EDFL Premier Division

Good result, but it's just a Praccy game.

If Glenroy beat Northern at the next game would we expect they switch spots in Premier/Div 1?

Very silly comment, don't forget that the inter league game is on that day and Northern will be missing Fort & Nat. I don't read into pre season form as coaches are trying a heap of different things in order to prepare for R1.

Well what do you think?
Can not remember any edfl side beating a GFL side in a practice match & there rep side would beat the edfl by 10 goals plus, at the moment l think the edfl sit about 3rd to 4th best comp in metro footy

Hard to say, I dont expect Avondale to play finals this year and doubtful St Joeys will either. Newtown who should play finals drew with Marby who will fight for relegation, i havent seen a result from the Keilor v Leopold game but that would prob give an accurate reflection of the standards with both teams expected to go well in 2015.

I would say that EDFL and GFL are probably on par, with maybe GFL slightly ahead. In saying that there is certainly more high profile ex AFL players in EDFL and footy budgets would be close to double What the GFL sides pay.

Hard to say, I dont expect Avondale to play finals this year and doubtful St Joeys will either. Newtown who should play finals drew with Marby who will fight for relegation, i havent seen a result from the Keilor v Leopold game but that would prob give an accurate reflection of the standards with both teams expected to go well in 2015.

I would say that EDFL and GFL are probably on par, with maybe GFL slightly ahead. In saying that there is certainly more high profile ex AFL players in EDFL and footy budgets would be close to double What the GFL sides pay.

You cannot get an accurate reflection based on Practice matches.
  • Who played for Marby and Newtown?
  • What did coaching staff try?
  • How many fringe senior players were given a go?
  • Was the bench 3 or 8 players
  • Who was rested?
  • Who played half a game
  • Was this Newtown's second practice match for pre-season and Marby's first?
If you have all of these answers, you are a 50/50 to get it right. If you don't it is a mere guess.

The Northern Saints will be an outside chance for the top four if their first performance for the year against respected Southern League side Cheltenham is anything to go by. There were many contributors These included, among others, the Caruso brothers, Chapman and under 18 player Jack Smith.

although hard to gauge teams at this time of the year
Cheltenham had about 8 or 9 guns out due to cricket commitments as did Northern with some guns out also,
Very positive signs from Northern and the new recruits no doubt, Cheltenham seconds only had 11 players so Northern topped them up and the Northern boys played very well for Cheltenham kicking alot of their score

all in all it was very positive for Northern they definately have added some height and pace to an already fast side:thumbsu:

Mate you wouldnt have a clue!!!!

The Northern Saints will be an outside chance for the top four if their first performance for the year against respected Southern League side Cheltenham is anything to go by.

Laughable comment after one practice match... Edfl is a much stronger league than the sfl

Not sure where you've heard that Joeys will struggle this year mate. Would probably be flag favourites in the GFL this year unfortunately

'and footy budgets would be close to double What the GFL sides pay'

thats exactly the point! the edfl wastes all their money on average at best players who think there the next best thing behind judd or ablett,

and yet there a long way behind the standard of GFL who spent halve what they do?

lol

'and footy budgets would be close to double What the GFL sides pay'

thats exactly the point! the edfl wastes all their money on average at best players who think there the next best thing behind judd or ablett,

and yet there a long way behind the standard of GFL who spent halve what they do?

lol

Never said it is a long way better, they appear to be quite even in standard with GFL prob slightly ahead. Its totally subjective and we will never know as its too hard to compare.

The Northern Saints will be an outside chance for the top four if their first performance for the year against respected Southern League side Cheltenham is anything to go by. There were many contributors These included, among others, the Caruso brothers, Chapman and under 18 player Jack Smith.

I was at this game. Took a while for Northern to get going but in the end they had too many runners. It was good to see the younger blokes coming through, the team looks very young. The Caruso's played well but they obviously were given lesser roles for the game and really weren't a great impact which is good for the team going forward. Their new recruits look like natural ins and complement the side. Still, they don't have any talls and are very suspect in the air which will not help in Premier league.

Having said this, they ceratinly won't trouble the final 4/5 this year, but if they keep blooding new young blokes thay may go OK in a couple of years. They should be strong enough this year to remain in Premier Division.

These are the types clubs should be recruiting. Would hope that he is not costing the club too much, but then again, the cost is not always measured in dollars.

G'day BF followers,
Don't believe everything you hear about money players are on. Their are some players who play footy for what their worth which is great. If they have a good year, say top 5 B&F then flick them a bonus at end of year. This can benefit a player as well as they can play with freedom and the incentive is there if they go well..

"However" yes some players are on big dollars. If they preform well then fair enough but what if they don't?
The other question is what position do they play? Are they a match winner? Etc etc.

Let's use Pacco as an example.
Patty Veszpremi - gun player, very highly skilled and is very competitive. Really got involved and played with passion. Won them the game vs Marby at Pacco in the last quarter. Club & player are happy so club invests in the player.

Micheal Sikora- very tall ruckman who wins a lot of tap outs, was committed and also played with passion. Gave the club something when they lacked height. "But" is he worth the money he asks for? In the clubs opinion no! Probably won't win you a game as only can play ruck and doesn't take many marks. So they move on and find a replacement. Club believes his ability is below his asking price so they believe his not worth investing in.

PS
- I'm not having a crack at Sikora, as if someone is willing to pay your asking price then your well within your rights to accept it.
I'm also well aware that clubs need ruckman and the good ones don't come cheap.
- I don't know what these players are on other than what I hear. But these are facts ..

EDFL Premier Division