EDFL Premier Division

Let's create some discussion on the proposed points system put out. Let's keep it all fair and honest..

Here is some discussion between Trent and I which I pulled over from another league.

"Will clubs in the EDFL be forced to only have 1 junior side in each age group to allow for talent to be built" I believe it's high on the leagues agenda otherwise certain clubs could face going under or at the minimum copping some hefty losses..

[COLOR=rgba(0, 0, 0, 0.701961)]Trent the flight Steward reply to to points system:

It's being put in place turbo to stop clubs like yours at pascoe vale buy in 10 ex afl players, and pummel the northern saints. Perhaps pascoe vale could spend their money more wisely and look at the way keilor go about building a club through their juniors and top up with recruits, did they have 5 guys drafted last year?
The points system will also stop one off games being played.
These rules will encourage ex afl players to go back to their junior clubs as well.
I would like to see each club allowed one marquee player that is not included in the points, so we see players like fev, Aker, Scarlett, Milne go back and play at a lower local level.
Hopefully this will help maryborough who must have had cash to spare as they couldn't recruit anyone and used it on one off games by Maclean and tarrant and maybe this will stop the ridiculous amounts of money spent on players

Turbos response below:

Trent's given Turbo a whack.. haha
Ease up champ we only have 5 and only 1 has recently come out of AFL in Ben Ross. But the other 4 are pretty handy as well..

I know Keilor have one of the best junior programs and rolling out plenty of kids, but they have a good sized area with no other A Grade club really close, where as Strathmore, Abers & Pacco do have more competition.
It would be interesting to see if all the top talent started at clubs like Keilor or did they come across from neighbouring clubs after u/10s.. This would be an interesting survey..
It's fact that some good talent is poached or that parent see their kid is good at 11 or 12 in B grade and move them across to A grade to better there footy by playing against better opposition. I happened to do this with my son ( but it was due to moving house) and advise any parent with a kid that has talent to play A grade footy from 12 years and up. Better competition and most often better coaching as well as the crowds appreciate talent in the top divisions.

The points system will cause clubs to use money saved on the seniors to be used to scout juniors and sign them up at 11 or 12 do they become a homegrown and therefore 1 point in coming years.. This won't be good for footy, but it will happen..

What's your views as this is a good conversation even though it's on another leagues forum..[/COLOR]
In regards to better coaching, the Northern Saints like most clubs in the EDFL is striving to create a high standard learning environment and encourages its coaches to attend professional development run by the AFCA. In addition to the compulsory sessions each coach must attend at least one additional coaching development session. Furthermore, the club is a regular at the annual AFL coaches conference and this year established a coaching curriculum that must be followed by the coaches. This approach has significantly altered training where 'game sense activities' are the norm. Every child must be given three quarters and play in every position throughout the year. There are early signs that this approach is paying dividends with a higher level of skills on match day in the under tens and twelves and, as a consequence excellent retention rate in these teams. Club coaches constantly refer their players to the players code of conduct. The club has introduced stiff penalties to anyone whether official, player, parent or others who breach the relevant code of conduct. The club has also learnt from strategies used by other clubs in the EDFL.

The idea of a perfectly even competition is great of course but the reality is in any comp there will be stronger clubs and weaker clubs. I just really dont think a point system is a good idea turbo as agree it could really turn away some high quality players from our league. Can u fill me in on what happens next year if abers or pacco or greenvales current team is over the required points? Do they need to start pulling blokes aside an telling them they cant play at there club because they are over the points? Or turning away potential recruits that want to come to there club because of this system, thats a joke and we cant seriously be bringing this in. It would be an absolute nightmare for clubs and leagues to keep on top of and the thought of clubs having to turn away players is the sealer for me, this can never work!

G'day Bissa, I'm with you 100% and don't know how it will work with contracted players as the contract must be filled. It's based on certain payments per game so to turn them away will be a breach of contract and will become a legal matter. What if other clubs cannot afford to pay them as much "but" they have a contract??

G'day turbo love your work mate but to say the EDFL are seriously thinking about making each club have 1 junior side in each grade is ridiculous ,soccer will be rubbing there hands together to hear such comments
IMO unless the points system is brought in by every league across the state, each league will only be half hearted in introducing it because if clubs with big player wages will attract the big player's to there league which will make their league look better

Oh sorry mate, what I meant was if 1 club has 2 u/12 sides and a neighbour club has no juniors what does that hold for the club with no juniors in years to come with a points system. They ultimately will fold as can only recruit so many players under the points system. The Keilor Parks, East Keilors, Tulla etc will be gone within years. I'm saying these kids might have to go to a neighbour club..
Is this right? Maybe not but the points system is favouring clubs with homegrowns as they are less points. It's not an easy one and the clubs with plenty of juniors work bloody hard.

What is a homegrown? How many years is it to qualify?? Clubs will need to pay junior football managers to build a list to have a future..

Anyway as I said it's an interesting discussion..

Oh sorry mate, what I meant was if 1 club has 2 u/12 sides and a neighbour club has no juniors what does that hold for the club with no juniors in years to come with a points system. They ultimately will fold as can only recruit so many players under the points system. The Keilor Parks, East Keilors, Tulla etc will be gone within years. I'm saying these kids might have to go to a neighbour club..
Is this right? Maybe not but the points system is favouring clubs with homegrowns as they are less points. It's not an easy one and the clubs with plenty of juniors work bloody hard.

What is a homegrown? How many years is it to qualify?? Clubs will need to pay junior football managers to build a list to have a future..

Anyway as I said it's an interesting discussion..
Does the competition look at having zones for jnr teams from u 10 to u 14 & if you want to play for another team outside your zone the club with in your zone must have enough numbers & you must have a reasonable reason to play for that outside your teams zone & hopefully clubs can build a strong culture & good quality coaching for these kids so they don't need to leave when they get older

Points system would help but lets say straight from AFL is worth 10 points i still think that cash will be king as teams aren't even on salary cap so potentially highest bidder/deepest pockets would win the services of that player, not always but if team A and B has room for a 10 point player and team A offers $2k and team B $1200 its a big difference. Having said that bring it in i say :)

Pacco by 24 pts in a ripper contest. Fill you in with more detail later. Tough, fair contest.

I'm sure everyone at Raeburn Reserve enjoyed today's contest as it was an intriguing game. Both sides missed some goals in the first quarter and it was about even. The second quarter was also a tight tussle. The third quarter started with Pacco doing well and then a 50 mt penalty resulted in a goal to Urquart but it appeared to be due to an off the ball incident ( nothing serious) but the Pacco boys were all in there showing team solidarity for a team mate and from there seem to lift the team. Paccos midfield was getting on top but the tall Greenvale forwards were creating some havoc.

Tom Hill went down with reported whiplash (nothing untoward) and was stretched off. Great to see his ex Bulldogs team mate Patty Veszpremi go over to see if he was ok, and then call the trainers over. Surely we all appreciate this type of behaviour from opposition players. I know the Greenvale supporters were very vocal all game but any person who loves there sport will see this as an opportunity to see the players have respect for one another in this premier league..

The last quarter Pacco ran all over Greenvale with run through the midfield and seemed to be the fitter side. Some undisciplined acts by Greenvale, by arguing with umpires and holding on resulted in 50 mt penalties which caused goals. I don't recall these players who dished up 50 mt penalties coming off the ground so are there standards high??

The quarter also seen another 50 mt penalty against Greenvale, due to no 34 kicking a Pacco player on the ground after a free kick was awarded. Not sure it was untoward as the ball was close by, but if you give a 50mt I think it's a reportable incident as the player had to leave the field with an arm injury..

But in closing it was a high class game with some good performances and some excellent tagging jobs by both sides. The game was very tough, but fair with some really good hits and tough tackles. In the end Pacco was the more physical and disciplined team and deserved the win..

Also the ruck contest was a great even battle and no10 from Greenvale is a dangerous forward with good hands but his kicking style is a bit iffy.. I thought the Campese vs Warren battle was an absolute cracking duel, once again played in the right spirit.

Both sides are the main challenges to the "star studded" Abers line up.
What a great contest this Sat at Clifton Park. Will be a bumper crowd..

I'm sure everyone at Raeburn Reserve enjoyed today's contest as it was an intriguing game. Both sides missed some goals in the first quarter and it was about even. The second quarter was also a tight tussle. The third quarter started with Pacco doing well and then a 50 mt penalty resulted in a goal to Urquart but it appeared to be due to an off the ball incident ( nothing serious) but the Pacco boys were all in there showing team solidarity for a team mate and from there seem to lift the team. Paccos midfield was getting on top but the tall Greenvale forwards were creating some havoc.

Tom Hill went down with reported whiplash (nothing untoward) and was stretched off. Great to see his ex Bulldogs team mate Patty Veszpremi go over to see if he was ok, and then call the trainers over. Surely we all appreciate this type of behaviour from opposition players. I know the Greenvale supporters were very vocal all game but any person who loves there sport will see this as an opportunity to see the players have respect for one another in this premier league..

The last quarter Pacco ran all over Greenvale with run through the midfield and seemed to be the fitter side. Some undisciplined acts by Greenvale, by arguing with umpires and holding on resulted in 50 mt penalties which caused goals. I don't recall these players who dished up 50 mt penalties coming off the ground so are there standards high??

The quarter also seen another 50 mt penalty against Greenvale, due to no 34 kicking a Pacco player on the ground after a free kick was awarded. Not sure it was untoward as the ball was close by, but if you give a 50mt I think it's a reportable incident as the player had to leave the field with an arm injury..

But in closing it was a high class game with some good performances and some excellent tagging jobs by both sides. The game was very tough, but fair with some really good hits and tough tackles. In the end Pacco was the more physical and disciplined team and deserved the win..

Also the ruck contest was a great even battle and no10 from Greenvale is a dangerous forward with good hands but his kicking style is a bit iffy.. I thought the Campese vs Warren battle was an absolute cracking duel, once again played in the right spirit.

Both sides are the main challenges to the "star studded" Abers line up.

What a great contest this Sat at Clifton Park. Will be a bumper crowd..
My son played junior footy and at Northern Knights with Patty Veszpremi and it doesn't surprise me with his sportsmanship, just a top kid who is great to have around a footy club. Keep up the good work Turbo love reading the good reports that you put up on all leagues and yes I'm a footy tragic just like yourself !

Ross x2 and Urquhart were top notch today and along with Lewis were really the difference between the sides.
Campo did a great job on Warren.
Paco vs Abers next week should be a cracker,
Abers inside grunt vs Pacos outside work should lead to an interesting matchup.

My son played junior footy and at Northern Knights with Patty Veszpremi and it doesn't surprise me with his sportsmanship, just a top kid who is great to have around a footy club. Keep up the good work Turbo love reading the good reports that you put up on all leagues and yes I'm a footy tragic just like yourself !

Cheers mate and yes Patty is a ripper player/bloke. The Pacco people love him and his a favourite!!! I'm now sticking to premier as some people on div1 are not taking a liking to my posts. Doesn't really concern me as I drive to go and watch Pacco play premier footy. The standard is high quality that I assure you all.

Last week I went down to watch a half of Melton vs Lake Wendoree at Melton as I was out that way on prior commitments and went to see some players. The BFL is different footy and nowhere like the EDFL premier. The crowd is about 30% of today's clash and it's not very physical and a lot more open.. Yes I understand it's rated lower than EDFL and these 2 sides are down the lower half of the ladder (well so I'm told) but EDFL premier is a cracker league.

Ross x2 and Urquhart were top notch today and along with Lewis were really the difference between the sides.
Campo did a great job on Warren.
Paco vs Abers next week should be a cracker,
Abers inside grunt vs Pacos outside work should lead to an interesting matchup.

Hey BlueJet,
What did you think of Daniel Harris today? I know a few people at Airport West who thought he was finished but gee he played well IMO. Bloody tough at it, and for someone over 30 he sure gives his all. I'm a huge wrap for him.. Urqhart was good and that's his best game this year.. Brilliant skills.,

I know your not saying anything untoward but I think Pacco have inside grunt and are playing a hard brand of footy and playing for each other.. Could this be a telling thing at years end?? I believe so..

Cheers mate and yes Patty is a ripper player/bloke. The Pacco people love him and his a favourite!!! I'm now sticking to premier as some people on div1 are not taking a liking to my posts. Doesn't really concern me as I drive to go and watch Pacco play premier footy. The standard is high quality that I assure you all.

Last week I went down to watch a half of Melton vs Lake Wendoree at Melton as I was out that way on prior commitments and went to see some players. The BFL is different footy and nowhere like the EDFL premier. The crowd is about 30% of today's clash and it's not very physical and a lot more open.. Yes I understand it's rated lower than EDFL and these 2 sides are down the lower half of the ladder (well so I'm told) but EDFL premier is a cracker league.
Turbo do you sleep? Posting all hours of the day must be on some mad Monday gear

Now I need to be careful here as I think someone at my work is on here and knows who I am. Lol
I am now back working shift work and it can be a bit boring at times, so it fills in some time.. It is a bit addictive but it's good fun..

PS: I don't give to much away as a lot of people read big footy.

Just got home after a few frothies at a footy club close by, and checked the results and took a close look at the team lists.. Now if you look at the playing list of Abers, Greenvale, Pacco, Avondale & Strathmore probably only 3-4 players on each list would be on minimal match payments.. Some good names on all lists. I know people say Abers & Pacco are spending up, but check all 5 lists and there is quality aplenty.. Yes we say Ross, Blackwell are at the high end but so are Galea, Brewer, Sikora etc..and let's not forget Browne from Keilor and Castello at Marby..

Anyone at the Strathmore game today?? I see Walsh was named best for Avondale and Sikora not named in the best for Strathmore. Can anyone confirm if Walsh dominated the ruck contests as Sikora is rated high by "his" followers..

Hey BlueJet,
What did you think of Daniel Harris today? I know a few people at Airport West who thought he was finished but gee he played well IMO. Bloody tough at it, and for someone over 30 he sure gives his all. I'm a huge wrap for him.. Urqhart was good and that's his best game this year.. Brilliant skills.,

I know your not saying anything untoward but I think Pacco have inside grunt and are playing a hard brand of footy and playing for each other.. Could this be a telling thing at years end?? I believe so..
Harris is certainly capable, the knock on him was that he picks and chooses a bit in regards to when he's really going to crack in. (workrate rather than hardness)
And you're right Pacco doesnt lack in hardness, it's just much of the damage is done via using the +1 to orchestrate rebound/run and carry. (usually class players like Vinnie or Patty)

You failed to mention the one thing the entire crowd were talking about??

The onesided umpiring today didn't get a mention Turbo?? Turn it up. Utterly mesmerising and that is actually kind.

G'day Jet, I can't sleep so another post/reply as I like your question and knew it was going to come. Seeing you have asked me politely I thought I should reply..
I actually thought the umpires had control the entire game and it was pretty good mate. Protected the ball players, paid 3 free kicks for kicking in danger (which I like to see), and let the play go. Also paid some free kicks for high fend offs which were there. This needs to be watched closely as can cause serious damage. Looks like they were told to watch for these!! Having said that its usually the case of opinions if you win or lose I suppose.
The decision in the 3rd qrt in the middle of the ground to Pacco #10 against Greenvale #11 as to high when it seemed like a fair (and bloody hard) clash by 2 players going for the ball seemed strange but the head was hit as it went back, so I assume that's what the umpire seen. How good was it to see both players get straight back up..
I know I seen 4 x 50mt penalties paid in the last half all against Greenvale. The 2 for holding & kicking (not untoward but after the whistle was blown) were there but I couldn't see the other 2 up the other end. Don't think it helps when #3 back chats the umpire though.

All in all you would have to agree it was a top game of good quality, hard footy by both sides. Nothing dirty, limited injuries and played in great spirits.

On Tom Hill I hear it's a case of whiplash so hope his ok as his a good kid. Had sone bad injuries over recent years so wish him a speedy recovery.. Was playing very well at the time and was a big difference losing him. See he was named as Greenvales best and played only 2 and a bit quarters..

I thought the Greenvale supporters (and me) were getting more upset about the long wait at the canteen. Haha. This will need to be addressed as the canteen is having trouble keeping up with the bigger 2015 crowds..

Ripper crowd enjoying the find weather and the ground was in excellent condition.. Small area in middle and a bit wet underfoot but good grass coverage across the ground.

In closing Greenvale are a definite contender this year. Some really big blokes, and strong bodies but maybe need 1 or 2 players with some leg speed. Are you maybe to tall with 4 really big guys?Key forwards in #4 Hill and #10 Smith are as good as any going around but IMO the resting ruckman shouldn't be up there as its to top heavy..
Thought #20 Deluca was ok but #16 Shiners a bit quite on the day.

Cheers mate.,

You failed to mention the one thing the entire crowd were talking about??

The onesided umpiring today didn't get a mention Turbo?? Turn it up. Utterly mesmerising and that is actually kind.
The entire crowd ?? No just a few one eyed supporters of a team beaten fairly & squarely on the day. It's not the umpires you should be crook on but the complete lack of discipline from some of your players.... They paid the penalty for off the ball hits & holding as well as back chatting the umps

Paco got were on the receiving end of some friendly calls. (as the home teams are most weeks in this comp)
Greenvale players didn't help themselves with their reactions to some of these calls though, especially given there seems to have been a crackdown on any backchat/abuse.
That said, i'm not sure screaming wtf after a nonsensical call warrants a 100m penalty..

Does the competition look at having zones for jnr teams from u 10 to u 14 & if you want to play for another team outside your zone the club with in your zone must have enough numbers & you must have a reasonable reason to play for that outside your teams zone & hopefully clubs can build a strong culture & good quality coaching for these kids so they don't need to leave when they get older
Zoning is not a good idea. Clubs need to work hard to attract and keep their juniors and not become lazy. As mentioned before it would be unwise to force children to play at a club whose culture the families may not feel comfortable with. Maribyrnong Park is a perfect example of a club who lifted their juniors out of the doldrums to become a league powerhouse.

Good idea and Zoning might be raised with the induction of the points system. It's an interesting subject as most kids play in there local area unless they are either "recruited" or change to play a higher division.
There are not many kids in areas like Keilor Park, Moonee Valley, Tullamarine so how do they get kids. And if they do find some they offer free memberships to get them.. Even if say Tulla and Keilor Park merged they still might struggle but easier to find maybe 25 kids than 50 in this area..
West Coburg seem to find them. Pacco have good numbers but up the road Coburg Districts will struggle. A parent will say why go to districts when we can go to Pacco as they are an A grade club..

Moonee Valley are in between West Coburg & Marby so can they continue to pull juniors into the future..

Challenging times ahead..

Good idea and Zoning might be raised with the induction of the points system. It's an interesting subject as most kids play in there local area unless they are either "recruited" or change to play a higher division.
There are not many kids in areas like Keilor Park, Moonee Valley, Tullamarine so how do they get kids. And if they do find some they offer free memberships to get them.. Even if say Tulla and Keilor Park merged they still might struggle but easier to find maybe 25 kids than 50 in this area..
West Coburg seem to find them. Pacco have good numbers but up the road Coburg Districts will struggle. A parent will say why go to districts when we can go to Pacco as they are an A grade club..

Moonee Valley are in between West Coburg & Marby so can they continue to pull juniors into the future..

Northern would have the whole eastern side of Sydney Rd from Bell St to Campbellfield.

It's an interesting topic of discussion.
Tulla draws from the same pool as Greenvale and Westy, with the downside being that there are probably a lot less young people growing up in Tullamarine than those two areas, so being able to get to training may become an issue for some families.
Similarly, around Essendon way you have Abers, EDS, St Bernards, PEGS and more recently Marby being desirable places for a young fella to have a kick, it does place pressure on a club such as Moonee Valley.
It'd obviously be fantastic to see some measures put in place to improve participation and ensure the survival of some of these footy clubs long term. Perhaps with the capping of player payments money will be funneled into the improvement of the junior section of the clubs? (I acknowledge that i'm being idealistic)

Northern would have the whole eastern side of Sydney Rd from Bell St to Campbellfield.

Yes it's a big area but are there many kids in this zone? Bit industrial as well.. How are Northern placed for juniors mate?

Massive result in the reserves Keilor v Northern, however there reserves did also give my team Pacco a hiding..

EDFL Premier Division