Draft Expert eDPS Draft Thread - 2025 Edition

I mean hopefully Duursma and Banfield can potentially become stars along with Reid in there. I would hope the club doesn’t give up on Bo Allan playing as a major midfielder aswell.

With 4 extra rookie picks you might just buck the list trend I’ve done anyway and take best talent available early
With 3 top 13 picks, apart from duursma, 1 has to be a bonafide mid.

The early bonafide are sharp cumming and maybe Robey (too small a sample size, could be boom but could equally be bust)

And if you look at your small forward complication you did, there's a big argument for dovaston too.

Hes already done 2 years there at the absolute toughest period in his career, did some solid shutdown roles
he did it largely unsuccessfully, and has thank god returned to where he played almost all of his junior footy. Much more natural with the game coming towards him.
His power, size, strength, speed, accountability is just suited there
Unfortunately you need significantly more than that to be a starting AFL mid I’m sure we can both agree.
You can find Stewart, Zuthrie, Sicily, Battle, Jsos, Hough, Maynards, Lesters, Wilkies, Rampes, Scrimshaws, Luke Ryans, H.Himmelberg, W.Powell, Grimes, D.Turner, Keane types either far deeper in the draft, swap from fwds to defs or get for dirt cheap trades
While true, as a team that gets belted and often faces league high numbers of i50s, we need all the help we can get down there, and if he can currently perform A grader shutdown roles on the likes of Jezza for majority of the game, then I’m bloody playing him there Ykwim.
Not the same for the best mids in the game that are ~190

Bont, Trac, Noah, Ed Richards, Cripps, Cerra, Pendles, Danger, Rayner, Fyfe, Dusty, Green, Finn C ect
All of which have significantly more talent with ball in hand than Reubs does yes.
Anyway knew it would derail and shouldnt have gone there
Nah mate it is relevant to the discussion regarding eagles picking up a midfielder, maybe just slightly off-base with what eagles fans themselves feel. I love the guy, grew up in the same areas and played hoops against each other even. Great bloke and a natural leader by action. Will captain the club one day for sure

With 3 top 13 picks, apart from duursma, 1 has to be a bonafide mid.

The early bonafide are sharp cumming and maybe Robey (too small a sample size, could be boom but could equally be bust)

And if you look at your small forward complication you did, there's a big argument for dovaston too.
Unless we select Sharp at 2, I don’t think we’re leaving that hand with an actual real midfielder. It looks like we’re gunning for Farrow (which I strongly dislike). Love to get Dov though as I’m not very high on Williams or Walley

Welsh already delisted even though maybe re rookie, likely gone in 12 months

Toby murray long shot as a fwd and more ruck, kicked just 6 goals this year
Pretty sure they are taking him back as a rookie and again the point of the exercise isn’t factoring in the quality in each area just the amount of players in general.

I think thats a rather silly concept then

But good order and i like the thought of eagles with a few small fwds now which i didnt consider with pick 13

The top 16-18 is basically mine so were similar, no doubt many differences come the draft night though

Great effort. Interesting to know your thoughts for Dees not grabbing Toby Sinnema, even as a rookie
With the signing of Berry you don’t have a spot to fill for cat b and White takes on the last rookie spot

I reckon I am fitter than Welsh on Boxing Day. He's not gunna make it with his tank.

Murray could be good. I'd like Schubert as a twin tower 3 pronged forward line could be intimidating for defences to handle. But we need mids too.
If it was an exercise on quality then yes your looking at him but it’s not the point of this draft in particular

Of course though I was more referring to this comment "I could see Port but Crows have enough tall forwards on the list already" re Schubert. I guess we have them with Maley, Welsh, Murray but none of them really scream high end threat, hence we likely do need another one once Tex goes and a good one at that.

Wouldn't object to Phillipou at that pick. He's a guy that I like and I don't like at the same time, does a lot of great things and a lot of not so great things....big standard deviation between his best and his worst but I think with his pedigree and general mental approach, he'll be decent enough.

This is a list balance exercise, Eagles started the year with 8 centre mids and are going into 2026 with 8 centre mids already. There are two spots available for the wing but maybe one of those 8 centre mids move to a wing which allows a spot for a centre mid to be drafted? This whole thing is done to try and match the 2025 list for 2026 and making sure each position remains the same
West Coast were 18th for contested possessions and clearances. Our best midfielder sat on the sidelines all year and is one injury away from retirement. Our second best midfielder is 20 years old. The jury is out on whether Hewett's future is as a mid/fwd or fwd/mid. And don't get me started on Tim Kelly.

Our #1 priority this draft is an elite inside mid.

West Coast were 18th for contested possessions and clearances. Our best midfielder sat on the sidelines all year and is one injury away from retirement. Our second best midfielder is 20 years old. The jury is out on whether Hewett's future is as a mid/fwd or fwd/mid. And don't get me started on Tim Kelly.

Our #1 priority this draft is an elite inside mid.
If that’s the case you’re likely taking Sharp with pick 2. Don’t think you will find an elite inside mid outside of the top 10 this year.

I’ll eventually put up a thread that includes a breakdown of every clubs list for 2026, planned to do that tonight but I’m mentally drained so it will have to wait.
Based on what happens with Carlton's selections, it really feels like we either need to trade out of this draft and collect a heap of backend picks or trade above the likely bid for Dean.

Find it odd that none of the rumours ever having you getting ahead of the bid.

Maybe getting before the bid is the longest shot but getting a 2nd top 5 player (XT/cumming most likely) with Dean, ison, Jagga last year and Walker next year is a nice little rebuild on the fly.

With the signing of Berry you don’t have a spot to fill for cat b and White takes on the last rookie spot
Sinnema isn't Cat B though? And how don't the dees have an extra rookie list spot after delisting Kynan Brown, Sestan, Hore and Verrall from the rookie list?