EDFL Premier Div 2018

Practically a 2nd job, but it's NOT a 2nd job , it is Local Footy, Local Sport...
Your argument is based on the Selfish attitude of 95% of players. Its all about me me me me me and that attitude has stuffed Local Sport

Ask your President, committee members, canteen volunteers why do they spend so much of "their time", giving up precious time with their families, opportunities to earn additional money, clean rooms, stock fridges, sell food and drink, meet with "players", entice sponsors, hours of administration, organizing functions/apparel, working tirelessly for hours and hours each week to keep your club going?
I'll give you a tip what the answer might be - "Because it means something to them".

If you need to be paid so that representing the Competition means something, well that probably goes a long way to show what kind of individual you are.

This is the biggest load of garbage I've read on here in a long time. If you want to watch a decent standard then don't complain when the blokes actually putting on the entertainment at their own risk get paid. Its not players who have forced anyone to pay them. Its a club's responsibility to get the right people in. If you want to watch local footy there is plenty around, but the standard will not be great.

Practically a 2nd job, but it's NOT a 2nd job , it is Local Footy, Local Sport...
Your argument is based on the Selfish attitude of 95% of players. Its all about me me me me me and that attitude has stuffed Local Sport

Ask your President, committee members, canteen volunteers why do they spend so much of "their time", giving up precious time with their families, opportunities to earn additional money, clean rooms, stock fridges, sell food and drink, meet with "players", entice sponsors, hours of administration, organizing functions/apparel, working tirelessly for hours and hours each week to keep your club going?
I'll give you a tip what the answer might be - "Because it means something to them".

If you need to be paid so that representing the Competition means something, well that probably goes a long way to show what kind of individual you are.
They sign stat decs have to declare it in their income= 2nd job!!! I agree with most of what you say but the clubs are just as responsible as the players. Volunteers are generally local people to a certain club, have family/friend there and are passionate about the club hence the countless hours they put it to make the club run. However sign a gun player that has no history with the club, no family, friends or connection that tie them to the club offer them big dollars to sign, well don’t be surprised when don’t seem share the same passion and willingness to do things for free, it’s not just a footy player issue it’s society as a whole time cost money these days as less younger people are willing to do things for free.

This is the biggest load of garbage I've read on here in a long time. If you want to watch a decent standard then don't complain when the blokes actually putting on the entertainment at their own risk get paid. Its not players who have forced anyone to pay them. Its a club's responsibility to get the right people in. If you want to watch local footy there is plenty around, but the standard will not be great.
The Standard is not that good

They sign stat decs have to declare it in their income= 2nd job!!! I agree with most of what you say but the clubs are just as responsible as the players. Volunteers are generally local people to a certain club, have family/friend there and are passionate about the club hence the countless hours they put it to make the club run. However sign a gun player that has no history with the club, no family, friends or connection that tie them to the club offer them big dollars to sign, well don’t be surprised when don’t seem share the same passion and willingness to do things for free, it’s not just a footy player issue it’s society as a whole time cost money these days as less younger people are willing to do things for free.
Agree with what you are saying, unfortunately you are correct today's society is full of selfish younger generation who are all about themselves, which was reflected in my earlier post. And yes this is enabled by Clubs(paying stupid $$"s), Parents(giving everything for nothing because they don't want to see little Johnny sad) and Teachers(unable to discipline and have to praise ordinary results)..

And I also agree that you can't expect the "Gun" with no History to have the same passion but unfortunately most players are paid these days as if they are a Gun, when in fact they are just ordinary players.

It’s a 2nd job to some and others it might be their main source of income. Why shouldn’t they be paid for putting there body on the line and commitment to training and functions etc. But as per “our” normal jobs you are required to give 100% and put in the effort to be paid or your sacked in some cases or demoted. Recruiting is not an easy task hence why I like a group of mates playing together for the cause. Oh yeah they can’t do this due to this points system..

As I’ve stated in previous discussions on this subject it should be for under 22/23year olds with maybe 2-3 senior players who are paid to play and mentor the group. It might then be used as a pathway for those wanting to be looked at to play a higher level of footy. Otherwise I agree with you it’s no value to players who have already played at a higher level as they would prefer the weekend off unless there is some financial gain. Even AFL players enjoy a break during the season so should edfl players to get away with their families..
I like your thinking Turbo, but I would drop the age to 20 to 22. Then have the other game for U19 and allow those that have played TAC to be considered. That way the leagues are showing off the best of their young talent. And those wanting a shot at the big time can play. I would have two or three breaks throughout the season so these games can be played.

It’s a 2nd job to some and others it might be their main source of income. Why shouldn’t they be paid for putting there body on the line and commitment to training and functions etc. But as per “our” normal jobs you are required to give 100% and put in the effort to be paid or your sacked in some cases or demoted.

Good post mate, like the humour/banter. Not sure where your getting your info from but if someone was to get anywhere near that price can you imagine the outcry from others and disharmony it would bring. It’s local footy mate..and the boys in black & red don’t spend big.. Bit still to play out and not sure his headed to the edfl. Hope this helps answer your question bud..

Heading to the ammos I hear , next door to oak park

It’s a 2nd job to some and others it might be their main source of income. Why shouldn’t they be paid for putting there body on the line and commitment to training and functions etc. But as per “our” normal jobs you are required to give 100% and put in the effort to be paid or your sacked in some cases or demoted.
Based on that theory all Reserves players should be paid , and why not u/19's as well(whoops, forgot that is already happening - Marby!!!)

Surely you don’t actually think they would pay U19’s....
No doubt they offered them lucrative ‘senior contracts’ but if they don’t play seniors it doesn’t mean anything except that they can’t leave the club.

As I’ve stated in previous discussions on this subject it should be for under 22/23year olds with maybe 2-3 senior players who are paid to play and mentor the group. It might then be used as a pathway for those wanting to be looked at to play a higher level of footy. Otherwise I agree with you it’s no value to players who have already played at a higher level as they would prefer the weekend off unless there is some financial gain. Even AFL players enjoy a break during the season so should edfl players to get away with their families..
I believe the that you should have to have played 50 games in your competition to be eligible to be selected. if this is done it stops leagues from picking blokes who have just come out of AFL,VFL etc and then it might get back to playing blokes who are happy to play for the jumper.The way it was in the 80s.
If the edfl didn't pay coaches ,players,assistant coaches it wouldn't be a financial problem.
How are they going to put the money back into junior footy? We will never see it

I believe the that you should have to have played 50 games in your competition to be eligible to be selected. if this is done it stops leagues from picking blokes who have just come out of AFL,VFL etc and then it might get back to playing blokes who are happy to play for the jumper.The way it was in the 80s.
If the edfl didn't pay coaches ,players,assistant coaches it wouldn't be a financial problem.
How are they going to put the money back into junior footy? We will never see it
I know the EDFL cited financial reasons for withdrawing their rep side however the real reason is the lack of buyin from a lot of the leading players , most coaches and clubs . I know it’s subjective but looking at this years side that played against the EFL I’d guess maybe 9 or 10 tops would be in the competitions best 22. This has infuriated those at EDFL headquarters . It happens year after year and it’s led to this decision.

Good idea regarding games played, like it. Coaches and top notch players must be paid mate as they put in a bit of time and effort. Don’t they charge a gate fee which should cover some expenses. But I would rather see kids play mixed in with some experienced players who are being paid. The kids might get spotted by AFL/VFL recruiters. Who knows!! Seen wildcards get picked before.

It's Black and White , either the "Best" play or don't play it at all, no use putting a diluted team out to represent the competition. If it comes down to $$ whether these greedy selfish pricks play or not then scrap it, they don't deserve the honor of representing the competition and the competition need to have a good hard look at the monster they've created by having a $250k salary cap and wanting to spruik what "great" players they have running around and the "great" standard of the Premier Division. If the Comps that "great", why don't the players want to represent it?

Firrito leaving Strathmore. Obviously not wanted as president publicly stated that they kept every required player.

I’d say opposite seeing as his clearance has been denied twice already. so obviously wanted but he wants out

It's Black and White , either the "Best" play or don't play it at all, no use putting a diluted team out to represent the competition. If it comes down to $$ whether these greedy selfish pricks play or not then scrap it, they don't deserve the honor of representing the competition and the competition need to have a good hard look at the monster they've created by having a $250k salary cap and wanting to spruik what "great" players they have running around and the "great" standard of the Premier Division. If the Comps that "great", why don't the players want to represent it?

You dont get it do you.Most players across all local comps dont care about interleague its not just the Edfl.Players bust their ar$e off for their team and when fixture comes out pre season most dont think wow rep game cant wait.No they think ripper week off im going away that weekend.Sinple really if you want to play do so if not no problem.

Gotta say im in no way affiliated with an Edfl club but am gobsmacked by the fees many clubs charge junior players to play.Fees of $400 - $500 per child is a rort with no logical explanation for such charges.I know a few clubs who charge $150 per kid capped at $400 per family and these clubs always have a surplus (not huge) come seasons end.If anyone can justify the huge fees I would like to hear the reasoning behind it.

For sale!!! 4 wheels...found fallen off at Nipper Jordan...30 at training and no notable ins...Shilo off to QLD...lots of outs to boot...can Wallis be on his way also?

Oh Ed I can’t believe it. They will think I have another account or you might take my spot on the most wanted list at Douttas. Look out for Simmsy to respond. Lol

If Shylo leaves that will break them into pieces.. I also heard sponsors pulled out and Wally wants out, but is trying to be a decent bloke and not desert a sinking ship..As I said Big Ed. what occurred last year up there will take years to recover from. It’s happened at other clubs in the past and the rebuilding of your integrity times time.

Oh Ed I can’t believe it. They will think I have another account or you might take my spot on the most wanted list at Douttas. Look out for Simmsy to respond. Lol

If Shylo leaves that will break them into pieces.. I also heard sponsors pulled out and Wally wants out, but is trying to be a decent bloke and not desert a sinking ship..As I said Big Ed. what occurred last year up there will take years to recover from. It’s happened at other clubs in the past and the rebuilding of your integrity times time.
Turbo, your gleeful gloating at Douttas misfortunes is unbecoming. Just remember “ There but for the grace of God go I “.