EDFL-Premier Division 2013

This. The VAFA clubs especially in the higher grades have extremely strong communities and can aid in the establishment or improved performance of ones business - particularly of a professional nature.

In the VAFA its all about networks, and the top clubs in the top grades have far reaching networks that can find potential players new careers with steady employment, or connect them with the right people for whatever they are looking to do. The smart ones (that may not have a decent career already outside of footy) see beyond a single season and know that they can potentially secure a future for themselves beyond football.

It's interesting the views of those outside amateur footy, as most don't have an understanding of just how powerful these networks can be. There's simply no need to pay guys to play footy when you can hook them up with something far more valuable, that potentially sets them up after their footy is done.

Of course you still have the problem of clubs promising jobs/work etc that they dont eventually deliver on, and guys move on after a season (D.Yze a case in point).

In the VAFA its all about networks, and the top clubs in the top grades have far reaching networks that can find potential players new careers with steady employment, or connect them with the right people for whatever they are looking to do. The smart ones (that may not have a decent career already outside of footy) see beyond a single season and know that they can potentially secure a future for themselves beyond football.

It's interesting the views of those outside amateur footy, as most don't have an understanding of just how powerful these networks can be. There's simply no need to play guys to play footy when you can hook them up with something far more valuable, that potentially sets them up after their footy is done.

Of course you still have the problem of clubs promising jobs/work etc that they dont eventually deliver on, and guys move on after a season (D.Yze a case in point).
Many blokes don't get the bigger picture and never will!!!

This. The VAFA clubs especially in the higher grades have extremely strong communities and can aid in the establishment or improved performance of ones business - particularly of a professional nature.
the vafa offer players bullshit stable office jobs. For exam industrial restate jobs etc. If your a tradie etc bit pointless going to play for the ammos as you can do more with the cash playing in local footy leagues.

It's interesting the views of those outside amateur footy, as most don't have an understanding of just how powerful these networks can be. There's simply no need to pay guys to play footy when you can hook them up with something far more valuable, that potentially sets them up after their footy is done.

Good jobs is not the only reason the VAFA is able to attract quality players. As you get on in age and many realise that they can't play football forever, more time and effort is put into developing their real career. Ammo footy offers these type of guys greater flexibility in terms of training and game days. Speak to any coach (like Steve McPherson/Daniel Harford) who have come from the suburban leagues and they tell of their frustration with players who's first priority is not football. Even at the higher levels (Prem A/B), you will find many "guns" only training once a week due to work.
Don't get me wrong, at our club we would never begrudge any player going to the EDFL or the EFL to play for money, and we have lost many but they have all lefft with our blessing, hoping one day they return. But, on their return they will not be paid at our club.
Alot of talk and conjecture recently that Uni Blues had and beat many teams in this league to sign Lindsay Gilbee, rumour has it that he has left to go play in the country for $$$ and a job.

Good jobs is not the only reason the VAFA is able to attract quality players. As you get on in age and many realise that they can't play football forever, more time and effort is put into developing their real career. Ammo footy offers these type of guys greater flexibility in terms of training and game days. Speak to any coach (like Steve McPherson/Daniel Harford) who have come from the suburban leagues and they tell of their frustration with players who's first priority is not football. Even at the higher levels (Prem A/B), you will find many "guns" only training once a week due to work.
Don't get me wrong, at our club we would never begrudge any player going to the EDFL or the EFL to play for money, and we have lost many but they have all lefft with our blessing, hoping one day they return. But, on their return they will not be paid at our club.
Alot of talk and conjecture recently that Uni Blues had and beat many teams in this league to sign Lindsay Gilbee, rumour has it that he has left to go play in the country for $$$ and a job.

realised harf was a good bloke but an average coach.

Big news coming out of the Aberfeldie camp with wojcinski signing for 8 games plus finals. Also Mal Michaels premiership team mate Darrell White playing a one off game on Anzac day. Great news for Abers