EDFL Premier Division

Cmon Mick give me something.

On another subject is your side Marby in with a chance against Pacco next Sat. Marby travelling better than expectations you reckon?? Big game for them yeah!!

Only because you asked nicely Turbo.

These figures are more like it.
Aberfeldie $350,000 - $400,000
Pascoe Vale $350,000+
Avondale Heights $330,000+
Greenvale $320,000+
Strathmore $300,000+
Keilor $280,000+
The Others Under $250,000

Big Footy is getting worse - a lot worse!!

Turbo, some of your rambles do generate discussion, my post is clearly buying into your ramble but comments like this need to be watered down unless you have some real facts.

I'm sure we all have opinions on what clubs are paying but this is pretty much what everyone knows. Disagree!

We can argue all we like but this is reality and what you need to compete in premier. Totally disagree!
So Puff what do you think a club needs to spend to be competitive in premier league and make the top 4 let alone have a real crack. I'm sure we would all like to know your thoughts. I'm NOT sure anything under 200k will get you there. 4 or 5 quality players will cost you close to half this..
I understand your a bit sensitive on this subject but let's be real..

PS: keep in mind the more "good" players you sign equals more sign on money so don't forget to include this..,

I'm not sensitive at all but I do know you're pi$$ing in the wind with your numbers..

I'd be doing exactly that if I wanted to waste time calculating, sorry speculating on what a Ben Warren gets paid each week and what his sign on was!

I actually couldn't care less!

Let's move on and talk about something a bit more productive because in a year's time there will be a points system and a salary cap and those clubs who haven't planned for it may struggle a bit.

Pascoe Vale $350,000+
Greenvale $320,000+
Strathmore $300,000+
Keilor $280,000+

Ah Mick your a classic, but I suppose I did ask for it. I was trying to be respectful with my figures but now you have gone completely mad (in the words of Ken Bruce) if you think Pacco are spending that much and the second highest paying club. Pacco don't pay players for playing reserves and there coaching staff would be on minimum rates which is a lot different to most other clubs.

Let me tell you one other thing players recently out of AFL already have plenty of money so it's not necessarily there main priority. Most are playing at clubs that did not offer the most money, but have a good culture, some business opportunities, friendships and the promise of finals. However ex VFL are different as they play VFL for less money and therefore try and get some good money when they go local. They usually demand big money. Then you have the metro/country "guns" who play for big money that's why most never try the higher leagues..

Anyway what's the next subject..

-Who do we think will improve its win/loss ratio in the second half of the season ( I know there is 1 game left)
-Predictions of top 4 end of year (and in order)
- who wins the premiership
- comp medal *name 3 in no particular order

I will start:
- Keilor, Airport West
- 1.Abers 2.Pacco 3.Greenvale 4.Keilor
- Pacco
- Riemers (A), B Ross (P), Brewer (G)

Cheers boys.,

Pascoe Vale $350,000+
Greenvale $320,000+
Strathmore $300,000+
Keilor $280,000+

Both Strathmore and Keilor would be under $250k (excluding coach Mick) IMO

Re Pacco, I'm pretty sure the coach does it for nix does he not?

I think the other issue is longevity. I mean a number of clubs could build a war chest and splurge 300-400 for one season or two but not many can do that year in, year out. Abers, Greenvale, Keilor and Strathmore perhaps could but the latter two choose not to. As I stated in a previous post, ex-AFL players cost the big bucks and Abers, Pacco and Greenvale have both those players and the top 3 spots on the ladder. No coincidence.

-Who do we think will improve its win/loss ratio in the second half of the season ( I know there is 1 game left)

I'll play:

- Keilor
- Abers, Pacco, Greenvale, Keilor/Avondale
- Abers
- Ben Ross, Andrew Browne, Adam Maric

Glad we're moving past speculating on who pays what, as it's generally used as little more than an attempt to portray other clubs as a pack of mercenaries whilst pretending your own club is made up of a bunch of blokes who play for the love of the jumper.

Lynch would be fav for the medal at this point.

Any news on the EDFL investigation between Strathmore and Greenvale? Percentage could be a big player come finals time for the mores.

Maybe finishing 3rd would be better for Greenvale.
Likely to get an 'easier and softer' semi final against a weaker 4th placed then then play a team coming off a hard and physical semi in the Prelim the week after.

I'll play:

- Keilor
- Abers, Pacco, Greenvale, Keilor/Avondale
- Abers
- Ben Ross, Andrew Browne, Adam Maric

Hey Star,
Thanks for your valued opinion. I'm not being critical of your views but how many games would Avondale need to win in the back half to overtake Keilor etc. they should beat Airport West so they will be 3-6. But I'm thinking they would need to win 6 or 7 of there last 9 to make it.
Interesting as I think there are internal issues there however Ghazi has been talking to new players re next year so is confident of coaching next year..

Hey Star,
Thanks for your valued opinion. I'm not being critical of your views but how many games would Avondale need to win in the back half to overtake Keilor etc. they should beat Airport West so they will be 3-6. But I'm thinking they would need to win 6 or 7 of there last 9 to make it.
Interesting as I think there are internal issues there however Ghazi has been talking to new players re next year so is confident of coaching next year..

I think Keilor with good percentage will get it but re AH, they have a game in hand (NS) and they should account for APW so if other results fall as expected (Pacco beat Marby) they will be a game and % out at the half way mark. I expect both them and Keilor to have a better back end of the year but realistically Keilor for 4th for mine

Maybe finishing 3rd would be better for Greenvale.
Likely to get an 'easier and softer' semi final against a weaker 4th placed then then play a team coming off a hard and physical semi in the Prelim the week after.

Greenvale are no stranger to playing preliminary final weekend and going on to winning the flag.
They seem to be flying under the radar and have the depth that Aberfeldie and Pascoe Vale don't have if injuries hit.

Those thinking that Pascoe Vale are spending less than $300k are kidding themselves.

Vezpremi, Warren and Ben Ross would be taking $40 k each
Urqhuart would be taking $30k
Michael Ross, Caruso, Randello, Taylor, Harris would be taking close to $20k each

which leaves $50-100k for the remaining players.

Is Mark Casey still pumping money into Abers? the sale of land he owned down geelong way has been sold. $$$

Ah Mick your a classic, but I suppose I did ask for it. I was trying to be respectful with my figures but now you have gone completely mad (in the words of Ken Bruce) if you think Pacco are spending that much and the second highest paying club. Pacco don't pay players for playing reserves and there coaching staff would be on minimum rates which is a lot different to most other clubs.

Let me tell you one other thing players recently out of AFL already have plenty of money so it's not necessarily there main priority. Most are playing at clubs that did not offer the most money, but have a good culture, some business opportunities, friendships and the promise of finals. However ex VFL are different as they play VFL for less money and therefore try and get some good money when they go local. They usually demand big money. Then you have the metro/country "guns" who play for big money that's why most never try the higher leagues..

I will start:
- Keilor, Airport West
- 1.Abers 2.Pacco 3.Greenvale 4.Keilor
- Pacco
- Riemers (A), B Ross (P), Brewer (G)

Cheers boys.,

Turbo, your post are usually around the mark but this is just dribble.
Name me one ex Afl player that's not in the top bracket at there club. There arent any. Your theory that they don't play for much money is stupid.

Also, on the Pacco boys Warren and Ross, I know for a fact that Marbi threw massive coin at them and they were offered more at Pacco. Your either not as close to the inner circle at Pacco or you're talking out your backside.
I think it's a bit of both !!!

So Abers certainties for GF Batman?? Agree they are favourites but finals are a different game.

Abers could be straight sets.

I'm saying that finishing 3rd could be better than finishing 2nd.

I reckon whichever team, (Abers, PV or GV) lose the 2nd Semi Final will go out in straight sets.

Hey Star,
Ghazi will be very lucky to survive has had heaps of chances !!

Name me one ex Afl player that's not in the top bracket at there club. There arent any. Your theory that they don't play for much money is stupid.

Also, on the Pacco boys Warren and Ross, I know for a fact that Marbi threw massive coin at them and they were offered more at Pacco. Your either not as close to the inner circle at Pacco or you're talking out your backside.

You are right mate we at Marby know that those 2 players are on huge money at Pascoe Vale , what about all the others there as well.

Now now my Marby friends, maybe "you" are not in the know. Yes understand Castello tried to them both but missed out to Pacco similar to last year when they went after the other Ross. What you all need to understand is Ross has come to the club where his brother is at and Warren was always going with him. Do you know for a fact they told Marby they went to Pacco for more money? If you think they are mercenaries then you don't know them to well and hearing stories.. Let me tell you there are good people out there you just need to find them and offer the "right" deal.
Do you think Castello went to Marby for more money than what other clubs offered him. No he didn't, he went to Marby as he knew people there.. Good catch for Marby.

Pacco don't have players getting paid by benefactors or big sponsors. But what you have/will see is players having a crack and playing as a close group..Agree players are well paid but nowhere near what players have/are getting at the big 3 clubs..

PS: I'm not taking this personally boys, as it's all good fun..

Now now my Marby friends, maybe "you" are not in the know. Yes understand Castello tried to them both but missed out to Pacco similar to last year when they went after the other Ross. What you all need to understand is Ross has come to the club where his brother is at and Warren was always going with him. Do you know for a fact they told Marby they went to Pacco for more money? If you think they are mercenaries then you don't know them to well and hearing stories.. Let me tell you there are good people out there you just need to find them and offer the "right" deal.
Do you think Castello went to Marby for more money than what other clubs offered him. No he didn't, he went to Marby as he knew people there.. Good catch for Marby.

Pacco don't have players getting paid by benefactors or big sponsors. But what you have/will see is players having a crack and playing as a close group..Agree players are well paid but nowhere near what players have/are getting at the big 3 clubs..

PS: I'm not taking this personally boys, as it's all good fun..

Who's paying them then? The canteen lady?

Turbo - you couldn't possibly be that delusional..

Are you also saying the big three (whoever they are) aren't playing as a close group - Pacco are the only ones?

Hallelujah - they've uncovered the formula to success - it's called build 90% of your team with players who've been at the club for 1 & 2 years only.

Who's paying them then? The canteen lady?

Turbo - you couldn't possibly be that delusional..

Are you also saying the big three (whoever they are) aren't playing as a close group - Pacco are the only ones?

Hallelujah - they've uncovered the formula to success - it's called build 90% of your team with players who've been at the club for 1 & 2 years only.

Puff - your one of the best posters on big footy which is great for all readers "but" I must reply..

I think you know who the big 3 are.. Cmon its Abers, Strathmore, Greenvale. Clubs that are always up near the top competing for the title. This is a compliment, as we are all trying to beat you!! BUT all you guys have, and still, pay players well.
-I know clubs who have offered money to "new" recruits but they go to Abers and some play twos. Pacco don't pay players playing reserves as we can't afford to..
-A certain big guy who came to Pacco last year (mid season) and helped us avoid relegation by playing well, was recruited by Strathmore as we didnt thinking paying him more than people like Ross etc was a good idea for the club.
-Greenvale were in competition for a number of players that we had approached. We got a couple and they got a couple so we call it square.

What I mean by close group is that a number of recruits already knew each other well prior to coming to Pacco, so they are very close off field as well. This can only be a positive but it's minimal I agree.

Your statement about 90% of players have played 1 or 2 years is a fair comment that Pacco don't dispute. It's not ideal, but I'm sure all premier clubs like it that another club is having a crack through hard work done by many long term club people..hopefully they stay for years to come and build a future at Pacco as we did basically start again. But the future is bright at Panther land..

Very good conversation, but it's now time for a beer or two.

PS: I take all criticism on the chin, and agree i can ramble on a bit but it's creating some interest as it's a bit quite on premier thread. Once again I don't dislike Abers and have mentioned plenty of times if you have the $$ then you spend it how you wish. I never said clubs spend X amount but rather put a figure in excess of X amount. I did expect a reply from you mate.

Cheers

Turbo

I disagree this time, Pascoe Vale spending huge. Sikora was a good call but the reality is blokes have jumped ship from an opposition club & history tells it is usually for one reason $$$$$ - the mail I got was Pacco not worried Sikora actually left?

Anyway - Forget the money spending, imagine if Keilor had all there recent draftees playing local, would they be spending huge coin. Clubs should be measured on a few things for success in my opinion. At the end of the day it is local footy & with total respect as the Northern Saints have had to deal with this week, mateship is the most important KPI.

Cheers

Puff - your one of the best posters on big footy which is great for all readers "but" I must reply..

I think you know who the big 3 are.. Cmon its Abers, Strathmore, Greenvale. Clubs that are always up near the top competing for the title. This is a compliment, as we are all trying to beat you!! BUT all you guys have, and still, pay players well.
-I know clubs who have offered money to "new" recruits but they go to Abers and some play twos. Pacco don't pay players playing reserves as we can't afford to..
-A certain big guy who came to Pacco last year (mid season) and helped us avoid relegation by playing well, was recruited by Strathmore as we didnt thinking paying him more than people like Ross etc was a good idea for the club.
-Greenvale were in competition for a number of players that we had approached. We got a couple and they got a couple so we call it square.

What I mean by close group is that a number of recruits already knew each other well prior to coming to Pacco, so they are very close off field as well. This can only be a positive but it's minimal I agree.

Your statement about 90% of players have played 1 or 2 years is a fair comment that Pacco don't dispute. It's not ideal, but I'm sure all premier clubs like it that another club is having a crack through hard work done by many long term club people..hopefully they stay for years to come and build a future at Pacco as we did basically start again. But the future is bright at Panther land..

Very good conversation, but it's now time for a beer or two.

PS: I take all criticism on the chin, and agree i can ramble on a bit but it's creating some interest as it's a bit quite on premier thread. Once again I don't dislike Abers and have mentioned plenty of times if you have the $$ then you spend it how you wish. I never said clubs spend X amount but rather put a figure in excess of X amount. I did expect a reply from you mate.

Cheers

All I can say is "IM SICK OF THE CRAP" in the words of Truman "Good afternoon good evening and good night" have a nice life people.

Turbo

I disagree this time, Pascoe Vale spending huge. Sikora was a good call but the reality is blokes have jumped ship from an opposition club & history tells it is usually for one reason $$$$$ - the mail I got was Pacco not worried Sikora actually left?

Anyway - Forget the money spending, imagine if Keilor had all there recent draftees playing local, would they be spending huge coin. Clubs should be measured on a few things for success in my opinion. At the end of the day it is local footy & with total respect as the Northern Saints have had to deal with this week, mateship is the most important KPI.

Cheers

Time to relax, respect your opinion and thoughts and must agree mate ship is important. No matter what money is offered players won't play at clubs (metro or country) unless they like the environment.

On Sikora I know a bit about this and in all honesty he played reasonably well last year and is a good bloke. Pacco wanted to keep him, and he wanted to stay "but" Pacco just couldn't justify his asking price and Strathmore were also chasing a ruckman and meet his price. In all seriousness I believe it was not a good move by Sikora (due to Pacco recruiting well) and Pacco then needed to find a ruckman and got Kerlin. Ive actually been impressed with Kerlin to date.. So it's probably been a win for Pacco.

So it's a case of the club not meeting a players demand which is a positive for the club and footy in general..

All I can say is "IM SICK OF THE CRAP" in the words of Truman "Good afternoon good evening and good night" have a nice life people.

Lol..

I will tell you what most people don't want to. Bit like some companies and they don't like hearing the truth but rather follow the company line. I have no interests in politics and say it how I see it. If some people (not directed at you) don't like it well stiff sh##. Pacco are not in the top 3-4 for player payments in 2015. Just because Pacco are doing well don't assume it's cause of money. Maybe the coach is good at selling the club and where it's heading as his been there a while and speaks with passion.
Don't just look at the senior lists clubs put out but also who's in the twos for multiply weeks.

Who cares if we recruit new players and have to pay good money. You think if they have been at a club for a number of years means they play for less money. Haha they probably stay because they are getting good money..

Turbo.. You wouldn't have any idea how much each club is spending.
Please stop.
Abers, Greenvale and Paco have all recruited well.. good on them.
How much each is spending is known only to a select few at any given club - anything else is purely speculation.
Tbh it's also largely irrelevant.

Turbo.. You wouldn't have any idea how much each club is spending.
Please stop.
Abers, Greenvale and Paco have all recruited well.. good on them.
How much each is spending is known only to a select few at any given club - anything else is purely speculation.
Tbh it's also largely irrelevant.
Amen to that. Turbos FFS please give the constant speculation on player payments a rest and get back to what you do best, discussing the actual matches and other issues which may arise. That at least would be something tangible. If you want to keep discussing club player payments maybe set up a separate thread rather than letting it dominate the main thread.

EDFL Premier Division