Mega Thread Elimination final opponent discussion

I just wanna see you flogs out as quick as possible. Your a blight on the game the way your players snipe players behind the play and Lyon's arrogance is putrid!

Payback biatch :p

You won't be getting the home field free kicks this time and midget Ballantyne will be tested every single contest.
Cats by 41 points

Good luck. :D

Again, what you said about my assessments is spot-on. But that's what I do. Don't let it get to you, be glad you have a more realistic and balanced appraisal of the situations.

Sheesh mate if I had your outlook I'd seriously consider topping myself, or at the very least giving footy away.

:)

Just kiddin' if it helps you cope then go for it.

I just wanna see you flogs out as quick as possible. Your a blight on the game the way your players snipe players behind the play and Lyon's arrogance is putrid!

Payback biatch :p

You won't be getting the home field free kicks this time and midget Ballantyne will be tested every single contest.
Cats by 41 points

Good to see some passion already :thumbsu:

Fair enough but I seem them as the weakest team in the 8 and they have probably the worst midfield of all the teams in the 8, Mundy, Hill, Pearce, Fyfe, Crowley and Barlow are nothing special.
They will get exposed when it's physical and Corey, Bartel, Selwood will bash and crash like today which eventually wore down a team that prides themselves on that style of game.

Taylor on a suspect Pavlich is going to be a ripping contest and now we have two very athletic ruckman who will at least do a decent job against Sandilands and Clarke when we were comprehensively beaten in RD1 when Stephenson failed miserably leaving West to contend by himself for the 2nd half.

Dawson is the biggest dud to grace a backline and without McPharlin they now have to move Dawson onto Hawkins which then means Pods becomes the danger man.
Cats easily :thumbsu:

You've convinced me, anything less then a ten goal win now will be a huge disappointment. ;)

I don't trust Lyon as a coach, very clever, and will try his arse off to stifle us. Glad it is not at Etihad. We have a great finals record v Freo at the G.

Sheesh mate if I had your outlook I'd seriously consider topping myself, or at the very least giving footy away.

:)

Just kiddin' if it helps you cope then go for it.
Yep, that's it.

Such a good win today by the boys means considering our tough season, we can have a real crack at the flag this year. Am confident we make it to the Prelim. Would love to knock the Pies out of another Prelim and rematch the Hawks in the GF. Redemption is nigh!

Really happy with how the boys are playing atm, sustained form since about round 16-17, playing really well and beating top 4 sides, anything less than a 6 goal win would be a sup par performance, can see geelong breaking the game open in the second and third quarters, and take it easy in the last

Its pretty simple really. To win this first up final against Freo our Cats will surely bring a more disciplined approach than our round one efforts against them this year and of course we have addressed our poor starts in the past 6 or so weeks. Our round one start against Freo was nearly as bad as our first up effort against Sydney earlier this year. Throw in the loss of Mcpharlin and our overwhelming tackling pressure and you would be very disappointed if we didnt get the chocolates. Looking beyond that you would suggest a Cats vs Swans final in Sydney(very possible win) and a Cats v Hawks preliminary final which would be a huge ask for our lads. You never write em off though. If you said midway through the year we would make a prelim final, you would have been referred to the nearest mental health facility in record time. Great upside for this Great Club in 2013 and beyond and also a sniff this year. Its exciting stuff for us Cat fans who dont know how blessed we are.

Scarlett and Chapman better take the anger management pills before the game though because that little turd Ballentyne will be prancing around sniping them behind play all game and I would hate for either of them to get reported unnecessarily during an easy win against an out-of-their-depth Fremantle.

Fair enough but I seem them as the weakest team in the 8 and they have probably the worst midfield of all the teams in the 8, Mundy, Hill, Pearce, Fyfe, Crowley and Barlow are nothing special.
They will get exposed when it's physical and Corey, Bartel, Selwood will bash and crash like today which eventually wore down a team that prides themselves on that style of game.

Taylor on a suspect Pavlich is going to be a ripping contest and now we have two very athletic ruckman who will at least do a decent job against Sandilands and Clarke when we were comprehensively beaten in RD1 when Stephenson failed miserably leaving West to contend by himself for the 2nd half.

Dawson is the biggest dud to grace a backline and without McPharlin they now have to move Dawson onto Hawkins which then means Pods becomes the danger man.
Cats easily :thumbsu:
Wow.
Been having a peak at this thread to see how we're rated amongst Cats fans, most of you seem fairly realistic... as in, yes you're definitely favourites (particularly in view of recent form).
In fact I think you're going to go a long, long, way this finals series... provided, of course, that we don't cause an upset.

... but the guy I've just quoted has no idea.

Worst midfield in the 8? On paper, probably. Yet they seem to be dominating at the moment.Strange.
A suspect Pav? No comment required.
Exposed when it's physical? Not this year, laddie. We're usually the ones bringing it.
Clarke probably won't be playing. Dawson is serviceable, he's proven himself many times this year.

And as for the easy run home.. yes, I'll give you that. But of the three teams considered finals front runners at the time, we easily accounted for WCE, smashed North, and lost to Adelaide in Adelaide missing a few key players. WCE were in conniptions at the prospect of facing us in an elimination final.

Losing McPharlin for this game is the big blow, Hawkins may well prove to be the difference in a close game.