Edward, Edward, Edward.....<shakes head>

otfc42

Aug 18, 2007
ACT
Love Eddie and his absolute passion for the game and our great Collingwood. He's always been so outspoken and at the fore for retaining tradition in the game. However, on the Sunrise news ticker this morning it announces that Eddie is pushing for a night time GF.....WTF.....???

Saturday afternoon is where it's at, can't be moved shouldn't be moved....sorry Prez, can't agree with you on this one.

Would be great for the game

People need to get over this tradition crap and see what would be good for the game

Moving it to night where more people would be able to view would give it a better atmosphere and have the AFL dip more into there pockets and attract better performers

I have been to 4 GF's and always felt night finals have the better atmosphere

I also reckon night games have more atmosphere.

Also, not wedded to the tradition of the GF always being day games that much.

Plus, I think Ed has earned our support pretty much across the board now and also who knows, we might go better at night!

Bring it on

Love Eddie and his absolute passion for the game and our great Collingwood. He's always been so outspoken and at the fore for retaining tradition in the game. However, on the Sunrise news ticker this morning it announces that Eddie is pushing for a night time GF.....WTF.....???

Saturday afternoon is where it's at, can't be moved shouldn't be moved....sorry Prez, can't agree with you on this one.

One of his players does something stupid and the president comes out with something controversial but totally different the following morning. Classic distraction play.

He's our president, not our coach, and he's also a media superstar, so there's going to be articles written on him on a weekly basis.

By the way, there's two articles in the Herald Sun today, one is about a flippant comment he made about a Night GF, and the other is a fairly long Q & A with Jon Ralph.

It seems the online article is a mixture of both.

http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/a...ight-grand-final/story-e6frf9jf-1226271178896

COLLINGWOOD president Eddie McGuire says "embarrassing" pre-match Grand Final entertainment must force the AFL to switch to a prime-time night game. McGuire said last year's Meat Loaf debacle proved the league was incapable of staging quality pre-match entertainment during the afternoon.
He said the league has a serious decision to make: either ditch all pre-match entertainment for an afternoon Grand Final or "get real" with a massive night spectacle.

http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/a...ight-grand-final/story-e6frf9jf-1226271178896

I'm not stressed about moving it to night from a tradition angle. I don't like moving it just because the entertainment would be better. Surely that isn't the number one criteria. Day/ night i don't care but don't decide it on the entertainment factor

I like the ritual of grand final day. Have a barbie with mates for lunch then sit down and watch the game. Poke fun at the appalling half time entertainment and argue about whether it's better or worse than last year. And then after the game ...

Well, that depends whether my team is playing or not - often they are. And whether they win or lose - usually they lose. :eek:

When my team loses the GF I just want to go to bed and cry myself to sleep. A night time GF would be much better for that. Then wake up the next day, the footy season is over and life goes on.

But when my team wins, hell, I want to party on - and the earlier the start the better. I want to revel in the glory - not have those around me finish their beers and head home after the end of a night time granny!

I think it's a valid argument and you can't hate on the guy for suggesting it. If it wasn't for people like Eddie then the game wouldn't have expanded and we'd still be the VFL.

Gotta agree with 76. I've been to two NRL GF's in Sydney, one day one night. The lead up and tradition of the day GF had it all over the night GF. It just didn't seem right at night, game was over, out of the ground at 10 and didn't even feel like kicking on into the wee hours.

I'm not knocking Eddie for having an opinion just disagreeing with it. Tis much the same as having an interstater in the top two and bringing up the whole tradition of the GF at the G and their rights to have a home GF.

I would hate to see the GF not be played on a Saturday afternoon. It is a great day if you can go and watch your team play and the BBQ is a great day anyway if they aren't playing.

I'm all for tradition but this is one I'm starting not to care about. Eddie is right. The entertainment is rubbish. If they keep it during the day they need to either shorten it or ramp it up. Daytime fireworks just don't work!

So the entertainment governs a switch?

C'mon, let's give a better reason than Meatloaf...!!!

But in mentioning Meaty, he was the entertainment at one of the ARL GF's I went to and a more pure voice you would never here....and let's face it, a thrown together GF2 in 2010 with Lionel Ritchie was brilliant.....!!!!!

Lets face it a nite GF will attract a far wider audience, allowing the AFL to straddle time zones and maximize both revenue and penetration.

I love the traditions of the game but it has to be bigger than that and grow out of its tight little shell or be doomed to be regarded as a third rate world sport.

I say yeah lets go for it - take on the bigger sports head on and let the chips fall where they may.

I would hate to see the GF not be played on a Saturday afternoon. It is a great day if you can go and watch your team play and the BBQ is a great day anyway if they aren't playing.

Absolutely!! Half time kick and after the game are always classic moments too.

yep lets shift to night for atmosphere, more money and a bigger market. lets make the ball round so Europeans relate to it better; shoulder pads and helmets for the yank market. Lets cut the match down to 2 quarters, so we can have 2 hours of lady gaga mid-match. lets cut the sides down to 10 players and half the ground so we can fit more people in the ground with better viewing.

cos if the game gets BIGGER, with MORE MONEY & MORE FOLLOWERS its better. Then we won't be restricted to Meatloaf, we'll be able to get ... um ... er..... Pavaroti.

yep lets shift to night for atmosphere, more money and a bigger market. lets make the ball round so Europeans relate to it better; shoulder pads and helmets for the yank market. Lets cut the match down to 2 quarters, so we can have 2 hours of lady gaga mid-match. lets cut the sides down to 10 players and half the ground so we can fit more people in the ground with better viewing.

cos if the game gets BIGGER, with MORE MONEY & MORE FOLLOWERS its better. Then we won't be restricted to Meatloaf, we'll be able to get ... um ... er..... Pavaroti.
No chance of Pavaroti mate he ,s dead but he may well of been a better bet than Meatloaf was last year.

A night Grand Final would be awesome. The atmosphere is great, viewing much better and can have some decent entertainment thrown in too.

The only thing is those bloody seagulls!!!! If they have the balls to do something about them then Im all for it. Last thing we want are hundreds of flying rabbits distracting you from watching the game or being shat on if your lucky enough to be at the G on that night.

Oh dear. The responses on this topic are a worry. I can't believe the years of "who wants a night grand final?" have worn some of you down....

For the last 10 years the AFL/media have asked the question to us and every year they have been shot down by every poll taken. The poll taken so far on this thread is not good.

Why the hell do we want to change the GF? The match is always a sellout and always attracts a massive TV audience.

If the answer is to make it a better spectacle then quite frankly fu#k that! Our game is the spectacle. We don't need Madonna on the stage at half time to get a crowd in. The reason acts find it so hard to entertain the masses at the footy is because we are there to watch the footy, not to watch them.

Leave it alone AFL. Leave it alone Eddie. Money is not everything

Edward, Edward, Edward.....<shakes head>