Club Mgmt. EFC Membership 2016 - 'Where Do You Stand?'

Happens everywhere. Check out the AGM of major companies. You've got guys running billion dollar machines and Bill and Martha will be there asking about their power bill or the poor service they got at the Croydon store.

Unfortunately these things are a magnet for this.

Let alone the first question about the bar at the MCG from Barnie...........
The shisha one took the cake by far.

It's the most amazing question I've ever seen or heard asked at a forum or AGM.

lolololol.

everyone knows gauci didnt get elected over the twitter board members because of the parade of efc members that called him an AFL plant, along with the other bloke that was in the running. We missed out on a great candidate who was proven after his time at the storm.

We dont have the club to blame for that, we have the members to blame.

He didn't help his cause though. After reading the conspiracy theories, I tweeted him a couple of very direct questions eg How long have you been a member of EFC and Have the AFL asked you to stand and he replied with a line about being a passionate member of the club and wanting to turn the club's fortunes around. If he had given me a direct answer he would have had my vote.

I'm very confused - did someone actually say that a player smoked a shisha during a match while on the bench? What was the context?
There is no context as such; that's the accusation that was made.

"I've been waking up in cold sweats with the stress of the last three years. I took a friend along to the VFL to try and get him interested. I saw shisha smoke rising from the players' bench. Very disappointing after drugzzzzz".

Basically, that's it to a tee. Bizarre.

frankly, the guy whined about the sash, the old man who was smoking the ganga, and the dude asking about the media..... You are talking to the top brass of the club. Email reception about that inconsequential crap
Yep, also the guy having a whinge about the stanton contract. Laughable.

Seeing a lot of complaints about people not moving on and asking too many questions about Hird. This was probably what they needed to be fair. They got to have their moment, and now they can either move on with the club or they can leave.

I don't think James will ever not love the club, I don't think a KB style exile will occur. It will be more the fact of learning to love the industry again, and personally I doubt he ever will. The guy was burnt from all and sundry.

One concern I do have and Im hoping someone may be able to shed some light on it. Is it normal for a coach to not pick the majority of his staff? It appears that we are keeping a lot of people on and Worsfold has mentioned previously he has 1 spot to fill. I would have thought he could pick his staff? Or is that a worrying sign that too much power has been taken away from the coach?
Also what are peoples thoughts on Skipworth, I was under the impression he wasn't rated all that highly.

I understood people bringing up Hird last night, as cringeworthy as it would have been for Woosha and I didn't particularly like the way the questions were phrased given that the current coach- a coach with very good credentials I might add- was sitting right there and no doubt wanted to talk about the future.

If they're still doing it in twelve months' time or, in fact, even sooner than that, then they're just refusing to move on and are starting to enter into what you might term Patrick Smith Land.

I understood people bringing up Hird last night, as cringeworthy as it would have been for Woosha and I didn't particular like the way the questions were phrased given that the current coach- a coach with very good credentials I might add- was sitting right there and no doubt wanted to talk about the future.

If they're still doing it in twelve months' time or, in fact, even sooner than that, then they're just refusing to move on and are starting to enter into what you might term Patrick Smith Land.

Yeah of course it would have been awkward for Woosha but like I said, this was probably the first platform these people have. I try and look at the positives, they have not ran for the hills they have some concerns and they have voiced them, what they do next of course will be the most important.

I will preface all these comments by saying that I havnt seen the footage though so if the questions were mean/inflammatory/trolling and were only there to cause issues then ok I take back my comments.

Reading some of the articles about what Woosha has spoken about with his vision im very excited for the future.

I could understand the need for people to bring up James Hird and I'm sure Woosha was expecting this to come up.

I was of the opinion that these comments were handled well by all concerned

The comment in relation to the 'Princess' as in Caro was another stupid comment and I just shook my head at that.

The shisha pipe comment was the best of the night. I found it amusing

Was held up at work... reading here I kind of feel like I missed absolutely nothing.
There were some good points made I think.

Tanner was great, I think he talked a lot of sense. Very little BS. Brasher was good too.

There were just some odd questions from fans though. Some good ones too mind you. Maybe something that will improve with time if they keep it up

Ok, attended the members forum last night, here's a basic rundown of events/thoughts.

I wandered up to Gate 2 at approximately 6:50, and standing outside the gates mingling with a few people were Simon Madden, Xavier Campbell and a smattering of other staff members of the club. The impression it gave me was that it was rather deliberate, an act of saying 'we are approachable' type thing. I didn't stop to chat to anyone at the time and wandered on in to find a seat.

They had basically roped off a single section of the stands as the audience section, with the podium and presentation area sitting on the the turf of the stadium. Actually a pretty reasonable setup, it wouldn't be easy to find a space suitable for that many people, so it makes sense to use Etihad as a tenant club - plus, ya know, we play footy there (well we try).

Rodski effectively MC'd the hour long presentations by club officials. As always, the bloke strikes me as very switched on and bright for such a young guy.

Paul Little delivered his address, and it was very much the sort of thing I've come to expect from him. A very by the numbers approach. The bloke is a gifted businessman no doubt, no one can say he isn't. Very much a self made man and I have a great deal of respect for that; but GEEZ he can be dry. I can't really blame him to be honest, I doubt any Chairman or President in the history of the game has been thrown into a bigger pile of steaming shit than he was. For the last six months ago he's simply repeated the same thing ad nauseum in a public forum. At this point, I should note that I have strong reservations about Little's tenure. Several things that I strongly disagree with. That doesn't mean I don't maintain a very healthy respect for the man. I think he's looking forward to his own finish line at the club to be honest.

Speaking of finish line, before I get to anything else, there was over-arching 'feeling' that I got from last night - that this forum was an effort to placate the masses, and possibly see off any potential spill motion at an AGM. It was never expressly mentioned in such words of course, but to me, the 'vibe' was a consistent pleading, or warning, to people to NOT burn down the house so to speak. 'We have a plan, if you try and spill it will just cause unrest and upheaval'. Hmmm..... I'm still very torn on it to be honest. This board and club has made some PHENOMENALLY poor decisions, do you just forget those now and let bygones be bygones? Or, like everyone else in every walk of life, do you hold them accountable for their performance? I'll mull on that for a bit....

So Little endorses Tanner as his replacement. Pause for shock from crowd - wait, no one is shocked? Ok, carry on. Up comes Tanner to speak. Now, if Little is a very dry, monotonous speaker, Tanner is like getting slapped in the face with the awesome stick. The bloke is eloquent, passionate and inspiring. I have no doubt that his approach, and his wording, was very well thought out as opposed to an off the cuff exuberance - and that's perfectly ok. I want the Chairman of this club to be able to think through his approach and act accordingly. He had my full support as Chairman before last night, my view has been reaffirmed by his confident and directed address.

I don't want to offer commentary on the entire hours worth of speeches, however I did note that Rob Kerr announced that Steinberg had been delisted (still no official announcement as far as I can see).

Now to Worsfold. Let me be very clear here, I believe the decision to sack Hird (and the continued reference to Hird 'resigning' seriously piss me off), was the worst in a very long line of poor decisions by those entrusted with the management of the club. Having said that, it's done. And in my opinion, despite some early reservations, Worsfold is the ideal appointment. He strikes me as authoritative, focused and ready.

Anyways, after the addresses, all of which can be seen on the club website, the questions came.

Ok.

I think it's fair to say, that despite having 60,000 members, you'll tend to get a reasonably consistent group of members that will show up to these sort of things.

Make no mistake people, in that group, we have some of the dumbest deadshits in the league supporting this club.

An AGM, as a formal and constituted meeting, it can actually be reasonably difficult to get an opportunity to question the decision makers at the club. So this forum, is really the first time that I can see an event which is somewhere in between that formal event and the chatting to a board member at some function level. In effect, it was designed purely FOR members to question.

You've all seen some of the questions asked. Some of them were ok. One guy echoed my thoughts on Hird quite well. Some questions were ok I guess, but seriously, you could have sent an email to the club for that. And some were just so ****ing moronic I almost wanted to check for the blue bus sitting outside the ground. I genuinely felt sorry for the club. We had a self made billionaire (or near enough), a highly respected federal politician, some highly intelligent executives and just generally some successful, smart people sitting on a stage listening to some ****ing mouth breather describe how he wakes up in a cold sweat because he sore shish smoke rising from the VFL dugout. Are you ****ing 'special'? How the **** did you survive in to adulthood? Did you drive to the ground? Because **** me I seriously doubt you could figure out myki....

I got about 40 minutes or so in to questions, and seriously couldn't handle the dumb anymore - so I left. Headed over to Platform 28 and ordered a beer.

Half an hour or so later, and all of a sudden I started noticing the tell tale red and black polos, shirts and ties heading towards the bar.

The entire board, the CEO, the senior coach, the CMO - basically the entire senior arm of the club rocked up at the bar. Here was a billionaire ordering a round of beers for everyone. Quite a sight.

I couldn't pass up an opportunity like this, so I wandered on over, politely introduced myself and had a couple of very quick words.

To Little: 'Thanks very much for putting this event on'

To Worsfold: 'Glad to have you on board, welcome to the club'; and shook the mans hand.

Worsfold seems like a top bloke, really does. Was quite warm and gracious.

And then I headed off home.

Ok, attended the members forum last night, here's a basic rundown of events/thoughts.

I wandered up to Gate 2 at approximately 6:50, and standing outside the gates mingling with a few people were Simon Madden, Xavier Campbell and a smattering of other staff members of the club. The impression it gave me was that it was rather deliberate, an act of saying 'we are approachable' type thing. I didn't stop to chat to anyone at the time and wandered on in to find a seat.

They had basically roped off a single section of the stands as the audience section, with the podium and presentation area sitting on the the turf of the stadium. Actually a pretty reasonable setup, it wouldn't be easy to find a space suitable for that many people, so it makes sense to use Etihad as a tenant club - plus, ya know, we play footy there (well we try).

Rodski effectively MC'd the hour long presentations by club officials. As always, the bloke strikes me as very switched on and bright for such a young guy.

Paul Little delivered his address, and it was very much the sort of thing I've come to expect from him. A very by the numbers approach. The bloke is a gifted businessman no doubt, no one can say he isn't. Very much a self made man and I have a great deal of respect for that; but GEEZ he can be dry. I can't really blame him to be honest, I doubt any Chairman or President in the history of the game has been thrown into a bigger pile of steaming shit than he was. For the last six months ago he's simply repeated the same thing ad nauseum in a public forum. At this point, I should note that I have strong reservations about Little's tenure. Several things that I strongly disagree with. That doesn't mean I don't maintain a very healthy respect for the man. I think he's looking forward to his own finish line at the club to be honest.

Speaking of finish line, before I get to anything else, there was over-arching 'feeling' that I got from last night - that this forum was an effort to placate the masses, and possibly see off any potential spill motion at an AGM. It was never expressly mentioned in such words of course, but to me, the 'vibe' was a consistent pleading, or warning, to people to NOT burn down the house so to speak. 'We have a plan, if you try and spill it will just cause unrest and upheaval'. Hmmm..... I'm still very torn on it to be honest. This board and club has made some PHENOMENALLY poor decisions, do you just forget those now and let bygones be bygones? Or, like everyone else in every walk of life, do you hold them accountable for their performance? I'll mull on that for a bit....

So Little endorses Tanner as his replacement. Pause for shock from crowd - wait, no one is shocked? Ok, carry on. Up comes Tanner to speak. Now, if Little is a very dry, monotonous speaker, Tanner is like getting slapped in the face with the awesome stick. The bloke is eloquent, passionate and inspiring. I have no doubt that his approach, and his wording, was very well thought out as opposed to an off the cuff exuberance - and that's perfectly ok. I want the Chairman of this club to be able to think through his approach and act accordingly. He had my full support as Chairman before last night, my view has been reaffirmed by his confident and directed address.

I don't want to offer commentary on the entire hours worth of speeches, however I did note that Rob Kerr announced that Steinberg had been delisted (still no official announcement as far as I can see).

Now to Worsfold. Let me be very clear here, I believe the decision to sack Hird (and the continued reference to Hird 'resigning' seriously piss me off), was the worst in a very long line of poor decisions by those entrusted with the management of the club. Having said that, it's done. And in my opinion, despite some early reservations, Worsfold is the ideal appointment. He strikes me as authoritative, focused and ready.

Anyways, after the addresses, all of which can be seen on the club website, the questions came.

Ok.

I think it's fair to say, that despite having 60,000 members, you'll tend to get a reasonably consistent group of members that will show up to these sort of things.

Make no mistake people, in that group, we have some of the dumbest deadshits in the league supporting this club.

An AGM, as a formal and constituted meeting, it can actually be reasonably difficult to get an opportunity to question the decision makers at the club. So this forum, is really the first time that I can see an event which is somewhere in between that formal event and the chatting to a board member at some function level. In effect, it was designed purely FOR members to question.

You've all seen some of the questions asked. Some of them were ok. One guy echoed my thoughts on Hird quite well. Some questions were ok I guess, but seriously, you could have sent an email to the club for that. And some were just so ******* moronic I almost wanted to check for the blue bus sitting outside the ground. I genuinely felt sorry for the club. We had a self made billionaire (or near enough), a highly respected federal politician, some highly intelligent executives and just generally some successful, smart people sitting on a stage listening to some ******* mouth breather describe how he wakes up in a cold sweat because he sore shish smoke rising from the VFL dugout. Are you ******* 'special'? How the **** did you survive in to adulthood? Did you drive to the ground? Because **** me I seriously doubt you could figure out myki....

I got about 40 minutes or so in to questions, and seriously couldn't handle the dumb anymore - so I left. Headed over to Platform 28 and ordered a beer.

Half an hour or so later, and all of a sudden I started noticing the tell tale red and black polos, shirts and ties heading towards the bar.

The entire board, the CEO, the senior coach, the CMO - basically the entire senior arm of the club rocked up at the bar. Here was a billionaire ordering a round of beers for everyone. Quite a sight.

I couldn't pass up an opportunity like this, so I wandered on over, politely introduced myself and had a couple of very quick words.

To Worsfold: 'Glad to have you on board, welcome to the club'; and shook the mans hand.

Great summary mate, much appreciated.

Surely you asked Little outside to share some efc-sanctioned shisha though?

Yeah but you've also genuinely considered that you should be a mod.

Wasn't a consideration at all. I most certainly should be your lord and master.

Ok.

You've all seen some of the questions asked. Some of them were ok. One guy echoed my thoughts on Hird quite well. Some questions were ok I guess, but seriously, you could have sent an email to the club for that. And some were just so ******* moronic I almost wanted to check for the blue bus sitting outside the ground. I genuinely felt sorry for the club. We had a self made billionaire (or near enough), a highly respected federal politician, some highly intelligent executives and just generally some successful, smart people sitting on a stage listening to some ******* mouth breather describe how he wakes up in a cold sweat because he sore shish smoke rising from the VFL dugout. Are you ******* 'special'? How the **** did you survive in to adulthood? Did you drive to the ground? Because **** me I seriously doubt you could figure out myki....

Thanks for the rundown mate, much appreciated

Wasn't a consideration at all. I most certainly should be your lord and master.
Hey I'm not going to disagree. Much better choice then the current flogs.

Ok.

You didn't ask him to shout you a beer? :P

Good summery Jade.

The issue I have with the (not directed at you here) the AGM spill the board is I am get to see a single person with any real plan forward how they would tackle things. It's just angry people angry with how things have been handled, as you said there are some fair enough reason to be feeling that way.

It's why I would be open to someone with a pan forward - at least to hear their viiews. But we have a bunch of people who seem to want the club to be run as some suburban footy club with no bodies members having a say on everything. The day members get a vote on things the club is screwed. Not to say we don't hold those running the club accountable for mistakes.