EDFL U16 thread

I think Greenvale deserve to be favourites and I said as much. Douttas will have a good side, but I think at last count Greenvale will have 6 or 7 of the Barry Davis squad members in their side plus the nucleus of a side who has played finals many years in a row. That just can't be ignored.

I'm also certainly not ruling out Keilor or Hillside either. Both tea
ms will have the ability to win it and have some great players too.

Plenty of time for that. I'm waiting for some practice games and will most likely get it out a couple of weeks before the season starts.

What team do you have an interest in?
Just love footy and live in the area mate. At first found it amazing that there was an U16 thread but since engaging with you guys, it's clear it's not just a bulls@t thread. Good stuff

Fair enough.

It's really just a continuation of this thread which I jumped into as my son went through the grades. Certainly not BS as I'm very passionate about local footy.

Heard today that, 7 EDFL U16's will play for one of the Cannons U18 sides on sunday against Oakliegh Chargers. Very good effort from the following boys.

O'Kearney, Laguda, Binns, Flower, Stillman, Kerbatieh and Wunhym. All those kids will loom large in my season preview which will be out in a week or two.

Anyone know of any practice matches coming up?

Heard today that, 7 EDFL U16's will play for one of the Cannons U18 sides on sunday against Oakliegh Chargers. Very good effort from the following boys.

O'Kearney, Laguda, Binns, Flower, Stillman, Kerbatieh and Wunhym. All those kids will loom large in my season preview which will be out in a week or two.

Anyone know of any practice matches coming up?

How goods that....hats off to the CALDER CANNONS...must be a very talented 7 players..
In any way or form to just be included shows that these players are on the rader..
Non the less...good to see ..

In regard to oak park fc ..news is they have one 16 div 3 side as opposed to two..numbers having gone to douttas..hadfield..paco ..predominately

And yeh auckmel would be good to see your writeups concerning the boys above as your really informative...keep up the good work

How goods that....hats off to the CALDER CANNONS...must be a very talented 7 players..
In any way or form to just be included shows that these players are on the rader..
Non the less...good to see ..

The scary part about this age group is, there's probably another 10 or more you could add to the list and some of those aren't even at Cannons.

I reckon 2013, in Div 1 anyway, it is going to be one of the closest comps we've seen in a while. Really looking forward to the start of the year.

Don't agree with Craigieburn ahead of Abers and Strathmore. I think they'll both finish well clear of them.

At this very early stage my ladder would be:

Greenvale
Essendon Doutta Stars
Keilor
Abers
Hillside
Strathmore
Craigieburn
West Coburg

I'm waiting to hear some conformation on a move which will definitely make Greenvale Premiership favourites.
Any update on this mate?

Caught a bit of the Craigieburn v West Coburg practice match today and was pleasantly surprised. Although both teams look to be full of youngsters, the one stand out feature was the way they were coached. Both teams made some excellent decisions and look full of running.

Good luck to both sides once we get underway.

Interesting conversation I had today with a junior committee member of Aberfeldie, who is also close to the Edfl board.
Apparently Aberfeldie juniors are not allowed to actively pursue any other junior from another club in the edfl, as the edfl does not want their juniors becoming to dominant. I don't know how this is supposed to be policed. However I wonder if this agreement also is in place with other clubs. From what I understand there may be another club who's coach is actively recruiting that the edfl are monitoring that may find clearances rejected if their current clubs oppose.
Interesting times.

Interesting conversation I had today with a junior committee member of Aberfeldie, who is also close to the Edfl board.
Apparently Aberfeldie juniors are not allowed to actively pursue any other junior from another club in the edfl, as the edfl does not want their juniors becoming to dominant. I don't know how this is supposed to be policed. However I wonder if this agreement also is in place with other clubs. From what I understand there may be another club who's coach is actively recruiting that the edfl are monitoring that may find clearances rejected if their current clubs oppose.
Interesting times.

Why would you post that here....since your either a keilor or greenvale person? Why dont you just say which under 16s coach your referring too?

It's common knowledge no club coach is allowed to try and actively recruit players. I know that practice isn't allowed at Douttas either. Sounds more like a load of sooking.

Not sooking at all mate. As for you Stars. I'll tell you the context of the conversation I had and you canaletto your mind up and maybe buy me a drink when you see me at Buckley park.
I spoke to the committee member about a family member of mine that played at Abers last season in U14s and has gone back to Douttas because hes parents we're offered to wave the membership. That's when the conversation lead to coaches actively recruiting other players and the Douttas U16 coach came up. Which is why I said in my previous post I don't know how you could police it. So get that chip off your shoulder Stars and try to understand that this forum can also be about active conversation and not just be about potting other people and clubs. As for you Aukmel, I do recall reading your first couple of posts and getting absolutely cained by other posters. So you of all people should know that a simple post on this forum can be taken the wrong way.
Lastly don't try and tell me that membership waving doesn't go on because when you see it happen to a family member (and his friend), it certainly does.
Have a nice day

As for you Aukmel,

It's, AuckMel.

I do recall reading your first couple of posts and getting absolutely cained by other posters. So you of all people should know that a simple post on this forum can be taken the wrong way.

I don't remember getting caned at all, in fact all I remember is some person with 6 posts to their name claiming a rep coach got the flick for poaching players and they ended up at Douttas. If you want to lob yourself in with those types dirtying the name of a well respected member of the Essendon community and the EDFL then go ahead.

Lastly don't try and tell me that membership waving doesn't go on because when you see it happen to a family member (and his friend), it certainly does.

If membership waiving goes on at one club, then it goes on at plenty of others.

Now, I started this thread to talk about the under 16 division and the season ahead, if you want to talk about membership waiving or even junior clubs who hoard so many kids they can have 3, 4 and even 5 teams in one age group, then go start a thread.

Have a nice day

I did, trust you did too. :)

OK now that's done and dusted lets look at the players that we should watch through out the 16s in all divisions this year...

see what you think?

DIVISION 3:

JOSH INZILLO (NORTHERN SAINTS)

LIAM MOLLOY (OAK PARK)

DIVISION 2:

ADAM CLEMENTE ( PASCOE VALE)

JAIDEN CARUANA ( ROXBURGH PARK)

HISHAM KERBATIEH (HADFIELD)

TYSON YOUNG (AIRPORT WEST)

DIVISION 1:

KOOLYN BRIGGS (DOUTTA STARS)
SHAUN STEWART (DOUTTA STARS)
LACHLIE MYERES (DOUTTA STARS)
BRUNO LAGUDA (DOUTTA STARS)

JACKSON VOLPATA (HILLSIDE)

TYLER VUJANIC (KEILOR)
NICHOLAS OKEARNEY (KEILOR)
ZAC WUYNHAM (KEILOR)

ALEXANDER HYMER (ABERFELDIE)

MATTHEW CONDO (GREENVALE)
JOSH FLOWER (GREENVALE)

* NOTE THE PLAYERS NAMED ARE PLAYERS THAT CAN WIN A GAME OF THEIR OWN BOOTS PLAYING ALL OVER THE GROUND...

After much anticipation here it is, AuckMel's 2013 season preview.

Only two weeks to go until the season kicks off proper. I was hoping to include round 1's predictions, but the draw isn't up yet, so they'll come later.

In Div 2 and 3 I'm just going to give my Grand Finalist tips as I pretty much agree with stars alive when it comes to the players. No doubt we'll hear more as the season goes on.

In Div 3 I'm predicting a Northern Saints v Glenroy GF. Both clubs continue to work tirelessly in the junior division and a Premiership would be a fitting reward for the two proud clubs.

Div 2 will be a little bit harder, but only to pick which side will play Hadfield in the GF.

Pascoe Vale will want to turn last years nightmare loss to Moonee Valley into a distant memory, but the side wont be nearly as strong as last years team. Much will fall on the shoulders of, Adam Clemente and Kane Murfett. Airport West have apparently recruited well and could be a threat. In Tyson Young they have a player who continues to progress at a rapid rate. Moonee Valley, Marby and Taylors Lakes always have good young kids and I expect them to feature in finals contentions. Roxburgh Park have Jaidyn Caruana, but that wont nearly be enough. Promoted teams usually struggle and that may well be the case for Westmeadows.

So who is it to be? Could we see a repeat of last year where a team goes the whole season without a loss only to lose the GF? Surely not!! About the only thing we can be sure of is, Hisham Kerbatieh should win best in comp by a pretty fair margin.

So, and without absolutely no certainty whatsoever, my tip is Hadfield v Marby in the GF.

Onto the premier grade in the EDFL, U16 Div 1.

Boy, this really shapes up as an exciting year. There is some incredible talent playing in this division in 2013 and the comp is far more open than its been for some time. Keilor are the defending champs, but Greenvale, Douttas and Aberfeldie will give them a serious run their money this year.

I'm going to touch on each team and some some of their key players.

I'll start with the promoted side, Craigieburn. Got a look at them last week and as I said they look young, but well coached. Much will fall on the shoulders of Jamie Gorgievski and Sammy Laffan to lead their young side around the park. I still think they can finish ahead of West Coburg and those two games could well be their Grand Finals.

Predicted finish 7th

West Coburg: Again, they look like a young well drilled team who take the right options. Being coached in 2013 by Phil Cleary which will help. Much will depend on Walid Karaan and Nizam Awad. Walid is an exciting player who can turn a game, while Nizam is a daunting opponent for any backman in the comp. Jarrod Cant should ensure a fair bit of ball out of the ruck, while West Coburg do have some exciting young players.

Predicted finish 8th

Strathmore: Had a ripping year in 2013, but I'm not expecting a repeat in 2013. Have two high quality players in Alex Coutts and Tom Condon who will be needed to lead another relatively young side by example. Usually have very good depth through the grades and will need that in what could be a trying year.

Predicted finish 6th

Aberfieldie: Have the potential to go all the way. Have great depth with their 14 1's winning last years Premiership and their 16 2's being runners up. Alistair Morton, James Peters, Alec Binns, Simon Hickmott and Alexander Hymer headline a team more than capable of knocking off some of the more fancied teams in the comp. If they allowed gambling on junior footy, this team would be great smoky value.

Prediced finish 5th

Hillside: The dark horse of the comp. They have “Jacko” and what more can you say? The kid is a human wrecking machine with a massive tank capable of winning games all by himself. Throw in team mates who constantly work together and a host of talented young players from last years 14s and you've got the makings of a top 4 side.

Predicted finish 4th

Keilor: The perennial Premiers. Hillside have Jacko, but Keilor have “Nicko” Widely touted as the best U16 player in the comp. Good enough to play senior footy last year. Throw in Tylar Vujanic, Zac Antovski, Zak Wumhym and Michael Sahlberg plus a host of well coached talented young kids and you've got the backbone of side more than capable of winning the Premiership, again.

Predicted finish 3rd

Essendon Doutta Stars: So we've established this team has certainly had some major gains over the summer, too many to mention in one sentence for sure. It would be easy to rattle off some of their gun players, but if Douttas want to win in 2013 it will come down to players outside of that group. Players like, Karl Brown, Peter Ntalianis, Nathan Palumbo, Ray Eid, Anthony Vernali and a host of other blokes of similar mold.

Predicted finish 2nd

Greenvale: A team loaded with Barry Davis squad members. Matt Condo, Matt Stillman, Jack Formossa, Josh Flower, Ryan Townsend, Adam Franco plus a host of finals hardened players who know how to win. If Greenvale are to end the dominance of Keilor, this is the year to do it.

Predicted finish 1st

My tip for the Grand Final: Greenvale v Essendon Doutta Stars

Good luck to all teams in 2013.

Everyone is forgetting about Keilor they will be way to strong and will win the flag easily.All other teams are playing for 2nd.

The keilor stronghold is getting looser...after this year they have many talented players finishing their junior careers and either advancing to under 18s level or TAC cup level...my prediction is that essendon doutta stars and hillside are about to take over the mantle of strong junior clubs...keilor have enjoyed it for a long time..they will definately start to slide..

Round 1 has finally arrived.

My tips starting with Div 3 in where there should be some very good games.

Burnside over East Sunbury
East Keilor over Avondale
Glenroy over Northern Saints
Oak Park over Tulla

Div 2:

Marby over Pacco
Hadfield over Airport West
Moonee Vally over Roxburgh Park
Taylors Lakes over Westmedows

Div 1:

A very interesting match up here as Hillside host Strathmore. Led by "Jacko" Volpato Hillside should be just a bit too strong. I expect Jacko to get lots of support from fellow Western Jets, Brandon Coletta, Tristan Costa and Brodie Psaila, while Alex Coutts, Tom Condon and Mitch Leathers will be the keys for Strathmore.

Hillside should win, but the Lions are capable of an upset. That said, Hillside by 4 goals.

Craigieburn return to Div 1 and they walk straight into one of the comps powerhouses in Greenvale. I just don't know enough about the Eagles (yet), but the Jets have class right across the ground. Stillman, Condo, Franco, Formossa, Flower, Townsend just to name a few. Craigieburn will be right up against it and will do well if they keep Greenvale to a 10 goal margin.

Essendon Doutta Stars v West Coburg shapes up as another contest which should be won comfortably by the home side. Some quality players have headed to Buckley Park to compliment a very good core group of players from last years side. ESD will be disappointed if they don't win by 10 goals or more.

A very interesting game over at Clifton Park as Aberfeldie host the might of Keilor. Abers have some very good kids coming through from their champion U14 team and with Simon Hickmott, James Peters, Alec Binns and Alex Hymer they have a core group of players who will define their season, unfortunately Keilor seem to be probably just a bit too much for them. I'm told Nick O'Kearny's out and that will be a bonus, but then Keilor have a host of kids like Vujanic, Zac Antovski, Zak Wumhym and Michael Sahlberg all ready to try and continue the Keilor dynasty.

Keilor by 12 goals.

Bring it on!!

under 16 edfl development squad

isnt it amazing that the under 16 squad is training tonight and nearly more than half the clubs have not told or sent players to this....

a mate of mine alerted me to this fact and to his amazement hardley anyone knew about it... if he didnt care he wouldnt have told me..for him it meant little as his boy was already part of the list but as he plays in either cannons or western jets he is not eliglble for it and as such loves the game and believes every player should have the opportunity to progress in the system.

non the less tonight guys.... training is at oak park(swimming pool) call the edfl or coach rick....

the players from last years edfl under 15 div 1 & 2 squads are automatically selected to train other than those in the calder cannons or western jets..

the edfl have a responsibilty to advertise such on the website and not wait for the lazy clubs with an agenda to tell players or not tell or send who they want ..this agenda clicky stuff gotta stop.

anyway... attached is a list of those automatically selected unless they are on the calder cannons or western jets list...

Attachments

• U15 Div 12 Final Squad.pdf
    122.8 KB · Views: 217

EDFL U16 thread