Recruiting EFC Trade/Draft Talk II with F/A rules in OP - Billings for a fourth rounder the latest rumour

What do we do with the #1 pick?

• Use it

Votes: 73 47.4%
  • Trade it for multiple top 10 picks

Votes: 65 42.2%
  • Trade it for players

Votes: 3 1.9%
  • Trade it for players and first round picks

Votes: 13 8.4%

Melbourne might have to grab him if Hogan is a risk of going home. It'd be a huge waste of their rebuild if he left just as thinks were starting to click and they didn't have a replacement KPF waiting in the wings. Didn't someone say he'd knocked back a $1.2mil contract extension?
Or would they look at curnow, bit more versatile and plays more like hogan?

On Edwards, how many players have been on the fringe for as long as he has and turned into real contributors?

I thought he had shown enough to persist with, but thinking about other examples like him coming good, and not many come to mind.

Hard to contribute when Hird showed a propensity to avoid playing the young kids at all even when our season was over. Also weren't his first two years at GWS - relatively hard to break into a team with a bigger list to choose from and the talent they had

At the moment, our list is at the point where we're probably better off giving him a full year of football for further senior football development.

Matt White, Sheppard, Picken, Aaron Hall are a few off the top of my head. The biggest one I can think of is Shane Edwards and they're very similar in ability IMO and name.

Anyone else think that Craig bird will do **** all in the next year or two?
Nah I'm stoked we picked him up. Tough defensive mid who rarely lets the team down. Only premiership player on our list. I'm not expecting him to set the world on fire, but I'm hoping he'll bring the consistency we so desperately lack.

Edwards stays. He's a nightmare for the opposition and can play a bit tall too. That helps Joe. And he can do some pretty cool stuff. You need guys like him. He gets backlines scrambling and can pull in a big mark. Perfect HFF.

On the other side of the coin he can be totally irrelevant for the whole game. Needs to work on consistency!

I question his desire. He's usually where the ball ain't, and that goes for a lot of his vfl performances as well.

Edwards stays. He's a nightmare for the opposition and can play a bit tall too. That helps Joe. And he can do some pretty cool stuff. You need guys like him. He gets backlines scrambling and can pull in a big mark. Perfect HFF.
If we snag Rioli, it will be very interesting to see how he gels with Edwards and Long. I reckon all 3 may push each other to the next level..... and possibly Dempsey as well. The aboriginal boys have a special understanding of how to create space for each other and they can play some exciting football.

I don't think anyone expects too
much from Bird. I have low expectations, but it seems we wouldn't have got pick 5 without taking Bird. In that case, I'm a bit whatevs with Bird. He might surprise.
I can't wait to see Bird in action. He is a Swans premiership player. He is a real goer and will add heaps to our midfield.

If we snag Rioli, it will be very interesting to see how he gels with Edwards and Long. I reckon all 3 may push each other to the next level..... and possibly Dempsey as well. The aboriginal boys have a special understanding of how to create space for each other and they can play some exciting football.

Are there any other indigenous lads in the draft? Let's get them all!

Aboriginal boys have a special understanding of how to create space for each other and they can play some exciting football.

What is wrong with you mate!?

And then for every Betts, there are 10 spuds.

Spud doesn't know nationality.

Whilst I agree that talented aboriginal players are very exciting to watch, not all aboriginals will be like that. Setting high expectations on a player that hasn't even been drafted yet.

Not sure what is going to happen to you if we don't take Rioli.

The VFL team may go a week further next year?

Carlton fared poorly financially in 2015.

I think Carlton should really be looking to employ more Jewish people.

They're great with money.

Im not sold on Edwards

His repeat efforts are almost non existent and his defensive side is pretty poor in general. After 5 years in the system you'd expect him to have a better tank than he does also

Has a lot of work to do

The aboriginal boys have a special understanding of how to create space for each other and they can play some exciting football.

That's just a myth, they're just like any other player. Some have great vision, others not so great.

Lets draft a team of indigenous kids, apparently we have ESP.
Bit surprised about how you guys got so worked re my appreciating the great skills of the aboriginal boys.

You exaggerate everything that I say. I say we should try to get Rioli at #24 or #25 and you come back and interpret this as meaning we should get home at 4 or 5 in an attempt to make my suggestion sound ridiculous.

I say that I believe that they indigenous boys could play really well together and you exaggerate that to mean I am saying we should get a whole team of indigenous kids.

Love having them at the club. You seem to have a real issue with them.

Maybe you should contact the club and tell them not to waste their time going to NT.

Bit surprised about how you guys got so worked re my appreciating the great skills of the aboriginal boys.

You exaggerate everything that I say. I say we should try to get Rioli at #24 or #25 and you come back and interpret this as meaning we should get home at 4 or 5 in an attempt to make my suggestion sound ridiculous.

I say that I believe that they indigenous boys could play really well together and you exaggerate that to mean I am saying we should get a whole team of indigenous kids.

Love having them at the club. You seem to have a real issue with them.

Maybe you should contact the club and tell them not to waste their time going to NT.
Racial stereotyping (even when it's a positive stereotype) can be damaging.