EDFL moves

Nemo said:
Watched Marby/West and Doutta/Strathmore games. Both games boiled done to who was willing to run harder and who had more players willing to get to a contest to help their teammate. Something dramatic will have to happen to see either Marby or Strathmore go down.

Any injury worries for next weeks games???

i think it boils down to those two side having far more talent on the park than the other two sides at the weekend

aberdaberdo said:
Right enough Bricksta. Feel sorry for the kid as 30 secs of madness will finish his footy career.
Back to the game. What do you think of the coaches gamble to play injured players Brickman? Certainly didn't pay off.

It is a shame what happened no excuses for the kid, the umpires were not great but at no stage can you touch them....

No gamble i think all were fit before the game, just unlucky with ryan moore hurting his knee in the second contest and then bishop hurting his ankle and elsum corki doesnt help with no fit players on the bench...

bricksta said:
It is a shame what happened no excuses for the kid, the umpires were not great but at no stage can you touch them....

No gamble i think all were fit before the game, just unlucky with ryan moore hurting his knee in the second contest and then bishop hurting his ankle and elsum corki doesnt help with no fit players on the bench...

The big man was limping pre match and my mail had Elsum twinging the calf Thurs night Bricksta. Who will come up or come in next week? Big No. 4 in the twos would be a certainty I would suspect.

localfooty said:
anyone know of an incident in the u/18s game this morning? apparently a doutta stars kid whacked an umpire?

anyone know anything????????

edflman, what happened with this biting incident? from what i heard, a marby guy was bitten in the 2nds?

Im pretty sure Jai Williams was the player that was bitten.
His old man sitting in the crowd would not have been happy with that **** weak effort.:thumbsdown: :thumbsdown:

Aussie_dude said:
i think it boils down to those two side having far more talent on the park than the other two sides at the weekend

Your probably right.

Will Keilor's twos be helped or hindered by the fact that the seniors were knocked out?

Greenvale copped another 3-4 injuries out of the weekend. The majority of them season ending. They will probably get Briggs, Lenne and Karabajac back this week though. Will need to lift dramatically to trouble Doutta's this week

Can anyone tell me why Jason Taylor and Paul McQuillian always umpire together. The umpiring yesterday boarded on embarrasing and it's not for the first time either yet they continue to get the main gigs. Its actually become a real talking point at the club.

aberdaberdo said:
The big man was limping pre match and my mail had Elsum twinging the calf Thurs night Bricksta. Who will come up or come in next week? Big No. 4 in the twos would be a certainty I would suspect.

gee mate you know more than me maybe i need to get your source to email me through this site to find out more

The big 4 will be a big chance i guess if bishop doesnt come up, i didnt see him limping as i was in the rooms after the 2s win...

Hard Ball Get said:
I dont feel sorry for him at all.
He is playing under 18 footy. He is no longer a kid and must face the consequences of his actions.
What a complete and utter idiot.
Deserves to be thrown out of the league.

thanks for your thoughts hardBallGet, but as i said he knows what he has done and realises what the consequences of his actions are, so lets just leave it at that..

Jett said:
Greenvale copped another 3-4 injuries out of the weekend. The majority of them season ending. They will probably get Briggs, Lenne and Karabajac back this week though. Will need to lift dramatically to trouble Doutta's this week

Can anyone tell me why Jason Taylor and Paul McQuillian always umpire together. The umpiring yesterday boarded on embarrasing and it's not for the first time either yet they continue to get the main gigs. Its actually become a real talking point at the club.

lets not get into the umpiring debate again boys, they have been at best all year long, average, but they are not going to get any better unless they start actually reviewing the games they umpire...
but hey who are we to discuss something that the EDFL are in charge of...

Nemo said:
Your probably right.

Will Keilor's twos be helped or hindered by the fact that the seniors were knocked out?

definately hindered, there is no way that 21 and 37 would be qualified to play. they might win this week, but with greenvale out i reakon douttas have a mortgage on the twos flag. they might get a couple back, but number 6 wont be qualified and im not sure about davo especially with an injury.

knowsalot said:
Im pretty sure Jai Williams was the player that was bitten.
His old man sitting in the crowd would not have been happy with that **** weak effort.:thumbsdown: :thumbsdown:
The player concerned was certainly Jai Williams, I believe he was bitten, more likely a very nasty grab to the groin area, certainly he there was bleeding noted.

bricksta said:
thanks for your thoughts hardBallGet, but as i said he knows what he has done and realises what the consequences of his actions are, so lets just leave it at that..

So if someone cracks someone behind the play we should just forget about it if they admit what they did was wrong and will willingly face the consequences?
If he grabbed an umpire as reported then he deserves to be out of the league regardless or age, ability or remorse.

TIGERS2323 said:
No truth mate his brother was injured from round 5. It is true that he asked for money but only because they owed him money and werent gonna pay him to play finals footy.
Have a look a the joint now the owe Johar Saad 8k gave him a cheque and it bounced thats gospel so dont listen to the crap most people write on here and dont talk about peoples personalities unless youve met them.
the big man A. James kicked a lazy 23 goals on Saturday and was involved in another 5-6 goals. He may have some some baggage, but the boys at Sunbury Kangaroos would be happy at this stage stage with their investment even if it is only short term.

Congrats to the boys from Leb Res on Sunday, they played excellent team-orientated tough finals footy. The injuries to Douttas key 3 backman (Bishop/Elsum/Moore) didn't help, but it wouldn't have made any difference, the Mores were awesome. The Stars have next week to redeem and give a couple of boys a chance to play in an A-grade final. Harvey was awesome, P Barnard did a good job on Carey after he ran riot for the first half, and May, Holman, and Winter put the issue beyond doubt in the second half. Douttas only real contributors were Desousa, McArdle & Carey. Was it right to go in with a couple of players carrying injuries - absolutely, there wouldn't be too many teams with 100% injury-free lists at this time of the year.

Hard Ball Get said:
So if someone cracks someone behind the play we should just forget about it if they admit what they did was wrong and will willingly face the consequences?
If he grabbed an umpire as reported then he deserves to be out of the league regardless or age, ability or remorse.

I think i must be speaking in another tongue

He will get what he deserves from the league so you going on about it doesnt help the umpire the club or the player

knowsalot said:
Watched Pacco yesterday pull the shutters down on Airport West's season. They look like the might be a bit more hungary for next weeks game than the Burgers.
Ian Denny must be shattered from what he saw yesterday, must say he has done some big things for that club in the last 2 years. Will make them more hungary for next year.
QUOTE]

Where was the game won and lost?

Better players for both sides?

Nemo said:
Watched Marby/West and Doutta/Strathmore games. Both games boiled done to who was willing to run harder and who had more players willing to get to a contest to help their teammate. Something dramatic will have to happen to see either Marby or Strathmore go down.

Any injury worries for next weeks games???

funny isn't it at the start of the the year everyone said Marby and Strathmore were certainties in the respective divisions, and then the season got stated and other clubs got thrown up as contenders, but now it seems as if everyone was right from the start! i personally hope not and its a tight final in both grades because i hate to see the teams with the better cheque book beats the teams with the better club people. Not saying that those clubs dont have great club people but i would hate to see the comp turn into who can buy their club a flag, if it hasn't already

OrangeCutter said:
funny isn't it at the start of the the year everyone said Marby and Strathmore were certainties in the respective divisions, and then the season got stated and other clubs got thrown up as contenders, but now it seems as if everyone was right from the start! i personally hope not and its a tight final in both grades because i hate to see the teams with the better cheque book beats the teams with the better club people. Not saying that those clubs dont have great club people but i would hate to see the comp turn into who can buy their club a flag, if it hasn't already

Very true cutter it looks like it already has but hey that is life and all the other clubs have to some how match it,
That is why people take there hats of to clubs like keilor who look after the kids and get heaps of them to play ones...
Clubs like Douttas and Greenvale are starting to go the same way,
Doutta have had this year 10 douttas jnrs play in the ones with a total of about 38 players play ones.

OrangeCutter said:

Unfortunately bigger cheque book wins ask G. Holeman from Strathmore who was getting good coin at Douttas and left for better coin at Strathmore!!

Nemo said:
Unfortunately bigger cheque book wins ask G. Holeman from Strathmore who was getting good coin at Douttas and left for better coin at Strathmore!!

nemo you seem to know what would you estimate a player like that would be worth...and what would he be getting payed

bricksta said:
Very true cutter it looks like it already has but hey that is life and all the other clubs have to some how match it,
That is why people take there hats of to clubs like keilor who look after the kids and get heaps of them to play ones...
Clubs like Douttas and Greenvale are starting to go the same way,
Doutta have had this year 10 douttas jnrs play in the ones with a total of about 38 players play ones.

How many Douttas juniors played Sunday???

bricksta said:
nemo you seem to know what would you estimate a player like that would be worth...and what would he be getting payed

Maybe I am a bit old fashioned but I don't think anybody is worth more than say $300.00 but I believe he would be getting around the $700-800 mark plus a sign on.

What do you think??

juliand said:
Not a good bloke for any club. Look at his time at Douttas!!!!!! Paid a fortune and the club suffered for it. Remeber the coach of the time in the box at Coburg ( in a final) and compared him to Oak Park we he said he could have 5 players value for him and his soft c**K brother!!!!!!!
Whatch your heck I N G mouth pal dont bag people behind a false name you weak C U N T!!!Aaron also kicked over 100 goals that year too goose so i think he earned his money!