Due to a number of factors, support for the current BigFooty mobile app has been discontinued. Your BigFooty login will no longer work on the Tapatalk or the BigFooty App - which is based on Tapatalk.
Apologies for any inconvenience. We will try to find a replacement.
Would love Logan on our listFound this photo on WP page Logan is cousin to Luke Foley at the Eagles.
Unless his year is nothing short of absolutely superb, i don't see him getting drafted. If lists are to get shorter and shorter, clubs will balk at project players, of which he is. It will be 3-4 or maybe 5 years till he is playing his best footy, and no club can carry someone that long if lists have to be culled more and more over the next few years. You mention him on here, and other posts as well, in fact i don't remember seeing a post from you not about him. I hope im not upsetting you. Are you related, are you him? I'm sorry if i am, this is just my opinion. Some people just absolutely love certain players, and i see your keen on him and his prospects. Logan McDonald is way, way ahead of Logan Foley at this stage of their careers, and McDonald may get drafted, but if the draft only last about 35-45 picks, i cannot see Foley being one of them.Would love Logan on our list
Thanks for that not offended at all. Yes I am related, been after some constructive criticism to pass on. I have no dought he will play league for WP in the next couple of years but to get drafted he needs to work a lot harder the talent is defiantly there.Unless his year is nothing short of absolutely superb, i don't see him getting drafted. If lists are to get shorter and shorter, clubs will balk at project players, of which he is. It will be 3-4 or maybe 5 years till he is playing his best footy, and no club can carry someone that long if lists have to be culled more and more over the next few years. You mention him on here, and other posts as well, in fact i don't remember seeing a post from you not about him. I hope im not upsetting you. Are you related, are you him? I'm sorry if i am, this is just my opinion. Some people just absolutely love certain players, and i see your keen on him and his prospects. Logan McDonald is way, way ahead of Logan Foley at this stage of their careers, and McDonald may get drafted, but if the draft only last about 35-45 picks, i cannot see Foley being one of them.
Just know a fair bit, have family who play for eagles and are close to his brotherUnless his year is nothing short of absolutely superb, i don't see him getting drafted. If lists are to get shorter and shorter, clubs will balk at project players, of which he is. It will be 3-4 or maybe 5 years till he is playing his best footy, and no club can carry someone that long if lists have to be culled more and more over the next few years. You mention him on here, and other posts as well, in fact i don't remember seeing a post from you not about him. I hope im not upsetting you. Are you related, are you him? I'm sorry if i am, this is just my opinion. Some people just absolutely love certain players, and i see your keen on him and his prospects. Logan McDonald is way, way ahead of Logan Foley at this stage of their careers, and McDonald may get drafted, but if the draft only last about 35-45 picks, i cannot see Foley being one of them.
Was Jay Rantall in the AFL academy hub last year?Last year only 3 players outside of the AFL Academy Hub where drafted
Weightman
Philp
Schoenberg
Will be harder for those types to get drafted this year but my potential 3 that could push into contention outside of hubs
Fraser Rosman
Luke Cleary
Harry Sharp
2021 10 Players To Watch
Braden Andrews
Oakleigh Chargers/Vic Metro
189cm 83kg
Midfielder
A tall extractor type in the Josh Kennedy mould Andrews has terrific hands at stoppages and can win the ball at ease both at stoppages and on the outside, played a variety of roles at the 16s championships and did well enough to win AA honours.
Campbell Chesser
Sandringham Dragons/Vic Country
185cm 79kg
Midfielder
A nice sized midfielder with a burst of speed, Chesser is an elite athlete with clean hands and classy foot skills, a gangrenous player capable of winning his own ball but also proving run on the wing. Could be used as a rebound defender aswell.
Arlo Draper
South Adelaide/South Australia
186cm 68kg
Forward/Midfielder
A talented and athletic player with a lot of upside, Draper has plenty of scope to hopefully develop into a tall midfielder who can rest forward, he has clean hands above his head and at ground level and has speed to burn. Could be anything.
Ben Hobbs
GWV Rebels/Vic Country
182cm 76kg
Midfielder
An absolute ball magnet, Hobbs thrives on the contested ball but also thrives on winning the ball in general as he will work hard forward and back and tackle like a mad man. Showed his class playing as a defender for the Rebels this year still managing to hit over 20 disposals, he is future AFL captain material.
Jason Horne
184cm 75kg
Midfielder
Horne is a powerhouse midfielder who attacks the ball hard and fast and equally so when tackling so he has a great balance to his midfield game, he is also capable playing other positions if needed with his ability overhead and class and clean hands with the ball. Plenty out of SA think he could even push for senior selection this year.
Blake Howes
Sandringham Dragons/Vic Metro
189cm 75kg
Forward/Wingman
A major threat in the air Howes has great leaping and marking ability and can even clunk a contested mark already despite his slender frame. A smooth mover with good skills to boot he has also grown 2cm in the past year and would be a tantalising prospect if he grew to a key position height with his already impressive leap and hands overhead.
Josh Rachele
Murray Bushrangers/Vic Country
179cm 77kg
Midfielder/Forward
The Kevin Sheehan medalist and Vic Country MVP is a talented and classy player with great skills and composure and an ability to hit the scoreboard with relative ease. Can also do the hard stuff when required and managed 30+ disposals against WA showing he is more than just a silky forward type.
Matthew Roberts
183cm 76kg
Midfielder
A busy midfielder able to play on the inside and outside he is a running machine and lovely kick on his favoured left boot. Roberts has a lot of skill and scope to play a range of roles which would make him even more enticing to clubs.
Josh Sinn
186cm 72kg
Utility
The Vic Metro captain has similar traits to Hawthorn premiership star Luke Hodge with his marking and kicking ability from half back, he also has the ability to go forward or even through the midfield so could still be anything. Tough, quick and with a long raking left boot he imposes himself on contests.
Tyler Sonsie
Eastern Ranges/Vic Metro
181cm 74kg
Midfielder/Forward
An incredibly gifted footballer who can hurt the opposition Sonsie has all the tricks in the book able to kick goals with ease, win the ball with ease and get around opponents wth ease. The Metro MVP had 19 disposals and kicked 4.3 against WA and had a brilliant game in the NAB League paired against Hayden Young he had 20 disposals and 6 tackles.
2021 10 Players To Watch
Braden Andrews
Oakleigh Chargers/Vic Metro
189cm 83kg
Midfielder
A tall extractor type in the Josh Kennedy mould Andrews has terrific hands at stoppages and can win the ball at ease both at stoppages and on the outside, played a variety of roles at the 16s championships and did well enough to win AA honours.
Campbell Chesser
Sandringham Dragons/Vic Country
185cm 79kg
Midfielder
A nice sized midfielder with a burst of speed, Chesser is an elite athlete with clean hands and classy foot skills, a dangerous player capable of winning his own ball but also proving run on the wing. Could be used as a rebound defender aswell.
Arlo Draper
186cm 68kg
Forward/Midfielder
A talented and athletic player with a lot of upside, Draper has plenty of scope to hopefully develop into a tall midfielder who can rest forward, he has clean hands above his head and at ground level and has speed to burn. Could be anything.
Ben Hobbs
GWV Rebels/Vic Country
182cm 76kg
Midfielder
An absolute ball magnet, Hobbs thrives on the contested ball but also thrives on winning the ball in general as he will work hard forward and back and tackle like a mad man. Showed his class playing as a defender for the Rebels this year still managing to hit over 20 disposals, he is future AFL captain material.
Jason Horne
184cm 75kg
Midfielder
Horne is a powerhouse midfielder who attacks the ball hard and fast and equally so when tackling so he has a great balance to his midfield game, he is also capable playing other positions if needed with his ability overhead and class and clean hands with the ball. Plenty out of SA think he could even push for senior selection this year.
Blake Howes
189cm 75kg
Forward/Wingman
A major threat in the air Howes has great leaping and marking ability and can even clunk a contested mark already despite his slender frame. A smooth mover with good skills to boot he has also grown 2cm in the past year and would be a tantalising prospect if he grew to a key position height with his already impressive leap and hands overhead.
Josh Rachele
Murray Bushrangers/Vic Country
179cm 77kg
Midfielder/Forward
The Kevin Sheehan medalist and Vic Country MVP is a talented and classy player with great skills and composure and an ability to hit the scoreboard with relative ease. Can also do the hard stuff when required and managed 30+ disposals against WA showing he is more than just a silky forward type.
Matthew Roberts
183cm 76kg
Midfielder
A busy midfielder able to play on the inside and outside he is a running machine and lovely kick on his favoured left boot. Roberts has a lot of skill and scope to play a range of roles which would make him even more enticing to clubs.
Josh Sinn
186cm 72kg
Utility
The Vic Metro captain has similar traits to Hawthorn premiership star Luke Hodge with his marking and kicking ability from half back, he also has the ability to go forward or even through the midfield so could still be anything. Tough, quick and with a long raking left boot he imposes himself on contests.
Tyler Sonsie
Eastern Ranges/Vic Metro
181cm 74kg
Midfielder/Forward
An incredibly gifted footballer who can hurt the opposition Sonsie has all the tricks in the book able to kick goals with ease, win the ball with ease and get around opponents wth ease. The Metro MVP had 19 disposals and kicked 4.3 against WA and had a brilliant game in the NAB League paired against Hayden Young he had 20 disposals and 6 tackles.
I’m usually want to wait another year to rate talls as they are usually the later developers compared to midfielders, the leading tall right now is most likely Alex Lukic from Oakleigh who is a similar size to Ugle-Hagan and was FF in the AA for the under 16s champs.that seems like a very tall midfield draft class.
hopefully there’s lots of good kpp prospects
No chance they get rid of it this year imo, maybe next year but even then I feel clubs will do what they keen to keep academies going.eDPS do you think after residing this there is a chance NGA’s could be scrapped this year ?
![]()
AFL planning a long-term overhaul of the game
The AFL is planning a long-term overhaul of the game, and not just for the next two seasons, to deal with “the new economy”.www.theage.com.au
View attachment 871158View attachment 871158View attachment 871159
It doesn’t mean they will stay open but it’s worth noting that ports and crows academies are different to every other team in that they only focus on the guys who wouldn’t be reached by normal pathways.Basically the academies are funded by the clubs themselves, outside of the soft cap. Some clubs might be able to keep funding their academy, others might not.
Especially when the AFL will be auditing some clubs weekly expenditure.
In Victoria, how much difference have the NGA’s made?
I listened to JUH’s interview today on Road to the Draft. Between GWV, Oakleigh and Scotch College, the kid would still make it to the AFL whether he was part of an academy or not.
SA and WA have strong local competitions, with strong junior pathways as well.
I am concerned for the northern/QLD academies, as I don’t know if AFLQ has the funds to support the QAFL clubs junior development pathways.
Southport would certainly have the funds to develop an elite junior pathway for Gold Coast kids, but I’m not sure about any of the other Queensland clubs.
Northern academies are a key plank in the expansion strategy and junior development pathway. If the AFL can keep pumping tens of millions a year into GC and GWS they can pass enough equalisation money along to Brisbane and Sydney to maintain those too. Cutting them without replacement would be like cutting the NAB League.Basically the academies are funded by the clubs themselves, outside of the soft cap. Some clubs might be able to keep funding their academy, others might not.
Especially when the AFL will be auditing some clubs weekly expenditure.
In Victoria, how much difference have the NGA’s made?
I listened to JUH’s interview today on Road to the Draft. Between GWV, Oakleigh and Scotch College, the kid would still make it to the AFL whether he was part of an academy or not.
SA and WA have strong local competitions, with strong junior pathways as well.
I am concerned for the northern/QLD academies, as I don’t know if AFLQ has the funds to support the QAFL clubs junior development pathways.
Southport would certainly have the funds to develop an elite junior pathway for Gold Coast kids, but I’m not sure about any of the other Queensland clubs.
Exactly they were brought in to stop Victorian clubs sooking. Personally, I’d make it every club gets a rural zone, where the club goes out and does community work in the area (Melbourne Alice springs, essendon tiwi etc), but the metro zoning should not exist and should be canned. Kids like reef mcinnes, josh eyre, cody raak etc should not be nga, it ruins the draft.Northern academies are a key plank in the expansion strategy. If the AFL can keep pumping tens of millions a year into GC and GWS they can pass enough equalisation money along to Brisbane and Sydney to maintain those too.
NGAs are a rort that exist purely to stop established clubs rocking the boat on the NAs, and the expenditure on them is minimal. So long as they provide free hits at talent like JUH clubs will find the money to run them.
I don’t know where the funding for all four northern academies come from.Northern academies are a key plank in the expansion strategy and junior development pathway. If the AFL can keep pumping tens of millions a year into GC and GWS they can pass enough equalisation money along to Brisbane and Sydney to maintain those too. Cutting them without replacement would be like cutting the NAB League.
NGAs though are a rort that exist purely to stop established clubs rocking the boat on the NAs, and the expenditure on them is minimal. So long as they provide free hits at talent like JUH clubs will find the money to run them.
If NGAs did go though I'd expect NA concessions to be wound back a bit.
Whatever label is attached, it's all general revenue. If sponsorships or donations dry up due to broader economic conditions the academy wouldn't suddenly be specifically unfunded.I don’t know where the funding for all four northern academies come from.
It’s well known Sydney’s academy is funded by sponsorship from QBE.
I know Brisbane’s academy is funded through donation and sponsorship fundraising from club members.
Discounts, zones, eligibility, where in the draft and how many can be matched, for example. I think discounts should go and eligibility be tightened across the board regardless of what happens, but my point is more about satisfying other clubs if they aren't being bribed with NGAs of their own.Other than cutting the discount on matching draft points for academy kids, I’m not sure how else the AFL could wind back the concessions.
Agree there. I see no reason players can't be included in the academy system regardless of background for the purpose of development, but when it comes to your ties to a club - this should be assessed on individual basis. Nick Blakey and James Borlase both should never have been tied to a club through the academy. Using the Dogs as an example - Buku Khamis last year was in our NGA, and absolutely had good reason to be there. JUH, on the other hand, was a gift from the Gods that fell in our laps.Agree very much with the above posts.
those non-traditional clubs having ngas in itself is fine, but should be tightened that players like nick Blakey who clearly is not in the spirit of the “growing the game and not losing kids to other sports in the region” ideals.
francous boys got pulled out of ports father son academy to move to gold coast with their dad when he got a assistant coach job there. They’re now in the gcs academy (the eldest may or may not be eligible from memory)
Not sure if the rule still requires them to be there for 5 years?Agree very much with the above posts.
those non-traditional clubs having ngas in itself is fine, but should be tightened that players like nick Blakey who clearly is not in the spirit of the “growing the game and not losing kids to other sports in the region” ideals.
francous boys got pulled out of ports father son academy to move to gold coast with their dad when he got a assistant coach job there. They’re now in the gcs academy (the eldest may or may not be eligible from memory)
Not sure if the rule still requires them to be there for 5 years?
Lachie Weller lived in QLD for 4 years before his draft year, but the suns didn't have any special access to him at that stage.
Obviously a lot has changed since then so this may be obsolete. One Francou son currently in the u16, u14, u13 academy this year.