Schroder
Fort
Wood

Inter
Deluca
Hartwig
Jackson
Martiniello

Love to hear others best from named squad, amazing really 2 Listons, 11 AFL players (might need checking) & VFL Captain. If you played an actual game maybe the weakness is Full Forward line is too star studded (remember state VIC game VFL Lockett, Ablett, Dunstall debate) forward pressure may be lacking :), playing a second ruck is a luxury and one of the 2 not being Browne (Wood very early in EDFL BUT.....) and leg speed on wings/mids? I'm sure I've made a few obvious blunders here, I'm sure you fellas will find them!

2017 EDFL SQUAD
ABERFELDIE
Kyle Reimers
Luke Blackwell
Luke Davis
Sam Cattapan
Josh Toy
Josh Cubillo
Caleb Hislop
Zach Hislop
Ryan Allan
Joel Madden
Daniel Thompson
Victor Carbini
AVONDALE HEIGHTS
Patrick Rose
Cameron Wood
Charlie Nastasi
ESSENDON DOUTTA STARS
Patrick Veszpremi
Darren Pfieffer
Jamie Allan
Tyson Hartwig
Jordan Schroder
Shylo Smith
Cleve Hughes
Jack Landt
Mitch Jensen
GREENVALE
Addam Maric
Stephen Brewer
Fort Caruso
Fabian Deluca
Courtenay Dempsey
Rowan Nayna
JACANA
Cameron Cloke
KEILOR
Dean Galea
Luke Cartelli
Andrew Browne
Kane Barbuto

MARIBYRNONG PARK
Caleb Vearing
James Breust
Robbie Castello
Will Martiniello
Tom Baravi
Daniel Schibeci
PASCOE VALE
Kyle Hardingham
Luke Foster
Ryan Jackson
Ben Ross
STRATHMORE
Jaryd Cachia
Hamish McIntosh
Adam Iacobucci
Michael Firrito
I've never seen a side listed starting from the forwards before!

I think a number of players are stiff to have missed out. The league is obviously sticking with the older more we'll know players.....how many on that list are 19-23 years old that are very handy players....give them a shot and grow the experience.....just my opinion

Sorry yes Cavka for Jackson maybe and Gourdis for Rose maybe go Tall, yes seen Cavka on weekend and he looks good, super fit too and Gourdis been standout in 2017.

Hey KIP, it's great you have started a conversation on this subject and had a go at selecting a side but I must reply on these 2 players..

Jacko is a proven player at this level and was captain of the Northern Footy League rep side (which beat the EDFL) before he came across to Pacco in the EDFL. The guys a certainty to play if his available, and in the top 20-30 players in our league. I wouldnt take him out for Cavka.

I do think Gourdis is a great player and when he turns it on is almost unstoppable, but gee whiz you must include Patty surely. Has kicked 100 goals in our league don't forget so that gets my vote. However I do see your point though. Maybe drop Galea for Gourdis as I would select Patty over Galea but gee it's hard to split them..

I think Browne gets a spot before Deluca. His a better player IMO and preformed better in our league over many years.

The "bull" Cachia must get in. Put him on a wing instead of Pfieffer I reckon.

Cheers..

Hey Turbo,

Always enjoy your posts I check in after each round to get your take on things.

On Cav & Gourdis suggestion from callmecrazy I was just playing around with alternatives being open minded, what do they call it these days consultative decision making :)

business-commerce-business_model-decision_making-decision_makers-decision_maker-manager-rman15301_low.jpg

I agree on Jacko I stick by my initial selection, great on field leader too especially when the chips are down, he fights hard. Truth is I wouldn't pick Gourdis because when he is on, he is ON, when not he is not ON, he is OFF, no in between with him, in a high stakes game trust is key. Having said that you always hope he is not ON when your side plays against him and he demands a key match up.

The side I selected lacks leg speed on the outside, so Cachia would add to that problem:
Cachia said. “I’ve never had it easy, which is why it’s second nature to me to get to where I want to go. I just have to work really hard, harder than most, because I’m not blessed with any great pace or great skill and perhaps my greatest skill is my work ethic."

I reckon you have room for 1 to 2 dedicated inside on ball bulls and I chose Schroeder & Martinello as mine, Schroeder Liston winner genuine inside animal and is smart around goals and Martinello has made a VFL side of the year as an inside on baller too.

Schroder:
"The big-bodied midfielder excels in congestion and was regarded as one of the strongest players for his size at Geelong.
So much so he was given the nickname 'Brick' by his former teammates."

Martinello: A VFL side of the year selection
B: Michael Stockdale (Scorpions)- Cam Pederson (Box Hill) - Matthew Sharkey (Roosters)

HB: Michael Hibberd (Dolphins) - Trent Shinners (Bombers) - Kris Pendlebury (Pies)

C: Callum Richardson (Roosters - Dom Gleeson (Tigers) - Stephen Clifton (Roosters)

HF: Clinton Proctor (Dolphins)- Callum Sinclair (Borough) - Ben Duscher (Bombers)

F: Luke Clark (Dolphins)- Dean Galea (Borough) - Robert Castello (Tigers)

R: Orren Stephenson (Roosters) - Myles Sewell (Roosters) - William Martinello (Tigers)

I/C: Russel Gabriel (Dolphins) - Nicholas Sautner (Zebras) - Paul Kennedy (Dolphins) - Matthew Firman (Cats)

Browne I concede, even when I hit send on my initial post/team I knew I made an error Browne for Deluca, I'm back on the big man's bandwagon thanks to Turbo.

So for Cachia to get a game he would likely have to play on a wing for mine and I agree Darren Pfieffer is getting a bit older now 29 so Cachia's gut running and youth probably wins the day, I do agree.

Hey KIP, it's great you have started a conversation on this subject and had a go at selecting a side but I must reply on these 2 players..

Jacko is a proven player at this level and was captain of the Northern Footy League rep side (which beat the EDFL) before he came across to Pacco in the EDFL. The guys a certainty to play if his available, and in the top 20-30 players in our league. I wouldnt take him out for Cavka.

I do think Gourdis is a great player and when he turns it on is almost unstoppable, but gee whiz you must include Patty surely. Has kicked 100 goals in our league don't forget so that gets my vote. However I do see your point though. Maybe drop Galea for Gourdis as I would select Patty over Galea but gee it's hard to split them..

I think Browne gets a spot before Deluca. His a better player IMO and preformed better in our league over many years.

The "bull" Cachia must get in. Put him on a wing instead of Pfieffer I reckon.

Cheers..

Jackson is a bit of plodder these days, and Cavka is a running machine. He gets my vote easily out of the 2.
Cachia would need to get a kick at local level before being promoted to a "must".
Jamie Allan is EDS best mid amongst some very good ones, I'd have him over Schroder. Shylo Smith had Schroder and Pfieffer covered as well.
Have to agree with Browny, best big man in the comp!
Hopefully they all commit and give the EFL a touch up

Jackson is a bit of plodder these days, and Cavka is a running machine. He gets my vote easily out of the 2.
Cachia would need to get a kick at local level before being promoted to a "must".
Jamie Allan is EDS best mid amongst some very good ones, I'd have him over Schroder. Shylo Smith had Schroder and Pfieffer covered as well.
Have to agree with Browny, best big man in the comp!
Hopefully they all commit and give the EFL a touch up

Have to disagree on Jacko here mate. He covers a lot of ground with endurance running. Is hard at it and a leader/role model and great team man.
I'm yet to see Cavka but I'm guessing the kids a topliner/elite player. Anyone who makes an AFLlist is topliner..

Cachia is in top 5-10 players in the comp don't worry. Maybe Strathmore not a good fit for him IMO.

Got to agree here on Jamie Allan. Think his a gun mate. Watched him v Pacco last season and loved his game. I'm an admirer mate. Great skills, very silky, courageous and moves well. In my top 20-30 players in EDFL ATM..

Hi KeepitSimple & Gremlin, it will be interesting to see if Cam Cloke gets a spot as usually he does make himself available for rep games. Probably not fair on guys playing premier league if the missed a spot, but gee his another tall option who can play in numerous positions and is more than capable.

He was the only non premier player selected in the squad..

Hey Turbo,

Always enjoy your posts I check in after each round to get your take on things.

On Cav & Gourdis suggestion from callmecrazy I was just playing around with alternatives being open minded, what do they call it these days consultative decision making :)

business-commerce-business_model-decision_making-decision_makers-decision_maker-manager-rman15301_low.jpg

I agree on Jacko I stick by my initial selection, great on field leader too especially when the chips are down, he fights hard. Truth is I wouldn't pick Gourdis because when he is on, he is ON, when not he is not ON, he is OFF, no in between with him, in a high stakes game trust is key. Having said that you always hope he is not ON when your side plays against him and he demands a key match up.

The side I selected lacks leg speed on the outside, so Cachia would add to that problem:
Cachia said. “I’ve never had it easy, which is why it’s second nature to me to get to where I want to go. I just have to work really hard, harder than most, because I’m not blessed with any great pace or great skill and perhaps my greatest skill is my work ethic."

I reckon you have room for 1 to 2 dedicated inside on ball bulls and I chose Schroeder & Martinello as mine, Schroeder Liston winner genuine inside animal and is smart around goals and Martinello has made a VFL side of the year as an inside on baller too.

Schroder:
"The big-bodied midfielder excels in congestion and was regarded as one of the strongest players for his size at Geelong.
So much so he was given the nickname 'Brick' by his former teammates."

Martinello: A VFL side of the year selection
B: Michael Stockdale (Scorpions)- Cam Pederson (Box Hill) - Matthew Sharkey (Roosters)

HB: Michael Hibberd (Dolphins) - Trent Shinners (Bombers) - Kris Pendlebury (Pies)

C: Callum Richardson (Roosters - Dom Gleeson (Tigers) - Stephen Clifton (Roosters)

HF: Clinton Proctor (Dolphins)- Callum Sinclair (Borough) - Ben Duscher (Bombers)

F: Luke Clark (Dolphins)- Dean Galea (Borough) - Robert Castello (Tigers)

R: Orren Stephenson (Roosters) - Myles Sewell (Roosters) - William Martinello (Tigers)

I/C: Russel Gabriel (Dolphins) - Nicholas Sautner (Zebras) - Paul Kennedy (Dolphins) - Matthew Firman (Cats)

Browne I concede, even when I hit send on my initial post/team I knew I made an error Browne for Deluca, I'm back on the big man's bandwagon thanks to Turbo.

So for Cachia to get a game he would likely have to play on a wing for mine and I agree Darren Pfieffer is getting a bit older now 29 so Cachia's gut running and youth probably wins the day, I do agree.

Too Funny....nice analysis [emoji106]

Hi KeepitSimple & Gremlin, it will be interesting to see if Cam Cloke gets a spot as usually he does make himself available for rep games. Probably not fair on guys playing premier league if the missed a spot, but gee his another tall option who can play in numerous positions and is more than capable.

He was the only non premier player selected in the squad..

Isn't Cloke going back to the Northern League, I know Jacana rejected but it will happen?

What are your thoughts on the Anzac Day clash ?
Short break for Avondale because they play against Strathmore 4 days later.....Avondale will be cooked by Abers.
Abers will handle the short break and will most likely allow them to rest some players anyway against Cragieburn.....Good for local footy, just need to manage the fixture to be more balanced

Does anyone know what the requirements are for player contracts this year?
Do all senior player , Thirds, reserves, seniors need to have signed a contract this year?
Or, does it only apply if a player is listed to play in the seniors? meaning, will clubs offer contracts to players should they be called up to the seniors in that week?

Is it too early to call a draw? Cause I can't split Marby and Paccoe!!

Marby vs Paccoe
EDS v Craigieburn
West Coburg v Greenvale
Abers
v Avondale Heights

Does anyone know what the requirements are for player contracts this year?
Do all senior player , Thirds, reserves, seniors need to have signed a contract this year?
Or, does it only apply if a player is listed to play in the seniors? meaning, will clubs offer contracts to players should they be called up to the seniors in that week?

All this talk of contracts is killing footy.

I reckon blokes should wait until (1.) they can actually run out regularly at 2pm (2.) get a kick in a 2pm game (3.) turn that kick into minimum 15-20 touches a game for a while and then maybe worry about a few dollars. I'm sure young fella's can see it as experience, and I'd be very surprised if club's didn't have a standard minimum base arrangement in house.

Sadly the focus has gone beyond building a skillset, and an actual resume as opposed to "what's in it for me."

Tips for round 3
Marby vs pacco - marby
Doutta Vs craigieburn - Doutta
West coburg vs Greenvale - greenvale
Abers vs Avondale heights - Abers
Strathmore Vs Keilor - good Friday match I would tipped Keilor

Go Marby
Is Brendon Hollow still at Marby My North, or injured? Retired?

EDFL Premier Division 2017