EDFL U16 thread

I hear ex Jacana gun Aaron Austin is off to further strengthen Greenvale.
Can't believe that a certain person on this thread who seems to pride themselves on knowing what's going on with this group has not given us a summary of the round. Looking at the scores, keilor must have had a shocker to just fall over the line against Abers. Well done to all other winners. I wonder if a certain coach will be at training this tuesday arvo for a certain AFL academy trying to get phone numbers. Maybe he's content with what he has. Either way, he's has know been recorded to my knowledge. Interesting to see who responds to this. Good luck to all.

You know what club 7... why dont you give us a summary?

Why would you only mention the keilor game? Obviously an abers man?
What afl academy?
Why are you attempting to damage thus forum...?
Whats your intent?
Its about the players in under 16s..not political waffle

You know what club 7... why dont you give us a summary?

Why would you only mention the keilor game? Obviously an abers man?
What afl academy?
Why are you attempting to damage thus forum...?

Whats your intent?
Its about the players in under 16s..not political waffle

Well looking at the scores and predictions from last week, Keilor were favourites to win by 12 goals so must have had a bad start. Hillside obviously played all over Strathmore without Jacko who was BOG for Hillsides seniors. Greenvale over craigieburn no surprise to all and the force that is Douttas this year with stood the physicality of West Coburg to show there class. Hope that's a good enough summary.
AFL academy at Maribyrnong has lodged a complaint with EDFL about a coach who was noted speaking with parents to recruit players. I have not mentioned a name or club.
Thought you said I was a keilor or Greenvale person. Now Abers. Keep guessing. Maybe look I your own backyard. I may even give you a wink.
Not trying to wreck the forum, just provoke others to jump on and chat. Not same old shit.

I think ill sit with auckmel....and your definately not in a club...

Or we could just ignore his trolling and keep it going.

Heck, he might even have the guts to make his own predictions and then we can sit back two days after the weekend and have laugh at him too.

As for attacks on any coach who isn't here to defend himself, we'll I think that's pretty spineless.

Interesting to hear Hillside players tell me Jacko actually played for Hillside on sunday. Who knows?

Anyway, great tipping by me on the weekend I think I only got two wrong and one of those was a draw and shame on me for getting the margin wrong in the Keilor v Abers game.

Obviously I was watching Douttas play West Coburg, and a big wrap to West Coburg who put up a great fight after initially being blown away in the 1st quarter.

In disappointing news (and something actually worthy of serious discussion) I don't know if my eyes are deceiving me in the results section, but Jacana and Keilor Park dont have one single junior team. Surely the time has come to cap the number of junior teams one club is allowed to have in each division or at the very least help these clubs rebuild.

Round 2.

Div 3 picks:

Avondale over East Sunbury
Burnside over Tulla
Northern over East Keilor
Glenroy over Oak Park

Div 2:

Only one given result down in Div 2 where I think Haddy will give Pacco a fairly decent touch up. The rest of the games "could" go either way.

Haddy over Pascoe Vale
Airport West over Roxy
Marby over Taylors Lakes
Moonee over Westmeadows

Div 1:

Game of the round is Greenvale v Hillside. Both teams will play finals and both are littered with Jets and Cannons players. If anyone is looking for something to do on a sunday afternoon, get down to Greenvale and watch some of the EDFL's best young kids. Greenvale to win by 4 goals.

West Coburg host Abers and the key for them will be their start. If they can stay with Abers until 1/4 time we could have an interesting game. I still expect Abers to be too strong and win by 6 goals or more.

Strathmore play Essendon Doutta Stars in a game which always stirs the emotions. Karl Brown was so dominant last week kicking 8 goals and another bagful wouldn't surprise. EDS by 10 goals.

Keilor host Craigieburn in the last game of the round and Keilor really should win by 100+ points.

whilst we can all go onto the edfl website and see the goalkickickers scores and best ,i found this on the hadfield website where they give a team game by game report and so here it is the under 16 wrap up against pascoe vale this week....i posted this as i didnt get much info on games so this may start the wrap up for the under 16s round 2.

U16

In a thrilling game that went down to the wire Hadfield came from behind to clinch a gutsy win

against Pascoe VALE today. The signs weren’t good early as the Panthers were switched on and

prepared to get in first to get the ball and run to open space. In contrast the Haddy boys looked slow

and not prepared to chase. To their credit thOUGH the young Hawks hung in there and didn’t allow

Pascoe Vale to get away from them. The backline was working hard in one on one contests, with

Marcus Perussio particularly strong in holding up several attacks. Hisham Kerbatieh in the midfield

had his usual presence, while Brad Dean up forward kept the Hawks in the game with strong

marking and forward line pressure adding two goals for the quarter.

At quarter time the scores were even on two goals apiece.

The second quarter continued at a cracking pace with Hadfield tightening up on Pascoe VALE'S

runners, not allowing them easy passage into the forward line. Ryan Potter showed poise and

coolness repelling several attacks and leading the backline. Marcus Perussio also continued to

defend well while billy Hayes and Judd Brewster lifted their work-rates in the midfield. Both teams

found trouble penetrating the defence of the other team with the ball moving up and down the

ground in a free-flowing quarter that saw Haddy leading by a few points at half time.

In the third quarter Pascoe Vale looked to switch the ball at every opportunity and tried to get extra

numbers onto the side they were attacking through. When they had possession the Panthers

midfielders were hard to man up on, but the Hawk defence continued to stand firm for most of the

quarter. Rabih Sarraj on a wing and in defence was an important player while Yasser Ramaihi was

using his pace to open up the Pacco defence. Towards the end of the quarter Pascoe Vale were able

to create enough chances to open up a 2 goal lead leading into the last quarter.

The first 5 minutes went goal for goal with both sides continuing to set up forward moves with

teamwork and running through the midfield. Marcus Perussio was proving a difficult player to stop

in our forward line as he kicked a goal and set up another to get the Hawks back on level ground.

Julian Assafiri was also causing headaches for the Pascoe Vale defenders marking strongly and

setting up forward chances with great ground play. Billy Hayes as defender and on-baller continued

to have a strong influence on the game while Hisham Kerbatieh was the player who steadied for the

Hawks with his dominance in the midfield.

After a tough game that see-sawed throughout the

afternoon the Hawks steadied to win by 10 points, 11-17-83 to Pascoe Vale 10-13-73.

Thanks for that stars alive Would love to see more of that.

Pretty interesting results over the weekend, that one included.

Looks like East Subury are gone from Div 3 with no match details. All other results predictable.

Westmeadows would be rapt with their start to the year in Div 2.

Sounds like the Jets v Hillside game was a beauty with 3 other comfortable wins in Div 1.

Gee, round 3 already.

Div 3 looks like a pretty simple round to pick, although Oak Park v Northern Saints should be the pick of the games.

Glenroy over Burnside
Avondale over Tulla
Northern over Oak Park

Div 2 looks like throwing up some interesting games this weekend. Friends around the clubs tell me the comp will be a very close run thing.

That said,

Westmeadows over Airport West
My upset of the round is, Pascoe Vale over Roxburgh Park
Hadfield in a close one over Marby
It's anyones game in the Moonee Valley v Taylors Lakes game, but I'll go with the home side.

Like Div 2, Div 1 has a real exciting feel about it this weekend. All 4 games offer the potential to throw up an upset.

Craigieburn host Aberfeldie in a game they may have ticked the win column in. After round 1s heavy loss they were only beaten by 58 against Keilor. Abers should win, but don't discount an upset either.

Another mouth watering game sees Hillside host Keilor. Hillside only lost by a point last week and I'm told played really well, but also that the Jets were a bit cocky. This one could be a toss of the coin, but I'm going with Hillside at home by a goal.

Game 3 sees Strathmore host West Coburg and the home ground advantage should be enough to get them home over a side who will fight till the end.

The last game of the round sees Essendon Doutta Stars host Greenvale in a game which offers plenty. There will be some amazing match ups with some of the best players in the region on show. Karl Brown has kicked 11 goals in two weeks and his match up with Matty Condo will go along way to deciding the game. Condo is seldom beaten and this is one contest I'm particularly looking forward to.

This game should be won in the middle of the ground and in Laguda, Meyers, Stewart, Leaney and Campisi the Stars should have the advantage. Also, keep an eye out for first year player and ruckman George Romios. A nationally ranked age group tennis player, George is also showing he's got the skills to pick up a new game very quickly.

Such a tough game to pick, but at this stage of the year I'm going with Douttas by 2 goals.

About time somebody done something about Div 3. 147-3, 249-0 and a default. Also there is no way a default should be allowed to happen in the top 3 divisions. Grab a team from div 6, 7 or 8 and put them in there.

Results went pretty much to plan, except for Oak Park who managed to beat Northern Saints by 11 points.

Only 1 right in Div 2 as only Moonee Valley managed to help my predictions. The highlight was Jaidyn Caruana's 12 goals for Roxy in their win over Pacco.

Things went pretty much to plan in Div 1 although Hillside's 52 point winning margin was a surprise, although I did forget a few clubs have players at Vic Metro tryouts.

Doutta Stars were seldom troubled against Greenvale, but to be fair to them they had a number of regulars missing from their line up.

AFL academy at Maribyrnong has lodged a complaint with EDFL about a coach who was noted speaking with parents to recruit players. I have not mentioned a name or club.
Thought you said I was a keilor or Greenvale person. Now Abers. Keep guessing. Maybe look I your own backyard. I may even give you a wink.
Not trying to wreck the forum, just provoke others to jump on and chat. Not same old shit.

This is not U16 news, however is on the topic of AFL academy Maribyrnong College.
A 1st year U14 boy has transferred from a Div 2 side to Div 1 team & is in this footy program.
Very good footballer as well.
I did notice on the EDFL website under clearances it had DENIED, but must have been approved as he played his 1st game for new club on weekend.
How do the clearances work? Would the old club put a case why they don't want player x to move. Then do EDFL have final say. Under what circumstances would EDFL deny a clearance. Have to be pretty extreme wouldn't it.

This is not U16 news, however is on the topic of AFL academy Maribyrnong College.
A 1st year U14 boy has transferred from a Div 2 side to Div 1 team & is in this footy program.
Very good footballer as well.
I did notice on the EDFL website under clearances it had DENIED, but must have been approved as he played his 1st game for new club on weekend.
How do the clearances work? Would the old club put a case why they don't want player x to move. Then do EDFL have final say. Under what circumstances would EDFL deny a clearance. Have to be pretty extreme wouldn't it.

IIRC, the only reason a junior transfer would be denied was if there was mistake in it. Most are granted instantly.

Someone pls explain:

Not only does keilor fc play unregisteted players they list players (u16s) on their team sheet who are injured (nick okearney) or play for their private schools..

Cmon EDFL do something...i see a huge investigation here...

Keilor fc dont deny it...u put names to qualify them for finals
.either play them or play as you are..

Isnt that cheating?? Sorry keilor but enoughs enough$$$$

Someone pls explain:

Not only does keilor fc play unregisteted players they list players (u16s) on their team sheet who are injured (nick okearney) or play for their private schools..

Cmon EDFL do something...i see a huge investigation here...

Keilor fc dont deny it...u put names to qualify them for finals
.either play them or play as you are..

Isnt that cheating?? Sorry keilor but enoughs enough$$$$

Not defending Keilor but this has been going on for years - the EDFL ruling on the matter is "provided the player named is in his gear & ready to take the field he can be named on the team sheet".
I got this direct from the EDFL a couple of years ago. Not saying it is right but thats the rule.

Not defending Keilor but this has been going on for years - the EDFL ruling on the matter is "provided the player named is in his gear & ready to take the field he can be named on the team sheet".
I got this direct from the EDFL a couple of years ago. Not saying it is right but thats the rule.
if that's right then the rule is wrong.it would have been hard for the injured lad to be ready to take the field as he has had a leg injury for close to 6 weeks

The silly thing is, and I'm pretty sure this is right, is you only need to play four games to qualify for finals.

Maybe its all just about a game tally? It does make you wonder what other sort of stuff people make up to qualify for other things though.

I also heard last night that, Pascoe Vale had their dressing rooms raided during sundays game at Roxy with mobile phones and other various stuff stolen. Not very nice, but then the changing rooms are also a fair distance from the main oval.

The silly thing is, and I'm pretty sure this is right, is you only need to play four games to qualify for finals.

Maybe its all just about a game tally? It does make you wonder what other sort of stuff people make up to qualify for other things though.

I also heard last night that, Pascoe Vale had their dressing rooms raided during sundays game at Roxy with mobile phones and other various stuff stolen. Not very nice, but then the changing rooms are also a fair distance from the main oval.

nothing to do with games tally auckmel its a qualifying thing..... the thing is that if some of these kids are used as water boys or runners etc then technically the team has more than 18 on the field even if the player is not in uniform...so simply put keilor fc under 16 team is naming an unqualified side that is being preapred for finals so their good players can play..no not sooking but play by the book ...

it has been alledged that sometimes keilor player/s not wanting to play for western jets change their addresses so that they qualify for calder cannons selection..

in regard to roxy yes disgraceful,,, i heard the president asked that the police not be called ..what a load of crap...if you play there id say ask for the keys to the change rooms..the players need to call parents etc after games and their property should be protected...

i hear west meadows under 16 div 2 side is a nasty thug type team ...if the EDFL dont monitior such thuggery then you are going to get huge problems...having said that airport west coach apparently didnt halp matters on sunday with apparently alot of how do you dos going on....

lets play football ..no wonder alot of players are turning their backs on the game

the thing is that if some of these kids are used as water boys or runners etc then technically the team has more than 18 on the field even if the player is not in uniform...so simply put keilor fc under 16 team is naming an unqualified side that is being preapred for finals so their good players can play..no not sooking but play by the book
All clubs use either parents or injured players provided they are on Team Sheet it is by the book. I would suggest you are sooking. Irrespective of finals Keilor still needs to win games. Lets not get too excited & lets give credit where it is due Hillside are a quality side.
it has been alledged that sometimes keilor player/s not wanting to play for western jets change their addresses so that they qualify for calder cannons selection..Another cheap shot - suggest you do some homework. O'Kearney is a Cannons boy as he doesn't live in the Keilor or surrounding areas. He is hot property & everyone knows who he is so why would Keilor do anything untoward in relation to the kids future. Move on!!

the thing is that if some of these kids are used as water boys or runners etc then technically the team has more than 18 on the field even if the player is not in uniform...so simply put keilor fc under 16 team is naming an unqualified side that is being preapred for finals so their good players can play..no not sooking but play by the book
All clubs use either parents or injured players provided they are on Team Sheet it is by the book. I would suggest you are sooking. Irrespective of finals Keilor still needs to win games. Lets not get too excited & lets give credit where it is due Hillside are a quality side.
it has been alledged that sometimes keilor player/s not wanting to play for western jets change their addresses so that they qualify for calder cannons selection..Another cheap shot - suggest you do some homework. O'Kearney is a Cannons boy as he doesn't live in the Keilor or surrounding areas. He is hot property & everyone knows who he is so why would Keilor do anything untoward in relation to the kids future. Move on!!

1. no reference was made to okearney as in address for jets or cannons...i didnt realise he was the only keilor player on the cannons list or jets list .... ( so it goes to show you think his the only keilor player worth mentioning)

2.as hot property ill dispute that... the player is what 15 or 16 years old and i could name 10 players that are better than or of equal to him ...good luck to the boy & his career but tell me when his time to get drafted comes around how he goes then?

3. the system has overarted players who get picked as captains and put in squads etc based on reputation..anyway enough said ...

im not a personal basher but its true and lets leave it at that.....

Round 4.

My tips in div 3.

Northern,
Oak Park,
Glenroy

Div 2.

Airport West,
Taylors Lakes,
Marby,
Westmeadows

Div 1.

Some very interesting games this weekend. Aberfeldie host Hillside in an intriguing contest. Hillside have been the surprise packet and are more than capable of toppling Abers at home. It's unusual not to see Jacko named in Hillside's best and that was the case again last week. Abers are coming together nicely, but Hillside for mine by 3 goals.

Another big game when Greenvale host Strathmore. I'm expecting the Jets to have some major ins this week and should only have Ryan Townsend missing with his broken finger. Greenvale by 10 goals.

Game 3 of the weekend will probably be the best as West Coburg host Craigieburn. Earlier in the year I had the Eagles winning, but from results so far you'd be mad not to pick West by 4 goals.

If those 3 games weren't enough, we wrap it up with Keilor v Essendon Doutta Stars. The Stars suffered a blow with a knee injury to Karl Brown, but Anthony Vernali will slot into FF nicely most likely. Much will depend on who plays for Keilor, but Douttas are playing well too. Stars for me by 6 goals.

Are the bests that are posted on the Edfl website 'real'?

Obviously some coached have different philosophies on whose name they put on the websites, but If we were talking about Jackson, I'd say absolutely. Talk after Hillside games usually revolves around him and the havoc he causes.

Makes my top 5 players in the league easily.

EDFL U16 thread