EDFL Premier Division 2016

Good Playing record shouldn't matter when you hit someone in face off the ball that was stated. If it's during a marking contest or the like then yes a reprimand is vaild. But from reports it was off the ball strike so he should get 2-3 weeks

What circumstances would you consider a reprimand appropriate? What about a 22 year playing record without blemish?

I wouldn't consider a reprimand appropriate for a striking charge at all.
Punching a player in the head, unprovoked, in a game of football is not on.
If as you say he has a clean record over that period of time and he pleaded guitly at the hearing then a 1 week penalty would have been suffice. A reprimand in my opinion is very weak decision in favour of a big name/reputation player.
In games of seen Patty play in he seems like a highly volatile individual and I'm very surprised he has never been sighted before. Saturday's punch was the 3rd time in as many years he has punched an EDS player. Not that should have anything to do with last nights hearing, just thought he should have been suspended.

Good Playing record shouldn't matter when you hit someone in face off the ball that was stated. If it's during a marking contest or the like then yes a reprimand is vaild. But from reports it was off the ball strike so he should get 2-3 weeks
You make it sound like he whacked him in the goal square when the ball was 150 metres away , ala Alan Harper / Fred Cook 40 years ago. It was nothing like that. The more you keep mentioning "big name/ reputation " in your posts you are doing precisely what you are accusing the tribunal of doing. You say Rose is volatile and was frustrated you obviously have no clue as to what a player like him has had to put up with over the years. It's amazing last night was the first time he'd been found guilty in 22yrs.

Yep fair enough. I don't know Patty at all.
If he hasn't been sighted in 22 years then maybe I have it wrong. I agree he gets very close attention (all the guns do) but I know what I've seen with my own eyes in recent years. Regardless, I stand by my original call that he got off extremely lightly for punching someone off the ball. Never did I say it was behind play. Although it certainly wasn't in play!!
2 different posters here that are confusing you I think.
Anyway good luck to him. Hope he takes the reprimand as its intended and concentrates on playing good footy.

A player like him has to put up with ? poor excuse for whacking someone. So I can expect to see Shylo Smith punch someone this week ? He gets the same attention, probably worse last season, and he just plays the ball.
If Patty hasn't been sighted in 22 years then he has obviously dealt with it very well, good on him, but it doesn't make it ok to smack a defender in the gob and get away with it.

I wouldn't consider a reprimand appropriate for a striking charge at all.
Punching a player in the head, unprovoked, in a game of football is not on.
If as you say he has a clean record over that period of time and he pleaded guitly at the hearing then a 1 week penalty would have been suffice. A reprimand in my opinion is very weak decision in favour of a big name/reputation player.
In games of seen Patty play in he seems like a highly volatile individual and I'm very surprised he has never been sighted before. Saturday's punch was the 3rd time in as many years he has punched an EDS player. Not that should have anything to do with last nights hearing, just thought he should have been suspended.

I didn't see the incident but Patty is a good bloke. Yes his volatile but it's more his passion towards the game and he can get frustrated with certain things like most permanent full forwards. Once again I can't comment on the action and don't condone striking players.

Now Gremlin, seeing you mentioned this I will add my 2 bobs worth. With regards to the treatment of Smith and others being tagged some weeks. If the tagger is playing fairly I have no issue with it, but if they are going outside the rules and doing things off the ball then they bloody deserve what comes their way. Players can only take so much.

I didn't see the incident but Patty is a good bloke. Yes his volatile but it's more his passion towards the game and he can get frustrated with certain things like most permanent full forwards. Once again I can't comment on the action and don't condone striking players.

Now Gremlin, seeing you mentioned this I will add my 2 bobs worth. With regards to the treatment of Smith and others being tagged some weeks. If the tagger is playing fairly I have no issue with it, but if they are going outside the rules and doing things off the ball then they bloody deserve what comes their way. Players can only take so much.

I can't stand the sight of taggers or defenders going outside the rules to negate a player Turbo but you can't whack someone in the face. Simple!
My original post was more of a slap to the tribunal's inconsistency and because I witnessed the incident I expected a different result.
Big win for Heights to have him play against West Coburg, probably would tip WC if he wasn't playing. Could easily be the difference between the 2 teams. He was almost unstoppable Saturday and nearly dragged Heights to a big win. Just let himself down with one bad judgment

I can't stand the sight of taggers or defenders going outside the rules to negate a player Turbo but you can't whack someone in the face. Simple!
My original post was more of a slap to the tribunal's inconsistency and because I witnessed the incident I expected a different result.
Big win for Heights to have him play against West Coburg, probably would tip WC if he wasn't playing. Could easily be the difference between the 2 teams. He was almost unstoppable Saturday and nearly dragged Heights to a big win. Just let himself down with one bad judgment

All good mate. Think it was a good conversation topic and nothing personal raised. Keep up the good work..

Can only assume evidence at tribunal absolved Patty of any action that would incur a suspension. Not sure he was unstoppable on Saturday and dragging Heights over the line:
- yes he kicked 6 goals 2 which were from very dubious free kicks
- yes ran out of the square and chased down an EDS player on scoreboard wing, great effort
- gave a away 2 50 mtr penalties that resulted in EDS goals
- got reported and sent off at crucial time of game
Would still love him in my team, one of the most consistent/impact forwards in the EDFL

Some massive games this week.

Keilor by 10 points over GV - Will be a cracking game. Keilor finally look a genuine premiership chance after being there abouts the last couple of years
Strathmore by 20 over Marby - Strathmore to bounce back finally at home. Marby look like the wheels have fallen off the last couple of weeks
Douttas by 80 over AW - The change of coach may help AW be more competitive but Douttas way to strong
Paco in an upset over Abers by 15 - Paco back in form last week and Abers seem to be just going at this stage
WC By 8 over Avondale - Back to Shore Reserve and full of confidence with 2 wins and a solid performance against Abers. Avondale have been really disappointing thus far.

Is he the Robbie Ahmat who played with Collingwood and Sydney Swans mid to late 90's and early 2000's?

Hey Stax, yes it is mate. Hopefully he can get them improving this year and rebuild from 2017. Think they will play a lot more kids for remainder of the season even though their side is reasonable young now. Hopefully they can stay positive through difficult times.

It's not good for the premier division to have big 1 sided results and guessing some other sides might go with a younger side last half of season if they can make finals. This could also see some uncompetitive games. Oh well I guess that's footy but it's something worth looking into to. Can the league help clubs in trouble pre season by offering some management advice?? Is this already available to clubs? It would be great for clubs doing it tough like Airport West, Hadfield (Div1), Burnside (Div2) etc to get some league assistance. I'm sure the Norther Saints last year might have liked some help.
The EDFL is a major league in a tough area with a high number of clubs. Sooner or later clubs will need to consider mergers to become more successful and compete with the big clubs. Yes that's not a good word, but ultimately mergers keep you alive (history) or you just fade away and no one remembers you in 10 years time. Also the number of juniors clubs teams have could see a merger be benifical for grounds etc.

Some massive games this week.

Keilor by 10 points over GV - Will be a cracking game. Keilor finally look a genuine premiership chance after being there abouts the last couple of years
Strathmore by 20 over Marby - Strathmore to bounce back finally at home. Marby look like the wheels have fallen off the last couple of weeks
Douttas by 80 over AW - The change of coach may help AW be more competitive but Douttas way to strong
Paco in an upset over Abers by 15 - Paco back in form last week and Abers seem to be just going at this stage
WC By 8 over Avondale - Back to Shore Reserve and full of confidence with 2 wins and a solid performance against Abers. Avondale have been really disappointing thus far.

Shore Reserve shouldn't be used for senior premier footy in this day of modern footy. It's just to small.. I know they play mostly at Coburg City Oval (which was a great decision) but if that ground is unavailable they need to make other arrangements. I'm sorry but football is now different and its to small..

Why can't they use Coburg as Coburg are playing Sunday??

Shore Reserve shouldn't be used for senior premier footy in this day of modern footy. It's just to small.. I know they play mostly at Coburg City Oval (which was a great decision) but if that ground is unavailable they need to make other arrangements. I'm sorry but football is now different and its to small..

Why can't they use Coburg as Coburg are playing Sunday??
The ground isn't in great nick.
They've also had to move the Youth girls carnival away from there as well.

Here is a question for you all.. What if the league decided to put Airport West to div1 and Craigieburn to premier from this week with the provision that there is no relegation in premier and Airport West can't play finals in div1 this season. It would be interesting to see if both teams would accept this opportunity if it was available!!

It "could" generate some some interest back at Airport West as well as make div1 competetion more even. Plus it "could" make premier more competitive.
However this is obviously based on Craigieburn having a better list than Airport West.. The other question is if Craigieburn are the best club to go up. It's no certainty they will win div1 premiership but at this stage they are undefeated.

Here is a question for you all.. What if the league decided to put Airport West to div1 and Craigieburn to premier from this week with the provision that there is no relegation in premier and Airport West can't play finals in div1 this season. It would be interesting to see if both teams would accept this opportunity if it was available!!

It "could" generate some some interest back at Airport West as well as make div1 competetion more even. Plus it "could" make premier more competitive.
However this is obviously based on Craigieburn having a better list than Airport West.. The other question is if Craigieburn are the best club to go up. It's no certainty they will win div1 premiership but at this stage they are undefeated.
I appreciate where you're coming from but imo, it'd make a mockery of the system as well as take a bit away from EDS winning the flag last

Sent from my SM-N915G using Tapatalk

It would be unfair to the other divy 1 sides. If they win a flag and don't go up and promoting craigieburn just on the list they have on paper. They could loose 3-4 players later in the year to season ending injuries and could unbalance there side. AW deserve to be in premier and there kids will learn heaps from playing against players that have played AFL and VFL. It can be a big positive out an unsuccessful year in terms of wins

EDFL Premier Division 2016