EDFL-Premier Division 2013

Awesome game down at canning street reserve. Two real up and coming teams Avondale heights vs airport west, close all game but AH showed class to run away convincing winners, Kenny held to one goal by Stephan tiller did a great job, while at the other end patty rose was clinical with 8. AH sitting third now yet people haven't said a whisper, crawling under the rader of a lot of people.

Plenty of rain tonight with more to come. Plenty of hard wet weather footy tomorrow! Wonder who will adapt and wonder if there will be a few upsets in another great round of EDFL looming. Keilors ground was already a bog tonight and im sure they will be happy getting the ground redone in the off season and interesting to know where they will be playing next year whilst the refurb is done, can anyone confirm wether it will be a 12 month job? Lets hope they get it flat at least.

Keillor will be playing the entire 2014 season out of Kealba. Next to the soccer ground.

Keillor will be playing the entire 2014 season out of Kealba. Next to the soccer ground.[/quote
This is an option but I am not sure it has been agreed on. Ground would need some work to make it safe for senior footy. Kealba is an option for junior footy going forward irrespective of ground renovations.

Very Quiet mate, nothing stupid to say about Marby, guess what we won again.
You got no idea!!!
Hey Micky Boy , don't be like that my old mate. I tipped Marby again, well done on beating Pacco mate, real feather in the cap for the club

OK, we're nearly half way through, I'm sure all agree Greenvale & Abers have spots 1&2 sewn up.

Who's gunna make up the other 2 spots come finals time? I know it's tight and any of the 6 teams could make it but be interesting to hear everyone's thoughts.

For mine Marby & Strathmore

Hang on, what am I think Marby? Mick you didn't think I was serious did yuh matey?

Strathmore
Avondale

The 4 points Avondale got in round coulkd be the difference between them and Airport West getting in.

Abers
Greenvale
Daylight
Strathmore
Avondale

Hey Micky Boy , don't be like that my old mate. I tipped Marby again, well done on beating Pacco mate, real feather in the cap for the club

OK, we're nearly half way through, I'm sure all agree Greenvale & Abers have spots 1&2 sewn up.

Who's gunna make up the other 2 spots come finals time? I know it's tight and any of the 6 teams could make it but be interesting to hear everyone's thoughts.

For mine Marby & Strathmore

Hang on, what am I think Marby? Mick you didn't think I was serious did yuh matey?

Strathmore
Avondale

Go and bangyourself!!!!!!

Huge round of footy
Pacco v Doutta's - whoever loses it is the end of their season, no chance of finals. Pacco to win in a close one
Jets v Avondale - Expect the Jest to win, be interesting to see by how much , Avondale dropped a couple of games they were in a position to win and did push Abers as much as any team this year. But Greenvale to win by 30pts
APW v Keilor - Massive game for both clubs. APW can prove themselves as a genuine A Grade team if they win this. Keilor must win to keep any hope of final alive. Real toss of the coin, I'll go Keilor
Mores v OPark - Big chance of upset as OPark get themselves up for this game. But I'll go Strathmore
Marby v Abers - Abers will want to hurt Marby like Marby did to Abers during their glory years. Another game where an upset wouldn't surprise, but I think Abers too strong to win by 5plus goals

Good luck to all

Huge round of footy
Pacco v Doutta's - whoever loses it is the end of their season, no chance of finals. Pacco to win in a close one
Jets v Avondale - Expect the Jest to win, be interesting to see by how much , Avondale dropped a couple of games they were in a position to win and did push Abers as much as any team this year. But Greenvale to win by 30pts
APW v Keilor - Massive game for both clubs. APW can prove themselves as a genuine A Grade team if they win this. Keilor must win to keep any hope of final alive. Real toss of the coin, I'll go Keilor
Mores v OPark - Big chance of upset as OPark get themselves up for this game. But I'll go Strathmore
Marby v Abers - Abers will want to hurt Marby like Marby did to Abers during their glory years. Another game where an upset wouldn't surprise, but I think Abers too strong to win by 5plus goals

Good luck to all

Word on the street is that Keilor have lost hard nut Robert Trajkovski for the season. Signed up this year with 6 weeks hanging over his head, served them, had his comeback game against EDS and is now out with injury.

Can anyone from keilor confirm this?

On a lighter note, is it just me or has the average age of the umpires running in premier division dropped even lower than it has been. Noticed the likes of Turner, Williams and Downing all returning to umpiring now after missing from Premier earlier on...

SS

Huge round of footy

Good luck to all

You wouldnt have a glue !!!!!!!

Convincing win by the APW boys. Go Eagles!

Yes it was an excellent performance under trying conditions. Marcus Kenny is an absolute gun ( 9 goals ).

Umpires are getting younger and younger ( and I'm getting older ). They do their absolute best in difficult circumstances. There is obviously a real shortage of umpires as they frequently seem to team up 3 young umpires together. Sometimes I think it would be of benefit to try and have at least 1 older head amongst the group ( if there are any around ). Also the first time that I have personally seen a young lady umpiring in Premier division.

Yes it was an excellent performance under trying conditions. Marcus Kenny is an absolute gun ( 9 goals ).

Umpires are getting younger and younger ( and I'm getting older ). They do their absolute best in difficult circumstances. There is obviously a real shortage of umpires as they frequently seem to team up 3 young umpires together. Sometimes I think it would be of benefit to try and have at least 1 older head amongst the group ( if there are any around ). Also the first time that I have personally seen a young lady umpiring in Premier division.
Agree but what is the league to do? Maybe a closer alliance to the AFL? Does the EDFL have an umpiring academy and if they do does it mean all the good umpires go the VFL/AFL for future career progression? Maybe we need to come up with working party on here and just hope the EDFL take some suggestions on board? I personally don't have an answer apart from trying to keep ex edfl players involved but who wants to umpire as the game has gone past umpires trying to keep fitness levels up as a part time job

Will the jungle drums be beating down at Keilor at the moment??

Quiet possibly. Next weeks match against Avondale is an absolute must or it will definitely be no finals 3 years in a row. Although not a Keilor supporter, I have seen them 4 times this season including yesterday. I thought they were unlucky to lose to Greenvale and ran Strathmore pretty close. Also losing the points against Avondale for an administrative bungle earlier in the season would have been devastating. I reckon they are a better team than their ladder position indicates.

Watched Airport West for the first time and was really impressed. They are certainly going to be thereabouts at the end of the home and away season. I thought Keilor may have run over them in the last quarter as they were only 10 points down and kicking with the wind. Not to be however, Airport West were just too desperate and have got a top full forward in Kenny to cap off the good work up field.