- Reaction score
- AFL Club
- Collingwood
Keilor by 3pts. 48 to 51 at 3 qrt time. Keilor with breeze in last.
Keilor holding on, but Strathmore have all the play. Still 3pts

LIVE: St Kilda v Hawthorn - Rd 12 - 7:30PM Thu
Squiggle tips Hawks at 66% chance -- What's your tip? -- Injury Lists » -- All Rd 12 Games
Keilor by 3pts. 48 to 51 at 3 qrt time. Keilor with breeze in last.
Keilor holding on, but Strathmore have all the play. Still 3pts
Keilor goal and lead by 10.
Deserved win to Keilor. Big crowd, great day, ground in good nick. Scrappy match, Mores probably had more of the play, however their disposal and ability to hit targets was abysmal. Keilor on the other hand were a lot more precise and took advantage of their opportunities. Strathmore routinely butchered theirs in front of goal.Keilor win by 10 pts
Deserved win to Keilor. Big crowd, great day, ground in good nick. Scrappy match, Mores probably had more of the play, however their disposal and ability to hit targets was abysmal. Keilor on the other hand were a lot more precise and took advantage of their opportunities. Strathmore routinely butchered theirs in front of goal.
Big Browne played well for Keilor, whilst Arrowsmith best for Mores.
Both teams would need to improve a fair bit to challenge Abers, Pacco, AVH and Greenvale.
More importantly Turbos. Did you park your car across our driveway, and lob an empty stubby and half eaten chiko roll onto our front lawn?
Cheers mate, nah it wasn't me as I would have eaten all the chicko roll. Lol. Only had 1 stubbie at half time as had to drive. $3:50 a stubby great value.
Yeah it was a dour scrappy game but close the entire game. Agree they will both need to find some scoring options to challenge for top 4.
Gee that no29 Bathie from Keilor is a gun. I've seen him play about 3 times and every time his been good. Brown clearly beat Sikora and probably BOG. Joyce is courageous and a good leader.
Lucky Strathmore had Little up forward.
Couple of things I noticed that need to be reviewed by the league.
-Second Quarter Joyce appeared to be unconscious for a few minutes on the boundary line after the ball went out. Nothing untoward (as I was close by) but thought the umpire should have stopped play to check the player, as there was a stoppage due to the ball being out of bounds.
The Strathmore runner appeared to be constantly having run ins with the Keilor players and at one stage Brown pushed him. This is totally not on by the runner. Not sure if he was an injured player or the normal runner but he needs to be spoken to before an ugly incident happens. It's not a good look for premier league..
The Strathmore runner was a Andrew Horne a senior player.
Yes, Bathie did play well. We must have been in a similar spot as I was close by to where Joyce went down. He really had the staggers, and I was also surprised to see them let him back on so quickly.Cheers mate, nah it wasn't me as I would have eaten all the chicko roll. Lol. Only had 1 stubbie at half time as had to drive. $3:50 a stubby great value.
Yeah it was a dour scrappy game but close the entire game. Agree they will both need to find some scoring options to challenge for top 4.
Gee that no29 Bathie from Keilor is a gun. I've seen him play about 3 times and every time his been good. Brown clearly beat Sikora and probably BOG. Joyce is courageous and a good leader.
-Second Quarter Joyce appeared to be unconscious for a few minutes on the boundary line after the ball went out. Nothing untoward (as I was close by) but thought the umpire should have stopped play to check the player, as there was a stoppage due to the ball being out of bounds.
The Strathmore runner appeared to be constantly having run ins with the Keilor players and at one stage Brown pushed him. This is totally not on by the runner. Not sure if he was an injured player or the normal runner but he needs to be spoken to before an ugly incident happens. It's not a good look for premier league..
What players did s'more have out .Thanks mate for clearing that up. He needs to have a good look at himself and I thought one of the coaching panel should have swapped him over. I believe the league will investigate this, as Keilor were not happy after the game about his involvement..
How good was Micks 3 qrt time speech..
Horne, Todd Grima, Stapleton, Douglas at a quick glance. No doubt Keilor also had good players out.What players did s'more have out .
Yes, Bathie did play well. We must have been in a similar spot as I was close by to where Joyce went down. He really had the staggers, and I was also surprised to see them let him back on so quickly.
As far as the Mores runner situation goes, as My North said it was Andrew Horne. Don't necessarily agree re culpability. Looked like he mouthed off at Browne after Browne had a minor tangle with Matthew Knights. Browne then ran 10 metres to give the runner a shove. That was the end of it. Runners do this all the time and far worse than what Horne engaged in (rightfully or not ). I know Strathmore players have on occasion copped far worse. I think Browne overreacted to some verbal barracking.
Anyway as I said Keilor deserved their win,although I was disappointed at Mores poor disposal skills and turnovers.
Runners probably should not engage verbally with opposition players, however in the heat of the moment they probably find it hard not to.Yeah Joyce was clearly dazed but stayed on the ground which was courageous but what if something happened to him as he and May were niggling a bit. I'm not even sure the Keilor trainers went out there as it was the Strathmore trainers that were there. The trainers copped some words from some women from Strathmore on that they shouldn't have let him go back out, but they said Joyce wanted to go back out. Difficult one for opposition trainers to handle but full credit to them for assisting. Great to see opposition supporters show respect. Now that's why the EDFL is a top league.
On the runner I disagree with you and BlueJet as I'm not sure the runners should be engaging with opposition players as they are supposed to deliver messages and go directly off the ground. The runner seemed to become willing involved and a few minutes after was engaged in another argument on the other flank.
Why is an injured player doing the runner task in premier. Surely they have someone (not on the playing list) appointed as runner.
Tell me what happens if Brown would have punched him. A brawl erupts! Why because some injured player can't keep his mouth closed. I don't like it boys!!
As you are aware I don't follow Keilor or care about them but it's premier league being showcased with about 1000 plus crowd.
PS: I know Strathmore coaching panel weren't happy about the fight in last years GF yet they appeared to instigate the issue today and didn't seem to be calling him to come off. Was it a ploy to get Brown off his game? From what I've seen Brown is a pretty fair player.
On another subject I just checked the best players and Sikora was named in Strathmore's best. I didn't think so as thought Brown was close to BOG.
What's your views??
I witnessed both, the unconscious player definitely should've been removed from the ground straight away for assessment, and the runner from strathmore should have stuck to his job of delivering messages to his players not stand 2 meters away from an opposition player who was probably 40-50cm taller than him giving him lip. Very sloppy match, numbers 7 and 8 from strathy dominated, where as Keilor were very even over most of the ground.Cheers mate, nah it wasn't me as I would have eaten all the chicko roll. Lol. Only had 1 stubbie at half time as had to drive. $3:50 a stubby great value.
Not happy re beer. Reduced to drinking Gold beer at 3.5%!!!Am not usually a fan of Joyce but thought he was v v good, Browne killed Sikora all game. I think both teams would need to improve significantly to have an impact on the comp. Great weather and good conditions, woeful parking, canteen prices were more expensive than AFL... but happy with the beer prices, even if they did run out of carlton draught by half time. Reckon the crowd was 4k+.. if the Afl want to continue not playing good friday footy then local footy will benifit.
The runner is the lesser of the two wrongs in this instance, it's one thing to mouth off, which plenty of people from both sides would have done on match day (let's be honest) it's another to go out of your way to engage them.Yeah Joyce was clearly dazed but stayed on the ground which was courageous but what if something happened to him as he and May were niggling a bit. I'm not even sure the Keilor trainers went out there as it was the Strathmore trainers that were there. The trainers copped some words from some women from Strathmore on that they shouldn't have let him go back out, but they said Joyce wanted to go back out. Difficult one for opposition trainers to handle but full credit to them for assisting. Great to see opposition supporters show respect. Now that's why the EDFL is a top league.
On the runner I disagree with you and BlueJet as I'm not sure the runners should be engaging with opposition players as they are supposed to deliver messages and go directly off the ground. The runner seemed to become willing involved and a few minutes after was engaged in another argument on the other flank.
Why is an injured player doing the runner task in premier. Surely they have someone (not on the playing list) appointed as runner.
Tell me what happens if Brown would have punched him. A brawl erupts! Why because some injured player can't keep his mouth closed. I don't like it boys!!
As you are aware I don't follow Keilor or care about them but it's premier league being showcased with about 1000 plus crowd.
PS: I know Strathmore coaching panel weren't happy about the fight in last years GF yet they appeared to instigate the issue today and didn't seem to be calling him to come off. Was it a ploy to get Brown off his game? From what I've seen Brown is a pretty fair player.
On another subject I just checked the best players and Sikora was named in Strathmore's best. I didn't think so as thought Brown was close to BOG.
What's your views??
You must have been standing at the top of the hill to be able to see 4k people, I was ta the bottom of the hill so I couldn't see the other half of the ground.Am not usually a fan of Joyce but thought he was v v good, Browne killed Sikora all game. I think both teams would need to improve significantly to have an impact on the comp. Great weather and good conditions, woeful parking, canteen prices were more expensive than AFL... but happy with the beer prices, even if they did run out of carlton draught by half time. Reckon the crowd was 4k+.. if the Afl want to continue not playing good friday footy then local footy will benifit.
Brown was brilliant in the ruck all day, and I agree that he should not have taken any notice of what the strathy runner was saying, but my guess is that he said something that didn't sit well with brown he reacted, still quite surprised the umpire that was 15-20 metres away didn't witness anything.The runner is the lesser of the two wrongs in this instance, it's one thing to mouth off, which plenty of people from both sides would have done on match day (let's be honest) it's another to go out of your way to engage them.
If Browne were to punch someone not involved in the game itself, I'd suggest the police would be having a chat with him..
In any event, it's a non issue.
It sounds as though both teams will be better for the hit out.
Am not usually a fan of Joyce but thought he was v v good, Browne killed Sikora all game. I think both teams would need to improve significantly to have an impact on the comp. Great weather and good conditions, woeful parking, canteen prices were more expensive than AFL... but happy with the beer prices, even if they did run out of carlton draught by half time. Reckon the crowd was 4k+.. if the Afl want to continue not playing good friday footy then local footy will benifit.
Not happy re beer. Reduced to drinking Gold beer at 3.5%!!!
Boys there was plenty of draught stubbies on ice behind the bar for $3:50 at half time. Lol
Very good conversation on the game and beers..
It looked like Sikora limped off with a few minutes to go. Hope his not injured as Strathmore looked light on talls. If his out Winter will have to play ruck and the forward line will be very small. Not sure if Little will play much so it's a big hole till Grima comes back from suspension.
Even though wasn't a big margin Keilor did look a well balanced side with talls and smalls.
You must have been standing at the top of the hill to be able to see 4k people, I was ta the bottom of the hill so I couldn't see the other half of the ground.
If Sikora is out i reckon Clinkers woukd be ab l e to convince Jonesy to come back...
Was no draught at the beer tent when i went, still can do worse than VB on ice on a sunny day. The outsourcing of the canteen is ordinary i reckon, way too expensive $4.50 for a bucket of chips (i paid $4 for one at MCG last night) but more the lack of variety and offering was poor, nothing healthy everything fried.