Fastandloose
- Apr 10, 2015
- AFL Club
- Western Bulldogs
Just heard them talking about metro zoning on the radio. Seems to have some traction with league administrators.

Due to a number of factors, support for the current BigFooty mobile app has been discontinued. Your BigFooty login will no longer work on the Tapatalk or the BigFooty App - which is based on Tapatalk.
Apologies for any inconvenience. We will try to find a replacement.
Yes it's a big area but are there many kids in this zone? Bit industrial as well.. How are Northern placed for juniors mate?
Massive result in the reserves Keilor v Northern, however there reserves did also give my team Pacco a hiding..
The club is undergoing a lot of changes at the moment. It made a decision not to have U16's because it feared that not enough home growns were in that group, so to avoid any potential problems with behaviour etc, it made a strong decision not to go ahead this year. It will pick it up next year with a brand new Junior committee on board who are committed. They will change the fortunes of the club and develop a great junior culture. You need only see the proof is in the pudding. Good people, strong people leading ensure that largely you get good outcomes.
The senior part of the club is also undergoing change. Officials and many players are sick of the shit behaviour of some players and they are being moved on. You either buy-in, or you p&ss off. The seniors have about 5 or 6 to come in over the next few weeks so this will help performances.
The U18's are made up of 1st year kids 80%. A number of kids are injured and will make a come back in next few weeks. 3 of the 1st year kids have been playing seniors, they are still 16 yo and are holding their weight atm.
The club is under no illusion. It will take 2 steps back now to go forward in the future. There is a lot happening in the background Turbo which the club doesn't spruke. It's more than aware of the problems it has, and for that matter problems which many clubs have.
I for one look forward to a points system. yes it will place pressure on us, only from generating a good junior perspective, but now clubs like ours will be forced to this. We have more than enough kids in this region to sustain the club, not as affluent perhaps as the west side of Pascoe Vale Rd, and for that matter Sussex Street, but getting there as a suburg and demographic (always developing and changing). Things will change, people need to stick phat, especially the U18's who will be 2nd year in the system, bodies will grow a little more, attract a few more players who can see the club promotes to it's seniors players who show good promise. This is one of the good things about a club such as Northern. Young blokes getting a go if they show a bit. For a 16-18 year old playing against players such as Vespremi, Urquart, Warren, Galea, Rose, iacobuuci, Brown etc, it's a great experience and does wonders for confidence and development. It would be nice if the club could get Chappie, he is revered at the club and well respected and would do wonders and change the fortunes of the club a lot quicker than what is occurring currently.
Goal side, you have more time on your hands than me.. Lol
It's great to hear your changing the culture and heading forward at full steam as it's the only way to survive.. If you stay up or go down who really cares but the people involved at NS. It's what's best for your club long term... I think we all know the challenges you have, but if people have your type of attitude, as per your post, then we all commend you and your club..
It's bloody hard in premier but if you develop youth then who knows how far you can go in the next 2-5 years..
Now if you can get Chappie that will be massive news for your club, but you need to use it as a marketing tool as well. His name alone is not enough so build around him.. Imagine if you could get Fletcher for a few games as well.. I'm guessing his the type of person who might be willing to help a club in need, for the better of the local community. Don't think he needs the money do you!
Anyway best of luck to you and your club.,
I'm sure everyone at Raeburn Reserve enjoyed today's contest as it was an intriguing game. Both sides missed some goals in the first quarter and it was about even. The second quarter was also a tight tussle. The third quarter started with Pacco doing well and then a 50 mt penalty resulted in a goal to Urquart but it appeared to be due to an off the ball incident ( nothing serious) but the Pacco boys were all in there showing team solidarity for a team mate and from there seem to lift the team. Paccos midfield was getting on top but the tall Greenvale forwards were creating some havoc.
Tom Hill went down with reported whiplash (nothing untoward) and was stretched off. Great to see his ex Bulldogs team mate Patty Veszpremi go over to see if he was ok, and then call the trainers over. Surely we all appreciate this type of behaviour from opposition players. I know the Greenvale supporters were very vocal all game but any person who loves there sport will see this as an opportunity to see the players have respect for one another in this premier league..
The last quarter Pacco ran all over Greenvale with run through the midfield and seemed to be the fitter side. Some undisciplined acts by Greenvale, by arguing with umpires and holding on resulted in 50 mt penalties which caused goals. I don't recall these players who dished up 50 mt penalties coming off the ground so are there standards high??
The quarter also seen another 50 mt penalty against Greenvale, due to no 34 kicking a Pacco player on the ground after a free kick was awarded. Not sure it was untoward as the ball was close by, but if you give a 50mt I think it's a reportable incident as the player had to leave the field with an arm injury..
But in closing it was a high class game with some good performances and some excellent tagging jobs by both sides. The game was very tough, but fair with some really good hits and tough tackles. In the end Pacco was the more physical and disciplined team and deserved the win..
Also the ruck contest was a great even battle and no10 from Greenvale is a dangerous forward with good hands but his kicking style is a bit iffy.. I thought the Campese vs Warren battle was an absolute cracking duel, once again played in the right spirit.
Both sides are the main challenges to the "star studded" Abers line up.
What a great contest this Sat at Clifton Park. Will be a bumper crowd..
Goal side - Good on you and all the best
Turbo - Give it a spell you flog
Coburg Districts will not struggle. They already have multiple under 10 sides with the top side undefeated in Division 2, I do not know about the under 12's. Districts also have an under 8 side and a popular Auskick.Good idea and Zoning might be raised with the induction of the points system. It's an interesting subject as most kids play in there local area unless they are either "recruited" or change to play a higher division.
There are not many kids in areas like Keilor Park, Moonee Valley, Tullamarine so how do they get kids. And if they do find some they offer free memberships to get them.. Even if say Tulla and Keilor Park merged they still might struggle but easier to find maybe 25 kids than 50 in this area..
West Coburg seem to find them. Pacco have good numbers but up the road Coburg Districts will struggle. A parent will say why go to districts when we can go to Pacco as they are an A grade club..
Moonee Valley are in between West Coburg & Marby so can they continue to pull juniors into the future..
Challenging times ahead..
Northern have 22 players in the under 10's and 29 players in the Under 12's. Registrations were capped at this number. Next year Northern are looking at having two under 10 and 12 teams. The under 14's are competitive. Northern have no under 16 side. Northern could have got one but took the tough decision to let a few discipline problems go. This enabled the genuine boys to play football at other clubs without putting up with unnecessary distractions. These players are committed to returning next year. This is not luck but the club getting its act together.Yes it's a big area but are there many kids in this zone? Bit industrial as well.. How are Northern placed for juniors mate?
Massive result in the reserves Keilor v Northern, however there reserves did also give my team Pacco a hiding..
Am constantly amazed by the Abers bashing on here.I had a look in recent weeks at the Northern Blues and Coburg Tigers list and 8 players from Abers are on lists.I then tried to see how many Abers grown players are on Tac lists at Jets and Cannons but cant find such list?If someone from Abers or elsewhere put up such a list im sure they have a few there also.
Actually it's been pretty quite on here regarding Abers bashing. It's now me who people are trying to bash.. Lol
Anyway can't wait till Saturday's clash between Abers v Pacco. Hope it's a ripper contest.. Will be interested in people's tips..
What happened to Mark Blake?? Did he get a bad injury??
In 2013 there were more abers juniors playing for greenvale than home grown players playing for abers FACT!
You are right. I have viewed Aberfeldie's junior policies and they are excellent.I think some of the abers bashing
Is that abers have won the last 3 u18 flags and 7 in ten years. So with the quality of kids pushing through they refused to play those kids but instead have an ex afl team so most of the kids have left and gone to play seniors at other clubs.
In 2013 there were more abers juniors playing for greenvale than home grown players playing for abers FACT!
So in fact most people should recognise how good abers junior program is but there senior club is simply about buying that senior flag.
definitely not true, Blake is just injured and will be back when fit. Regarding Abers performance on the weekend which was evidently against weaker opposition it was still good to watch lance shooter Oswald back to form with 15 and a goalNews is Blake has walked, staying home on the Bellarine, no dramas, just a travel thing
Why did you go home at quarter time Candyshop50???definitely not true, Blake is just injured and will be back when fit. Regarding Abers performance on the weekend which was evidently against weaker opposition it was still good to watch lance shooter Oswald back to form with 15 and a goal
nah pal I stayed the whole game, lots of good players for Abers on the day Blackwell hislop lynch and so on. I thought Oswald was good without getting much of it, he did enough. A vast improvement from his last few weeks because when he plays well so do Abers. It's good for him to becAuse rumours out of gorilla park were that Oswald was on the chopping block.Why did you go home at quarter time Candyshop50???
I just heard completely different! I was at the pacco game on the weekend and can't wait for this weekend. I would have thought you judge a player on a performance against the good sides and I personally seen Abers/oswalds game against AH/Greenvale and thought he was good! Anyway he is a quality player and with him in the side Abers a far better offnah pal I stayed the whole game, lots of good players for Abers on the day Blackwell hislop lynch and so on. I thought Oswald was good without getting much of it, he did enough. A vast improvement from his last few weeks because when he plays well so do Abers. It's good for him to becAuse rumours out of gorilla park were that Oswald was on the chopping block.
yes that may be a fair call so time will tell but I believe his time is up. In the twilight of his career, his disposal is average and he is too slow. Especially the amount of money he is on it might be in Abers best interests to cut ties with him, but If he can get through selection this week maybe Potts might be able to find him a tagging role on one of pascoe vales midfielders to teach him a lesson on how to play the game. It's sad to see a once good player become another person on the outer. I like watchin Oswald play though so Fingers crossed this week he comes out and can have a season high 20 possies and maybe a goal or so. All that being said, Abers by 20.I just heard completely different! I was at the pacco game on the weekend and can't wait for this weekend. I would have thought you judge a player on a performance against the good sides and I personally seen Abers/oswalds game against AH/Greenvale and thought he was good! Anyway he is a quality player and with him in the side Abers a far better off
That's laughable, obviously don't know your footy to well. I've seen the kid kick numerous goals from the boundary and lights up the Abers faithful on the hill, would be the quickest bloke down at the club and would expect a bloke to go to him this week as happens most weeks! He is a gun. Other fwds kick the goals because of his run and carry. Clearly the best kick going around. I've watched Abers a few times and I'd safely say your full of shit!yes that may be a fair call so time will tell but I believe his time is up. In the twilight of his career, his disposal is average and he is too slow. Especially the amount of money he is on it might be in Abers best interests to cut ties with him, but If he can get through selection this week maybe Potts might be able to find him a tagging role on one of pascoe vales midfielders to teach him a lesson on how to play the game. It's sad to see a once good player become another person on the outer. I like watchin Oswald play though so Fingers crossed this week he comes out and can have a season high 20 possies and maybe a goal or so. All that being said, Abers by 20.
That's laughable, obviously don't know your footy to well. I've seen the kid kick numerous goals from the boundary and lights up the Abers faithful on the hill, would be the quickest bloke down at the club and would expect a bloke to go to him this week as happens most weeks! He is a gun. Other fwds kick the goals because of his run and carry. Clearly the best kick going around. I've watched Abers a few times and I'd safely say your full of shit!
definitely not true, Blake is just injured and will be back when fit. Regarding Abers performance on the weekend which was evidently against weaker opposition it was still good to watch lance shooter Oswald back to form with 15 and a goal
That's laughable, obviously don't know your footy to well. I've seen the kid kick numerous goals from the boundary and lights up the Abers faithful on the hill, would be the quickest bloke down at the club and would expect a bloke to go to him this week as happens most weeks! He is a gun. Other fwds kick the goals because of his run and carry. Clearly the best kick going around. I've watched Abers a few times and I'd safely say your full of shit!
Is Lynch the most underrated player at Abers?