EDFL Premier Division

• Thread starter Thread starter muppet007

Turbo - best we keep the Premier discussion over here - the Div 1 people are ragging up..

The point I was making and probably didn't spell it out was you can debate and argue the toss on player payments for days - what does it really achieve but it appeared you glossed over the balance of recruits to an existing list.

My point was Pacco's list is a new one with more new recruits than all other clubs and assumedly they come with a higher price tag than an existing player or junior player.

To date the rumoured top spending clubs have played the following juniors in their seniors this season:

Avondale - less than 5
Pacco - 5/6
Keilor - 6
Abers - 12
Strathmore - 13/14
Greenvale - 15

In addition to this Strathmore, Greenvale and Abers have several players who've been at their respective clubs for more than 4 years which classes them as a club person now.

People at every club form an opinion on who pays what and unless your one of the few at each club who knows the facts your speculating - I know I've speculated on the back of what you hear from players and officials of opposing clubs.

Pacco have recruited superbly this year - they've bought blokes in that are driving standards and improved their on field performance immensely and it's a credit to the club.

Turbo - best we keep the Premier discussion over here - the Div 1 people are ragging up..

The point I was making and probably didn't spell it out was you can debate and argue the toss on player payments for days - what does it really achieve but it appeared you glossed over the balance of recruits to an existing list.

My point was Pacco's list is a new one with more new recruits than all other clubs and assumedly they come with a higher price tag than an existing player or junior player.

To date the rumoured top spending clubs have played the following juniors in their seniors this season:

Avondale - less than 5
Pacco - 5/6
Keilor - 6
Abers - 12
Strathmore - 13/14
Greenvale - 15

In addition to this Strathmore, Greenvale and Abers have several players who've been at their respective clubs for more than 4 years which classes them as a club person now.

People at every club form an opinion on who pays what and unless your one of the few at each club who knows the facts your speculating - I know I've speculated on the back of what you hear from players and officials of opposing clubs.

Pacco have recruited superbly this year - they've bought blokes in that are driving standards and improved their on field performance immensely and it's a credit to the club.

Good points Puff.

Yeah I don't really like Strathmore but it's been a credit to them and the players, that they have kept blokes for a few years. I'm sure they are very well paid but if they play for your club with passion then it's a win,win.
That's what Pacco are now trying to achieve with the new recruits. Keep them for a number of years and hopefully beyond. A number of them have taken a leading role in taking all the club forward with them. All the good recruits from last year have stayed and doing very well. To see them do it hard last year but now have some success is great. These to me are real people..
The ones that left during or after 2014, are not worth keeping, as they don't have much to offer and just jump from club to club for $$ demanding an easy kick..

Good points Puff.

Yeah I don't really like Strathmore but it's been a credit to them and the players, that they have kept blokes for a few years. I'm sure they are very well paid but if they play for your club with passion then it's a win,win.
That's what Pacco are now trying to achieve with the new recruits. Keep them for a number of years and hopefully beyond. A number of them have taken a leading role in taking all the club forward with them. All the good recruits from last year have stayed and doing very well. To see them do it hard last year but now have some success is great. These to me are real people..
The ones that left during or after 2014, are not worth keeping, as they don't have much to offer and just jump from club to club for $$ demanding an easy kick..
Good to see Turbos" Caroline Wilson" Mail & Puffpuff" Blow smoke up turbos arse"givemo have made up now:D
This week's tips
Pacco 200 points
Abers 6 goals
AH 7 goals
GVFL 150 points

Good to see Turbos" Caroline Wilson" Mail & Puffpuff" Blow smoke up turbos arse"givemo have made up now:D
This week's tips
Pacco 200 points
Abers 6 goals
AH 7 goals
GVFL 150 points
Tbh mate, it's just a nice change to see disagreements handled in a grown-up manner.

Avondale: a bit too much class on the outside and the two targets up forward tip this in Avondale's favour
Pacco: Unfortunately this'll be a one sided contest, hopefully the Northern young guys can show a bit.
Abers: Abers by all reports looking very sharp and look to make a statement against Marby.
Gvale: Jets should get up comfortably.

This week's tips
Pacco 200 points
Abers 6 goals
AH 7 goals
GVFL 150 points

I agree the problem with "Caroline Wilson" is the first 4 words, "I don't like Strathmore" this comment renders anything other than Pacco related quotes either biased or agenda driven.
No doubt a lengthy diatribe reply will follow.

I agree the problem with "Caroline Wilson" is the first 4 words, "I don't like Strathmore" this comment renders anything other than Pacco related quotes either biased or agenda driven.
No doubt a lengthy diatribe reply will follow.

Don't feel like wasting my time writing a big response. Most footy followers like one side and dislike the rest. Most teams are trying to knock off Strathmore & Abers as they are always up there. Take it as a compliment.

PS: I don't get on here and throw darts at clubs just talk up Pacco's improvement. Surely you would like it that another team is trying to compete with the top sides like Strathmore.. Plus they did steal our ruckman during the off season but that's footy I suppose..

Talking about last weeks footy what did you think of the ruck dual between Sikora & Kerlin. It was an interesting battle..

Quick question - is there a footy record/program distributed (for say $2) each week with teams listed in the EDFL?

Don't feel like wasting my time writing a big response. Most footy followers like one side and dislike the rest. Most teams are trying to knock off Strathmore & Abers as they are always up there. Take it as a compliment.

PS: I don't get on here and throw darts at clubs just talk up Pacco's improvement. Surely you would like it that another team is trying to compete with the top sides like Strathmore.. Plus they did steal our ruckman during the off season but that's footy I suppose..

Talking about last weeks footy what did you think of the ruck dual between Sikora & Kerlin. It was an interesting battle..

Nice reply, absolutely I'm pleased clubs are trying to be as good as can, sustainability is a worry though.
Is saying someone stole your ruckman not throwing darts!! ??
I wasn't at the game last week so, sorry can't comment on the above.

Nice reply, absolutely I'm pleased clubs are trying to be as good as can, sustainability is a worry though.
Is saying someone stole your ruckman not throwing darts!! ??
I wasn't at the game last week so, sorry can't comment on the above.

Oh come on lighten up.
Sustainability is possible if:
-you don't over spend and go over budget
-the players you recruit are performing.
-you have success
If you have all these, the other things fall in place.

That's not throwing darts, as we did have an opportunity to match the offer.

I'm sure Airport West people might not like Pacco either but it happens every year, but clubs do try and recruit outside our league.

Enjoy the footy this week..

Quick question - is there a footy record/program distributed (for say $2) each week with teams listed in the EDFL?

Yes they are at all clubs on a Sat and some have them Thursday night. Usually they are free from most clubs but are supposed to be $2. You can also go onto Facebook, Twitter or the team app and download it. Personally I prefer to go onto the EDFL web site and go into results and they have team lists but it's after the result is entered.

Hope this helps.

Oh come on lighten up.
Sustainability is possible if:
-you don't over spend and go over budget
-the players you recruit are performing.
-you have success
If you have all these, the other things fall in place.

That's not throwing darts, as we did have an opportunity to match the offer.

I'm sure Airport West people might not like Pacco either but it happens every year, but clubs do try and recruit outside our league.

Enjoy the footy this week..
The only clubs that will have sustainability are the ones who have a strong culture , good junior set up & strong networking i.e Abers , Strathmore, Keilor & Greenvale we just hope Pacco don't end up like Marby & AW who in my opinion are just treading water at the moment who have had a crack & obviously Marby tasted the ultimate success which a lot of clubs would be envious of ,but in my opinion l think Marby & APW will be in 1st division in years to come or fighting for survival each year & less a money bags comes along to save them.
You only have to look at other leagues around & it's always the same clubs always around the mark
Northern: Heidleberg & Bundoora
Eastern:Noble Park , Vermont
WRFL: Spotswood

The only clubs that will have sustainability are the ones who have a strong culture , good junior set up & strong networking i.e Abers , Strathmore, Keilor & Greenvale we just hope Pacco don't end up like Marby & AW who in my opinion are just treading water at the moment who have had a crack & obviously Marby tasted the ultimate success which a lot of clubs would be envious of ,but in my opinion l think Marby & APW will be in 1st division in years to come or fighting for survival each year & less a money bags comes along to save them.
You only have to look at other leagues around & it's always the same clubs always around the mark
Northern: Heidleberg & Bundoora
Eastern:Noble Park , Vermont
WRFL: Spotswood

Make no mistake all clubs have peaks and then troughs, Abers have had a ripper last 4 years, but before that? Very average performances, Oak Park up and down, same as marby as you said. Every league has their powerhouses/Collingwoods, but those clubs don't have to dominate onfield, it comes up to opponents to match their level.

Some clubs can not sustain finances/sponsors/recruiting etc. like Keilor/Strath/Greenvale every year, so decide to have a decent crack for a couple years, then be very economical, if it means the club stays competitive and afloat its more important than trying to spend resources you don't have and stuffing the club in the process. Marby/APW probably are treading water, but it's probably the best thing for them to do right now. Will they be relegated soon? Maybe, Maybe not, I think they've probably got enough structure and experience in place to stay up.

I see Northern/West Coburg going down, as atm they just can't seem to match the pace of Div 1 on and off the field, and Douttas/Oakers/Craigieburn coming up within the next few years.

EDIT: Tips!

Avondale 75
Pascoe 200
Abers 40
Greenvale 40

Make no mistake all clubs have peaks and then troughs, Abers have had a ripper last 4 years, but before that? Very average performances, Oak Park up and down, same as marby as you said. Every league has their powerhouses/Collingwoods, but those clubs don't have to dominate onfield, it comes up to opponents to match their level.

Some clubs can not sustain finances/sponsors/recruiting etc. like Keilor/Strath/Greenvale every year, so decide to have a decent crack for a couple years, then be very economical, if it means the club stays competitive and afloat its more important than trying to spend resources you don't have and stuffing the club in the process. Marby/APW probably are treading water, but it's probably the best thing for them to do right now. Will they be relegated soon? Maybe, Maybe not, I think they've probably got enough structure and experience in place to stay up.

I see Northern/West Coburg going down, as atm they just can't seem to match the pace of Div 1 on and off the field, and Douttas/Oakers/Craigieburn coming up within the next few years.

EDIT: Tips!

Avondale 75
Pascoe 200
Abers 40
Greenvale 40
Yes Abers have had a ripper 4 years but there also been in premier division for nearly 20 years now only Strathmore & Keilor have been longer & they also have built a impressive jnr club over those 20 years
With Abers, Keilor & Greenvale having 2 under 18 sides each & Strathmore having also a thirds side with the clubs above they all should have sustainability , longevity & success in premier division because they should be able retain a lot of there players graduating from jnrs to seniors.
The hard thing for the other clubs to have sustainability against these 4 clubs is also the location of these clubs, they are the big clubs in their area which will attract the jnr players & the local sponsors a lot easier then the other clubs

Love the negative views that Marby will not last in A Grade, been hearing ever since it went up a number of years ago now, some people have no idea. Should have gone down already but guess what still playing A grade today!

Round 5 tips

Avondale Heightsvs West Coburg. Avondale to have there first win for season 2015.
Northern Saints VsPascoe Vale. Pacco by plenty, What sort of team will the Northern Saints have due to a number of reports the last 2 weeks.
Abers VsMarby. Bias tip here. Go Marby
GreenvaleVs APW. Greenvale are a flag contender what I saw last week.

1/4 time scores at Charles Mutton
Ns 3.4.22 Pv 3.1.19
Turbos thoughts?

Bunch of one side results this round, but there's nothing wrong with the evenness of the competition is there.

CEi_X6sWEAEZLP5.jpg:large

Bunch of one side results this round, but there's nothing wrong with the evenness of the competition is there.
lol, should change the whole league..so Premier Division is more competitive! lol

Just want to send my best wishes out to a young fella who broke his leg in two places today playing for Northern Saints, wish you a speedy recovery and my thoughts are with you brother, it was his first game for the year and I wouldnt wish what has happened to this young bloke on my worst enemy, hope you recover quick pal and get back to playing the game you love.:thumbsu:

on a side note..
and correct me if im wrong..
Contessa>Began at Strathmore>Junior
>Western Bulldogs
>Bundoora-Flags
>Airport West-Flag
>Pascoe Vale......

Seems to have a good track record? $

Turbo, what made the departure happen from Airport West, taking Harris, Urqhart, etc. etc.?along with him?

Was it a package deal?

..was AW left dumbfounded at the Mass Exodus?

Look forward to your response Captain Turbo:thumbsu::footy:

Hands Off Nat and Fort.
#theyplayforthejumperandclubtheylove

on a side note..
and correct me if im wrong..
Contessa>Began at Strathmore>Junior
>Western Bulldogs
>Bundoora-Flags
>Airport West-Flag
>Pascoe Vale......

Seems to have a good track record? $

Turbo, what made the departure happen from Airport West, taking Harris, Urqhart, etc. etc.?along with him?

Was it a package deal?

..was AW left dumbfounded at the Mass Exodus?

Look forward to your response Captain Turbo:thumbsu::footy:

Hands Off Nat and Fort.
#theyplayforthejumperandclubtheylove

G'day Stax,
Very interesting observation on Contessa but your correct. I'm hearing his playing a major off field role and been great for Pacco.
He was the major influence in bringing Harris & Urqhart to Pacco but not so much a package deal. From what I hear people at other clubs thought Harris was just about finished, but he has been really good for Pacco and playing well. Ripping bloke I understand and a leader, something that Pacco needed. Really tough inside mid, and I like him. Urqhart was much sought after, but landing Contessa and Harris was a big influence. All players were out of contract when Pacco went after them.

I'm not sure how affected AW was. To my knowledge Contessa wasn't reappointed as coach after the 2014 season, so Pacco enquired as to his plans for 2015 and it went from there. It would appear that AW didn't want him, and surely they knew he had connections with these players as he bought them to AW.

I think your just joking with regards to Nat & Fort as they are Northern Saints people and Pacco wouldn't be talking to them during this point of the season, as it's not the right thing to do. They "might" look to leave "if" the saints were to be relegated as they should be playing in the top division and have already played div 1 to get the club to premier. BUT I wouldn't know mate as don't know them personally.
But there is another 13 games to go and from what I'm hearing that the saints made some hard calls and now playing some kids as young as 16, which can only be a good thing for the clubs future. Young kids playing against premier sides is a great learning curve and will fast track these kids.

Cheers mate.

Just an opinion Turbo but blokes that play for huge money then transfer to a club within the same division aren't good blokes or influences. They are usually shocking blokes.

Changing clubs is fine. Playing for money is fine but change to B grade club or another league.

It's a slap in the face to all the ppl that work so hard and support at those clubs.

Just an opinion Turbo but blokes that play for huge money then transfer to a club within the same division aren't good blokes or influences. They are usually shocking blokes.

Changing clubs is fine. Playing for money is fine but change to B grade club or another league.

It's a slap in the face to all the ppl that work so hard and support at those clubs.

I understand your opinion and do agree it part. It's not good to transfer between between clubs in the same division and most recruits are from outside our league. It just depends on the situation of why people leave I suppose.
The players referred to got there previous club a premiership in div 1 and promotion to premier mainly due to the coach. He achieved the club goals. Then they were competitive in the next few years, but was there 4 years I think..
I'm not sure what occurred at AW but things did change. So I suppose my point is they have moved to continue coaching at a club that has given them an opportunity.
To be honest I also understand AW expected some players to go with the ex coach. Some other players also left and went to other clubs around the area.

It happens quite regularly in all leagues where a coach is appointed and brings players and is involved in recruiting. He then moved and most times the players go with him.

With regards to AW it's as per some previous posts on here regarding sustainability once you become competitive. It's a challenge to manage things. AW have been up & down over the years but are a good club who should be in premier but it takes a lot of work..

What happened to the guys you picked up last year from WA as I read an article in the paper.. Didn't they have ties to the club? Are they still there.

Airport had some backers for a couple of years that are no longer affiliated with that club. Hence the influx of recruits and then departure of players more recently.
While it'd be good for people to stay at the club after having been well looked after for a number of years, you can't really fault them as it was cash that had lured them there to begin with.

Tbh mate, it's just a nice change to see disagreements handled in a grown-up manner.

Avondale: a bit too much class on the outside and the two targets up forward tip this in Avondale's favour
Pacco: Unfortunately this'll be a one sided contest, hopefully the Northern young guys can show a bit.
Abers: Abers by all reports looking very sharp and look to make a statement against Marby.
In the last quarter Pacco were awesome. Northern's young team will certainly benefit by playing against such

Northern's young guys took it up to an injury depleted but still very good Pacco side for three quarters. Pacco must be short priced favourites for the flag.

In the last quarter Pacco were awesome. Northern's young team will certainly benefit by playing against such

Northern's young guys took it up to an injury depleted but still very good Pacco side for three quarters. Pacco must be short priced favourites for the flag.

Pacco had two key players out yesterday, Veszpremi & Polizzi. I think they are a little behind Abbers and Greenvale. The kids were great for Northern as they had a crack but just couldn't sustain the pressure as they fell away after HT. The kids will get better with more experience.