EDFL Premier Division 2016

I can't believe Abers lost - you know with the Super coach Potter at the Helm and all. Must've been the players fault, or out's or something , couldn't have been because Potter got out-coached by a man with an inferior list?
Maybe the "supercoach" was spewing that he had to queue for 15 minutes to vote at Keilor primary school.:eek: Being seen in "enemy" territory not good for the image, upset his concentration.:'(

I'd say the coaches had little to do with the result , the fact that Abers were missing a 5 goals a game key forward plus a key defender would be the obvious reasons
Suck it up princess EDS beat you with, no recognised ruckman, Hicks, Calvaresi, Thompson, Anderson out and played 3 kids. You can only put your best 22 on the park to get the job done and Abers didnt and they did

For a start Hughes doesn't kick five a week .... so he can't be compared to Reimers ...... Looking at EDS last two wins they've been helped considerably by opponents missing key players...... I see they were on 50 points player wise last week , not much room to move there

Wah Wah Wah. Have a sook. You must be the reason abers use the super soppa.

your right every other club has injuries and players missing EDS must be at full strength yes? Your dreaming. You've got no idea. Your club didn't see it coming and your crawling trying to find excuses instead of acknowledging you were out played and out coached.

On what you've said. Without two players abers are ordinary because you don't respect EDS and they won. So without Allan and reimers abers would be ordinary? Because that's the only reason EDS won. For a big budget to rely on two players it would suck to be you if something happened to either one come finals time.

I'd say the coaches had little to do with the result , the fact that Abers were missing a 5 goals a game key forward plus a key defender would be the obvious reasons
Ju
For a start Hughes doesn't kick five a week .... so he can't be compared to Reimers ...... Looking at EDS last two wins they've been helped considerably by opponents missing key players...... I see they were on 50 points player wise last week , not much room to move there
fact both have played 9games Reimers average 4.5 and Hughes 3 so not a big gap in terms of their individual contribution. Last 2 wins both Marby and Paco were at full strength, get your facts right !!!

Wah Wah Wah. Have a sook. You must be the reason abers use the super soppa.

your right every other club has injuries and players missing EDS must be at full strength yes? Your dreaming. You've got no idea. Your club didn't see it coming and your crawling trying to find excuses instead of acknowledging you were out played and out coached.

On what you've said. Without two players abers are ordinary because you don't respect EDS and they won. So without Allan and reimers abers would be ordinary? Because that's the only reason EDS won. For a big budget to rely on two players it would suck to be you if something happened to either one come finals time.
Come finals time you can go on holidays.... Cos your mob won't be involved..... Ha ha ha

Ju

fact both have played 9games Reimers average 4.5 and Hughes 3 so not a big gap in terms of their individual contribution. Last 2 wins both Marby and Paco were at full strength, get your facts right !!!
Don't know about full strength...... I reckon Ben Ross the Pascoe Vale skipper and Luke Foster the comps best defender might be in their best 18 ..... Get your facts right!!!

Your correct Tony, plus Cam Howard was out also that day. That's 3 big outs with Ross arguably the best player in the comp.

Having said that Douttas were better on the day and deserved their win after Pacco hit the front in the last qrt.

Reimers I class above Hughes and Ryan Allan is arguably the best key defender in the league for a number of years.
On the coaches, surely tactically Wallis is better than Potter and as I've said before, in the next few years Wallis could be up there with Mighty Mick, Rocky etc as the best coaches in our league.

Strathmore have 4 players in there best 22 going overseas for the next 4 weeks. This will really hurt them and don't see them challenging for a top 4 spot this season. They were talked about in the pre season as being a contender so will surely be disappointed with things so far.

Can Douttas contend come finals time (if they make it) without a recognised ruckman? I don't think so even though Clarke is doing a good job thus far.
Matty Eagles always going to be only a feeder player? I can't see Eagles playing for Douttas anytime soon. Interesting recruit. Big strong lad, who plays like an old fashion ruckman and going well at Nth Ballarat. Believe he will resign at Nth Ballarat for another year..

I'm hearing a lot of grounds in bad condition. Keilor, Douttas, Strathmore, Abers, Pacco are some examples. What's going on here and how can we improve the grounds? Keilor and Douttas recently redone if my memory is correct. Any thoughts!!

Its a winter sport, play in whatever conditions are served up.

Well obviously you have to. I understand the centre turf wickets are often muddy but some grounds are worse in other areas. Just wondering if councils could improve them or is it due to the traffic. I see the newer grounds have 2 ovals so you can train on one and play on the other. Examples would be Burnside, Caroline Springs.

Clifton Park, other than the centre wicket was in great nick and the umpires did the smart thing and moved the centre circle away from it. The scores from the weekend suggest the grounds weren't in too bad condition. If it is only the centre wicket i.e. Clifton Park, Lebanon and Section Rd then you can play around it. As for Buckley Park lower oval, it is no good at all, not just the two turf wickets but all across the ground.

Turbs, I noticed Dylan Reid in the ressies this round. Was this due to form or points as PV were on 47 without him and he is a 5 pointer I believe?

Tiger you need to get off that crappy Japanese beer your drinking It's scrambling your brain.
You say Douttas can only win if their opposition has two outs regardless of how many injuries Douttas have.
I think the jury is still out about Luke Foster being the best defender in the comp. We have a fairly handy player as well as do other teams.

Your correct Tony, plus Cam Howard was out also that day. That's 3 big outs with Ross arguably the best player in the comp.

Having said that Douttas were better on the day and deserved their win after Pacco hit the front in the last qrt.

Reimers I class above Hughes and Ryan Allan is arguably the best key defender in the league for a number of years.
On the coaches, surely tactically Wallis is better than Potter and as I've said before, in the next few years Wallis could be up there with Mighty Mick, Rocky etc as the best coaches in our league.

I also heard the orange boy, boot studder and one of the water boys were unavailable against Douttas.
Honestly Turdo all we ever get from Pacco is excuses. Ross the best player in the comp your delusional.

Tiger you need to get off that crappy Japanese beer your drinking It's scrambling your brain.
You say Douttas can only win if their opposition has two outs regardless of how many injuries Douttas have.
I think the jury is still out about Luke Foster being the best defender in the comp. We have a fairly handy player as well as do other teams.
Must get the oil man to take his boat over Essendon way .......never fail to get a bite ......ha ha

Turbo most teams with 2 ovals have a hoard of juniors and teams get split to both ovals so they all the ovals get used and abused this time of year with really wet weather also on senior training night the seconds thirds and u18 get moved to the second oval so the senior team can practice structure's and game play

Clifton Park, other than the centre wicket was in great nick and the umpires did the smart thing and moved the centre circle away from it. The scores from the weekend suggest the grounds weren't in too bad condition. If it is only the centre wicket i.e. Clifton Park, Lebanon and Section Rd then you can play around it. As for Buckley Park lower oval, it is no good at all, not just the two turf wickets but all across the ground.

Turbs, I noticed Dylan Reid in the ressies this round. Was this due to form or points as PV were on 47 without him and he is a 5 pointer I believe?

Cheers mate. Strathmore's Lebanon Res is pretty bad. Muddy in a few areas and in the pocket was 2-3'' of water just sitting there. Water must run to that area as it was just puddles.

Reidy will be back probably this week. It wasn't due to points as you take a player out to fit him in frees up a couple more points.
Just on this points stuff, I don't agree with Reidy being 5 points just because he played about 12-15 VFL games. What a joke. I see Veszpremi is the highest ranked player under the points system with 7. His now in his 3rd season of local footy. Surely from a player perspective that doesn't seem fair..

I also heard the orange boy, boot studder and one of the water boys were unavailable against Douttas.
Honestly Turdo all we ever get from Pacco is excuses. Ross the best player in the comp your delusional.

Hey simmsy, maybe go back and read my post with your glasses on. Not once did I complain and said Douttas were the better side and deserved their victory. Ffs I even gave a report after that game highlighting some of you excellent recruiting and Wallis 's coaching on the day.
This arguement started with regards to Douttas beating Abers between other posters but I agree I did kind of get involved just to clear things up.

For the record:
1/ I stuffed up it was Cam Arnold not Howard. Apologies!!

2/ I'm not sure what league you follow as its not EDFL if you don't acknowledge that Ben Ross is an elite player of our competetion and arguably the best player. Surely his rated top 5-10. Agree McLean, Riemers, Blackwell, Browne, Galea, Rose Castello, Veszpremi etc are also included in this bracket just to name a few. But I suppose it's your view on our league.

Turbo most teams with 2 ovals have a hoard of juniors and teams get split to both ovals so they all the ovals get used and abused this time of year with really wet weather also on senior training night the seconds thirds and u18 get moved to the second oval so the senior team can practice structure's and game play

Fair points mate..

I just see all these new scoreboards going up everywhere yet just think councils could do a bit more to improve the grounds that's all. Not just for Saturday footy but even just walking your dog or taking your kids for a kick.,

PS: I do enjoy seeing those electronic scoreboards. Hopefully Pacco get there's for next season but it's a great iniciative for them to hire one each home game. Well done!! They do it tough out there compared to what some of the other clubs have, so go the battlers I say.. Lol

Strathmore have 4 players in there best 22 going overseas for the next 4 weeks. This will really hurt them and don't see them challenging for a top 4 spot this season. They were talked about in the pre season as being a contender so will surely be disappointed with things so far.

Can Douttas contend come finals time (if they make it) without a recognised ruckman? I don't think so even though Clarke is doing a good job thus far.
Matty Eagles always going to be only a feeder player? I can't see Eagles playing for Douttas anytime soon. Interesting recruit. Big strong lad, who plays like an old fashion ruckman and going well at Nth Ballarat. Believe he will resign at Nth Ballarat for another year..

He's more athletic than your stereotypical ruckman and is best suited in the f50, though he's done a handy job splitting time in the ruck with Ro Marshall since Big O went down with injury.
I believe that he signed a 2 year contract earlier in the year but he'd obviously be very handy for Douttas if/when he does suit up for them.

PS: I do enjoy seeing those electronic scoreboards. Hopefully Pacco get there's for next season but it's a great iniciative for them to hire one each home game. Well done!! They do it tough out there compared to what some of the other clubs have, so go the battlers I say.. Lol
Pacco battlers? C'mon Turbo, pull the other leg. You guys are rolling in the moolah.

He's more athletic than your stereotypical ruckman and is best suited in the f50, though he's done a handy job splitting time in the ruck with Ro Marshall since Big O went down with injury.
I believe that he signed a 2 year contract earlier in the year but he'd obviously be very handy for Douttas if/when he does suit up for them.

Yeah his a big body. I would be very surprised if Nth Ballarat let him go back to local now, even during a bye. His become to valuable for them. He can also kick a ball so yes agree would be dangerous as a key forward.

EDFL Premier Division 2016