EDFL Premier Division 2016

100% stand by it. 6 weeks already before this matter. Confirmed by a very good source at Bendigo South.
Must be a very good source to come from bendigo south, not south bendigo?

You would have to think that a life ban is fair, as Clark will never play again and these actions need to be stamped out of the game. So I don't see why you would challenge the verdict, what's the point of getting it down to 25 weeks, you still can't play again and a life ban is a fair outcome based on the injuries

I actually played with Leigh at south and then he was a very fair footballer, so I was surprised to see it was him that committed the act

interesting game today, consistency seems to be an issue for both sides so it could go either way! Greenvale are the better of the 2 sides imo and if they play anywhere near there best footy they will win comfortably 6 goals+! Either way it's gonna be to hard for either team to win the flag from here and I think there both pretty much playing for 3rd place. both would have much preferred to play Keilor next week and I can't see abers losing 3 games in a row! Finals footy and anything can happen so there still in with a shot though
Im tipping it will be a Keilor vs Abers grand final with abers probably favourites still although Keilor have closed the gap between the 2 sides massively this year! Last 2 years abers have won all 5 games by a combined total of 300+ so this year beating them twice and there only loss to them being by 1 kick would give Keilor huge confidence if they meet again in 2 weeks

Greenvale to good and a bit more physical bodies but gee whiz the umpiring was atrocious. Pacco got nothing all day and the in the last quarter it was laughable. Paccos #44 takes a makes on the wing and gets taken high late and jumped on by #7 and no 50 mts. Then a few minutes later Greenvales #21 gets a 50 Mt penalty when he runs into a Pacco player following a GV player though. Was really laughable.

Surely it's time the umpires got updated with a rule book with the new changes. You can't chop the arms off players who almost mark the ball.
Also they blow the whistle for a ball up, and a GV player slings a PV to the ground and no free. That was early and I honestly thought a good brawl was brewing in the 2nd quarter mainly due to some outrageous umpiring.

Polizzi getting hurt on Thursday night was pretty telling as his been in good form and really is there only small forward capable of kicking a bag.

Turbo
Should've stopped your post 3 words in, GVale too good, end of story, Umpires zero influence! Yes Polizzi hurt PV, but nowhere near as much as Campo and Deluca not playing for GV. Very disappointing year for Pacco, had to win a final at minimum.
So who's coaching the Panthers next year?

Greenvale to good and a bit more physical bodies but gee whiz the umpiring was atrocious. Pacco got nothing all day and the in the last quarter it was laughable. Paccos #44 takes a makes on the wing and gets taken high late and jumped on by #7 and no 50 mts. Then a few minutes later Greenvales #21 gets a 50 Mt penalty when he runs into a Pacco player following a GV player though. Was really laughable.

Surely it's time the umpires got updated with a rule book with the new changes. You can't chop the arms off players who almost mark the ball.
Also they blow the whistle for a ball up, and a GV player slings a PV to the ground and no free. That was early and I honestly thought a good brawl was brewing in the 2nd quarter mainly due to some outrageous umpiring.

Polizzi getting hurt on Thursday night was pretty telling as his been in good form and really is there only small forward capable of kicking a bag.
Three questions:
Out in straight sets two years in a row, whats wrong can't handle finals pressure?
What happened in last qtr, game on till then but?
Who will win next week, jets or abers, Stop reimers stop abers!

Turbo
Should've stopped your post 3 words in, GVale too good, end of story, Umpires zero influence! Yes Polizzi hurt PV, but nowhere near as much as Campo and Deluca not playing for GV. Very disappointing year for Pacco, had to win a final at minimum.

Was looking forward to coming on and seeing turbo blame it on umpires, points system, salary cap, unruly spectators, weather, facilities, clubs having too many juniors, cost of a burger at the canteen for paccos loss. I wasn't disappointed

Disappointing day for Paco. To not win a final in two years with the significant investment made Shouldnt be accepted.

Polizzi was a big out and Lewis hurting himself again obviously didn't help, but they Paco looked flat. Warren had a couple of good chances in the last q to goal from set shots and missed what a player of his ilk really should be kicking

It'll be interesting to see where Paco go from here. I hate to say it but when the going got tough some Paco players didn't look they wanted it enough. They've consistently had high player points all year and would be in the top 3 of spending clubs $ wise. If they are going to have another go at winning a flag they need to recruit again as the list is clearly not good enough to take them to the flag. They have very little in the way of depth so you'd think the only way would be to off load a few players and bring some fresh ones in.

Was looking forward to coming on and seeing turbo blame it on umpires, points system, salary cap, unruly spectators, weather, facilities, clubs having too many juniors, cost of a burger at the canteen for paccos loss. I wasn't disappointed

Well played then Rex! Well done son.
Glad you feel good about Turbo's Pacco going down. If. coming on here is the highlight of your day? Happy days.
At least he is openly passionate.

Turbo

Hey bang, yes Pacco were a touch disapointing and not sure why they didn't go long and fast to Wells one out as GV didn't really have a match up for him. Also GV would be happy with there rucks in the absence of Deluca as they did a reasonable job and although PV won the hit outs, around the ground was pretty even.
Hardingham will be capt/coach next season and the majority of players have re-signed. It was announced by PV on radio that Warren is heading back to QLD. Honestly don't think they need much. Maybe a strong bodied inside mid, and small forward.

Based on today's performance I just can't see GV beating Abers but who knows.

Well played then Rex! Well done son.
Glad you feel good about Turbo's Pacco going down. If. coming on here is the highlight of your day? Happy days.
At least he is openly passionate.

Sorry son but nah my side had a good win today in another league which made my day! I, like turbo, enjoy reading thru other leagues forums as I like to keep an eye out on a few sides. And I like that he is passionate, but gee whiz he makes it easy to hang shit on when let's be honest, most his sooking is really just a thinly veiled whinge about other clubs being in a better position than pacco due to things junior numbers, money, sponsorship etc. Unfortuantely sliver old son not all clubs are equal but that doesn't mean the side with the most coin always wins

An Orwellian I see Rex. 'All clubs are equal, although some clubs are more equal than others'(sic)

Good skills. Happy days and hoping you are more humble should ever your side lose.

Does anyone else think the EDFLs decision to make the div 2 final there game of the day on Saturday a bit strange considering the top 2 teams in premier division were playing off for a grand final spot on the same day! I understand during the year to rotate the broadcasting through all grades but surely they would be better off showcasing the best teams in the best division come finals time?

Hey Rex, I noticed you mentioned you weren't at the game today so not sure how you can dispute my "brief" review on the game. I haven't said GV didn't deserve there victory, but just like to see the game umpired a lot better in this league. I'm sure there is a rule about players can't take/chop the arms of players about the mark the ball. Also slinging players to the ground when play has stopped for the whistle is definitely a free kick. What if the player gets up and remonstrates then it's a free kick. Or more worrying is if a player gets hurt in a sling tackle. And players who drop the ball after having opportunity is basically non existent.
GV did look a bit stronger in the contest and went more direct into there forward line. There smalls seemed more damaging and applied a bit more forward pressure. Whereas PV really relied to much on Warren & Wells to kick there goals.

An Orwellian I see Rex. 'All clubs are equal, although some clubs are more equal than others'(sic)

Good skills. Happy days and hoping you are more humble should ever your side lose.

All good silver, just a bit of banter mate. And my club is probably no different than turbos, there's other clubs around with more money, more juniors, more resources but what can you do? We've made finals 3 out of the past 4 years after not making finals for 20 years previous, made a grand final the year after winning a wooden spoon. Been an enjoyable ride just don't see the point of constant whinging between the haves and the have nots

Does anyone else think the EDFLs decision to make the div 2 final there game of the day on Saturday a bit strange considering the top 2 teams in premier division were playing off for a grand final spot on the same day! I understand during the year to rotate the broadcasting through all grades but surely they would be better off showcasing the best teams in the best division come finals time?

Totally agree and I think Premier should be played at Windy Hill instead of the div3 GF.. Only my opinion.

Disappointing day for Paco. To not win a final in two years with the significant investment made Shouldnt be accepted.

Polizzi was a big out and Lewis hurting himself again obviously didn't help, but they Paco looked flat. Warren had a couple of good chances in the last q to goal from set shots and missed what a player of his ilk really should be kicking

It'll be interesting to see where Paco go from here. I hate to say it but when the going got tough some Paco players didn't look they wanted it enough. They've consistently had high player points all year and would be in the top 3 of spending clubs $ wise. If they are going to have another go at winning a flag they need to recruit again as the list is clearly not good enough to take them to the flag. They have very little in the way of depth so you'd think the only way would be to off load a few players and bring some fresh ones in.

Pacco in the top3 spending clubs. Cmon get real and do your homework old son. Don't forget to include the coaching staff in your budgets..

Hey Rex, I noticed you mentioned you weren't at the game today so not sure how you can dispute my "brief" review on the game. I haven't said GV didn't deserve there victory, but just like to see the game umpired a lot better in this league. I'm sure there is a rule about players can't take/chop the arms of players about the mark the ball. Also slinging players to the ground when play has stopped for the whistle is definitely a free kick. What if the player gets up and remonstrates then it's a free kick. Or more worrying is if a player gets hurt in a sling tackle. And players who drop the ball after having opportunity is basically non existent.
GV did look a bit stronger in the contest and went more direct into there forward line. There smalls seemed more damaging and applied a bit more forward pressure. Whereas PV really relied to much on Warren & Wells to kick there goals.

Al good mate, nah wasn't there just winding you up. I like to flick thru other leagues forums and enjoy some of the stuff you've got to say and some of your opinions but some of your whinging about certain subjects makes you sound a bit ' what about me? '

Just a bit of banter mate

Does the edfl ever put out crowd nos because i was surprised how small the crowd was for abers v keilor, maybe playing at coburg rather than windy hill was a reason as above but should have been lot more there

Pacco in the top3 spending clubs. Cmon get real and do your homework old son. Don't forget to include the coaching staff in your budgets..

It's a tricky one for Pacco. List doesn't look good enough to go deep in to finals, they have no depth and have already put in a considerable amount of coin getting to this position.
Starting to head down the same path as Avondale recently did. It could get ugly in the next couple of years, Turbo.

I don't know the exact numbers mate. But looking at it logically Paco have minimal juniors/home grown playing in their senior side. The other big spenders all would have more home grown players. That's just the way it is.

Salary cap is only going to count towards player payments, not coaching payments. So coaching payments really don't matter.

In terms of spend on players id be confident that Paco would be up there.

In any event, exactly what they spend means nothing. The facts are they have invested significantly over the last 2 years and the people in charge should and would be expecting a better return. It is a bloody good comp though and shows that you have to be on top of your game to get the desired results

Does the edfl ever put out crowd nos because i was surprised how small the crowd was for abers v keilor, maybe playing at coburg rather than windy hill was a reason as above but should have been lot more there
Maybe everyone followed the EDFL caravan down to Keilor to watch the div 2 final lol. The crowds will increase next 2 weeks with less games happening in other grades, comps ect. Windy hill is a much better ground to watch footy at imo and much easier to find a carpark at! I would be more likely to go watch a game as a neutral supporter at windy hill than at coburg so maybe the venue played a part in the crowd numbers also

I don't know the exact numbers mate. But looking at it logically Paco have minimal juniors/home grown playing in their senior side. The other big spenders all would have more home grown players. That's just the way it is.

Salary cap is only going to count towards player payments, not coaching payments. So coaching payments really don't matter.

In terms of spend on players id be confident that Paco would be up there.

In any event, exactly what they spend means nothing. The facts are they have invested significantly over the last 2 years and the people in charge should and would be expecting a better return. It is a bloody good comp though and shows that you have to be on top of your game to get the desired results

Well said Johndoe.As a Goullburn Valley guy who observes this forum with interest it (the EDFL premier comp) is the best metro/country comp in my opinion. (So many players go between EDFL and GV.)

Talk about adding some spice to the finals series I noticed on Abers website under social events they are advertising celebrations after the grand final. Clearly stating "win, lose or draw" come and celebrate our year!! I wonder if Shagga Grant will use that as motivation for his troops. IMO you need to make the last 2 in order to advertise such an event. Arrogance or Confidence? I will leave it to this forum to decide. Are u okay Turbo after the Pacco loss?

Anyone heard anything about an incident in the reserves where a greenvale player has been suspended for the grand final for "handing the ball back to the umpire too hard"?
How ridiculous is that

EDFL Premier Division 2016