bad are Doutta injuries?

Any feedback as to how Daniel Howse went in his first senior game for Greenvale?

Can anyone give me a injury update at d.s they seem to be missing half their side. and does anyone know what happened dillon kane and ryan woolley?
cheers

Take Greenvale out of the equation how good is both A and B grade footy this year.... I honestly have no idea who will win B Grade reckon at least 6 teams have a legit chance of winning the flag.

A grade, i kinda think the standard has dropped a little from previous years but take out Greenvale it is very competetive and there is no easy games at all and on there day any side could knock each other off.

Yeh im happy to accept that craigiburn were better suited to the conditions, but totally disagree that abers did not put put their 'heads over the footy and winning the ball'? It was a tough game of local footy.

Too hard to say who will get relegated, be disappointing to see a good local club like the oakers go down but they'd have to be feeling it now. Douttas will never go down again, it took them 10 years to get back up last time they went down so their not going to let it happen again! Oakers v Cragieburn will be massive!

Not to sure how you can say Doutta will never go down again - in some ways it is out of their control.

Either way, whether it be OP, DS or SM, they would all have to be one of the better sides on paper to be relegated and 10gls better than the B Grade best side.

Not to sure how you can say Doutta will never go down again - in some ways it is out of their control.

Either way, whether it be OP, DS or SM, they would all have to be one of the better sides on paper to be relegated and 10gls better than the B Grade best side.

This is purely hypothetical as there is a long way to go in the season.

How many strathmore players would stick around if the club was to play in B grade next year?

Hate to admit it but it looks like us mighty Oakers are going to really struggle this year - unless Douttas really cave in. I seriously can't believe it cause our early form, list and fitness appear good. We let another one slip on the wknd that we should of won. Avondale are not that crash hot and that is saying something but they wanted the footy more. Frankie and Boakey again worked hard all day but they were supported by the rest. Good to see Trippy play well in the reserves and he should be given another chance this week
We have the worst percentage and one of the hardest runs now with Craigieburn, Keilor, Strathmore and Greenvale over the next month. Not easy but if we can win 2 of them and be 2 - 7 at half way we will survive.
Can't see Strathmore going down though.

Ladder at Rnd 9 Pts Result
Greenvale 36 4 ~ 0
Keilor 24 3 ~ 1
West Coburg 24 3 ~ 1
Craigeburn 20 3 ~ 1
Aberfeldie 20 2 ~ 2
Marbi Park 14 1 ~ 3
Strathmore 14 2 ~ 2
Avondale 12 0 ~ 4
Douttas 8 0 ~ 4
Oakers 8 2 ~ 2

I feel the ladder will look something like this after the next month

As an eagles fan more than happy that cole didnt play today. Would have torn us apart. Hate to play abers in the dry. Good to see the "Turners" finally have an influence on a game. Disapointing to hear saliba saying that he wishes he was still at abers, thought today would have proved that we had as much to offer as abers??? A REAL CLUBMAN???

Dunno about saliba still wanting to play at abers, altough we would luv to hav him bak! And it is good to see the turners playin well, i think jimmy has been playin 2s before the weekend, anyone know why?

Just want to say i watch the abers c'burn game and thought abers played the softest game ive ever seen! They hate the wet and it showed on satdy!

They werent soft, they just tried to play dry weather footy in the wet. They tried to run and carry the ball, i think i even saw someone try and bounce it in the middle of the ground and the ball just stopped. Full credit to craigieburn because they were first to the ball and they went in and got it better than abers. Much like the greenvale game, we werent slow, they made us look slow.

You need a reality check Silly. If you looked slow...........you were slow. What will the next excuse be..we looked scared but we aren't scared.

Well i jus think that when we play wet weather footy it looks like we dont wanna be there! dont get me wrong in the dry we hav been playin great footy besides the greenvale game that is. hopefully we cum out firing this week against WC!

You need a reality check Silly. If you looked slow...........you were slow. What will the next excuse be..we looked scared but we aren't scared.

No it doesnt mate. They made us look slow because they moved the ball so quickly. A lot like geelong do in the afl, they arent the quickest team around but they make other teams look slow because of the way they run in numbers. Theres a difference between a quick team and team that plays quick football. Everyone was talking about essendons speed after round one..how did they go against geelong. From what i saw, I think Greenvale will make everyone look slow this year.