EDFL U16 2015

Keilor winning by 50 odd against WC, good result on paper
Was anyone at the game that could provide summary
Was Keilor good or West Coburg poor as both teams seem to have a few players out.
A mate of mine said he watched the first half of this game, said Keilor were just too strong across the ground, WC struggled to keep up, apparently Mo was really good early

EDS to win by plenty as they have a few big game players back (Caluzzi??) whilst Abers have at least 2 big players (tipping Bytel won't play) out. WC to easily despatch of a gallant Westmeadoes. Heard a few EDS players, inc Rayner, played 3 full games of school footy today where they smashed each team by over 100 points. Great confidence booster going into finals.

With the regular season gone and finals now on I have a question to pose.

Who makes the difference in winning finals?

Is it the top end talent meaning the best 5 in each contender e.g. Calluzi, Rayner, Balta at the allstars vs Hitch, Mo at Keilor vs Hanna, smokrovich, bytel at Abers vs Borg, saad at west coburg. Apologies to westmeadows as I think they won't go far or;
is it the depth of the list I.e. The team who have more contributors across the board or;
is it the coaches who come into their own at this time and win games???

With the regular season gone and finals now on I have a question to pose.

Who makes the difference in winning finals?

Is it the top end talent meaning the best 5 in each contender e.g. Calluzi, Rayner, Balta at the allstars vs Hitch, Mo at Keilor vs Hanna, smokrovich, bytel at Abers vs Borg, saad at west coburg. Apologies to westmeadows as I think they won't go far or;
is it the depth of the list I.e. The team who have more contributors across the board or;
is it the coaches who come into their own at this time and win games???
Fair question you ask. IMO it is the depth of the team. That is why keilor should win the flag because their depth is far greater than all other contenders. I would think there would be a few players at keilor disappointed you have only named hitch and mo!!
Good luck to caluzzi on his return after injury.

Danger game for both abers and the stars, especially if west coburg get a big win, they will be coming into these final series with a heap of confidence so a lot at stake down at east sunbury this sunday
Fevolution a lot of people say that it's all about your bottom 6 but I reckon there are more factors such as experience in finals and I think aberfeldie will be more strong in that facet, otherwise this is definitely a four team race, sorry westmeadows fans

Great question. For me, biggest thing is coaches playing to teams strengths rather than trying to outfox opponents by moving key players around. Too many coaches think it's AFL level and overcomplicate tactics.

Danger game for both abers and the stars, especially if west coburg get a big win, they will be coming into these final series with a heap of confidence so a lot at stake down at east sunbury this sunday
Fevolution a lot of people say that it's all about your bottom 6 but I reckon there are more factors such as experience in finals and I think aberfeldie will be more strong in that facet, otherwise this is definitely a four team race, sorry westmeadows fans

Sherrin, Are you suggesting West Coburg will be coming into the finals with a heap of confidence?

Fair question you ask. IMO it is the depth of the team. That is why keilor should win the flag because their depth is far greater than all other contenders. I would think there would be a few players at keilor disappointed you have only named hitch and mo!!
Good luck to caluzzi on his return after injury.
I agree that depth is key - Keilor have their 2nd team in Div 2 and going well, Abers 2nd side sits second in Div 3 and Allstars 2nd side outside finals in Div 3. Not sure where west coburg sits or if they have a 2nd side.

So using that as a guide Keilor wins with Abers runners up - eerily like 2013.......

In regards to Hitch and Mo they seem to be the only Keilor boys who get a run on this forum - would be interested to hear who should be the disappointed ones.

Hope the weekend weather holds up and let's some good footy be played

I agree that depth is key - Keilor have their 2nd team in Div 2 and going well, Abers 2nd side sits second in Div 3 and Allstars 2nd side outside finals in Div 3. Not sure where west coburg sits or if they have a 2nd side.

So using that as a guide Keilor wins with Abers runners up - eerily like 2013.......

In regards to Hitch and Mo they seem to be the only Keilor boys who get a run on this forum - would be interested to hear who should be the disappointed ones.

Hope the weekend weather holds up and let's some good footy be played

Riley caines is the unlucky one - dominated in the finals as a bottom ager last season. But if your apart of all the other finals teams coaching group i am sure you know more than hitch and moe. No one looks to an open forum to find it.

I see Jack Bytel is killing it at U15 champs with two BOG,s and right up there in another. Looking a moral to be All Australian. Well done to a top player and great kid. Playing in gf TODAY V WA i think.
Desperately unlucky not to make team last year as a bottom age.
If he does play tomorrow v EDS good luck to him but he will be running on fumes.

I see Jack Bytel is killing it at U15 champs with two BOG,s and right up there in another. Looking a moral to be All Australian. Well done to a top player and great kid. Playing in gf TODAY V WA i think.
Desperately unlucky not to make team last year as a bottom age.
If he does play tomorrow v EDS good luck to him but he will be running on fumes.

It would be very selfish of Abers if they let Jack play this Sunday, he will have played 5 games this week
Yes they will miss his foot skills for sure, but if they are smart they will ice him up until Next week
If by some chance they do play him
You can expect EDS will put some heavy work into the kid

Went to Abers v EDS today and a great low scoring game in very tough windy conditions. EDS got up with a gutsy last quarter after trailing all day with Patty Brookes the difference maker.
Cam Raynor awesome all day, Sticks Hannah was huge and did his best to get em over the line. Big Ben Caluzzi was shadowed heavily all day and a bit rusty after two months off but will obviously be better for the run I feel.
Keilor V EDS next week will be huge.

EDFL U16 2015