Edgewater

I've won quite a bit on Tiki Torch in Vegas at times. Geisha was always a winner for me at Crown and I play it for nostalgia's sake here. My brother and I used to go to Vegas two or three times a year. Now I just can't, so he drives up from downstate and we go to a local casino. He now plays poker and wins. I still play the "slots" and lose. We get comped rooms and meals at Caesars Entertainment Casinos. I am embarrassed to say that my biggest single win in Vegas was at the airport. I was on a $1 machine, betting 3 lines and won $1200.:D

On my trip to Melbourne in 2009 I won $700 at Crown. On my way back home I volunteered to get bumped on the San Fransisco to Chicago leg of my trip and got a voucher for $600 from United, a first class ticket to Chicago the next day and food and accommodation overnight in SF. The Crown win and the United voucher paid for my return visit the next year.:p

That's one generous airline.

Worse. I know all about the psychological mechanisms that keep you playing.

Sadly, I was on the other side of the fence, having worked for many years for one of the operators - and used this information to tell everyone I knew to either avoid them, or if wanting to have a small flutter, use $10 or so, and if unsuccessful, walk away.

That's one generous airline.

On one trip to Vegas from Indianapolis back in 2001, an offer of a return ticket to anywhere in the states where the airline flew was offered in exchange for flying a few hours later. I wanted to grab it right away. My ever practical brother had to think about it and we were too late. He did accept a bump in Vegas when returning home last year. Poor guy. He was put up for the night by Southwest at a motel near the Strip, given food vouchers and a $200 airline voucher and flown home the next morning. Imagine having to stay in Vegas for another night.:p

On my return LAX flight leg to Chicago last year from Melbourne, an offer of a $200 voucher was made. They needed three seats. Two people took up the offer. They needed one more so upped the offer to $300. No takers. We boarded. While we were sitting, waiting to take off, still at the gate, an offer of $400, then $500 and finally $600 was made and someone took it and walked off the plane saying that the offer was too good to pass up. I couldn't take it since I had to get back that night because of my caregiver responsibilities.

Sadly, I was on the other side of the fence, having worked for many years for one of the operators - and used this information to tell everyone I knew to either avoid them, or if wanting to have a small flutter, use $10 or so, and if unsuccessful, walk away.
It's subjective. While you might be happy to lose $10, for someone else it's $100 or $1000.
As long as people are aware that the odds aren't in your favour and are happy to lose their stake, go nuts I say.

At least in Vegas you get free drinks to drown your sorrows while losing.

I've had a Bloody Mary (or two...or three... etc.) in just about every casino on the Strip. Planet Hollywood wins. I've stayed at 16 casinos. Favourites are Encore and Caesars Palace. Bellagio was disappointing.

Because I get comped rooms, I keep any losses to the amount I would have had to pay for the rooms. I try to see at least three movies while I'm there and eat at various smaller, local casinos and use points for any meals on the Strip. I'm a bit, well, a lot too old to go to clubs and I have no interest in seeing shows. I was scheduled to see Gotye at the House of Blues at Mandalay Bay as his guest in 2012,(I taught him at Parade College in the 90s), but my brother and I were both too ill to make our flights and postponed our trip. That was to be my 60th birthday extravaganza with a birthday dinner at Gordon Ramsay Steak restaurant at Paris. It was hard to cancel our reservation, but it did save us over $200. Instead, I spent my 60th in bed at home while spewing up chicken noodle soup.:(

Ah, you guys realise what the legislated Return To Player is on these things right? And that the outcome is decided independently of you pushing any random button? :p

Shush Ivan, you're trying to take away our Jake Carlisle monies.

No. No. No. Geisha is the one to clean up on or Tiki Torch. Do they still exist in Victoria? They're my favourites at the casinos here. I try to keep to mostly Aristocrat machines, made in Australia.

I miss going to Crown Casino on Friday evenings. Because of my caregiver responsibilities, I haven't been to Vegas since my birthday in Sept. 2013. That's the longest that I've been away from Sin City in the nearly 15 years since I've returned. :(

Never disrespect the Queen mate.

Drove past Edgewater on Tuesday and it's looking awesome.There's heaps of activity and builders everywhere. I think this enterprise even though greatly delayed could will be the making of our club and give us the ability to take our future into own hands and be less reliant on the AFL. Sorry should have taken photos.

View attachment 116655

Edgewater 17 March 2015.
Council apparently rejected application for 2 extra floors that were to contain 18 apartments.
Expected finish date is now end of October 2015.
View attachment 116649

Edgewater February 2015

View attachment 116655

Edgewater 17 March 2015.
Council apparently rejected application for 2 extra floors that were to contain 18 apartments.
Expected finish date is now end of October 2015.
Would make a good "spot the differences". I notice that two three trees that were on the nature strip in February are not there in March. Accidents do happen in construction however.

The minutes of the Council on this matter are not yet available on their website though the agenda item is and I've linked it below. Approval of the additional floor was recommended by the Council officer but it received 40 objections. Hopefully, the rejection is something that adversely affects the developer financially rather than us. The link does contain the floor plans so you can see how the layout will be.

http://www.maribyrnong.vic.gov.au/files/Attachments/CDSC_24_Feb_2015_31_Edgewater_Boulevard.pdf

The Maribyrnong & Hobson's Bay Star newspaper on March 4 2015 reported That the council rejected new plans for 12 split-level dwellings to be built at the club. The extensions that would take the building to 5 storeys attracted 40 objections.

The $25 million licensed club, including 70 poker machines, benefited from a 2010 VCAT ruling to proceed despite opposition from 2,500 residents. The approval was for construction of a 4 storey building and licensed club that includes a bistro, sports bar, gaming lounge, cafe, function space and 50 hotel rooms. The plans were since amended to cut the hotel rooms to 38.

The council has staged a lengthy and expensive fight against the Bulldogs regarding this building.

This recent fiasco involving Hunter (and a couple of people bringing up the pokies at Edgewater in relation to it) has me thinking about a possibility. I don't understand the intricacies of social clubs and their deals with gambling organisations, so this is an open question.

Suppose the Edgewater club, as well as poker machines, also offers a TAB or similar in-person service for sports/racing betting. Do the operators of the club (i.e. the Bulldogs) receive profit from the transactions made at these outlets, as they do with pokies (apparently), or does it all go to the main Betting company?

If it's the former, I could picture a potential conflict of interest: a large number of people (who will presumably be mostly Doggies fans, given the location and purpose of the venue) place money on the Bulldogs to win/beat the line/lead at the first break/etc. at this outlet, and someone in the Operations Department works out that losing/winning under the line/not getting into gear until the second/etc. would lead to a profit for the club from the losing stakes.

I don't know if other teams' social clubs have betting outlets, so there may be some rule against it or the clubs just don't get a share in the revenue. I do remember a brief period around 2008-10 when each AFL team seemed to have its own betting agency (like doggiesbet.com.au), which might have also had the same risks associated with it.

We seriously have the wrong developer involved in all of this. There are all sort of planning hurdles involved with adding residential levels on top of a commercial site and to do so mid-way through construction is naive at best or possibly far worse.

I work with developers on these types of projects for a living. Planning amendment requests part-way though is sadly the absolute norm. The part I can't work out is who they see as the target market for the 38 hotel rooms.

So do I. The environmental approvals for a planning permit on residential development are quite different to a commercial one, and changing that mid-way through construction IS a big deal.

I get it but I've been down this road before. Given the whole project had to be rescued from getting completely flushed I guess I'm just somewhat unsurprised..

This recent fiasco involving Hunter (and a couple of people bringing up the pokies at Edgewater in relation to it) has me thinking about a possibility. I don't understand the intricacies of social clubs and their deals with gambling organisations, so this is an open question.

Suppose the Edgewater club, as well as poker machines, also offers a TAB or similar in-person service for sports/racing betting. Do the operators of the club (i.e. the Bulldogs) receive profit from the transactions made at these outlets, as they do with pokies (apparently), or does it all go to the main Betting company?

If it's the former, I could picture a potential conflict of interest: a large number of people (who will presumably be mostly Doggies fans, given the location and purpose of the venue) place money on the Bulldogs to win/beat the line/lead at the first break/etc. at this outlet, and someone in the Operations Department works out that losing/winning under the line/not getting into gear until the second/etc. would lead to a profit for the club from the losing stakes.

I don't know if other teams' social clubs have betting outlets, so there may be some rule against it or the clubs just don't get a share in the revenue. I do remember a brief period around 2008-10 when each AFL team seemed to have its own betting agency (like doggiesbet.com.au), which might have also had the same risks associated with it.
I would say a place like the TAB runs independently and the Bulldogs would merely be their landlords if they were to set up within Edgewater. DoggiesBet as well probably really had nothing to do with the Bulldogs, I believe it was run by LuxBet. We would have received something out of the deal but had no control over the operation of the website.

So do I. The environmental approvals for a planning permit on residential development are quite different to a commercial one, and changing that mid-way through construction IS a big deal.
Maybe it was more wishful thinking than anything. "Got nothing to lose" scenario.

I would say a place like the TAB runs independently and the Bulldogs would merely be their landlords if they were to set up within Edgewater. DoggiesBet as well probably really had nothing to do with the Bulldogs, I believe it was run by LuxBet. We would have received something out of the deal but had no control over the operation of the website.

Maybe it was more wishful thinking than anything. "Got nothing to lose" scenario.

Correct. Tabcorp pays pubs/clubs rent and royalties (based on turnover). The profit goes to Tabcorp itself.

The major benefit to the pub/club is increased patronage and thus higher drink sales, etc.