EDFL Premier Division

Ever seen someone choke on their corn flakes? That's what Brett Scott looked like handing out medals to Abers people (the face of arrogance doesn't even change under duress.)
Anyway well done to Abers, not a single individual in that performance. A true TEAM effort.
Do agree with the mighty Stars and recruiting. Surely concessions have been looked at by the league.

I think eds best side had 63 points which drops to 41 next season because each player drops a point.
Buttergeig Carey Ramsey retire that probably brings you an extra 7 points.
So eds begin on 34 points.
Kazuro
Boyse
Hicks
Anderson
H.Moore
Morris
Kovac
Would all be 1 point then say you get 4 homegrowns back. Takes you to 38 points. Then you have 22 points to to fill how ever you like. If the cap is 60.

Think the cap might be 50, but even at 60 and using your numbers, recruiting players to 22 pts doesn't allow much. 1 ex afl and 3 ex VFL and your full. I'm guessing EDS will need more than 4 players. It's clearly not a good system IMO.

They will need more than 4 players to make the top 4 yes! just depends what 4 players they get.

Can't see them going into the top 4 probably finish 5-8

Just want to congratulate a few of the old guys at Northern who yesterday won the Supers Grandfinal Reserves for Northern Division. The club's had a sh_t year, but yesterday they were all smiles so a good way to finish off for the club. And for all the naysayers out there, they will have a team for 2016 in the EDFl despite the rumours they are hearing that the club will fold which is a whole lot of rot. I guess this happens when clubs go through big changes at year end. I'm happy for them good blokes that are getting involved.

I think eds best side had 63 points which drops to 41 next season because each player drops a point.
Buttergeig Carey Ramsey retire that probably brings you an extra 7 points.
So eds begin on 34 points.
Kazuro
Boyse
Hicks
Anderson
H.Moore
Morris
Kovac
Would all be 1 point then say you get 4 homegrowns back. Takes you to 38 points. Then you have 22 points to to fill how ever you like. If the cap is 60.

I can assure you not one single player you listed will play for EDS in 2016.

It amazes me that clubs still think that in order to coach football you must have played at the highest level. I cannot think of another major sport on the planet where this arcane thinking is still prevalent. Maybe players can make good coaches but to think that playing skills in any way translate to coaching skills is nothing short of ridiculous. Clubs wonder why they cant get better when they continue to make the same mistakes by hiring people with no skills on how to build a complete program view end to end. You want your club to improve then hire people who can build a program, take a long term view and build for sustainable success. Instead of blaming cash, work out a model that you can sustain and then hire people who CAN implement it. That means proven skills. Does anybody get hired for a job other than coaching football with no prior experience. Bullshit points systems and bullshit salary caps are not the answer.

I agree with you whole heartedly, but at the moment if you want to participate(don't even think about aiming to win a flag) in Premier Div the formula is simple
You pay the most money =
You get the best possible playing list(because the players these days are all disloyal grubs who don't give a f*ck about the club) =
Hopefully finish in the 4, but 1st aim is avoid relegation
Then it starts all over again, players shop themselves around for the best deal

It's madness I tell you!!!!!!!!!!!!

You reckon Potter is a better coach than Morrell, McGuane, Grant, Clinnick? I think not, even he couldn't stuff up Abers winning it this year

because the players these days are all disloyal grubs who don't give a f*ck about the club

Completely agree.

I was involved in contract negotiations this year and some of the things said in those meetings made me sick

Ranging from guys that were out and out guns and what they wanted for their services and guys they would bring etc all the way to fringe 1's players that thought they were far better than what they are

Although it wasn't all just greed and ego I did see and hear some things that impressed me from guys willing to sacrifice for the good of the club

Geez there is some arrogant abers people. It took you 41 years and 1.5 million dollars over the last 4 seasons between your two a grade flags. And jackos is calling for a 5 peat.

Where is Hicks this year

I understand he played for Wangaratta in the O&M. Not sure how he went. Anderson also played there as well. Anderson's brother playing in the Grand Final might be the enticing carrot that gets Jamie back to Douttas.

I don't know enuff about the points system but I would have thought even though they were all Doutta juniors they would come with some additional points, especially Kovac as he played at Pacco Vale 2 years ago then with Keilor this year. The Points "Masters" frown on this type of movement and penalize accordingly!!!!

I understand he played for Wangaratta in the O&M. Not sure how he went. Anderson also played there as well. Anderson's brother playing in the Grand Final might be the enticing carrot that gets Jamie back to Douttas.

I don't know enuff about the points system but I would have thought even though they were all Doutta juniors they would come with some additional points, especially Kovac as he played at Pacco Vale 2 years ago then with Keilor this year. The Points "Masters" frown on this type of movement and penalize accordingly!!!!

Hey mate, think if try played the majority of there juniors at a club they return for 1 point. Other than that they attract an extra point for changing clubs within 2 years or winning the goal kicking or top 3 in B&F. Well something like this.

Some stupid things with the player points allocated:
-Why is goal kicking worth an extra point, yet a gun key back is not worth extra.
-VFL development players are rated to high. Understand if they have played maybe 10-20 senior games but if not they are overrated. It's a shame because it disadvantages the player as a club will baulk at this and they might be restricted to going back to their home club.

This points system will see coaches asking for more $$ or clubs need to employ ( and pay) a footy manager going forward.

I think 4 points for a TAC Cup player is a bit extreme too.

Here is the complete list of how it all works.

AFL Victoria has this morning launched its Community Club Sustainability Program.

The program is aimed at assisting in the equalisation of competitions, stop the inflationary nature of player payments by discouraging the movement of players and promote player loyalty and junior development.

The total points each team will be allocated will be determined by the league and the region commissions.

Population base, ladder position and junior pathway will be taken into account when points are allocated.

For example, additional points will be allocated to team if it did not qualify for finals in the previous season and A reduction in points to a team which has won multiple premierships in a defined number of seasons.

Clubs who are located in a region with low population base will also be given additional points.

A salary cap will also be introduced by each commission for its respective leagues.

Establishment of salary cap figures for each competition is well advanced, with clubs providing suggested amounts via a survey.

Fines, loss of points, suspension from finals and player suspensions will be penalties imposed for salary cap breaches.

A standard statewide player contract will also be introduced.

A testing period for the new system will be held from June 1-July 31, with the final format for the 2016 season to be relased on August 30.

HOW THE PLAYER POINTS SYSTEM WORKS

6 points – AFL player: minimum of 1 AFL game in the previous three seasons.

5 points – State League tier 1 (VFL, WAFL, SANFL): minimum of 5 senior games in the current or previous 3 seasons.

4 points – TAC Cup: minimum 5 games in current or previous 3 seasons.

State League tier 2 (NEAFL, TASFL): minimum 5 senior games in current or previous 3 seasons.

Premium Community Player (major metropolitan and country leagues): Club senior best and fairest top five or competition best and fairest top 10. Club leading goalkicker (minimum 40 goals in a season) in previous 3 seasons.

3 points – Senior community player: played the same or more senior than reserves games in any of the previous 3 season.

Transferred junior: player recruited from an under-19s or younger competition and does not meet the home club definition.

2 points – Development community player: played more reserves than senior games in the previous season.

1 point – Home player: played 40 or more games at the aligned junior club and up to and including under-17 competition or younger.

Player who has only played at that club.

ADDITIONAL PENALTY PLAYER POINTS

Additional 1 point - If transferring from another community club in the same competition or division or is transferring from a club located in a premier competition to a club in a non premier competition * (maximum one point even if you meet both descriptions).

Additional 1 point - If transferred to more than two clubs in past 36 months.

DEDUCTIONS FOR PLAYER POINTS

Deduct 1 point - For each season of service to the club (minimum 5 senior or reserves games per season), even if not in consecutive years, until the player reaches 1 point. Note: if the player is eligible for underage football at that club, it must be 5 senior games to meet the criteria for a year of service.

Revert to 1 point – Where player is returning to their home club.

Revert to 1 point – Where player has not played in the previous 36 months.

Reliable source told me hicks Anderson Kovac all keen to return to the club!

You may be right, but saying from a 'reliable source' automatically raises doubts. Kovac is staying Keilor from what I've heard (from him). Could understand Anderson and Hicks returning as many close mates playing for EDS this season. Hicks couldn't get a kick and got dropped from 2015 campaign so not sure how much help he would be and he asks for a hell of alot more cash than his worth.
EDS need to turnover plenty of players just to compete with APW, Marby and West Coburg let alone even get in the picture with the Stathmore, AH, PV, Keilor and GV. They should be putting their energy into players 23 and under and attempting to build towards something. Strong club off the field and an excellent coach is a good start. There is plenty of very talented footballers not at the club in this age bracket that have played approx 40 games or more and would help with points cap.

EDFL Premier Division