EDFL Premier Division 2016

Breathe BJ,
Settle down here. Pacco still the 4th best team at present but appear to be 6-7 goals behind the top 3. You would assume they will improve as the season goes on as they gel. Keep in mind Pacco have played all the top 3 sides but they have all been at Paccos ground. Hope they build some momentum going into the back half of the season. I honestly think Pacco better suited to the bigger grounds so hopefully they can beat a Greenvale or Abers on the return game.
EDS are doing very well and good on them, but I don't expect them to get within 5 goals of Pacco.

Wells & Tydell will make a huge difference and expecting Robbins to be back mid season, and that's a huge in for there team balance..
Given your posts across the past 24hrs - perhaps take your own advice.
I simply mentioned that those 4 sides would lead to interesting matchups come finals time, obviously any number of clubs are capable of improving or dropping off s the season progresses.

Sent from my SM-N915G using Tapatalk

Hey Watch it all, I'm not going there mate. It doesn't matter how many ex AFL players you have, the fact is Abers work to a lot bigger budget than Pacco so they have more quality in their side than Pacco. The points system doesn't help clubs like Pacco when trying to compete with sides like Abers as Pacco have to play 4-5 1 point players. Hopefully big Deano returns in a few weeks to add some much needed physical presence..

On your other question I think Abers were concerned about today's game as played an extra defender in there backline and Pacco probably should have pushed someone forward. I don't think Abers play an exciting brand of footy but they got the victory pretty easy really. It was all over 1/2 way through the 2nd quarter. They needed to move the ball quicker to expose Abers lack of height down back, but continually went sideways. Pacco need to find some small/mid forwards who kick goals.

Craven, Johns, Cubillo, Phillips, Allan, Patak, Z Hislop etc. all long term loyal recruits.

Let's see how long your so called underpaid ex afl talent stick at it. How many home growns yesterday?

Foster, Reid, Guest, Soncin, Thomson etc. cost you nothing to bring in?? Plus what you already have in Ross x 2, Warren, Jackson, Urqhuart, Harris, Polizzi, Lewis. There is 13 players, most have AFL/State league experience. I'm sure though as you say all these players are there for the right reasons and money doesn't come into it and it's all about the team!! You obviously watched the game closely yesterday.

There was a 4 to 5 goal breeze and both clubs played a spare. On the day we executed the plan better! Behind the ball incident??? There was a scrap, 2 blokes off with the blood rule. Allan also came of copping one from a behind the ball incident later in the game, but again it was a scrap and we deal with it and move on!! Keep punching Turbo!!!

Your knowledge of the game is horrendous and your own club are embarrassed by your comments!!

Breathe BJ,
Settle down here. Pacco still the 4th best team at present but appear to be 6-7 goals behind the top 3. You would assume they will improve as the season goes on as they gel. Keep in mind Pacco have played all the top 3 sides but they have all been at Paccos ground. Hope they build some momentum going into the back half of the season. I honestly think Pacco better suited to the bigger grounds so hopefully they can beat a Greenvale or Abers on the return game.
EDS are doing very well and good on them, but I don't expect them to get within 5 goals of Pacco.

Wells & Tydell will make a huge difference and expecting Robbins to be back mid season, and that's a huge in for there team balance..

Pascoe vale lost to Greenvale by 83
Lost to Keilor by 6 goals
And abers by 7 goals.

EDS been up to there ears in both games against grand finalists just couldn't get there. Embarrassed strathmore.

How can Pascoe Vale be the clear cut 4th best team?? On what basis. Certainly nothing This season.

They are struggling in my eyes to compete with the good sides.

Round 8 is a massive game between Pascoe Vale V Ess Doutta Stars.

Craven, Johns, Cubillo, Phillips, Allan, Patak, Z Hislop etc. all long term loyal recruits.

Let's see how long your so called underpaid ex afl talent stick at it. How many home growns yesterday?

Foster, Reid, Guest, Soncin, Thomson etc. cost you nothing to bring in?? Plus what you already have in Ross x 2, Warren, Jackson, Urqhuart, Harris, Polizzi, Lewis. There is 13 players, most have AFL/State league experience. I'm sure though as you say all these players are there for the right reasons and money doesn't come into it and it's all about the team!! You obviously watched the game closely yesterday.

There was a 4 to 5 goal breeze and both clubs played a spare. On the day we executed the plan better! Behind the ball incident??? There was a scrap, 2 blokes off with the blood rule. Allan also came of copping one from a behind the ball incident later in the game, but again it was a scrap and we deal with it and move on!! Keep punching Turbo!!!

Your knowledge of the game is horrendous and your own club are embarrassed by your comments!!

Hey Puff, you must have trouble reading what I write and only respond to anything remotely negative as per usual.
Now the Pacco guys wouldn't waste there breath with talking to you, and you are the embrassment to your club. You have been quite on here recently and I we all know why.

I did mention Abers were the better side and won pretty easy. I don't care what you wish to write, but the whole of EDFL know that besides for when GA was involved with Marby, Abers were one of the first clubs to spend huge coin to try and win the elusive premiership. They are in part why local footy player payments have gone through the roof. Yes your players have been loyal, that I agree with, but most of your top liners were recruited by the lure of big $$ and that's why they stay. I don't really give a sh@@, but every body in the EDFL know your club spend the most and have done for many years now. The other clubs like Pacco, EDS, Keilor, GV, Strathmore etc have needed to recruit and raise there player payments to compete. But your club was one of the first in the country to raise player payments.
Yes the points system is now in but it won't make a big difference. If it was introduced 4-5 years ago it might be a different story, but it is what it is.
All I said was Abers played better footy than Pacco but also have a better list of 24 players. My basis was, if you were to rate every player out of 10. Abers bottom 6 players are better than Paccos if your were to rate them and that's important.

I've tried to keep this report on the game fair but you seem to fire me up. Once again your reactive rather than proactive.

Harden up BJ. I was just responding to you. You seem to take things very seroius. It's just my opinion. I've watched EDS and believe Pacco have them covered but I guess we will see in 13 weeks time.
I think it's great EDS are going well. Both Pacco and EDS playing right on the points limit. Some speculation EDS might be over the 50 mark but I haven't offically checked.

Another great win by WC, though they made it hard for themselves with a very bad second quarter.
Was interested to see how Clouston would go as many on here have spoken highly of him, fair to say he didn’t like the confined spaces that Shore reserves offers.
Very surprised to see Slater as BOG for AH, as his opponent in Bzenic ran riot in the last quarter to take the game away from AH.
Abdul-Wahed had a superb 2nd quarter kicking two goals against the wind to keep WC in the game, always seems to pop up when the team need him most.
The team slowly coming together the more then play, will get better as the season goes on as well as some players returning from injury.
Still not sure how WC have a 6 point player, I think it is a complete mistake, our points should only 32, interesting to see AH were on 50 points exactly.
Another massive game down at Shore reserve this week against DS, if WC get the 4 points, then they may start getting the respect from within the league.

Another great win by WC, though they made it hard for themselves with a very bad second quarter.
Was interested to see how Clouston would go as many on here have spoken highly of him, fair to say he didn’t like the confined spaces that Shore reserves offers.
Very surprised to see Slater as BOG for AH, as his opponent in Bzenic ran riot in the last quarter to take the game away from AH.
Abdul-Wahed had a superb 2nd quarter kicking two goals against the wind to keep WC in the game, always seems to pop up when the team need him most.
The team slowly coming together the more then play, will get better as the season goes on as well as some players returning from injury.
Still not sure how WC have a 6 point player, I think it is a complete mistake, our points should only 32, interesting to see AH were on 50 points exactly.
Another massive game down at Shore reserve this week against DS, if WC get the 4 points, then they may start getting the respect from within the league.
Great to see West Coburg playing so well and competing every week in A Grade. Should be a great contest this week, looking forward to seeing WC in action for the first time. Bloody good coach Digby!

West Coburg travelling along very nicely. Both seniors and reserves very realistic chances of playing finals this year if they remain healthy with the Under 18's an outside chance too!

Good to see you back contributing in the 2's also mate after a year or so off.

West Coburg travelling along very nicely. Both seniors and reserves very realistic chances of playing finals this year if they remain healthy with the Under 18's an outside chance too!

Good to see you back contributing in the 2's also mate after a year or so off.

Can say it was great to be back out there, was very nervous with my first game after a knee reco, but worth it. Will play very sparingly, this old body can't take much these days lol.

Coached the 2s last year and loved it, so that might be on the horizons in years to come.

Just glad to see the club heading in the right direction. Hopefully the league doesn't see us as "multicultural thug" club anymore and a legitimate team who is capable of playing good quality football.

Hey Turbo, I went in the club rooms after the game and ask for my beer you owe me and they knew nothing about it, they didn't even know who you were, I used your real name and bigfooty NAMES and their reply was "WHO" Turbos a nobody! Turbo doesn't pay up! Turbos a tight arse! Turbos one of those blokes!

Good post Mango, apparently I heard a different story.
You asked for a Corona with lemon and I told them to give you a Carlton Draught. You weren't happy when they had no lemons so you cracked it. I only left $5 with the barman.

So maybe I'm a tight arse but you can't always drink Corona with lemon. A nice stubbie of Carlton is more suited to game day I reckon. Oh well look I give $5 to Potts when I see him around my neighbourhood next. XX

Good post Mango, apparently I heard a different story.
You asked for a Corona with lemon and I told them to give you a Carlton Draught. You weren't happy when they had no lemons so you cracked it. I only left $5 with the barman.

So maybe I'm a tight arse but you can't always drink Corona with lemon. A nice stubbie of Carlton is more suited to game day I reckon. Oh well look I give $5 to Potts when I see him around my neighbourhood next. XX
Mango could not drink a corona...its taller than he is...i am sure he is the reason they invented stubbies, long necks and tubes were too hard for him to handle!!

Whats happening down APW? when they went up and were competitive I thought they had a system to sustain being a premier league club for a decade the wheels have fallen right off!

Seen a little bit of EDS this year can they win it? They look like 10-15 goal betterside than what beat CB in GF last year.

My Tips:

PV by 24 points over AV
Abers by 42 points over SM
Keilor by 135 points over APW
Greenvale by 36 over Marby
WC by 18 over DS - Shore reserve being a massive home ground advantage.

That's very true, but Abers/Gvale have also recruited heavily in the past it's just the points system wasn't in back then and now some of those players are 1 pointers. I think we all agree it's the timing of this points system induction has affected some clubs trying hard to compete with the top 3.
Other clubs have recruited heavily too - the difference is they haven't been able to retain those players. Whether that's through lack of success on field, a poor culture off field or just targeting the 'wrong' recruits.

Some clubs do an excellent job at ringing players left right and centre, but let themselves down by not really putting the work in to make sure they're bringing across the 'right' type of players.

Round 6:

Avondale by 9 points over Pacco
Mores by 7 points over Abers ( miracles do happen )
Keilor by a lot over APW
Greenvale by 33 over Marby
Douttas by 13 over West Coburg

Stax's have you been enjoying a long lunch mate?

I can't see Avondale beating Pacco on the wide Avondale ground mate. Pacco do play that ground well. I am a bit concerned about Clouston & Rose but Pacco will out score them. Pacco by 40+

Strathmore do seem to lift a notch against Abers but they won't beat Abers mate. But your are a loyal supporter mate, so wish them well.

The West Coburg v Douttas game is going to be interesting now it's at Shore Reserve. It will be a tight contest. Not sure that ground is suitable for footy in this modern area.

Stax's have you been enjoying a long lunch mate?

I can't see Avondale beating Pacco on the wide Avondale ground mate. Pacco do play that ground well. I am a bit concerned about Clouston & Rose but Pacco will out score them. Pacco by 40+

Strathmore do seem to lift a notch against Abers but they won't beat Abers mate. But your are a loyal supporter mate, so wish them well.

The West Coburg v Douttas game is going to be interesting now it's at Shore Reserve. It will be a tight contest. Not sure that ground is suitable for footy in this modern area.
There is nothing wrong with Shore Reserve. Its a bit narrow but its longer than you think and there was certainly no issue finding space in the last quarter against avondale. Brings a different dimension to the games, its one of the charms of local football that you have to adapt to different conditions not like the AFL where everything is pristine. It beggers belief that we have had no rain for months, and yet City oval a council facility is deemed not up to scratch by AFL VIC. SInce when did they start paying rates to maintain the facility? It was perfect for the Marby game three weeks ago. How did it get so bad in a couple of weeks?

Mate, the ground is the size of a postage stamp not fit of any footy!!!!! Maybe soccer!

Abers by 42 - just too much class over all lines for the 'Mores. Reimers 6+

Pacco by 24 - Warren vs Rose shootout ? - 12 between them. Heights the best 0-5 A grade team I've seen, will push Pacco for a long way but Pacco to hold them off.

Keilor by 200 - If they can kick 20 against GV how many will they get this week. Plenty!
Move to 6-0, big % and basically seal their finals position in May.

Greenvale by 75 - GV to bounce back from loss with a big statement. Marby don't seem to have a lot of depth and struggle to cover key injuries.

Doutta's by 30 - Few injury concerns for EDS and a big danger game but should be too strong for much improved WC. If EDS are serious contenders they just have to win.

Hi to all Big Footy posters and readers.

My best mate played at the Avondale Heights footy club and he is suffering from sarcoma cancer. He has been fighting this deadly disease for 3 years and as things are getting worse. we are trying to raise as much money as possible to send him to receive special treatment as he is still only a young 21 year old. If anyone could promote and contribute to the link below it will be greatly appreciated. We all come together in a time of need.

Cheers.
https://www.gofundme.com/2qru8p5c

My best mate played at the Avondale Heights footy club and he is suffering from sarcoma cancer. He has been fighting this deadly disease for 3 years and as things are getting worse. we are trying to raise as much money as possible to send him to receive special treatment as he is still only a young 21 year old. If anyone could promote and contribute to the link below it will be greatly appreciated. We all come together in a time of need.

Cheers.
Send this to the EDFL surely they would give it a run on the web site.

Mate of mine has landed the job of Treasurer due to a sudden resignation at one of the clubs in the Eastern League & the matter of how players are paid came up. In EDFL is the old brown paper bag still happening where players are still paid cash rather than electronic transfer to there account. I'm aware of players not wanting to declare other income for various reasons but my ol' mate is a bit concerned walking the streets with $30k in his sky rocket when payment round arrives. Interested to hear what other clubs have in place.

Cheers.
Moonee Valley FC did fundraising for Sarcoma last season and will continue this year

EDFL Premier Division 2016