EDFL moves

was at the game stars vs west coburg hircoe is doing fantastic in the backline carey another impressive 7 goals. ramsey delivering yet another impressive game was everywhere on the feild the whole match. stapleton played very well also. the stars look like they are on their way back!!

yep, and strathmore were totally clean all day :rolleyes:

on a serious note, when will someone have the guts to refuse to sign off on playing on that ground? its an absolute disgrace.
I think you will find if you do a little bit of digging that the KFC president ,another committee member and EDFL dlegates did do a ground inspection and did sign off on using it last game .So did they show any guts, the answer is a big NO .

I would agree with the second part of this statement s you would think they are only 3 or 4 players away from being a real force but i guess for what Marby spend which i dont know but am happy to speculate :D High $100K mark maybe more and apparantley they have 15+ new senior players from last year they are a little dissapointing.

Dont get me wrong i know its there first year up but for the rumoured coin they are spending(i know its all rumour) i would want to be pushing top 2,but hey good on em that have been down for so many years so to be winning in A Grade is a great effort and im sure if my club was languishing for years and someone pumped in a heap of coin to get us out i would be happy to take it ;)

But who knows if they make the finals(should do) they may surprise the other teams.

Also on another note the cliche that most of footy is all between the ears couldnt be more correct in my mind as watching douttas the last few weeks the way they have been maning up,being accountable and the pressure they have put on the opposisition has been a real treat.

Sure having some quality players helps but the boys certainly seem to be having a real crack and are playing for each other and the jumper which is all you can ask ;)

THE DREBSTER

Dreb. Fully agree. What you tend to find is that players with talent at any level tend to lift when the standard is raised. Even at AFL level when the Hybrid rules is played or the recent State or Origin game. We saw players step up to the next level and play beyond their percieved abilities.

I think the same thing happens at this level as well. A midfielder in B Grade who appears to have ordinary delivery to a slow or lower skilled forward all of a sudden looks like a gun when delivering to fitter stronger forward who is more determined to make the contest. Turns a bad kick in B Grade into a lace out chest mark in A Grade.

On Marby. They are paying way above markets rates for their players and this is not reflective of these players abilities at all. We should not confuse money spent with footballing ability. As I mentioned Avondale are an excellent example of a team that won a B Grade flag and went straight into being a competitive A Grade side without paying over the top figures.

You blokes can talk all you want about Maribyrnong Park , but I went to watch them play on Saturday against Craigieburn and at 3/4 time they were down and out, but what an amazing turn around kicking 11 in the last to get up by 2 goals.
This Team played for each other and the jumper and you can all knockthem as much as you like, and talk about what they have spent etc but they want to win for each other.

A great effort, and I was told by there supporters that they had Gray, Ayres , Stewart and Wincello out as well.

You blokes can talk all you want about Maribyrnong Park , but I went to watch them play on Saturday against Craigieburn and at 3/4 time they were down and out, but what an amazing turn around kicking 11 in the last to get up by 2 goals.
This Team played for each other and the jumper and you can all knockthem as much as you like, and talk about what they have spent etc but they want to win for each other.

A great effort, and I was told by there supporters that they had Gray, Ayres , Stewart and Wincello out as well.

Of course i/we will talk about them,they are up from B Grade in the 4, spending a sh1t load of doh and have a star studded line up.Its not neccessarily bagging them but yeah they are a team/club that has made a big impact in the comp in a variety of ways.

I never said they dont play for each other i was just saying i would want a better return for the outlay which i dont think is a rediculous statement at all.And yes a bloody fantastic effort in the last quarter no doubt about it.

But in terms of spending up big you gotta do what ya gotta i guess do but i think they will learn that they dont need to spend as much next season to be successful which can only be a good thing as like all clubs the extra doh could be used elsewhere in the club im sure.But as mentioned in an earlier post they have been down for so long so the club and supporters should enjoy the success ;)

I guess its like paying heaps more for a house then what its worth,maybe if you really want it it can be justified as a one off but you cant just keep doing it ;) or can you :confused:

THE DREBSTER

I would agree with the second part of this statement s you would think they are only 3 or 4 players away from being a real force but i guess for what Marby spend which i dont know but am happy to speculate :D High $100K mark maybe more and apparantley they have 15+ new senior players from last year they are a little dissapointing.

Dont get me wrong i know its there first year up but for the rumoured coin they are spending(i know its all rumour) i would want to be pushing top 2,but hey good on em that have been down for so many years so to be winning in A Grade is a great effort and im sure if my club was languishing for years and someone pumped in a heap of coin to get us out i would be happy to take it ;)

But who knows if they make the finals(should do) they may surprise the other teams.

Also on another note the cliche that most of footy is all between the ears couldnt be more correct in my mind as watching douttas the last few weeks the way they have been maning up,being accountable and the pressure they have put on the opposisition has been a real treat.

Sure having some quality players helps but the boys certainly seem to be having a real crack and are playing for each other and the jumper which is all you can ask ;)

THE DREBSTER
Have to agree Drebster i think the willingness to stick to the task is reaping rewards for the boys from Cooper st and it was great to see the tradition of pushing up young blokes from the U18's is continuing with a fine debut by Joel Cusack who did not look out of place mixing it with the A Grade fellas.

I keep reading the dialog between myself and The Drebster to see where we have knocked anyone. In rare set of posts 1.) we have actually posted that we agree on something rather pasting each others comments. 2.) We didn't knock Marby, we actually commended them on doing what is required after taking out B Grade.

Lets face it. Winning B Grade only makes you the 11th best team in the competition. Until you win more than the relegated team you can not even be considered the 10th.

I just think that knowing what a very good mate mine is on at Marby and knowing what he was on at the last A Grade club he was at when we played there. They appear to be paying over the market rate In My Opinion.

Big test for the stars this week against Marby after going down by 80 odd oints in round one :thumbsdown: from memory at the start of the third we kicked a goal and were only 2 or 3 goals down and then went to sleep.We have improved a hell of alot since then as im sure Marby have with all the new recruits probably now playing better as a team after 9 games together.

Both teams have great midfields and forward lines im not sure about Marby's backline(dont really know who's back there) and our backline has probably been our weakpoint in recent times but of late Hircs,Staps and co have been in ripping form.

Im looking forward to a great game,the weather is going to be fine :thumbsu: and im sure we will be more competitive then round one :p and why the hell not im gonna back the Stars in a close one by 8 points :D a bit ambishous maybe but if they follow on from the last 3 weeks there is no reason why they carnt win or at the least be very competitive.

THE DREBSTER

Who is leading your B&F after the half way point???

I would say Ramsey would be leading ours by a bit,has been in our best 7 out of the 9 games and i think he was injured the other 2 and didnt play.

Also Kade would be up there and a bloke who seems to do a great job week in and week out is Staps,others have been good but have missed games with injury.

And Generalblastoff wins our wooden spoon for worst supporter :thumbsdown: and remember Genaral i was there when you had a bet with a certain large gentleman on the Carl-Ess game and Carlton lost so make sure you pay up D!CK HEAD ;)

THE DREBSTER

Big test for the stars this week against Marby after going down by 80 odd oints in round one :thumbsdown: from memory at the start of the third we kicked a goal and were only 2 or 3 goals down and then went to sleep.We have improved a hell of alot since then as im sure Marby have with all the new recruits probably now playing better as a team after 9 games together.

Both teams have great midfields and forward lines im not sure about Marby's backline(dont really know who's back there) and our backline has probably been our weakpoint in recent times but of late Hircs,Staps and co have been in ripping form.

Im looking forward to a great game,the weather is going to be fine :thumbsu: and im sure we will be more competitive then round one :p and why the hell not im gonna back the Stars in a close one by 8 points :D a bit ambishous maybe but if they follow on from the last 3 weeks there is no reason why they carnt win or at the least be very competitive.

THE DREBSTER

Drebster, I think you need to take off your stetson, stop being the last to leave Freddies and open your other eye. Agree the Stars have been playing well of late and have the form player/foward of the comp but I think you will find Marbi's form has also been pretty good of late.

Key could be which side has the best 21 to choose from as both sides have had players out at various times during the year.

Interesting to see how Keilor will go this time in against Greenvale, especially after being touched up by the Mores last week.

yes was also at that game and left the club for similar reasons but credit where credit is due the club has improved a lot lately the juniors now fielding a two teams in each age group which if they can keep the kids at the club will pay off long term. need to get rid of the dropkicks down there though
Also an ex haddy player and left the club for similar reasons. I agree they have improved but they have sacrificed a lot of good people and young players for a quick fix of the senior team. Their juniors have been strong for a long time now and imagine the strength of their under 18s this year if they hadn't lost a least a dozen of them to Therry under 19s last year.

Drebster, I think you need to take off your stetson, stop being the last to leave Freddies and open your other eye. Agree the Stars have been playing well of late and have the form player/foward of the comp but I think you will find Marbi's form has also been pretty good of late.

Key could be which side has the best 21 to choose from as both sides have had players out at various times during the year.

Interesting to see how Keilor will go this time in against Greenvale, especially after being touched up by the Mores last week.

Hans...you can have your 21 best and we'll have just ONE....as long as number 6 makes it onto the park....pants down Marby!!

Ramsey had a lazy 49 poss last week on the West Coburg soccer ground...if he gets 12 this week...thats about 7 goals for number 6.

If you think I jest...just ask someone on the site from Abers, Oakers, Wests, and the best team in the comp...Greenvale! They'll recommend the cheapest menswear to buy 21 belts.....

Clean jocks this week boys coz come 5pm.....when the fat lady is singing in the visitors sheds...you'll be raising those shorts from round the ankles....:D

Hans...you can have your 21 best and we'll have just ONE....as long as number 6 makes it onto the park....pants down Marby!!

Ramsey had a lazy 49 poss last week on the West Coburg soccer ground...if he gets 12 this week...thats about 7 goals for number 6.

If you think I jest...just ask someone on the site from Abers, Oakers, Wests, and the best team in the comp...Greenvale! They'll recommend the cheapest menswear to buy 21 belts.....

Clean jocks this week boys coz come 5pm.....when the fat lady is singing in the visitors sheds...you'll be raising those shorts from round the ankles....:D

Douttas will get smashed this week.

Between the ground and the umpires they have actually re-adjusted the scores and Keilor have won it by 10 goals. Well done boys.

aberdaberdo! Your are a loser and a fool!

I said that Strathmore won the game and played better then Keilor but the umpiring was a discrace!!!!

And good on Strathmore for beating Keilor well done, bloke like this make your club look as good as your ground SH!T!!!!!

the side in this years GF should attempt to lose, cause if they win they wont win another game for 18 months.

So you're telling clubs to throw away a premiership? How pathetic. We've come off a 23 game losing streak in our comp (yeah it's a lot different but anyway) but if we had a promotion/relegation system and given a chance to go up I'm very certain that a club would prefer to have the chance to play against the best rather than another year waiting for that chance.

aberdaberdo! Your are a loser and a fool!

I said that Strathmore won the game and played better then Keilor but the umpiring was a discrace!!!!

And good on Strathmore for beating Keilor well done, bloke like this make your club look as good as your ground SH!T!!!!!

I thought that whining sound from up Keilor way was QF200 winding up for takeoff. I was wrong. It was the Dogman listing his excuses.

slammingsam - is Douttas a one man team mate, thats what you are saying!
I would be very carefull making statements like that as they can come back to bite. You are entitled to an opinion man but get off whatever your taking before you get on this forum!
No 6 is a great player no doubt but first round against Maribyrnong he did not do much .

I dont think they are a one man team,they have had a number of contributors over the last few weeks which is great :D

No 6 is a great player no doubt but first round against Maribyrnong he did not do much

I would say that in a really good battle with Pilling Kade came out just in front and Pilling is a very very good player so didnt do to bad.

I thought that whining sound from up Keilor way was QF200 winding up for takeoff. I was wrong. It was the Dogman listing his excuses.

Aberdaberdo, where have you been this year we didn't hear from you early.
Sounds like you are getting a little excited again.

slammingsam - is Douttas a one man team mate, thats what you are saying!
I would be very carefull making statements like that as they can come back to bite. You are entitled to an opinion man but get off whatever your taking before you get on this forum!
No 6 is a great player no doubt but first round against Maribyrnong he did not do much .

And they got smashed. For Douttas to win this week, Kade will have to kick 15.