EDFL Premier Discussion 2025

• Thread starter Thread starter Del28562

Sorry mate but points system hasn’t changed a thing in local footy. If anything it’s just about ruined country footy
Disagree. You only have to look at the sides Bundoora, Vermont, Aberfeldie, St Kevs etc are putting out to see that it has had an impact.
As for country footy, it's a mixed bag, some are stronger (Hampden, Riddell, Wimmera, Ballarat, North Central) others arguably weaker (O&M, GVFL).

Disagree. You only have to look at the sides Bundoora, Vermont, Aberfeldie, St Kevs etc are putting out to see that it has had an impact.
As for country footy, it's a mixed bag, some are stronger (Hampden, Riddell, Wimmera, Ballarat, North Central) others arguably weaker (O&M, GVFL).

Riddell imo would definitely be in the weaker echelon ....

Remove match payments & see which club shuts immediately.
There’d be almost every club struggling to field sides then. Problem being in modern times, once players get paid, they think they’re above playing for free - whether that’s the case or not.

Riddell imo would definitely be in the weaker echelon ....
That's fine, mate.
I wasn't saying that they were amongst the stronger comps. I was replying to someone stating that the points system has been detrimental to country footy - the comps listed were reflective of those I see as having gotten stronger/weaker since its introduction.

There’d be almost every club struggling to field sides then. Problem being in modern times, once players get paid, they think they’re above playing for free - whether that’s the case or not.
Sure mate, most clubs have 2s that can & do play for nothing though.. which may have been my point.

I'm one who thought DP might be able to do some damage in the finals but after watching them a few times in the past couple of weeks, there's a lot of Tarzan's(multiple Tatts) playing like Jane in that team Longy..... Couple of scaredy cats also when push comes to shove!
This tells me a lot about the club you apparently follow! 👀 😆👍

Fair enough mate I’m not right across the impact it’s had in metro footy. Think it’s definitely had an impact on a lot of country leagues, particularly ones that have a large discrepancy between towns in terms of population or demographics of certain areas.

Agree that a salary cap is really a waste of time and a points system is potentially a good thing. Just don’t think it’s been implemented very well at the moment

How many forfeits in the RDFL? Yes standard not like EDFL (somewhere Div1/Div2) but a healthy league.

Forfeit on the weekend

Looking at the edfl comp results last weekend in the JNR ranks there were a lot of clubs second sides forfiets ....

Anyways all good points everyone is bringing to the table ..... Maybe us big footy users who are passionate about local footy should take over the edfl .....

Attachments

• Screenshot_20250730-180409.png
    Screenshot_20250730-180409.png
    245.9 KB · Views: 67

I'm one who thought DP might be able to do some damage in the finals but after watching them a few times in the past couple of weeks, there's a lot of Tarzan's(multiple Tatts) playing like Jane in that team Longy..... Couple of scaredy cats also when push comes to shove!
Lol. You clearly watch too much netball. Stick to that past time champ.

Fair enough mate I’m not right across the impact it’s had in metro footy. Think it’s definitely had an impact on a lot of country leagues, particularly ones that have a large discrepancy between towns in terms of population or demographics of certain areas.

Agree that a salary cap is really a waste of time and a points system is potentially a good thing. Just don’t think it’s been implemented very well at the moment

Any system which handicaps kids from transitioning to seniors is flawed in my opinion.

I have noticed several young players getting a game here and there across a number of Senior Premier sides carrying 3 and 4 points - the same as an arriving VFL player or AFL player who's been around for a couple of years.

Looking at their playing history a few have been at their club several years, but seem to be caught by the "juniors and U18's doesn't count for a season of service reduction" rule, so have been stuck with those points for a few seasons.

Its not just a Prem division issue either, I'm hearing regularly this issue being discussed by many clubs across all divisions. It's especially an issue at minnow clubs who don't have a ready pipeline of strong juniors, as it creates a real barrier to recruiting younger talent as they're not necessarily developed to a level to justify their points. It's much safer to recruit a 22-29 year old around the same points - but players in this age bracket tend to want more coin, so it's a bit of a viscous loop for struggling clubs to find a path to improve (which goes against the aim of the points system in the first place..)

Seems ludicrous to me as under 20 year olds rarely seriously influence a game of senior football, but especially so at the standard of Prem division now.
Most kids carrying points seem to be in-and-out where points opportunity presents, but I can't find any kid who is a regular fixture carrying 3 points or more.

At 1 or 2 points there's opportunity, at 3 and 4 points good luck.

I'm actually interested, are there any U20 year olds across any Prem Div sides carrying 3 or 4 points who are likely to play in a teams finals side?

Boof your 1 in 4 posts slagging Deer Park fascinates me ....

Which club do you now support?
Altona or Spotty ?

Both now in the lower ranks of the wrfl .... Keep winning bud!!
I have played at both those clubs, nowadays just having a kick in the 3rds, great comp btw.
Who do you play for DP 2s :tearsofjoy: :tearsofjoy: :tearsofjoy:
Both former powerhouses are struggling, im sure they will be ok.

DP will be a basket case in a few years.

Any system which handicaps kids from transitioning to seniors is flawed in my opinion.

I have noticed several young players getting a game here and there across a number of Senior Premier sides carrying 3 and 4 points - the same as an arriving VFL player or AFL player who's been around for a couple of years.

Looking at their playing history a few have been at their club several years, but seem to be caught by the "juniors and U18's doesn't count for a season of service reduction" rule, so have been stuck with those points for a few seasons.

Its not just a Prem division issue either, I'm hearing regularly this issue being discussed by many clubs across all divisions. It's especially an issue at minnow clubs who don't have a ready pipeline of strong juniors, as it creates a real barrier to recruiting younger talent as they're not necessarily developed to a level to justify their points. It's much safer to recruit a 22-29 year old around the same points - but players in this age bracket tend to want more coin, so it's a bit of a viscous loop for struggling clubs to find a path to improve (which goes against the aim of the points system in the first place..)

Seems ludicrous to me as under 20 year olds rarely seriously influence a game of senior football, but especially so at the standard of Prem division now.
Most kids carrying points seem to be in-and-out where points opportunity presents, but I can't find any kid who is a regular fixture carrying 3 points or more.

At 1 or 2 points there's opportunity, at 3 and 4 points good luck.

I'm actually interested, are there any U20 year olds across any Prem Div sides carrying 3 or 4 points who are likely to play in a teams finals side?
Great post and agree as I’ve stated plenty of times the points system has stuffed clubs and not evened out competitions and only people that like it are from the bigger clubs with heaps of juniors.
Your point also alludes to kids stay at these clubs as they move within the same league they are 4 points. How does that help a young kid get more opportunities??

Great post and agree as I’ve stated plenty of times the points system has stuffed clubs and not evened out competitions and only people that like it are from the bigger clubs with heaps of juniors.
Your point also alludes to kids stay at these clubs as they move within the same league they are 4 points. How does that help a young kid get more opportunities??
Is this really an issue? Who, where are these ‘young kids’ that are being held back because of points? Most clubs are under the points easily and it’s the clubs who import VFL, ex AFL/VFL talent that are impacted by points.

The System is flawed for sure. Juniors to senior transition should be encouraged 100%.
It is, play 40 junior games you are a 1 pointer.

Play min 5 games for 5 consecutive years including up to under19s you are a 1 point player.

Player only played at that junior club 1 point player.

Simple don’t move as a second year under 14 or 15 player and you will be a 1 point player at senior level.