EDFL moves

coreybrown said:
Yep agree!
However you will get a story that suggests they want to play at Marby and are doing so for less than the previous year???

Ie- Garbutt, Zerafa, Weston, Nash, Athos, ( the Greenvale clan) of Nurdy, Dave Kalinowski, Sash Nomouski, Mo Khartibal, Ben Corr, Paul Webber, Anthony Cardamone, Jason Micallef, and of course Glenn Allison....

Albeit a number of these guys are twos players its a god damn rape of a club if ever i seen one

Dont reckon Mr Kent would be overjoyed with the latest Garbutt signing???

In all these comments about players Marby Park will be fielding, I haven't yet heard of any recent junior players stepping out from the 16's/18's coming up to play there 1st year of Senior footy who will have any possibility of playing Senior football this year.
Money can attract some players. If there not getting 'paid' all that much, I'm sure that overpaying jobs organised through the club will more than compensate for any loss in match payments.
It's people that drive the club and are the essence of what makes up any club. How many current junior footballer's would you guys have at the moment who will play their Senior footy at Marby, join committee's at Marby, help out around the club in years to come, that is, if the club is still around. Think of all the older people around your club, this goes for any club, how many were lured by money, jobs, incentives. Is it worth trading these types of people in for people who wouldn't not give a flying ---- if the club were to fall apart in 5 years time.
It's no point building a skyscraper, if you haven't got the base to support it in years to come.

Rhombus said:
Confirming that my recent prediction of Lance Picioane to East Keilor is in fact incorrect and Matty is spot on: He'll join brother Leigh and the ubiquitous Craig Rutley, Craig's brother Andrew and ebullient younger brother Robert at backcountry Boort

That backcountry town is obviously paying good money along with several other teams in the North Central league this coming season.
On the back of Lance's move to Boort the club is in negotiations with 2 ex-local guys one with very good SANFL and VCFL form in Colin Durie and from a stint in the Bellarine Josh Martin. Looks like the club is going as hard to win a flag as the recent years they were coached by big Carl Ditterich. Another team in the league, Donald has also been able to recruit Ross Funcke, ex-Richmond, North Ballarat, Melbourne and Port Adelaide Magpies utility as their coach. The NCFL style will suit Lance not real quick but plenty of contact as a matter of fact it sounds like Ty Zantuck could fit in well up there too. Just a bit too far to travel to get back to the MOTEL after games for TY.

TheEye said:
Money can attract some players. If there not getting 'paid' all that much, I'm sure that overpaying jobs organised through the club will more than compensate for any loss in match payments.
It's people that drive the club and are the essence of what makes up any club. How many current junior footballer's would you guys have at the moment who will play their Senior footy at Marby, join committee's at Marby, help out around the club in years to come, that is, if the club is still around. Think of all the older people around your club, this goes for any club, how many were lured by money, jobs, incentives. Is it worth trading these types of people in for people who wouldn't not give a flying ---- if the club were to fall apart in 5 years time.
It's no point building a skyscraper, if you haven't got the base to support it in years to come.

I totally agree. I am not for a second suggesting that Marby will definetly face this issue, it apprears there are still enough of the core people around the club. However I am of the opinion as I have stated before on these boards that money and big dollar signings are to the detriment not the benefit of our local league. We are talking EDFL football and in some cases on this thread B grade EDFL footy.

Now I play senior B Grade football in the EDFL and if I am getting a senior game in this league it is my opinion that absolutly no one deserves to be on any kind of money that exceeds one or two hundred dollars a game. I am not saying that I am an ordinary player or that we do not want to attract big name players to our league, I just believe that the whole fabric of the competition is flawed if clubs can literally 'buy' premierships. As said above, what happens to a club once the man with the money moves on or decides that he has put enough in? Does it simply crash? Do the players that were on big or even reasonable money hang around? It is an issue that will no doubt soon face many of our clubs.

I was speaking to an ex-Strathmore player who is a member of their team of the century. He said he was worried about the club. Not in the short term but instead when Hille decides that he has had enough. What happens if he decides to stick around for 3 more years. The tremendous tallent that lies within Strathmores under 18's may have moved on by then due to a lack of oppertuninty as a result of the strength of the senior side. Without their big spender and they talented youth they once had, he was concerened that the club would be set for a fair few tough years.

I congratulate clubs like Marby who have turned things around so dramatically, it is a credit to the people that work hard to keep their club running they way they hope. I only hope that enough of the good people that make clubs like this and to a lesser extent Glenroy and Nth Coburg etc. Stick around and rebuild the club if things start to get tough.
It is one thing to climb to the top it is another to climb back to the top.

Can anyone create a list for clubs like a GAINS and LOSSES section so we can see whos picked up who and who's lost who????

just to let everyone know that johnny taylor is definately playing at pascoe vale this season, he was down at training before christmas but cannot commit before he finishes his premier league cricket season. . . .

hammer said:
Don`t blame the players, blame the club and its officials. Does the name Maribyrnong Park FC mean anything to Allison and his cronies! Didn`t Allison start all this escalation of player payments in his time at Greenvale with the stamp of approval of B.Kent.

Spot on about Mr B Kent. Before Greenvale Allison put in a heaps load of money in to Coburg, basically saving them from going broke. He was President there for one year and then Richmond took over

the big question about marby is, if they happen to get into a-grade, will all there so called stars stick around???

Apparently several Strathmore U/18's are moving to Sunshine because of a distinct lack of places in the senior side due to the amount of new recruits. So there you have it, Strathmore's fantastic young premiership players are leaving the club.

hammer said:
Matty, explain this for me. The terms of affiliation of the EDFL state that a club MUST field at least one team in each age group. Marby has not fielded teams in U16 or U18 for the past 5 years.

Q Why are they allowed to stay in the competition?

The club are working overboard with their juniors.

They did have U/16's last year mate, they just did not win a match and played every game. Numbers were great, just ability was lacking.

The U/18's have not had a side since 2004 (ONLY 2 YEARS) and have 19 registered players for 2006. Both sides will be fielded this year.

Matthew Pillios said:
The club are working overboard with their juniors.

They did have U/16's last year mate, they just did not win a match and played every game. Numbers were great, just ability was lacking.

The U/18's have not had a side since 2004 (ONLY 2 YEARS) and have 19 registered players for 2006. Both sides will be fielded this year.

yes, but if marby do not field a side in any age group and happen to win the b-grade, they will not be going up to a-grade. . . .??

Footytripper said:
Lets hope Marbys big spending spree does not back fire on them and when all these blokes have wound down their footy careers at Maribyrnong there still is a footy club around. Great to celebrate a premiership but if there is no club because it has gone under through financial overspending or lack of players because the committee has burnt the local players then is it worth it.

Maybe if the Glenn Allison money went into fixing their junior sides and keeping the players coming through then the clubs long term future may be secure. Instead they appear to be travelling along the lets buy a premiership and that will solve all problems line which history shows can cause big problems after not winning the expected flag.

Mateh the club lost 5 players before Xmas and have gone out and signed 5. The club is not spending as much as everybody ASSUME and have many players that have been Marby boys for years. Gilpin, two Agrestas, Bangit's, Jack Scott, Kruger, myself, Rocky Davidson, Barboro, Bryden, Nash (Junior) that is 12 out of our top 24.

Maybe you should of popped your head into the AGM and seen the spending. What GA decides to provide extra to ertain player is a bonus, that obviously is ENVYED by others.

goalkicker said:
yes, but if marby do not field a side in any age group and happen to win the b-grade, they will not be going up to a-grade. . . .??

Yes, that would of happen I assume. From what I know is that if we had of won 2005 then we would of need 16 registered players by Dec 31.

They are looking great from 10's to 14's and have 39 registered between 16's and 18's.

The club is rebuilding its Juniors and putting its money and resources there. We are just fortunate enough to have a few private sponsors funding a few players, as club cant afford to.

Matthew Pillios said:
Yes, that would of happen I assume. From what I know is that if we had of won 2005 then we would of need 16 registered players by Dec 31.

They are looking great from 10's to 14's and have 39 registered between 16's and 18's.

The club is rebuilding its Juniors and putting its money and resources there. We are just fortunate enough to have a few private sponsors funding a few players, as club cant afford to.

but the question is, are they marby players, or are they players borrowed from abers like in previous years???

Matthew Pillios said:
Gazza. The EDFL is just getting stronger and stronger and their have been many more comings then goings.

Marby are looking solid. After a slow preseason they have signed David Weston.

The Garbutt link is his strong friendship with Nathan Zerafa, Dave Weston and Sasha Nomouski. With a 80% knee being right, B Grade and playing with his good mates may look attractive for big Garbs. Nothing signed yet.

B Grade will be extremely strong. West Coburg would have to start Premiership favourites with Haoucher, Flavel, Kakoor, Trav Micklewaite, Messaike, Abbouchi, Sam Vass ALL returning to the club.

Strathmore are the side without a doubt. The great Craig Hille has snapped up; Tim Harvey (Box Hill VFL), Johny Lindsey and Josh O'Neill (Port Colts Premiership) watch out for Lindsey, John Tate (G'Vale) last years Comp Runner, Two A Grade WRFL Seddon midfieldlers, Michael O'Brian returns from Osteitis who is a top 10 comp player and they are working on a WAFL ruckman who is deciding between the Mores and Old Xav's.

Avondale have recruited 4 solid players from Parkside (Power, Krulijak, Destonavic and Karavias), the tough Mo Albadine and the Paco F.Forward
Chris Meecham. Also in talks with Johnny Angelopolous, Jim Fezzalari from Moonee Valley. They should be around 2-5 in 2006. Watch out for Leigh Owen.

These are 2 A grade defenders, both from Cellar Dwellars Seddon Yarraville.

goalkicker said:
but the question is, are they marby players, or are they players borrowed from abers like in previous years???

They are Marby kids from 14's and the 18's are from the 16's. A lot of these kids came from Flemington.

Hard Ball Get said:
I am interested to hear how Hadfield are treavelling.
Does anyone here play for Haddy or have any connections to them? I have not heard much so I am assuming that they will spend another year at the foot of the ladder.
Any info on numbers at training?

I heard Ash Manning is coaching Hadfield. Big Glenroy forward who kicked 12 vs Sydneham last year. I heard he has bought one with him and they have recruited a few.

I heard Ezard has bought a few to Paco from St Albs, but no names.

Elsum from Douttas I hear is staying. They have only lost Gathers, Knight, Locky and the Powers. Yuong Gervasi has left them to go to Avondale.

Gentlemen,

I have been watching this site for about two weeks now and decided I cannot help myself.

Q. Which clubs will be around in 50 years time?

Thats the question people with EGO's should be asking themselves, how many clubs have business plans and club structures that wil ensure that junior development plans are put in place so that if you have new players (Senior or Junior) come to your club they know the history of the club, the benefits and the culture and its not a one or two year strike, that goes for new coaches as well.

If we are going to be a professional organisation or business (league) we may have to put get all clubs and the league together and look at the best thing for our league for the future. People will say a salary cap can be got around but they can be scrutinised closely.

Clubs that try and compete for that elusive flag and dont look at the big picture will be doomed in time mark my words. Do we want that?

Does anyone have an opinion on that?

Cheers Reality

Matthew Pillios said:
That's right. I heard they go well. Any info on them mate.
I have been told they are on great cash.

They are indeed on great cash...

Luke Walker is a mobile tall who can play... But attitude is a bit iffy... Can take a big mark and run all day.

Benny Goggins has played for Cellar Dwellar teams since coming from Tassie.. Kid can seriously play and has been a star for both sides.. Then again, when the ball spent as much time in the forward line of the opposition than it did, he probably should have been... Will be really interested to hear how he goes in a seriously good team.

reality said:
Gentlemen,

I have been watching this site for about two weeks now and decided I cannot help myself.

Q. Which clubs will be around in 50 years time?

Thats the question people with EGO's should be asking themselves, how many clubs have business plans and club structures that wil ensure that junior development plans are put in place so that if you have new players (Senior or Junior) come to your club they know the history of the club, the benefits and the culture and its not a one or two year strike, that goes for new coaches as well.

If we are going to be a professional organisation or business (league) we may have to put get all clubs and the league together and look at the best thing for our league for the future. People will say a salary cap can be got around but they can be scrutinised closely.

Clubs that try and compete for that elusive flag and dont look at the big picture will be doomed in time mark my words. Do we want that?

Does anyone have an opinion on that?

Cheers Reality

the clubs that will be around in years, will be your pascoe vale, keilor, glenroy. . .these are the clubs that have been round for years and stay strong even when they arent performing. . as for a salary cap, it could not happen at all, the AFL cannot even control there salary cap, let alone the EDFL