EDFL Premier Division

Witnessed an 8 year old kick an opposition player from behind after the final siren of an under 10's game on Sunday. Umpire didn't see and opposing team didn't want to report to association. Surely the club of the perpetrator should give him a couple of weeks to teach a lesson.
I hope that they told the club in which the child played for and that particular club took action.

Paco vs the Jets should be a cracker.
Deluca, Lower, Maric x2, Nayna Vs Tydell, Randello, Ross x2 and Vespremi.
It could go either way and much hinges on how much pressure the midfields can place on their respective opponents and then in turn how the likes of Shinners/Campo and Tk can fare against Warren and Hill.
Whoever gets up there's a pretty good chance that they'll play again come finals time.

I've just finished reading on the herald sun web link on how players will be rated in regards to a points system being operational. It's interesting and part is based on club B&F results. I'm not convinced on the systems ratings but would be interested to find out:
1- what each club is allowed?
2- will every league have the same number to work within.
3- is the EDFL going to introduce it as it "might" cause some players to be delisted to stay within the cap.
4- what happens if the player is contracted? This will be a major issue if he was to be delisted as who upholds his contract payments? What if no other club can afford his contract payments? As this will be a major issue..
5- a TAC cup player rated the same as a VFL player.. Surely this is a joke!!!
6- how many games do you need to qualify for AFL, VFL or TAC cup to be rated??

Interesting times ahead for 3 or 4 premier clubs..Surely clubs will need at least a season to prepare so hope it's not being introduced in 2016 as it will be a mess a create drama's..

I've just finished reading on the herald sun web link on how players will be rated in regards to a points system being operational. It's interesting and part is based on club B&F results. I'm not convinced on the systems ratings but would be interested to find out:
3- is the EDFL going to introduce it as it "might" cause some players to be delisted to stay within the cap.
4- what happens if the player is contracted? This will be a major issue if he was to be delisted as who upholds his contract payments? What if no other club can afford his contract payments? As this will be a major issue..

Interesting times ahead for 3 or 4 premier clubs..Surely clubs will need at least a season to prepare so hope it's not being introduced in 2016 as it will be a mess a create drama's..
Tac cup players are rated a point less than state league players, in any event I'd imagine that it'd be for players recruited out of the TAC cup as opposed a returning junior, surely..

One of the Premier Div Clubs are set to make a big announcement by this time next week.

Rumours are circulating ex Hawthorn premiership player Brad Sewell to join a former teammate in the EDFL and play next week and then 6 of the last 9 games. Not sure if this is what Bang has heard, and not sure it's even true.

Paul Chapman has been seen at Nth Saints a lot this year from all reports, but no chance of playing this year. Could be a chance to play there next year though but sure to attract some big offers. I do hear he wants to give them at least 1 good year if they stay in premier.

All rumours at this stage boys.. So keep your hats on..

Good pre game review, and agree with everything you have written. Saved a lot of people time as most will agree with the margins except the Greenvale boys. Lol

Should have added big Dean Tydell to this list of Pacco players up & about in 2015. Since I've been following Pacco his been a favourite of mine as he plays the game hard (but fair) and with passion. The older guy would love him as his more old school. I know Pacco have lost a lot players over recent years but his the heart and soul of Pacco on field. He can also play and a vital link in this team. I only hope that one year he gets really fit as he would tear it apart, as definitely has talent for a big guy. These guys dont grow on trees and a major reason the new recruits have gelled.

If I was to challenge any of your report its maybe that I think Strathmore might win by between 30-50 points as not sure about Avondale this year..but it's a massive game for them.
When is the other Grima due back??

West Coburg could be a chance if Black is still out as he is probably worth 5-7 goals to Marby in this game. He plays and they win easy I think..he doesn't West are a slight chance..
Agree 100%
Haven't seen much of Pascoe vale just hearing from people.
I think west Coburg are a chance regardless marby are very up and down

Rumours are circulating ex Hawthorn premiership player Brad Sewell to join a former teammate in the EDFL and play next week and then 6 of the last 9 games. Not sure if this is what Bang has heard, and not sure it's even true.

Paul Chapman has been seen at Nth Saints a lot this year from all reports, but no chance of playing this year. Could be a chance to play there next year though but sure to attract some big offers. I do hear he wants to give them at least 1 good year if they stay in premier.

All rumours at this stage boys.. So keep your hats on..
Nuh havn't heard that one.
My mail is a bigger news than a new signing

Round 6 preview.
Airport West V Aberfeldie
I don't think anyone can make a case for airport west just don't have any talent that is on the same level as abers. Reimers johns McNamara
Then toy Davis down the other end just to name a few airport west might struggle at both ends this week
Abers by 110

Northern Saints V Keilor
NS have been right there with marby a few weeks back and for a half last week against pacco. For me if they can stay in the game for long enough there a chance. But not many struggling teams go to Keilor and win. Keilor by 54 points

Strathmore V Avondale Heights.
Avondale finally registered there first win of season 2015 and will want to make it back to back and with strathmore just not quite at top gear this could be a good time to play the mores and if they Avondale can win there right back in the race. Iacabouci & Mitchell V cartelli & Cravino
Whoever wins the midfield battle wins this match. Strathmore by 15 points.

Marby Park V West Coburg
West Coburg must fancy there chances here as marby have fallen away since there comeback against Keilor. Mostly windy at marby so both teams must take care of the footy it's crucial who ever is more precise wins this game. Marby by 9 points.

Game of the Round
Pascoe Vale V Greenvale.
Can anyone stop Ben Warren?
Gazzo, brewer, Maric, Maric, m.Smith, lower, nayna, Zumbo
V
Warren, Ross, ross, vespremi, Harris, urquhart, Polizzi, Randello, Caruso,

There is stars everywhere. Greenvale are just locked and loaded this year as are Pascoe vale and abers.
Pascoe Vale simply because they are at home by 5 points.

My Tips
Abers. Will Brock McClean play or will keep on drinking cans from the boundary with his old man like he did last week?
Keilor. Another club that the Keilor coach has bagged (like he did to Marby) to potential recruits, not a good look for the coach and and his club Keilor. However Keilor have too much quality.
Strathmore. Strathmore will to good for Avondale Heights
Marby - Marby my bias tip.
Greenvale. Greenvale will bring the boys from Pacco back to earth.

Pacco will be ok turbo you will get watto for 1 point next year anyway

G'day Trent,
Big chance I reckon.. Had talent as a teenager but was always physically strong but in the AFL his maybe to big & bulky for his size playing in AFL. Is a great kick but due to his size is a bit slow. Surely would dominate local footy..

I'd say you are right jet, as all ex juniors are 1 point

It's a great system for clubs with strong juniors but sides that don't will struggle. I agree these clubs are good and have done the work, but also demographically it can be a problem. I don't have all the answers on a fair system though, but enjoy the quality of premier league. As I've stated before "if Pacco can beat Greenvale, next weeks contest vs Abers will be a beauty and you might not see so many good players on the ground together again if the EDFL introduce this system..

Let's create some discussion on the proposed points system put out. Let's keep it all fair and honest..

Here is some discussion between Trent and I which I pulled over from another league.

"Will clubs in the EDFL be forced to only have 1 junior side in each age group to allow for talent to be built" I believe it's high on the leagues agenda otherwise certain clubs could face going under or at the minimum copping some hefty losses..

[COLOR=rgba(0, 0, 0, 0.701961)]Trent the flight Steward reply to to points system:

It's being put in place turbo to stop clubs like yours at pascoe vale buy in 10 ex afl players, and pummel the northern saints. Perhaps pascoe vale could spend their money more wisely and look at the way keilor go about building a club through their juniors and top up with recruits, did they have 5 guys drafted last year?
The points system will also stop one off games being played.
These rules will encourage ex afl players to go back to their junior clubs as well.
I would like to see each club allowed one marquee player that is not included in the points, so we see players like fev, Aker, Scarlett, Milne go back and play at a lower local level.
Hopefully this will help maryborough who must have had cash to spare as they couldn't recruit anyone and used it on one off games by Maclean and tarrant and maybe this will stop the ridiculous amounts of money spent on players

Turbos response below:

Trent's given Turbo a whack.. haha
Ease up champ we only have 5 and only 1 has recently come out of AFL in Ben Ross. But the other 4 are pretty handy as well..

I know Keilor have one of the best junior programs and rolling out plenty of kids, but they have a good sized area with no other A Grade club really close, where as Strathmore, Abers & Pacco do have more competition.
It would be interesting to see if all the top talent started at clubs like Keilor or did they come across from neighbouring clubs after u/10s.. This would be an interesting survey..
It's fact that some good talent is poached or that parent see their kid is good at 11 or 12 in B grade and move them across to A grade to better there footy by playing against better opposition. I happened to do this with my son ( but it was due to moving house) and advise any parent with a kid that has talent to play A grade footy from 12 years and up. Better competition and most often better coaching as well as the crowds appreciate talent in the top divisions.

The points system will cause clubs to use money saved on the seniors to be used to scout juniors and sign them up at 11 or 12 do they become a homegrown and therefore 1 point in coming years.. This won't be good for footy, but it will happen..

What's your views as this is a good conversation even though it's on another leagues forum..[/COLOR]

Let's create some discussion on the proposed points system put out. Let's keep it all fair and honest..

Here is some discussion between Trent and I which I pulled over from another league.

"Will clubs in the EDFL be forced to only have 1 junior side in each age group to allow for talent to be built" I believe it's high on the leagues agenda otherwise certain clubs could face going under or at the minimum copping some hefty losses..

[COLOR=rgba(0, 0, 0, 0.701961)]Trent the flight Steward reply to to points system:

It's being put in place turbo to stop clubs like yours at pascoe vale buy in 10 ex afl players, and pummel the northern saints. Perhaps pascoe vale could spend their money more wisely and look at the way keilor go about building a club through their juniors and top up with recruits, did they have 5 guys drafted last year?
These rules will encourage ex afl players to go back to their junior clubs as well.
I would like to see each club allowed one marquee player that is not included in the points, so we see players like fev, Aker, Scarlett, Milne go back and play at a lower local level.
Hopefully this will help maryborough who must have had cash to spare as they couldn't recruit anyone and used it on one off games by Maclean and tarrant and maybe this will stop the ridiculous amounts of money spent on players

Turbos response below:

Ease up champ we only have 5 and only 1 has recently come out of AFL in Ben Ross. But the other 4 are pretty handy as well..

I know Keilor have one of the best junior programs and rolling out plenty of kids, but they have a good sized area with no other A Grade club really close, where as Strathmore, Abers & Pacco do have more competition.
It would be interesting to see if all the top talent started at clubs like Keilor or did they come across from neighbouring clubs after u/10s.. This would be an interesting survey..
It's fact that some good talent is poached or that parent see their kid is good at 11 or 12 in B grade and move them across to A grade to better there footy by playing against better opposition. I happened to do this with my son ( but it was due to moving house) and advise any parent with a kid that has talent to play A grade footy from 12 years and up. Better competition and most often better coaching as well as the crowds appreciate talent in the top divisions.

The points system will cause clubs to use money saved on the seniors to be used to scout juniors and sign them up at 11 or 12 do they become a homegrown and therefore 1 point in coming years.. This won't be good for footy, but it will happen..

What's your views as this is a good conversation even though it's on another leagues forum..[/COLOR]
The idea of a perfectly even competition is great of course but the reality is in any comp there will be stronger clubs and weaker clubs. I just really dont think a point system is a good idea turbo as agree it could really turn away some high quality players from our league. Can u fill me in on what happens next year if abers or pacco or greenvales current team is over the required points? Do they need to start pulling blokes aside an telling them they cant play at there club because they are over the points? Or turning away potential recruits that want to come to there club because of this system, thats a joke and we cant seriously be bringing this in. It would be an absolute nightmare for clubs and leagues to keep on top of and the thought of clubs having to turn away players is the sealer for me, this can never work!

G'day turbo love your work mate but to say the EDFL are seriously thinking about making each club have 1 junior side in each grade is ridiculous ,soccer will be rubbing there hands together to hear such comments
IMO unless the points system is brought in by every league across the state, each league will only be half hearted in introducing it because if clubs with big player wages will attract the big player's to there league which will make their league look better

Turbos response below:

EDFL Premier Division