Tragic 1

Jul 11, 2016
GWS
Here is some food for thought.
Tonight is a chance for all the minority clubs that have been looked down on for years by the super powers and treated like second class citizens by the EDFL board to draw a line in the sand and vote no to this season going ahead and in the process causing some financial pain the clubs who paid sign ons (outside the rules) and the ones who foolishly used junior fees to tidy up senior budgets from last year. Might just bring some of these super powers back to the pack a bit and give some of the lesser clubs a chance to compete next season. Thoughts anyone

Cheapseat

Apr 28, 2019
I don't disagree with your thought process but we need to keep it in perspective. That is 13 schools out of 2500 in the state or 0.52% of all schools.

As far as opposition teams not being able to play etc, then that is up to the Dept of Health to decide. The general rule is 15 minutes of face to face contact in a confined setting such as a lift or 2 hours in the same office or room. As we saw with Conor McKenna, you would think all the players that trained with him would be quarantined going by the vision but in the end it was only one player.

So only risk in my view is if another kid travelled in the same car as infected kid to a game.

Fair points but on the contact time Conor McKenna comparison they won't have the vision to allow that quantitative time in contact to be validated so will have to err on the side of caution as they do in normal non filmed contact tracing investigations and isolation recommendations.

If juniors kick-off we will soon find out how many clubs get effected and if the fixtures fall apart or not, time will tell.

I suspect the return to play guidelines may get reviewed too but to your point until that happens on a health basis the current rules are what should be considered.

Cheapseat

Apr 28, 2019
Here is some food for thought.
Tonight is a chance for all the minority clubs that have been looked down on for years by the super powers and treated like second class citizens by the EDFL board to draw a line in the sand and vote no to this season going ahead and in the process causing some financial pain the clubs who paid sign ons (outside the rules) and the ones who foolishly used junior fees to tidy up senior budgets from last year. Might just bring some of these super powers back to the pack a bit and give some of the lesser clubs a chance to compete next season. Thoughts anyone
There is no doubt the bigger well organised clubs, who charge at the higher level have collected a lot of fees for 2020 and sold footy kit at good margins to lots of kids say in Keilor case probably 500-600 kids.

2nd of Feb

Jumpers $60, Shorts $32, Socks $18 Sell Price
Jumpers $40, Shorts $12, Socks $9 Cost Price

$49 gross profit x 600 kids= $29,400 not bad

Rego fees $500* x 600 kids = $300,000 * I don't have Keilor's rego fees Abers are now $500 plus confirmed by multiple parents

Article Extract
Massive junior footy fees are putting the squeeze on Victorian families
Junior footy registration fees are costing Victorian parents up to $550 a year — and where you live can play a big part in how much you have to pay to get your kids onto the footy field.

But mums and dads sending their kids out to play for Strathmore footy club are shelling out $550 for a family membership, no matter how many children they have.

WHAT IT COSTS TO PLAY FOOTY
East Keilor — $450

Aberfeldie — $207.80 + $269.10 sports club fee per family

Strathmore — $550 (flat fee for one or more children and includes raffle tickets that can be on-sold)

Donvale — $255

Noble Park — $160

Mitcham — $195 (new players free)

Coldstream — $205 (new players free)

Croydon — $220 (new players free)

Wyndham Suns — $112.50

Caroline Springs — $330

Laurimar — $265

Thomastown — $180

Heidelberg — $225

Glen Iris — $340

Colac — $120

Bunyip — $125

Morwell — $90

Frankston Dolphins — $230

Wodonga — $160

Albury — $130

Lorne — $75

Anglesea — $180

Mar 25, 2002
37° 70' 12"
Take the Abers Under 14 kid who tested positive yesterday or the rumoured St Bernards kid or Strathmore Kid, if we were playing games this week would the Abers Under 14 team be able to play this week, if the kid played the weekend before does the opposition team they played need to be shut down pending testing because keep in mind there is no recorded footage for clubs to pass onto the DHS to rule out or isolate known contacts so they have to assume all possibly had close contact.

Presumably you're referring to Strathmore Primary School not Strathmore Football Club here?

If the former, then I think that clarification is important in this thread. Also, the Strathmore Primary School case was not a SFC player.

If the latter, then please let me know as the club has no knowledge of this, rumour or otherwise

Cheapseat

Apr 28, 2019
Local footy: Coronavirus outbreaks put EDFL junior season in jeopardy
Rising coronavirus cases in Melbourne’s north-west has put one suburban competition’s junior campaign in jeopardy. Here’s why clubs are withdrawing their teams.

Screen Shot 2020-06-30 at 2.17.20 pm.png

torpfrom50

Jan 21, 2010
Richmond Football Club
4f641f83b1de0ea06fe990cc2334adca

CLUB BOSSES RESPOND TO EDFL’S SHOCK MOVE
The Essendon District Football League’s decision to leave the door open for a senior season has frustrated several clubs with one president accusing the competition of “pandering” to the minority.

Are you this one president Cheap??

Cheapseat

Apr 28, 2019
Presumably you're referring to Strathmore Primary School not Strathmore Football Club here?

If the former, then I think that clarification is important in this thread. Also, the Strathmore Primary School case was not a SFC player.

If the latter, then please let me know as the club has no knowledge of this, rumour or otherwise
For qualification that was an unsubstantiated rumour regards Strathmore kid but the rumour was about the FC.

CliffMcTainshaw

Apr 11, 2015
Cill Chainnigh
Isn't it a moot point for whether there should be a 2020 senior local footy season Hooksy because regardless of whether it was health reasons or financial there are approximately 47 local football leagues in Victoria and of those 47 leagues 40 leagues (approx 800 clubs) and of the 7 leagues still standing approx 15 clubs within those leagues have cancelled their senior 2020 season stating both health and financial reasons. It might be a live debate regards junior though because most leagues and clubs who have cancelled have left open the option for juniors pending return to play guidelines that continue to allow it.
Only 5 now. Picola and Ellinbank now gone.

Cheapseat

Apr 28, 2019
CLUB BOSSES RESPOND TO EDFL’S SHOCK MOVE
The Essendon District Football League’s decision to leave the door open for a senior season has frustrated several clubs with one president accusing the competition of “pandering” to the minority.

Are you this one president Cheap??

I've really got inside your head Torp haven't I. :think:

Haven't seen this article Torp, have you read it? If not you better buy a subscription:)

I'm not a president so can't be me.. 🤣

Just read it then, the Tulla and West Coburg presidents are quoted? Is that what you mean?

Extract:
Labbad said clubs would be left worse off if a senior season went ahead.

Melbourne’s north-west has been central to the rise in the state’s coronavirus cases, with Keilor Downs, Broadmeadows, Albanvale, Sunshine West, Maidstone, Brunswick West, Fawkner and Reservoir identified as ‘hot spot’ suburbs.

West Coburg president David Gloury said enormous strain would be placed on volunteers if the decision was reversed.

“The board shouldn’t even be contemplating it,” he said.

“They’re pandering to several clubs and ignoring the majority.”

About 12 clubs – housed across Premier Division and Division 1 – met on Saturday and are in favour of the junior and senior seasons not going ahead.

But they have been left uncertain how their vote will contribute to the result and have sought clarity on the competition’s by-laws and constitution.

Torp I've had this feeling sneaking up on me lately I don't think Posting is For You

On a serious note Torp I enjoy our exchanges mate it's all good fun

muppet007

Jun 8, 2014
Stay At Home orders to be reinstated by the Andrews Government from 11:59pm tomorrow night in the following postcodes in Victoria 3012, 3021, 3032, 3038, 3042, 3046, 3047, 3055, 3060 and 3064.

This is to last a month.

Cheapseat

Apr 28, 2019
Fair points but on the contact time Conor McKenna comparison they won't have the vision to allow that quantitative time in contact to be validated so will have to err on the side of caution as they do in normal non filmed contact tracing investigations and isolation recommendations.

If juniors kick-off we will soon find out how many clubs get effected and if the fixtures fall apart or not, time will tell.

I suspect the return to play guidelines may get reviewed too but to your point until that happens on a health basis the current rules are what should be considered.

Stay At Home orders to be reinstated from 11:59pm tomorrow night in the following postcodes in Victoria 3012, 3021, 3032, 3038, 3042, 3046, 3047, 3055, 3060 and 3064.

3012, Brooklyn, Kingsville, Maidstone, Tottenham, West Footscray.

3021, Albanvale, Kealba, Kings Park, St Albans.

3032, Ascotvale, High Point city, Maribyrnong, Travencore.

3038, Keilor Downs, Keilor Lodge, Taylors Lakes, Watergardens.

3042, airport West, Keilor Park, Niddrie.

3046, Glenroy, Hadfield, Oak Park.

3047, Broadmeadows, Dallas, Jacana.

3060, Fawkner.

3064, Craigieburn, Donnybrook, Mickelham, Roxburgh Park and Calcallow.

That didn't take long :oops:

EDFL Board meeting tonight:

CliffMcTainshaw

Apr 11, 2015
Cill Chainnigh

Stay At Home orders to be reinstated from 11:59pm tomorrow night in the following postcodes in Victoria 3012, 3021, 3032, 3038, 3042, 3046, 3047, 3055, 3060 and 3064.

3060, Fawkner.

All top tier divisions in suburban leagues will have a salary cap of $100K for 21-23 according to AFL Vic.

Stax on the mill

Jul 13, 2008

3060, Fawkner.

If that doesn’t put the final nail in the coffin of this EDFL season, then nothing ever will. It’s nonsensical to keep on trying to salvage a season at all costs. Almost every other league in the state has cancelled. Many of them have very few, if any COVID cases in their region.

Yet here we are in the EDL, where we have quite a few clubs situated in the post codes named, with many other clubs situated in suburbs abutting those postcodes. And still some will no doubt claim that all is not lost yet, and that we should keep on trying to get something going. FFS! If they don’t make the final call tonight, then they should be certified.

Cheapseat

Apr 28, 2019
oh dear. Cheap / Cheap / Cheap come out, come out, come out wherever you are!

What is going on with this on again / off again circus
Torrrrrrrrpppppppppppppp

How good are the EDFL they gave me a chance to win twice 🤣 If I'm really lucky they will call the season on tonight and give me a third bite at the cherry....

I reckon you'd have a good case to sue the EDFL for all the pain and distress their indecision has caused you Torp...

Hooksy26

Rookie
May 29, 2020
If that doesn’t put the final nail in the coffin of this EDFL season, then nothing ever will. It’s nonsensical to keep on trying to salvage a season at all costs. Almost every other league in the state has cancelled. Many of them have very few, if any COVID cases in their region.

Yet here we are in the EDL, where we have quite a few clubs situated in the post codes named, with many other clubs situated in suburbs abutting those postcodes. And still some will no doubt claim that all is not lost yet, and that we should keep on trying to get something going. FFS! If they don’t make the final call tonight, then they should be certified.
Yep - will take a miracle now and I'm not religious.

Cheapseat

Apr 28, 2019
The silence from the EDFL is deafening...then again there probably all running around trying to locate the defibrillators.
I think a few people in and around the EDFL pulling the strings have lost a little bit of perspective about their place in broader society.

I reckon there is a moral to the story somewhere here maybe I just have to read between the lines.....

1593504323404.jpeg

Cheapseat

Apr 28, 2019
I think I know why Torp has gone radio silence on me. There is late mail he has been a last minute call up to the EDFL board meeting tonight as a specialist fixture consultant.

I can hear Torp now.

I think we may have the numbers, if we take 10 minus 4 then divide that by 6 then multiple ~π then take the square root of that, then use Bi Law 4.2 and 5.6 I think we can stitch this together nicely. We have till midnight tomorrow night until lockdown to evacuate 36 suburbs, charter some private planes and establish a hub in QLD s**t scratch that they won’t take us, SA oops no good, WA ummm, Tassie bugger, maybe we fall back to plan B. Let’s call the season on tonight and put out a public announcement that we are just working out the finer details.

Cheapseat

Apr 28, 2019
Most important that all Aberfeldie parents adhere to the social distancing of 1.5 m when lining up to receive the refund of the 2020 junior membership .
Thank you for your request due to a high number of calls there will be long wait times, you are number 600 in the queue and we estimate that we will answer your call in 12 months.
1593511320336.jpeg

Turbos mail

Jan 15, 2015
Most important that all Aberfeldie parents adhere to the social distancing of 1.5 m when lining up to receive the refund of the 2020 junior membership .
Don’t forget the players that might also line up. 😂 They signed the best player to come into this comp for a number of years in Meese plus a couple of others in Faulks (via Echuca) and Fahey but Fahey is an Abers junior and hasn’t played for a few years so give them that. All would dominate in this league.