Egan update

The Mission: Bought mine at Borders Melbourne Central yesterday. They had lots of copies and if you go to http://www.ozbargain.com.au/ you can get a voucher that expires Thurs that lets you pick it up for about $25. Bargain, absolute bargain.

Great news, but as for him making it back for the finals, nothing but pipe dreams. Without having had any proper training for close enough to a year Egan's fitness base will not be anywhere near that required to play AFL football. We can only hope his recovery goes well enough to allow him a full preseason. He's still young, and started relatively late, so he's the type of player who could well be around for another 10 years. No sense in rushing things.

So your saying he could have gone on loan to Melbourne for the last 3 rounds and won their B&F, yes?

There was an article recently saying that he had the club's permission to go up to the Gold Coast for a while to work with the physio who got Mick Fanning back on track. She is a CHEK practioner

CHEK stands for Corrective Holistic Exercise Kinesiology. It's a strict program involving all facets of life: diet, exercise, stretching, nutrition, hydration etc... Basic theory is the body is made of a hub and spokes and focuses on stengthening 'hub' core muscles and the other 'spoke' muscles

They work a lot with golfers too

http://www.chekinstitute.com/index.cfm

If anyone knows Matthew wish him all the best. I am not that sure how much CHEK will help him because as far as I understand it his injury will only get better with good blood flow to the affected area. Surf and sun of the Goldy can't hurt there

Mick Fanning's injury was a hamstring torn off the bone so it's a bit different to what Matthew has. Also CHEK practioners do not have the skills and knowledge to read X-Rays which could be an issue for him...

Hope he gets better soon!! We need him to handle monsters like Cloke, Franklin and Brown

http://www.news.com.au/heraldsun/sport/afl/story/0,26576,24152965-19742,00.html

Injured Geelong player Matthew Egan heads north for treatment

Craig Hutchison | August 10, 2008 12:00am

INJURED Geelong star Matthew Egan's future may rely heavily on the Gold Coast. The 25-year-old is believed to be heading north to seek treatment for the foot injury from holistic healer Jan Carton, the woman responsible for rebuilding the body of current world surfing champion Mick Fanning.
Carton's approach, known as CHEK (Corrective Holistic Exercise Kinesiology), is to treat the cause of injuries instead of the symptoms by using massage, strength training and isolation techniques.
The technique has been more commonly associated with professional surfers, with Fanning crediting his recovery after tearing his hamstring off the bone in 2004 to Carton's program.
The Cats are reluctant to talk about Egan's private medical treatment.
Geelong football operations manager Neil Balme said Egan was still a long way off playing.
"Matthew is impatient and wants to be playing, but he understands this is an important time in his recovery," Balme said.

Related info on Egan's treatment. Surfers will find interesting too.

If this can take Mick Fanning to world title, then hopefully Matty can make it back to All Australian form

http://www.theage.com.au/news/sport...R7zwCZ_eqwOehaWJAw?page=fullpage#contentSwap1

How quick Mick landed a world crown

November 17, 2007

"...
Physical wellbeing became a cause for Fanning in 2004 when a freakish and serious hamstring injury threatened his career. Surfing one of Indonesia's more remote reefs, he fell and felt the excruciating sensation of his hamstring, along with sundry tendons, rip from the bone. Complex surgery was required — a grappling hook was fed through an incision in his buttock and attached to a hip, to which the hamstring and tendons were reconnected — and six months out of the surf followed. During this time, he had little choice but to painfully rehabilitate his leg and soberly consider what was very nearly lost.
And, as it happened, found.
The team of therapists and trainers that oversaw his rehabilitation is with Fanning still, three years on. The team does not travel with him to every contest, as so-called pit boss and confidant Matt Griggs does, or as coach Phil McNamara did on three occasions this year, but he remains a devotee of the CHEK (Corrective Holistic Exercise Kinesiology) program he was introduced to in 2004."

http://www.surfingthemag.com/news/s...ur/mick-fanning-training-program-chek-030508/

SURFING speaks with Mick Fanning’s trainer Jan Carton about the CHEK training system

CHEK Australia -
[FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]A Case S[/FONT][FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]tudy[/FONT]
http://www.chekaustralia.com.au/4.html

[FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]Client Name: Mick Fanning. (Professional World Surfer WCT.)[/FONT]
[FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]Age:(at time of study) 24 y.o.[/FONT]
[FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]Driver for selecting this program: At 24, Mick suffered a terrible career threatening injury whilst surfing and had to undergo delicate surgery to repair his injured leg. The injury and the surgery were very unique and Mick’s career as a Professional Surfer was seriously in question.[/FONT]
[FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]Mick also had the usual overuse patterns and postural problems consistent with many years of surfing.[/FONT]
[FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]Length of Program: Rehabilitation: 6 months[/FONT]
[FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]Current: Ongoing maintenance of C.H.E.K. High Performance Sports Specific Training.[/FONT]
[FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]The C.H.E.K. Approach[/FONT]
[FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]Initially referred to CHEK Australia by well known Chiropractor Chris Prosser and on advice from the Orthopedic Surgeon, Mick commenced work with Jan Carton as soon as the stitches had been removed.[/FONT]
[FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]Initial Kinetic Chain and Health/Lifestyle Assessments were carried out to allow evaluation of the current status on stability, strengths and weaknesses in areas of flexibility, movement, strength, performance, lifestyle, and nutrition. Re-establishing homeostasis throughout his entire body was essential to develop an individualised C.H.E.K. Corrective Exercise Program to ensure success.[/FONT]
[FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]The Challenge[/FONT]
[FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]September 2004, the real challenge was to hold the leg intact during the very delicate initial phases of rehabilitation for Mick.[/FONT]
[FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]The C.H.E.K. Programme[/FONT]
[FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]Phase 1[/FONT]
[FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]The first phase of the Corrective Exercise Program emphasised Neuromuscular Isolation work; teaching Mick’s Brain to re communicate with the injured limb and re establishing the Spinal Engine in Gait. At the same time it was crucial to the healing process that we CHEK Australia provided education to Mick on the Nutrition & Mind/Body connection.[/FONT]
[FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]Phase 2[/FONT]
[FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]By late November 2004, Mick was given the go ahead from the Orthopedic Surgeon to begin surfing again, very gently. Mick’s goals were reassessed by Jan Carton. With the Quick Silver Pro Contest (the first of the year for the World Pro tour) in March of 2005 Mick decided he not only wanted to enter it, he was going to smash his way back onto the Tour and win![/FONT]
[FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]With a short time frame to work within a detailed C.H.E.K. Periodised Training Program was designed to bring his body to high performance peak by March 2005.[/FONT]
[FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]To achieve and maintain this level of performance, Mick’s very detailed program encompassed the following training protocols in order of application:[/FONT]
[FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]Static Strength, Strength, Power, Muscular Endurance Medium, and Dynamic Strength, Power endurance, (all specific to surfing – Movement Patterns and Energy Systems Specific) Tilting & Equilibrium, and Force Velocity Training.[/FONT]
[FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]Conclusion[/FONT]
[FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]Mick is 200% focused, disciplined in every way, and committed to him self and his surfing goals. Every C.H.E.K. Practitioners dream client to work with![/FONT]
[FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]Mick’s body/function and performance improved dramatically between phases 1 and 2. Mick won the Quick Silver Pro Contest and smashed everyone in his path!!![/FONT]
[FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]The World Championship Tour is long and extends over a 9 month period. Mick continues a very stringent C.H.E.K. Maintenance Training and Health Program covering all aspects of Body/Mind integration while on tour throughout the year.[/FONT]
[FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]One of CHEK Australia’s most important focuses with Mick is to prevent any chance of overuse injury from his sport and to further enhance his performance and health at all times.[/FONT]
[FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]2005, Mick’s first year back on tour he finished the year in 3rd position on the World Ranking.[/FONT]
[FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]At the time of writing Mick is in 2nd position on the World Tour December 2006.[/FONT]

I miss him heaps !!!!!!! But he needs to get it right b4 rushing back again lol i want him back in the side fit n spunky like always....:p:D

Look, I hope the best for Matty (i really do, he is a super gun), but my mother in law is a kinesiology chick, and i just dont trust her.... but if it gets Matty back to footy more healthy...then do what ever you can.. just my 2 cents worth.. if it's worth anything

Look, I hope the best for Matty (i really do, he is a super gun), but my fiance's mother in law is a kinesiology chick, and i just dont trust her.... but if it gets Matty back to footy more healthy...then do what ever you can.. just my 2 cents worth.. if it's worth anything

best name of BF mate :thumbsu::D