EDFL moves

cantbuyaflag said:
We wernt good enough mate pretty simple...
We had to many blokes down last sat including me..

There are alot of us that need to pull our finger out to have any chance of winning the flag.
I think we can still go all the way but the blokes have to believe in them selves that we are good enough to win it.

They where very good marby i take my hat of to them.
But they are still very beatable IMO.

Yes they where all of that above..
But of course they where like that when WEST had to many passengers on the day.

Westy not bad didnt play at his best but went ok..:thumbsu:
No west where pretty ordinary and didnt live up to anything.

Yeah it could of been but West where very undiscipline and that showed on the weekend.

Me,

We wont go there Ruby...:thumbsdown:

Just looking forward to our first final this week against Paco...:thumbsu:

A week is a long time in footy....

Well Flavsta - thats a pretty honest assesment in anyones language.
Hope you and your guys can recover from that and show the improvement you and your team believe you need to show.
As we all know you cant win a flag with to many passengers!!!!!
Good luck and hope you can go all the way!

finger said:
Just cut this off the EDFL website

2006 EDFL FINALS ENTRY FEES
The Board of Management has decided that 2006 Finals Entry Fees will remain the same as for last season as follows:
Week 1 and Week 2 (Junior Semi and Preliminary Finals) – No Entry Fee
Week 3 (Junior Grand Finals/ B Grade Elimination & Qualifying Finals) - $5-00

Week 4 (Senior Semi Finals) - $10-00
Week 5 (Senior Preliminary Finals) - $10-00
Week 6 (Senior Grand Finals) - $13-00
Note: Above prices include GST. and a free Football Record to patrons paying an entry fee

Jacana footy ground is a public oval and owned by the council so can the EDFL charge people?? The EDFL dont own the ground, same goes for finals that were played at Keilor last year. Will be interested to see the council views on this.
Different situation at Windy Hill were it is not a council ground, and Coburg VFL ground not sure if that is a council ground or not??

I hate for the EDFL to be breaking any council by laws by charging people.

My North im pretty sure that Windy Hill is owned by the council on a 99 year lease arrangement, and the rental on the ground is very small amount...

Be very suprised if Essendon football club owned it...

just interested to hear how Ash Fernee is travelling at East Keilor this year?.
I remember when he was on Adelaides list and played some good footy at South Adelaide.
Played with him one year and every week he was doubled teamed and still manged to take heaps of grabs.

My North said:
Jacana footy ground is a public oval and owned by the council so can the EDFL charge people?? The EDFL dont own the ground, same goes for finals that were played at Keilor last year. Will be interested to see the council views on this.
Different situation at Windy Hill were it is not a council ground, and Coburg VFL ground not sure if that is a council ground or not??

:) SIMPLE answer. Yes they can charge people, which is why they have released details of prices. And I am sure the respective councils are sympathetic.
Look, the situation is the same across Victoria. Leagues everywhere (maybe some exceptions) charge gate prices at finals time. It's one of few ways the league can raise some much needed revenue.
The league has expenses which need to be met....oval hire charges, trophies, umpire fees, media, advertising etc. Much of this comes from individual club affiliation fees, but these do not cover everything the league has to pay for, therefore it needs other streams of revenue, hence admission charges.
Think you would find that if the league charged no admission fees at finals time, your individual clubs affiliation fees would rise considerably, so it makes perfect sense to pass that on to the everyday supporter.
Just as your own club is struggling to balance its books, the league is doing likewise and at the end of the day needs to find the money somewhere.
Doubtful it happens here, but many leagues in Victoria rotate finals venues as to give all clubs over a period of time the opportunity to "cash-in" on beer and canteen sales. Admission fees stay with the league, but beer and canteen sales go to the club.
Personally, Jacana is not my favourite venue....not even close...but I don't begrudge them having the opportunity to make some money via beer and canteen sales ....especially if they may be struggling for a quid.....but would be disappointed if that same opportunity was not afforded other clubs in years to come.:)

My North said:

Correct My North, Goldust has some valid points in relation to the EDFL charging people on an admission fee/cover charge.
Bottom line, you are not breaking any laws by just walking right on in. ;)
Windy Hill on the other hand is a different story.

Heard from a man in the know that the footy show was held at Tullamarine this week(Monday Night), apparently they lefted a awesome impression on the host! I quote "An ignorant senior player who decided to prank Ron Rooney's mobile as he was on the panel about 8 times in a row".

Blue_Bhoy were have you gone champ, spill the beans........

knowsalot said:
What happened with that edfl man vs richard cudmore #7 issue did anyone find out whos who?????

The case has been solved "knowsalot".

User richardcudmore#7 = Matthew Dawson. :cool:

Look forward to seeing you again son.

Has everybody written off Keilor's chances of making it past the first week of finals? Do they have any chance?

My North said:
gold points there Goldust.

How are West Coburg, Pascoe Vale, Airport West and Tullamarine looking for this week.

:) Understand, no Mercuri at APW and Cacopardo gone for season 2004. With Blumfield already gone for the season too, Eagles may have trouble finding an avenue to goal to turn around its heavy defeat at the hands of Tullamarine from a few week's ago.

UltimateFreq said:
So what do a people think the prices would be now on a few of these teams. The A-grade comp is still probably right having Strathmore at EVENS but Doutta Stars would probably be into second favourite.
As for the B-grade comp, Tulla at 33-1 would definitely of come in a bit closer as would Paco.

Write up a new market for the finals now litening.

Forgot about putting that market togther Freq - that was before the season began.....

Was way off with Tulla, but ive had 25 each way - thats what happens when you frame your own market.

How do these odds look now:

Marby - odds on - 9/10
WC - 3/1
Pacco - 4/1 and firming by the minute
APW - 9/1
Tulla - 7/1

Strathmore - no more bets for Strathmore.....all other teams at 12/1 and drifitng.....:thumbsu:

madpie said:
just interested to hear how Ash Fernee is travelling at East Keilor this year?.
I remember when he was on Adelaides list and played some good footy at South Adelaide.
Played with him one year and every week he was doubled teamed and still manged to take heaps of grabs.

Still a good player, but is not as dominant as say 3 or 4 years ago. Has had problems with concussion i hear and wears a helmet because of it, prehaps a reason for his decline. On a side note, East Keilor is going to be in B Grade come 5pm Saturday too.

l'm posting the outcome of the investigation in relation to the conclusion of West Coburg V Tullamarine game:
Just wanted to hear some thoughts on what people think about number 10?

The following is the result of the investigation into the B Grade Senior match West Coburg v Tullamarine played on 15/7/2006:

The Investigation Committee has given careful and due consideration to all the evidence and submissions put before it by the League's Investigations Offifcer, Club representatives and at this hearing and has arrived at the following decision:

1.West Coburg player No. 7 Richard Cudmore no case to answer.

2.West Coburg trainer Terry O'Meara no case to answer.

3.Tullamarine Football Club to forfeit 50% of investigation fee.

4.West Coburg Football Club guilty of failing to control players and spectators. Fined $1,000

5.Tullamarine Football Club guilty of failing to control spectators. Fined $500

6.West Coburg Official Paul Fincosuspended from holding any official capacity for remainder of 2006 season.

7.Tullamarine Official Helen Ward suspended from holding any official capacity for remainder of 2006 season.

8.Both Tullamarine Football Club and West Coburg Football Club placed on good behaviour bond of $2,000 for remainder of 2006 season.

9.Senior officials from both West Coburg and Tullamarine to attend a racial vilification educational session approved by the EDFL before commencement of season 2007.

10.West Coburg players and officials to be counselled in response to their actions when responding to racial abuse and to be informed of the correct process to address such issues before commencement of 2007 season.

The decision of this Committee id Final and Binding.

All Fines and Bonds are due and payable to the Treasurer within 14 Days. (Invoices will be posted).

INVESTIGATION COMMITTEE:
Arthur Crofts
Brett Scott
Barry McNaughton

Goldust said:
:) Understand, no Mercuri at APW and Cacopardo gone for season 2004. With Blumfield already gone for the season too, Eagles may have trouble finding an avenue to goal to turn around its heavy defeat at the hands of Tullamarine from a few week's ago.

Wish it was for season 2004 as I'm sure they would all be back for 2006 finals. Don't worry somehow the boys will thread their way through the Tullamarine backmen and kick enough majors to cause an upset. Maybe, just maybe , a suprise selection up forward. Will be a good game, pity it's at Jacana. Can West Coburg bounce back or will they meet APW next week?

EDFL MAN said:
l'm posting the outcome of the investigation in relation to the conclusion of West Coburg V Tullamarine game:

The following is the result of the investigation into the B Grade Senior match West Coburg v Tullamarine played on 15/7/2006:

The Investigation Committee has given careful and due consideration to all the evidence and submissions put before it by the League's Investigations Offifcer, Club representatives and at this hearing and has arrived at the following decision:

4.West Coburg Football Club guilty of failing to control players and spectators. Fined $1,000

6.West Coburg Official Paul Fincosuspended from holding any official capacity for remainder of 2006 season.

7.Tullamarine Official Helen Ward suspended from holding any official capacity for remainder of 2006 season.

8.Both Tullamarine Football Club and West Coburg Football Club placed on good behaviour bond of $2,000 for remainder of 2006 season.

9.Senior officials from both West Coburg and Tullamarine to attend a racial vilification educational session approved by the EDFL before commencement of season 2007.

10.West Coburg players and officials to be counselled in response to their actions when responding to racial abuse and to be informed of the correct process to address such issues before commencement of 2007 season.

All Fines and Bonds are due and payable to the Treasurer within 14 Days. (Invoices will be posted).

INVESTIGATION COMMITTEE:
Arthur Crofts
Brett Scott
Barry McNaughton

So what they are saying is that cause you are racially abused you have to react in a proper manner..?

So Tulla are racists and got away with it?

Can someone please explain what it means cause i am very confused???

EDFL MAN said:

INVESTIGATION COMMITTEE:
Arthur Crofts
Brett Scott
Barry McNaughton

Counselling - what a cop out.

This investigation is a joke. Tulla be ashamed. U R GAY

Is Helen Ward the feral that lobbed the VB Can.

Eagle One said:
Wish it was for season 2004 as I'm sure they would all be back for 2006 finals. Don't worry somehow the boys will thread their way through the Tullamarine backmen and kick enough majors to cause an upset. Maybe, just maybe , a suprise selection up forward. Will be a good game, pity it's at Jacana. Can West Coburg bounce back or will they meet APW next week?

:) MY mistake Eagle. A slip of the finger. Of course it is 2006!:)

EDFL MAN said:
The case has been solved "knowsalot".

User richardcudmore#7 = Matthew Dawson. :cool:

Look forward to seeing you again son.
Not a huge surprise there EDFL Man, I think the club had a bit of trouble with that jokester back in '01. A few bullets short of a good shoot out, that boy :rolleyes: !

Heartbreak Kid said:
Fair enough billy, we were flogged today and great for jacana to get a win, it must have been a really tough season for the boys. BUT, dont be mistaken into thinking that we pay our players huge amounts of money. If your club had money you would pay them too. Our avg. age is 21.4 y.o., and we had plenty more in our 18`s that can play so dont get ahead of yourself. We are only 34 games into our history so dont compare us with your mob. Theres been a really bad vibe around the club for 3 months ( huge lack of discipline), so our loss to jacana put to bed a really bad season..........
But we move on. We are chasing certain people for coaching roles and of course new players so we expect a lot of improvement next season. And again well done to jacas on the weekend

Sorry how avg age is 21.4 yo also, look 4ward 2 many good battles over the years

Macca29 said:
Counselling - what a cop out.

This investigation is a joke. Tulla be ashamed. U R GAY

Is Helen Ward the feral that lobbed the VB Can.

That's correct, Miss Ward is the feral in question!

I can't wait for this counselling to start.....:eek:

bricksta said:
So what they are saying is that cause you are racially abused you have to react in a proper manner..?

So Tulla are racists and got away with it?

Can someone please explain what it means cause i am very confused???

Bricksta, what the EDFL are saying, it's ok to racial abuse people from other cultures. In turn those people effected by this abuse have to deal with it in a "proper manner". :eek:

They(EDFL) had a chance to set a precedent, but funny enough they have taken the easy way out once again.

I have a funny feeling this may end up in the local papers or even in the hands of Football Victoria! :cool:

EDFL MAN said:
Bricksta, what the EDFL are saying, it's ok to racial abuse people from other cultures. In turn those people effected by this abuse have to deal with it in a "proper manner". :eek:

They(EDFL) had a chance to set a precedent, but funny enough they have taken the easy way out once again.

I have a funny feeling this may end up in the local papers or even in the hands of Football Victoria! :cool:
Why did the two clubs get fined for the same thing but different amounts EDFL Man