EDFL Premier Div 2020

my comment wasn’t about clubs being able to field a team, however will dilute the quality..
The least of our worries in the current environment we live in.
Assuming the state borders open up and then at some stage in 2021 the national border open ups who would even travel overseas before we have a vaccine?
Clubs will have loads of players hungey for a game of football post the 2020 dissapointment

Local Footy Top Tier Competitions will likely ride on the answers to these questions:
VFL presidents set to meet AFL bosses over future of state league

Some Extracts:
WILL the AFL teams — Collingwood, Geelong, Richmond, Essendon, North Melbourne, Western Bulldogs and Carlton — return? Or will the AFL’s financial squeeze lead to reduced salary caps, player lists and coaching staffs, making it impossible for them to operate their own sides? Will the clubs be happy for their players to gain and maintain match fitness by playing scratch matches between themselves, as they’re doing this year, or will they be farmed out to VFL clubs? Or will there be an AFL reserves competition, which seems to get floated every year? The odds of it happening now seem as long as Punt Rd.

WILL the AFL take the opportunity to bring the VFL and NAB League clubs together in regional hubs? Former Sandringham president Gerry Ryan has been advocating the model for 10 years, and did so again a few months ago. In a submission to the AFL in May, the five VFL stand-alone clubs suggested a similar structure, pointing to benefits including a stronger pathway from the Under 18 competition to the state league and the need for only one administration. They see it as running along the lines of the SANFL and WAFL, with development programs, schools connected to clubs and an overall regional approach. There would also be scope for new clubs to come in from areas such as Ballarat and Bendigo.

WILL the reserves teams of the Brisbane Lions, Gold Coast Suns, Sydney Swans and GWS Giants make the move from the NEAFL to the stronger VFL? Lions CEO Greg Swann likes the concept.

WILL the VFL expand in another form, taking in strong and ambitious suburban clubs to establish a so-called “Super League’’ that would have shades of the old VFA?

WILL the Northern Blues, suddenly dropped by Carlton in March, re-emerge as the Bullants and become a stand-alone club? President Steve Papal is beavering away behind the scenes to try to make it happen.

There are a lot of questions.

They don’t need one just yet but allows them time to see who is available. Find the best fit for the club, one who can develop the young team they have.
Maybe they should talk to Dale Morris, as an ex Doutta person he may be interested.
Chapman gone, Hardingham gone, can anyone ad.dress the query as to Laidley coaching in 21. Any other coaches likely to seek alternate positions or moves?

Isnt Potter a school teacher?
:) Ahhh I have a sneaking suspicion that it's not work based ... If the club can't afford to refund Junior Rego fees in full, meaning the money isn't in the bank to do that then they will need to cut costs for 2021.

On a random side note is there a resemblance here or is it just me:

Screen Shot 2020-07-16 at 12.14.51 pm.png

:) Ahhh I have a sneaking suspicion that it's not work based ... If the club can't afford to refund Junior Rego fees in full, meaning the money isn't in the bank to do that then they will need to cut costs for 2021.

Prove it.

my comment wasn’t about clubs being able to field a team, however will dilute the quality..
If taking a paycut for the sustainability of their club causes a player to pull stumps, particularly in light of recent discussion surrounding who actually foots the bill for these players - I'd consider that both club & competition are better off without them.

Prove it.
That's easy the moment Abers said they would only be able to give back 60% of Junior Rego fees for 2020 the fat lady sang on any confusion about where Abers were at. Potter leaving due to "work" maybe his school is launching afternoon shift?, is what people call corroborative evidence combined with the “rumoured” email chain 10 plus presidents have allegedly seen where Larkin is stating that Abers solvency would be at risk if the season didn’t go ahead.

Lets just see how Abers continue to “Act” not what they say and they will give you all the proof you need.
Screen Shot 2020-07-16 at 12.18.37 pm.png
Screen Shot 2020-07-16 at 12.16.54 pm.png

Don't fear there is a cure for this:

On a random side note is there a resemblance here or is it just me:

He’s actually been promoted to principal of the school at Williamstown according to the Herald Sun article and Abers were still hopeful he would continue as coach. If you believe Abers will have any trouble paying a cap of $100k and say a coach $40k then you are delusional

Then why are they only able to refund 60% of paying parent rego fees ?

Or are you saying they have the money but won’t give it back?

Or they can’t give it back because there is a short term cashflow shortfall?

What are you saying?

Glad I flushed out a few bites 🎣 to shine a light on the real injustice going on here and the inappropriate reliance on junior regos to run over bloated senior footy programs.👍

P.S keep it real it’s the off the book cost of the Abers footy program that is causing the pressure. Or are you saying the Abers team will have 5 blokes on $500 a game and 17 on $147 a game? Please ... 🤔

Then why are they only able to refund 60% of paying parent rego fees ?

What are you saying?

Glad I flushed out a few bites 🎣 to shine a light on the real injustice going on here and the inappropriate reliance on junior regos to run over bloated senior footy programs.👍

P.S keep it real it’s the off the book cost of the Abers footy program that is causing the pressure. Or are you saying the Abers team will have 5 blokes on $500 a game and 17 on $147 a game? Please ... 🤔

bit disappointed I didn’t get a YouTube clip with your response 🤦‍♂️
What Abers do with their refund policy is
their business and I doubt any of the club participants will care half as much as you do about it. If they lost any juniors it would be a very small minority.
I don’t necessarily agree with the policy myself and I just don’t care. My only point was that Potter received a promotion and that was the only reason he wouldn’t be coaching in 2021. Long bow to draw you saying they can’t pay him.
IF Abers or any other club pay players outside the cap I just hope the authorities can catch them out and throw the book at them.

their business and I doubt any of the club participants will care half as much as you do about it. If they lost any juniors it would be a very small minority.
I don’t necessarily agree with the policy myself and I just don’t care. My only point was that Potter received a promotion and that was the only reason he wouldn’t be coaching in 2021. Long bow to draw you saying they can’t pay him.
IF Abers or any other club pay players outside the cap I just hope the authorities can catch them out and throw the book at them.
we are all waiting for this to happen and its been a long wait

If the AFL audit didn’t catch Abers and Deer Park I wouldn’t be holding our breathe.

If you want to be taken seriously don’t pretend it isn’t happening we all know it is for lots of clubs.

We need some truth serum: Just for you 😉

Correct Potter is now the the campus principal at Williamstown High school. I’m guessing his hours might be different and might be harder to put the same amount of focus into his coaching. Maybe he could be the first director of coaching in the EDFL. Looking after all the coaches juniors and seniors at Abers

Not just directed at Abers but in general, are parents happy that their subs go towards funding the senior match players match payments?? My daughter is going to start playing footy at our local club in Beaumaris next year, they run one of the best junior programs in the state prob equivalent to Abers but I am not sure I would be entirely happy if i knew the $ i was handing over was going to fund the senior program that has zero benefit to my daughter.

You have to way up whether your getting your monies worth. That’s the question parents need to ask themselves. If you don’t believe your getting your monies worth then move your kid to another club that’s cheaper. I look at development over cost. If my kid skill level improves during the year then I’m happy to pay $$$. But if I’m paying good money and they aren’t improving then I’d change clubs. A coaches job is to improve their players abilities. If they can’t do that then they shouldn’t be coaching. Too many coaches don’t care about improve players ability to preform the required skills. The only worry about the good players and the others just fall behind. A good coach should improve a players skill lever form player 1 right down to 26.

Can anyone seriously have a go at answering this? Yes we know you don’t care but humour me what do we reckon the real answer is?

Then why are Abers only able to refund 60% of paying parent rego fees ?

It has to be one or the other?

You have to way up whether your getting your monies worth. That’s the question parents need to ask themselves. If you don’t believe your getting your monies worth then move your kid to another club that’s cheaper. I look at development over cost. If my kid skill level improves during the year then I’m happy to pay $$$. But if I’m paying good money and they aren’t improving then I’d change clubs. A coaches job is to improve their players abilities. If they can’t do that then they shouldn’t be coaching. Too many coaches don’t care about improve players ability to preform the required skills. The only worry about the good players and the others just fall behind. A good coach should improve a players skill lever form player 1 right down to 26.

Coaching is one thing, but also about creating an inclusive, fun and safe environment for the kids with exceptional facilities.. I would be happy to pay good $ for my child to ensure they are getting this, but if say more than 10% of my child's subs went to funding the senior program I would have issue and be questioning could that money be better spent on the junior program..... I am sure at each clubs AGM there is a break down of how funds are spent, is this broken down jnr v senior or is it seen as one club total cost v revenue?

Can anyone seriously have a go at answering this? Yes we know you don’t care but humour me what do we reckon the real answer is?

No it doesn't.

You forgot the option that what they said in there statement is true and that they have expenses they need to recoup.

Then why are Abers only able to refund 60% of paying parent rego fees ?

I have no knowledge of the inner workings of Abers but I suspect they may have put significant funds towards their redevelopment..