Draft Watcher eDPS Draft Watch 2020

Agree there. I see no reason players can't be included in the academy system regardless of background for the purpose of development, but when it comes to your ties to a club - this should be assessed on individual basis. Nick Blakey and James Borlase both should never have been tied to a club through the academy. Using the Dogs as an example - Buku Khamis last year was in our NGA, and absolutely had good reason to be there. JUH, on the other hand, was a gift from the Gods that fell in our laps.

I also don't agree with players being linked to clubs simply because "they might be lost to other sports". That doesn't mean shit to me - the only reason a player should be linked to a club is if they otherwise would never have had opportunities in elite sport in the first place. Kids from poor backgrounds or coming from regional areas should be the ones included, not some kid who grew up in Sydney and was tossing up between Rugby and AFL
Might not mean anything to you in Aussie Rules heartland. But it means a lot up here where AFL is the 4th ranked football code, behind rugby league, rugby union and soccer.

Without our academies, most of academy kids would end up playing a different professional sport.

At the Lions, only Keidean Coleman, Ben Keays and Jacob Allison would have pursued AFL if our academy didn’t exist.

And it’s doubtful Coleman, and his younger brother who is draft eligible this year, would have made it.

Harris Andrews, Eric Hipwood, Jack Payne, Connor Ballenden, Connor McFadyen, Archie Smith, and Tom Fullerton would not have played AFL.

Archie Smith and Tom Fullerton were taken out of elite basketball pathways. Fullerton was at the Brisbane Bullets on a development scholarship. He was also in the Aus U15 schoolboys AFL team, before basketball pulled him away from footy.

Connor McFadyen was in the Aus U16 cricket team, while also part of our academy. His younger brother captained the Aus U16 cricket team two years later, and is draft eligible next year, and is potentially a better AFL talent than Connor.

Hipwood has said many times he would have played cricket if the Lions academy didn’t exist. Similar story with Andrews.

Payne was an elite junior athlete, representing Australia in discus at the junior Pan Pacific games, before a Lions scout spotted him and asked him to join our academy.

Unfortunately we lose academy kids to rugby league. Kalen Ponga being the most high profile. It’s hard when league doesn’t have the same draftee contracts that AFL does. What 19 year old is turning down a multi million dollar contract.

Might not mean anything to you in Aussie Rules heartland. But it means a lot up here where AFL is the 4th ranked football code, behind rugby league, rugby union and soccer.

Without our academies, most of academy kids would end up playing a different professional sport.

At the Lions, only Keidean Coleman, Ben Keays and Jacob Allison would have pursued AFL if our academy didn’t exist.

And it’s doubtful Coleman, and his younger brother who is draft eligible this year, would have made it.

Harris Andrews, Eric Hipwood, Jack Payne, Connor Ballenden, Connor McFadyen, Archie Smith, and Tom Fullerton would not have played AFL.

Archie Smith and Tom Fullerton were taken out of elite basketball pathways. Fullerton was at the Brisbane Bullets on a development scholarship. He was also in the Aus U15 schoolboys AFL team, before basketball pulled him away from footy.

Connor McFadyen was in the Aus U16 cricket team, while also part of our academy. His younger brother captained the Aus U16 cricket team two years later, and is draft eligible next year, and is potentially a better AFL talent than Connor.

Hipwood has said many times he would have played cricket if the Lions academy didn’t exist. Similar story with Andrews.

Payne was an elite junior athlete, representing Australia in discus at the junior Pan Pacific games, before a Lions scout spotted him and asked him to join our academy.

Unfortunately we lose academy kids to rugby league. Kalen Ponga being the most high profile. It’s hard when league doesn’t have the same draftee contracts that AFL does. What 19 year old is turning down a multi million dollar contract.
I don't see how it's really relevant though. That's a kids personal choice.

If the argument is we want the kids linked to a club so they don't leave for other sports because we want the best talent possible, what's the problem with allowing, for example, Collingwood to set up an affiliated academy up north and bring kids through their club?

This is all probably stuff that a mod could move to another thread when they have time.

I understand an argument made for academies to draw and keep talent to afl in regions that have other options (my issue is with guys like Blakey not being in the same spirit and with port being given different nga rules to the rest of the league (even Collingwood and west coast have different rules to us)

but when you’re trying to make arguments for what’s best for the game to port supporters who have watched the sanfl tear our junior programmes and pathways from us out of spite (the only way they would agree to let us field an afl reserves instead of the previous rules which sent our draftees to random sanfl clubs who wanted nothing to do with them) you have to understand why we kinda laugh at those high ideals.

ports work with juniors produced a legacy of afl hall of famers around the league that port had no priority access to when we came into the afl but we’re willing to do the work anyway because it’s in the best interests for football all around. Where’s the afl interest and intervention there in what’s best for producing talent for the league from people who have a proven history of doing it? Zero.

I don't see how it's really relevant though. That's a kids personal choice.

If the argument is we want the kids linked to a club so they don't leave for other sports because we want the best talent possible, what's the problem with allowing, for example, Collingwood to set up an affiliated academy up north and bring kids through their club?
The point for the Northern academies is to develop talent that isn’t going to up and leave after 2, 3 or 4 years, because they’re homesick.

Then the only reason they exist is to serve the northern clubs. Seems pretty unfair on other clubs, especially the smaller ones who struggle with retention as it is and are often forced to overpay their existing players while struggling to recruit high demand talent

I support that argument. It makes sense..... in isolation.

but what is the measurement there?

Because with a quick look at the crows list I count 10 Sa lads (very few of which are any bloody good) on their list. I am sure that is more than gcs but is it more than Brisbane / Sydney / gws?

would supporters of it for the reasons you suggest back the crows to have the same rules since their ability to attract and keep local talent is comparable?

I have my doubts.

Sorry to take this off track :p

I’ll be releasing my SA player profiles tonight as I put in some hard yards to cover all the previous footage I could

South Australia 2020
Potential Bolters & Late Selections

Jamison Murphy
180cm 85kg
Midfielder/Defender
DR: 30-60

Strengths
Production
Composure
Tackling
Stoppage craft
Consistency
Contested game
Vision
Clean hands

Queries
Size
Leap

- A tough and classy mover through the midfield Murphy can win the ball at the coal face and uses his impressive composure and vision to release teammates on the outside, is known for his long kicking but have yet to see enough of him to make a judgement on it, one to watch if the Championships go ahead.

Jye Sinderberry
189cm 80kg
Medium Defender

Strengths
Workrate
Skills
Bodywork
Marking
Composure
Vertical leap
Versatility

Queries
Speed
Production

- Sinderberry has been a consistent performer for West Adelaide over the journey, used as an undersized key position player because of his leap and bodywork he was named AA in he 16 championships and played for Australia against New Zealand last year, still a tad undersized to play as a key defender he has the ability to still play on taller players and hold his own but the other question will be if he has the speed to go with the smaller types.

Tom Powell
180cm 73kg
Midfielder

Strengths
Clean hands
Balance
Production
Skills
Agility
Tackling
Composure

Queries
Scoreboard impact
Size

- Powell is a ball magnet who is clean with his hands and ball use, capable of winning his own ball but also getting on the outside. Powell could hit the scoreboard more and he is a little bit on the smaller side and coming of an injury he will be a hard one for clubs to take early on.

James Borlase
192cm 94kg
Key Defender
DR: 45-Late

Strengths
Overhead Marking
Clean hands
Strength
Endurance
Tackling
Upside
Competitiveness

Queries
Kicking
Height

- Borlase is a player improving at a solid rate and despite being 192cm he still has the potential long term to be a solid shut down player with his competitiveness and workrate. Can hopefully develop into a Grimes type of defender and is a member of the crows NGA

Will Schreiber
190cm 82kg
Medium Utility

Strengths
Competitiveness
Versatility
Clean hands
Composure
Marking
Strength
Tackling

Queries
Athleticism
Upside

- Schreiber has played just about everywhere in these last two years, playing as a full forward/Inside midfielder as a 16 year old he played most fo his time as a key defender in the 18s last year and has looked promising in all of those areas. A hard one to rate at this stage waiting to see where he settles this year

Henry Smith
202cm 82kg
Ruckman/Key Forward

Strengths
Marking
Clean hands
Vertical leap
Upside
Size
Scoreboard Impact

Queries
Production
Consistency

- Smith is a tall with plenty of scope and room for improvement in his game, a risky national draft selection at this stage as he will be a long term project he has shown plenty with his ability to take a grab inside 50 and his clean hands at ground level give clubs something to work with.

Lachlan Grubb
173cm 69kg
Small Forward

Strengths
Agility
Vertical Leap
Forward Craft
Clean hands
Marking
Crumbing
Production

Queries
Size
Consistency

- Grubb has plenty of elite traits with his leap and agility making him a dangerous player inside 50 and a difficult matchup for other smalls, he leads up the ground well so not just a specialist inside 50, he got to play some reserves football last year so has done well to perform against bigger bodies

Nicholas Kraemer
185cm 82kg
Midfielder

Strengths
Contested game
Production
Stoppage Craft
Clean hands
Tackling
Marking
Strength

Queries
Athleticism
Hurt Factor

- Kraemer is a stoppage specialist having some big clearance numbers last year, he has clean hands at stoppages and can also find the ball on the outside aswell. He doesn’t exactly break away from stoppages and his skills are good but not at a level where he could be anything but a contested bull midfielder so that would be an area I’d like to see honed so he can add some versatility at the next level.

Henry Nelligan
170cm 69kg
Midfielder
DR: Late

Strengths
Production
Stoppage craft
Clean hands
Vision
Contested game
Consistency

Queries
Size
Speed

- Nelligan is a ball magnet and likened to Sam Mitchell with his ability at stoppages, Nelligan sadly has two of the worst combos to have with a lack of size and speed and in this modern era clubs will struggle to want to take players like that in the main draft

Riley Holder
190cm 84kg
Medium Defender
Dr: Late

Strengths
Strength
Clean hands
Marking
Skills
Decision making
Versatility

Queries
Athleticism
Upside

- Holder has good skills and is strong both in the air and at keeping his shape at contests, he has played a range of positions and has done a fair job at them. His lack of athleticism and scope make him a hard player to rate but has been a consistent performer for Glenelg these last few years.

Cooper Horsnell
174cm 68kg
Small Forward

Strengths
Clean hands
Crumbing
Forward craft
Production
Composure
Decision making

Queries
Size
Speed

- Horsnell is a smart and creative player able to play as a small forward but also win the ball in the midfield although he would struggle for midfield at the next level. Doesn’t look overly quick but more so quick of mind which usually helps him get out of trouble

Mani Liddy
181cm 79kg
Midfielder

Strengths
Contested game
Clean hands
Production
Tackling
Stoppage craft
Composure
Decision making

Queries
Athleticism
Hurt Factor

- Liddy is a tough inside bull who knows how to win the footy, clean at stoppages and is a good user by hand to release his outside players. His overall impact would need to improve especially for a player his size, an added element like hitting the scoreboard more will help his chances

Ned Carey
194cm 74kg
Key Forward

Strengths
Athleticism
Upside
Overhead Marking
Competitiveness
Clean hands
Versatility

Queries
Production
Consistency

- A mobile tall with plenty of scope he has started to show an aggressive side which is fantastic as it adds another element to his overall package, more likely to go another year as a 19 year old he has plenty of attributes clubs would like to develop with his potential to play a range of positions.

South Australia 2020
Top 10

Riley Thilthorpe
200cm 99kg
Ruckman/Key Forward
DR: 1-10

Strengths
Endurance
Overhead Marking
Clean hands
Forward Craft
Football IQ
Skills
Size

Queries
Speed
Agility

- Thilthorpe is a difficult player for me to read, when I watch him closely he comes across as slow and doesn’t follow up well yet somehow he will still manage to not only hit the scoreboard but also get around the ground to win a lot more of the ball than most players his height usually win, that comes form his elite endurance and football IQ. Personally think the ruck would be his best long term position but I’m not sure on his vertical leap either, he seems to rate himself as a midfielder and with his work ethic he might just make that happen.

Kaine Baldwin
193cm 92kg
Key Forward
DR: 5-20

Strengths
Contested Marking
Forward Craft
Production
Leading patterns
Clean hands
Skills
Decision making
Leadership

Queries
Speed
Upside

- Baldwin was unlucky to get injured in his very first match last year, going from the under 16s straight to reserves football it was clear Glenelg had big plans for Baldwin who likes Thilthorpe would have been a chance to play senior football as a 17 year old. More than just aa strong contested key forward Baldwin also moves well at ground level and has great skills to go with it. Some SA scouts still feel he is the best key forward in the draft

Taj Schofield
178cm 72kg
Midfielder
DR: 20-40

Strengths
Kicking
Clean hands
Balance
Crumbing
Football IQ
Production

Queries
Athleticism
Size

- Schofield would have claims as the best kick in this years draft and he isnt too far off with his quick clean hands either, Schofield can play on the inside a bit but looks more suited to the outside with his dangerous kicking, would make a good rebound defender but would like to see how he tests for leap, he has the speed and clean hands to play a range of positions if needed.

Zac Dumesny
187cm 79kg
Medium Utility

Strengths
Skills
Composure
Decision making
Versatility
Overhead Marking
Clean hands
Vision

Queries
Speed

- There aren’t many players you would want the ball in the hands of more than Dumesny, his ability to cut off attacks and cut through zones as a defender is really valuable but just as valuable is his ability to go on a wing and even forward, as a 16 year old he was a dangerous forward even having one game kicking 3.8! Very classy player but hard to see an exact draft range

Bailey Chamberlain
179cm 70kg
Midfielder

Strengths
Clean hands
Composure
Skills
Speed
Agility
Football IQ
Workrate
Production

Queries
Contested game
Size

- Chamberlain does everything right as a nippy smaller midfielder with his ability to win the ball and use if cleanly and quickly, he works hard to win the ball all over the ground and has the speed to avoid trouble. His contested game is the main point to improve, improve that and I feel he is a draft certainty

Luke Edwards
187cm 81kg
Midfielder/Defender

Strengths
Football IQ
Strength
Skills
Vision
Composure
Versatility
Production

Queries
Speed
Upside

- Edwards has been dominating games since under 15s and has always been a bigger bodied midfielder with and ability to go forward and back pretty seamlessly. An intelligent player my queries are that he has always dominated because of his size and smarts being well ahead of other kids and may have peaked too early. Still a dependable option somewhere in the late first or second round.

Caleb Poulter
190cm 66kg
Midfielder/Forward
DR: 25-50

Strengths
Upside
Athleticism
Skills
Overhead marking
Clean hands
Composure
Versatility

Queries
Consistency
Reading the play

- Poulter is one player I was most excited about seeing play in the national championships, he is a great size and has so many attributes I like. I’m always a sucker for potential big bodied inside mids and Poulter has shown plenty fo ability in the midfield in the SANFL 18s last year and has shown an ability to take marks up forward and create, watch this space on Poulter if he doesn’t get taken this year I could see him being the leading 19 year old in 2021 as he is a bit light on and will take some time.

Tariek Newchurch
181cm 73kg
Small Forward

Strengths
Speed
Agility
Forward Craft
Clean hands
Upside
Vision
Composure

Queries
Production
Consistency

- Newchurch was one of the premier small forwards in the SANFL 18s last year with his ability to not only kick goals but bags goals, a gifted athlete with his speed and agility he uses to easily get around would be tacklers and he may make a great rebound defender long term much like Lewis Jetta.

Lachlan Jones
185cm 87kg
Medium Defender

Strengths
Vertical Leap
Competitiveness
Kicking
Strength
Power
Marking

Queries
Upside
Versatility

- Jones is a powerful defender not too dissimilar to Will Gould with his strength and booming kick, Jones point of difference is his impressive leap and looks well suited to playing as a medium defender at AFL level and may get an earlier bid than expected if list sizes are cut and more mature ready players are preferred.

Corey Durdin
172cm 74kg
Forward/Midfielder

Strengths
Scoreboard Impact
Football IQ
Workrate
Clean hands
Skills
Vision

Queries
Size
Athleticism

- Durdin is your quintessential small player that impacts early as a small midfielder at junior level but because of his size will play as a forward, he has the smarts to make up for having absolute lightning speed and is a creative forward but I could see clubs waiting for him to dominate the SANFL League before being put on a senior list.

I support that argument. It makes sense..... in isolation.

but what is the measurement there?

Because with a quick look at the crows list I count 10 Sa lads (very few of which are any bloody good) on their list. I am sure that is more than gcs but is it more than Brisbane / Sydney / gws?

would supporters of it for the reasons you suggest back the crows to have the same rules since their ability to attract and keep local talent is comparable?

I have my doubts.
It’s more than Gold Coast, Sydney and GWS.

For me it’s always been two arguments.

First, QLD and NSW didn’t have the elite pathways, but more importantly the elite coaching that exists in other states, before the academies came along.

Secondly, it easier to retain home grown talent than interstate talent.

I don’t know the Crows complete drafting history. I wonder how often they discuss drafting a local talent compared to an interstate talent.

I was amazed last year, when they drafted Schoenberg, then traded the next pick to Sydney, only then to watch Sydney draft Gould.

I’ve also repeatedly said I’d be happy for the academies to disappear if the AFL put AFLQ in charge and kept an elite pathway for juniors.

Provided draftee contracts lengths were increased, and it was harder for a young player to leave their club in the first four or five years.

Just as an aside, there might actually be more SA lads on GC’s list.

Then the only reason they exist is to serve the northern clubs. Seems pretty unfair on other clubs, especially the smaller ones who struggle with retention as it is and are often forced to overpay their existing players while struggling to recruit high demand talent
We’ve seen northern academy kids get drafted to Vic clubs.

I’m happy for them, they’re on a list.

Taj Schofield
178cm 72kg
Midfielder

Strengths
Kicking
Clean hands
Balance
Crumbing
Football IQ
Production

Queries
Athleticism
Size

- Schofield would have claims as the best kick in this years draft and he isnt too far off with his quick clean hands either, Schofield can play on the inside a bit but looks more suited to the outside with his dangerous kicking, would make a good rebound defender but would like to see how he tests for leap, he has the speed and clean hands to play a range of positions if needed.

I would be horrified to see Schofield in a backline. No overhead presence and could be knocked over by a child.

Yeah I did factor his leap as a big hurdle but yeah it’s mostly for his kicking which is damaging and could be used coming out of defence, personally think he starts his career forward before moving into a midfield/forward role when he puts on some size

personally think he starts his career forward before moving into a midfield/forward role when he puts on some size

That’s probably right.

my concern is the level he will have to reach to become a starting midfielder for us. Our 26 and under group is wines, rozee, Houston, spp, duursma , butters, Amon , Dbj pushes into the midfield a lot with Drew progressing wildly. They’re all starting midfielders at a pretty decent or great level. That’s 9.

then there is atley, Farrell , Williams , Bergman, Patmore and mead.

we’re at least a 50/50 chance of landing Jackson Hately at the end of the year and there will be more incoming mids over the next 1-3 years

So it’s really hard to see Schofield as a starting mid early on in his career. Even as a forward mid we have a tonne of options. He would likely need to become a Travis boak type gutrunner to add to that kick to be a shot.

as I see it he projects to be a 18-28th on the list type player like lienert is currently for us.

Lachlan Jones as a defender prospect while kind of an unknown in what he can become quality wise is more a need with broady gone, Hartlett getting on slash always injured and Houston in the midfield. Small /medium defender is a wide open race in the next few years.

port fans are desperate for our father sons to start producing some key position players!

That’s probably right.

my concern is the level he will have to reach to become a starting midfielder for us. Our 26 and under group is wines, rozee, Houston, spp, duursma , butters, Amon , Dbj pushes into the midfield a lot with Drew progressing wildly. They’re all starting midfielders at a pretty decent or great level. That’s 9.

then there is atley, Farrell , Williams , Bergman, Patmore and mead.

we’re at least a 50/50 chance of landing Jackson Hately at the end of the year and there will be more incoming mids over the next 1-3 years

So it’s really hard to see Schofield as a starting mid early on in his career. Even as a forward mid we have a tonne of options. He would likely need to become a Travis boak type gutrunner to add to that kick to be a shot.

as I see it he projects to be a 18-28th on the list type player like lienert is currently for us.

Lachlan Jones as a defender prospect while kind of an unknown in what he can become quality wise is more a need with broady gone, Hartlett getting on slash always injured and Houston in the midfield. Small /medium defender is a wide open race in the next few years.

port fans are desperate for our father sons to start producing some key position players!
So your thinking you may not match an Schofield bid in the top 30? A club wanting some more elite ball users I think would bid early but certainly no harm matching if it comes a bit later

Yeah more often than not the talented NGA/FS players aren’t a club need

1/3 at most, there is another team in SA looking for young mids
I would think Giants should be more than happy to let Hately go like they did with Bonar. Green already looks ahead of Hately, and his contract will be cheaper in the short term. If we're arguing semantics, I'd think it's close to 50/50 for Crows and Port, with only a marginal chance of him actually staying at the Giants

So your thinking you may not match an Schofield bid in the top 30? A club wanting some more elite ball users I think would bid early but certainly no harm matching if it comes a bit later

Yeah more often than not the talented NGA/FS players aren’t a club need

I don’t know what the club would do but I suspect most clubs match bids unless they’re drastically different to the clubs rating of them. when you add discount and use later picks it doesn’t really matter that much. Like the picks we matched mead with aren’t really the same as actually having pick 25. I would have taken pick 25 over mead but we didn’t have pick 25 we had later picks. So there is value there (even though I’m so so on whether mead will make it)

I just look at our midfield and see Schofield as depth / edge of playing. You always get injuries and stuff but I can’t see him starting in the midfield during his career unless his ability skyrockets (which does happen sometimes).

Thanks for the info eDPS, particularly on Newchurch who seems to be a bit of a mystery man. No one on the Crows board appears to know too much about him and it is proving hard to find someone who does. This is the first draft range that I have seen for him.

I reckon you might benefit from him not being seen playing or playing much this year. He could have put his name up.

was on my must watch at champs list. Playing in a forward line of thilthorpe Baldwin he could have lit it up. That’s a very good group that would have troubled defenses.

No worries

For alot of the SA prospects I’m still going off limited viewings and with Newchurch in particular I’ve mostly seen him play as a high half forward and wingman where he hasn’t hit the scoreboard as much but his numbers show last year that he is deadly around goal, my range for him can only go up if I see more

I would think Giants should be more than happy to let Hately go like they did with Bonar. Green already looks ahead of Hately, and his contract will be cheaper in the short term. If we're arguing semantics, I'd think it's close to 50/50 for Crows and Port, with only a marginal chance of him actually staying at the Giants
I don’t think they’ll throw Hately out the door like Bonar, much better player and gws rate him highly. Looked ready to explode preseason, so if he does leave it’ll be for a decent price.

I'm not so sure about him being the better player of the two tbh. Bonar impressed me more in U18s, with the only thing really hurting him being his lack of durability. I just don't see how Hately fits in with Green coming through and already looking better.

I'd have thought Crows would want him more, and potentially Port if Wines goes. If not SA, he'd surely get more minutes somewhere like Essendon, Carlton or Richmond where they need his type more than the Giants do