Draft Watcher eDPS Draft Watch 2019

Yeah my confusion came in an interview he had saying it was something he wanted to improve, I have been told recently his endurance has always been good moreso that he strives to be even better.

Love your work DPS. I read everything you write. You are very accurate and fair with your appraisal of the kids in NAB League.

Cheers mate, you seem to have a good understanding on the Gippsland boys so how many do you see getting drafted this year?

If we pass on Cooper Stephens i will throw my remote at the TV.

He is Worpel/Parker all over again.
Stephens is one I’ll always struggle to rate, I don’t think I’ve ever seen a game from him where I’ve been really impressed. A couple of strong games last year but the few games he played at the start of this year I was far from impressed, seemed to lack speed and class and could have been mistaken for just going through the motions.

Fair enough.

I admit i may be prone to an odd hyperbole from time to time. I suppose living in the falcons area i have seen a little bit of him and I reckon he is exactly the type of mid fo be overlooked due to lack of speed/vanilla qualities like Worpel and Parker.

Fair enough.

I admit i may be prone to an odd hyperbole from time to time. I suppose living in the falcons area i have seen a little bit of him and I reckon he is exactly the type of mid fo be overlooked due to lack of speed/vanilla qualities like Worpel and Parker.
We didn’t overlook Worpel since he went before our pick but yeah, I went with Dow who is an inside mid and I think he has more versatility to his game and speed from congestion.

I wouldn’t be disappointed with Stephens if we took him though it’s stupidly even in that range.

We didn’t overlook Worpel since he went before our pick but yeah, I went with Dow who is an inside mid and I think he has more versatility to his game and speed from congestion.

I wouldn’t be disappointed with Stephens if we took him though it’s stupidly even in that range.
I meant more the type of player that is overlooked as a vanilla inside mid, not necessarily that essendon passed on them.

And it also isnt a crack at you, i actually can legitimately see the bombers passing on Stephens in the dract, which is probably what i find more frustrating seeing our history of not valuing genuine midfielders

Can't say agree with you on this one Lenny, the one game I saw Cooper this year at Mars before his injury he was close to the Falcons best player against the Rebels and the 3 or 4 times I saw him live last year as an under ager he was always in the best 3 or 4 players for the Falcons.....I'll be rapt if the he's still around on the board with the Crows 3rd pick or even our 2nd. A big bodied mid is a list need for us and he fits that bill.

Hey eDPS how high do you rate Miles Bergman?

Can you see him climbing in to the top 25? And is he willing to get the hard ball?
He could easily go top 25, he is in that large group of players that could go just about anywhere. He is willing to get the hard ball but I wouldn’t say it has been a feature of his game, Bergman and RalphSmith are like two peas in a pod, they have natural talent to burn and have great upside but just haven’t put together consistent performances across the year for me to have them as top 20 prospects myself.

Can't say agree with you on this one Lenny, the one game I saw Cooper this year at Mars before his injury he was close to the Falcons best player against the Rebels and the 3 or 4 times I saw him live last year as an under ager he was always in the best 3 or 4 players for the Falcons.....I'll be rapt if the he's still around on the board with the Crows 3rd pick or even our 2nd. A big bodied mid is a list need for us and he fits that bill.
He didn’t really impress me much with his games against the Rebels this year, thought his ball use was pretty meh

Being in the bests for falcons last year wasn’t hard when they had only a few high end talents, he was number 1 for them this year and I expected him to come out firing in Round 1 but was well beaten by Kemp and Dow. Rebels have had a lack of size in their midfield aswell with Rantall being their bigger inside mid but he is even shorter and lighter than Stephens.

Hey eDPS how high do you rate Miles Bergman?

Can you see him climbing in to the top 25? And is he willing to get the hard ball?

Agree with most of the rankings but believe Delahunty may get a top 50 bid, also Brisbane and GC have other options for their first academy pick ie Cumberland and Conroy

Dylan Williams still a top 10 pick? After the season he's had?
His form hasn’t been as bad as people are making out especially with the injuries he has had.

Some short memories from last year aswell where he performed in arguably a better standard comp especially at last years champs

Would be surprised if Taheny goes Top 20 - really concerning signs watching him in last Friday Nights Reserves game.

Less about performance and more that lines for me have become too blurred between his body language when getting beaten and true injury.

IMO if you're injured don't play, and if you're not, give 100%.

Just a minor correction: Maginness at pick 28, is spelt with 2 n's.
Yeah I was meant to change it months ago but never did haha, will do so for the next one

His form hasn’t been as bad as people are making out especially with the injuries he has had.

Some short memories from last year aswell where he performed in arguably a better standard comp especially at last years champs

Carlton's A, B and C plans are to trade our Pick 8 for an established player, as it should be. But if we are left with Plan D i'd be rapt if we use it on Dylan Williams. He would be good for us.

I'm with you as a firm sticker on Williams as a Top 10 in this draft, in fact i have him Top 5 still. His finals series last year was better than anything anyone produced in the Champs this year imo. I'm not too worried about top age years after bottom aged years like his. Most players have a strugglish year or even 2 due to niggles or other stuff between 16 and 22 years.

Williams can be an AFL star, not many in this draft can imo, including many of the consensus Top dozen or so.

Just in regards to elijah taylor, not sure if it'll affect your thought process but i heard recently that he gets very homesick,couldnt spend more that a day down south on a footy trip before going home.also the under 18s leadership group voted him off the team for missing training etc, but sumich over ruled them as he wanted success to bolster his head coaching credentials
Not sure how well he'll interview but he may be seen as a flight risk

Sent from my SM-G950F using Tapatalk

What’s the knock on Jay Rantall? I could easily see him going inside the top 20. Every game I’ve seen him ply he has been instrumental at the coal face. Good vision, solid athlete and seems to have good skills
His kicking lets him down, impactful forward of centre and by hand but can turn it over by foot. He has a burst from stoppages but doesn’t use it often enough I don’t think, still like him in the 25-40 range.