EDFL Premier Division 2016

Considering the player was on the field for no more than 1-2 minute, the punishment don't fit the crime... Would be interesting if it was the other way around, would they have wiped off the Keilor score???
It happened last year with Greenvale v Strathmore.
Greenvale had they score wiped from halfway through the 3rd quarter. Still manage to win by kicking 8 goals to 1 from that time on

Considering the player was on the field for no more than 1-2 minute, the punishment don't fit the crime... Would be interesting if it was the other way around, would they have wiped off the Keilor score???

Hey Subway, kind of understand where your coming from but every club has enough coaches on the bench to manage these things. If I'm correct It was a minute or 2, but could have been longer if Keilor didn't pick it up. It's against the rules mate.

To answer your 2nd question I would hope so, but its not uncommon for clubs to be treated differently. Lol. Don't think Mighty Mick would let that happen or that person would cop it. Haha

Another topic I would like to raise. How do we think junior football is going this year as its a major piority with the points system now introduced.

Looking through tribunal results I see a lot of reported players are junior players. How do we get so many reports in junior footy?

- Is it due to some clubs having a high volume of players/teams which means clubs need to find more coaches and the committee"s are only concentrating on div1 teams and the other grades are left to manage themselves with incompetent people. I think some clubs are losing there way and appointing some junior coaches who have no idea of footy, let alone how to develop players and control situations. Clubs just happy to take membership $$ from anyone..

- Are certain clubs moving away from teaching footy at the lower ages from development & enjoyment to playing to win??

Another topic I would like to raise. How do we think junior football is going this year as its a major piority with the points system now introduced.

Looking through tribunal results I see a lot of reported players are junior players. How do we get so many reports in junior footy?

- Is it due to some clubs having a high volume of players/teams which means clubs need to find more coaches and the committee"s are only concentrating on div1 teams and the other grades are left to manage themselves with incompetent people. I think some clubs are losing there way and appointing some junior coaches who have no idea of footy, let alone how to develop players and control situations. Clubs just happy to take membership $$ from anyone..

- Are certain clubs moving away from teaching footy at the lower ages from development & enjoyment to playing to win??

Good point Turbo, clubs are doing everything possible to get as many kids they can to play as the membership helps the bottom line. Unfortunately they don't have the infrastructure to cope with additional teams.

Clubs are searching for anyone willing to coach without much of an idea if they are capable.

Read on Facebook about the sad passing of young Tom Gray from the Strathmore footy club. From the info it looks like Tom wasn't even 10 yet. Tragic to lose someone so young and thoughts and prayers go out to Tom's family, mates and the Footy club who will no doubt be doing it very tough.

It's not a poor West Coburg issue. It happened last year in the Greenvale Strathmore game. The umpire made mistakes in an all in brawl and didn't show the red card only gave a verbal send off. These days with benches like a train station confusion sets in. The count was called 16 seconds after the play re-started from the rolling brawl with no score added and the ball still in the centre square. Greenvale's 80+pt plus score wiped.

How is rule hasn't been changed after that fiasco is beyond me. Doesn't happen in the AFL. Maybe instead of adopting the sliding rule and deliberate out of bounds they could get the basics right.

it's not 1940's anymore. Funny how all these incidents have occurred after the magical send off rule was introduced to the EDFL. Which is meant to be for players who are out of control. Not mistakenly automatically applied to every single report laid but that is another issue.

Read on Facebook about the sad passing of young Tom Gray from the Strathmore footy club. From the info it looks like Tom wasn't even 10 yet. Tragic to lose someone so young and thoughts and prayers go out to Tom's family, mates and the Footy club who will no doubt be doing it very tough.
Well said Mel I am sure the entire football community are thinking of the family at this extremely sad time

It's not a poor West Coburg issue. It happened last year in the Greenvale Strathmore game. The umpire made mistakes in an all in brawl and didn't show the red card only gave a verbal send off. These days with benches like a train station confusion sets in. The count was called 16 seconds after the play re-started from the rolling brawl with no score added and the ball still in the centre square. Greenvale's 80+pt plus score wiped.

How is rule hasn't been changed after that fiasco is beyond me. Doesn't happen in the AFL. Maybe instead of adopting the sliding rule and deliberate out of bounds they could get the basics right.

it's not 1940's anymore. Funny how all these incidents have occurred after the magical send off rule was introduced to the EDFL. Which is meant to be for players who are out of control. Not mistakenly automatically applied to every single report laid but that is another issue.

Hey Jett, I kind of understand where your coming from but let's remember we are talking about clubs who are paying most players and most coaches so I think they know what has been said to them. Red card, yellow card or whatever they know what occurred. If your sent off you can't be replaced its pretty straight forward. Same rule for junior footy so it's not new other than the cards

I suppose I'm a bit old school and know the rules and sick of hearing excuses. The 2 clubs involved have well paid coaches so surely they know the rules.

What should be noted here is both grounds are smaller in size and not fully fenced. Is this more the issue? How does a fight go into the crowd at Strathmore. Not a good situation but how can it be fixed??

A couple of cracking matches this weekend

Abers by 30 over Avondale - a few injury concerns for Abers but they should get the job done

Strathmore by 80 over Airport West

Douttas by 15 over Greenvale - should be a good game this, but think GV injury list hurts them. Douttas have been playing some good footy and might have a bit much running power on their home deck

Keilor by 10 points over Paco - both sides in great form. Paco really need to take a scalp if they are to considered a genuine flag chance. Think Keilor may have to much firepower up forward however

Marby by 15 points over WC- Another genuine 50/50 game. Bzenic missing due to Vic Metro duties probably tips the scales in Marby favour at home

Hey Jett, I kind of understand where your coming from but let's remember we are talking about clubs who are paying most players and most coaches so I think they know what has been said to them. Red card, yellow card or whatever they know what occurred. If your sent off you can't be replaced its pretty straight forward. Same rule for junior footy so it's not new other than the cards

I suppose I'm a bit old school and know the rules and sick of hearing excuses. The 2 clubs involved have well paid coaches so surely they know the rules.

What should be noted here is both grounds are smaller in size and not fully fenced. Is this more the issue? How does a fight go into the crowd at Strathmore. Not a good situation but how can it be fixed??
It'd be over on the flank where Strathmore fans sit on their plastic chairs.
Personally I think sendoffs should be limited to more severe cases ie- belting blokes behind play etc.
Imo it's too heavy a sanction to send someone off plus have the player miss weeks too, especially these days with a lot of blokes going down like they've been shot after incidental contact, surely a report would suffice?

Sent from my SM-N915G using Tapatalk

A couple of cracking matches this weekend

Abers by 30 over Avondale - a few injury concerns for Abers but they should get the job done

Strathmore by 80 over Airport West

Douttas by 15 over Greenvale - should be a good game this, but think GV injury list hurts them. Douttas have been playing some good footy and might have a bit much running power on their home deck

Keilor by 10 points over Paco - both sides in great form. Paco really need to take a scalp if they are to considered a genuine flag chance. Think Keilor may have to much firepower up forward however

Marby by 15 points over WC- Another genuine 50/50 game. Bzenic missing due to Vic Metro duties probably tips the scales in Marby favour at home
Just on the vic metro squad, was surprised to see bzenic being the only edfl player to make the final team! Surely Fort Caruso is in the top 20 players running around in metro footy atm? he is the number 1 player in the edfl in my opinion and would have him in that Metro side 100%! did he and a few others make themselves unavailable for selection or were they just not picked?

The initial squad had 4-5 EDFL players from memory. I presume they made themselves unavailable due to it falling on the same weekend they had club matches on.

You would think club football is more important than playing in a rep side that means nothing

They're not taking a pay cut to play a rep game mate.

Tips
Abers comfortably over Avondale
Strathmore over APW
Keilor at home over Pacco
Marby at home over West Coburg
EDS vs Gvale - match of the round, could go either way, EDS go in as warm favourites.

Sent from my SM-N915G using Tapatalk

Another brilliant display by the unstoppable Pascoe Vale machine to overcome Keilor at Keilor. Turbo, the lid is off. Surely Pacco would have to be into outright favouritism for the flag after that display?

Douttas have certainly put in 2 very strong displays recently. Firstly convincingly knocking off Abers, then comfortably beating their fellow finals contenders in Greenvale. Jets looking very vulnerable as far as finals
go.

Strathmore too up and down to be taken seriously as a finals chance, and apart from Douttas haven't beaten any of the other contenders.

Another brilliant display by the unstoppable Pascoe Vale machine to overcome Keilor at Keilor. Turbo, the lid is off. Surely Pacco would have to be into outright favouritism for the flag after that display?

Douttas have certainly put in 2 very strong displays recently. Firstly convincingly knocking off Abers, then comfortably beating their fellow finals contenders in Greenvale. Jets looking very vulnerable as far as finals
go.

Strathmore too up and down to be taken seriously as a finals chance, and apart from Douttas haven't beaten any of the other contenders.

Great win today by Pacco mate. They are seroius challengers. Got a good start and really never headed for the rest of the game. I'm heading out but Mighty Mick is no longer being called Mighty by me. Once again Keilor starting with 7 backman and really just bombing into their forwards. Pacco mids and backs totally dominated even with 3 of there best 15 out today including 2 good backman. Lewis, Forbes, Foster, Arnold, Harro, Urghart, Ross boys, Boyd, Jackson were all good. I guess more a team effort. Very good ruck contest between Browne & Guest and probably broke even which is a win for Pacco. Actually thought Guest was very good for Pacco. A Pacco player was yellow carded in the 3rd quarter however Pacco held strong. Nothing it in and a send off was to harsh a penalty in today's footy. The game was played in very spirits between 2 sides bound for finals I reckon.

Great atmosphere with no carry on in the crowd and both supporters enjoying the good contest. Umpires, even though a bit inconsistent where not abused after the game. Pacco players did not carry on after their victory. Pacco supporters clapping off their players and no carry on from Keilor supporters and Pacco supporters were very humble after the game. Great stuff by both clubs and supporters. Excellent day!!

Great win today by Pacco mate. They are seroius challengers. Got a good start and really never headed for the rest of the game. I'm heading out but Mighty Mick is no longer being called Mighty by me. Once again Keilor starting with 7 backman and really just bombing into their forwards. Pacco mids and backs totally dominated even with 3 of there best 15 out today including 2 good backman. Lewis, Forbes, Foster, Arnold, Harro, Urghart, Ross boys, Boyd, Jackson were all good. I guess more a team effort. Very good ruck contest between Browne & Guest and probably broke even which is a win for Pacco. Actually thought Guest was very good for Pacco. A Pacco player was yellow carded in the 3rd quarter however Pacco held strong. Nothing it in and a send off was to harsh a penalty in today's footy. The game was played in very spirits between 2 sides bound for finals I reckon.

Great atmosphere with no carry on in the crowd and both supporters enjoying the good contest. Umpires, even though a bit inconsistent where not abused after the game. Pacco players did not carry on after their victory. Pacco supporters clapping off their players and no carry on from Keilor supporters and Pacco supporters were very humble after the game. Great stuff by both clubs and supporters. Excellent day!!
Pascoe vales start set the scene for the day, there first 10 minutes was clinical and was catch up footy for Keilor for the rest of the day. Everytime keilor got within striking range paco would just bang bang. Paco worked harder both ways and were more efficient with there disposal, especially at goal with some crucial goals kicked from difficult shots
Keilors delivery to there forwards was horrible, fosters 10+ marks should have been enough for them to stop bombing in long to 2-3 on 1 contests but obviously not as they kept bombing it and foster kept marking it! Easily the best player on the ground
paco as good as anyone on there day, consistency the key for them now!

Pascoe vales start set the scene for the day, there first 10 minutes was clinical and was catch up footy for Keilor for the rest of the day. Everytime keilor got within striking range paco would just bang bang. Paco worked harder both ways and were more efficient with there disposal, especially at goal with some crucial goals kicked from difficult shots
Keilors delivery to there forwards was horrible, fosters 10+ marks should have been enough for them to stop bombing in long to 2-3 on 1 contests but obviously not as they kept bombing it and foster kept marking it! Easily the best player on the ground
paco as good as anyone on there day, consistency the key for them now!

Well said Localblues. Foster has had a great debut season. Must be polling well in the league votes I reckon. What a player, and his a ripping bloke to match.

avondale heights
Lost to gvale by 1
Marby by 3
Marby by 4
West by 8
Lead at 3qtr time against EDS
Have scored less than 10 goals in a game
5 times.
Lost by 50+ 6 times 100+ twice.
Why?
There mids arnt terrible 'names' there forwards are not by any means bad. Clouston and rose. One dominates ones dismal. There defence for me would be worse than some b grade defences. Undersized and there isn't a lot of good decisions coming out of there with footy in hand.
Who are there A graders?
Rose
P.Smith
C.nastasi
N.Byrne
M. Cravino
Who is suppose to be there A graders?
Odwyer
Clouston
Harding
Mcmahon

Pacco got the jump and were good value for there win. Few injuries and players missing for keilor but i guess everyone does at this time of season.

2 really poor games in a row from keilor, without the yellow card would've most likely lost to west coburg last week and were chasing pacco all day yesterday with terrible delivery into the forward line a big issue. big few weeks coming up too need to rebound.

go.

EDS game over at 1/2 time after dominating second qrter. Smith kicked 6 gls again in 2nd half. Any chance the Greenvale coach might start him frw this week?
Douttas on paper have 3 winnable games coming up so could cement 4th spot if they win them but will lose Smith for those games due to o'seas hols.
Pacco serious contender now, I don't believe it is a 2 horse race any more.

Pacco got the jump and were good value for there win. Few injuries and players missing for keilor but i guess everyone does at this time of season.

2 really poor games in a row from keilor, without the yellow card would've most likely lost to west coburg last week and were chasing pacco all day yesterday with terrible delivery into the forward line a big issue. big few weeks coming up too need to rebound.

Hey Blue, I know Micka James got injured early in the game with a reported knee injury. But who did they have missing from there best 22 besides Bathie who is aligned with a VFL side.

Gourdis appeared to be carrying an injury but still took some strong marks. Galea, although he kicked 5 out of there 8 goals was kept in check for most of the game. McGuane although looking dangerous didn't really do much either. Putt wasn't sighted. Tanner & Burke were solid down back. Tanner created some run out of defence.

Agree with previous post's in that Pacco showed great foot skills and took some good marks around the ground. Moved it fast and precise. Also applied good pressure defensively. Keilor's disposal was sloppy and they didn't seem to handle the hot pressure tempo.
But hey it's still early and Keilor are still top of the ladder.

EDFL Premier Division 2016