Ellinbank FL

KWR look to be back on track with good wins over Longwarry and NNS in the last 2 weeks.

Cora Lynn 3rds kick 32 goals with one player bagging 17. Are they both league records?

I felt so bad for our 3rds yesterday we only had 15 turn up and Cora Lynn lent us a couple of blokes which were pretty handy as well. I've never seen a 3rds team play so well together they were very very impressive and should win the flag again very easily.

From what I saw of Lang Lang on the weekend it's going to be tough work in the western conference of the new league. Would need a lot of improvement and with no thirds it's not going to be easy.

Was always going to be tough with so many guys out on the weekend. We simply don't have the depth to cover 8-10 injuries. At full strength we can compete with anyone but we drop off pretty sharply after our best 21.

Nick Lang, Aaron Creasey, Bodie Brown, Ryan Thomas, Jarrod Tonks and Corey Batt
Then have Sean Dwyer & Hadley Tomamichael still yet to play this year.

I would have all them 8 guys in our top 15 along with Batt x 2, Ben Dwyer, Troy McPherson, Kieran Roberts, Toby Godbehere and John Nichols.

Then have Jimmy Arandale, Jake van Hoesel and Jordy Parker out on the weekend who would all be pushing for selection at full strength and definitely be in the weekends side.

You're right though, it's gonna be hard to compete with the teams in the West. Injuries are a part of footy and you have got to be able to replace them. Senior squad really needs to be 30 guys. At the moment ours is probably more like 22-23 blokes. I reckon you guys would probably be in a similar boat, whereas sides like Cora Lynn, Garfield and Bunyip seem to have ready made replacements.

Nyora played well on the weekend. Like you said you guys just wanted it more. Some of the efforts from our blokes were terrible. Looking at your scores you guys are a 5-10 goal better side at home. Similar story with us. We haven't won away from home yet this year. Seems to be the case with a lot of the teams in the bottom half of the ladder.

Nick Lang, Aaron Creasey, Bodie Brown, Ryan Thomas, Jarrod Tonks and Corey Batt
Then have Sean Dwyer & Hadley Tomamichael still yet to play this year.

I would have all them 8 guys in our top 15 along with Batt x 2, Ben Dwyer, Troy McPherson, Kieran Roberts, Toby Godbehere and John Nichols.

Then have Jimmy Arandale, Jake van Hoesel and Jordy Parker out on the weekend who would all be pushing for selection at full strength and definitely be in the weekends side.

You're right though, it's gonna be hard to compete with the teams in the West. Injuries are a part of footy and you have got to be able to replace them. Senior squad really needs to be 30 guys. At the moment ours is probably more like 22-23 blokes. I reckon you guys would probably be in a similar boat, whereas sides like Cora Lynn, Garfield and Bunyip seem to have ready made replacements.

Nyora played well on the weekend. Like you said you guys just wanted it more. Some of the efforts from our blokes were terrible. Looking at your scores you guys are a 5-10 goal better side at home. Similar story with us. We haven't won away from home yet this year. Seems to be the case with a lot of the teams in the bottom half of the ladder.

We have been a much better side at home for a while, we beat Catani and Lang Lang and Lost to bunyip by a point. Not sure if we play a lot better there or other teams really struggle or probably its a combination of both. Think we were only missing 2-3 from our best 22.

You need to build that depth and its bloody hard without under 18s, each year you need kids topping up your list.

Yeah we got some good talent coming through the under 15's though so hopefully we can hold onto them. One in playing in the seniors already and I reckon there could be a couple more next year.

That young kid looked alright, was he the one that gave away the 50? Does a 15 year old still have to buy a slab for that??

Think we had 2 under 18s play on the weekend, had 4 play this year which is good.

Cant believe you blokes let our Fat FF kick 7 goals, thats embarrasing!!

So the split has been confirmed for next season at the league meeting last night. There is a rumour on Facebook that 5 clubs are looking to join the EDFL, making it an ideal 2 divisions of 10 teams each. Anyone know or care to speculate who the 5 clubs are?

No idea who the clubs are, but ones mentioned in rumors have been the likes of Phillip Island, Kilcunda Bass, Korumburra and Tooradin. They'd all slot into the west nicely and allow lang lang to be the 9th team in the east? Apparenty Yarram aren't too keen on the long trips to the island or kilcunda. I have to say though that this is all third, forth fifth hand etc, no facts, just stories. Would be interesting to see if these clubs actually have any interest.

The 5 teams are all from Alberton I believe, Killy Bass, Phillip Island, Korumburrra, Inverloch and Dalyston (all the Bass Valley teams in the Alberton league). This would push Lang Lang and Catani into the Western Division.

Why do we need promotion and relegation Surkin? Whats wrong with just having 2 seperate leagues like MPNFL? The league can always review and move teams if they see fit. I dont think winning 1 senior premiership puts a club in the postion to move up and play a better league. If Darnum win a flag they should have to go and play all the west clubs, they will get smashed across every grade and go straight back. And in this new structure junior age groups will probably not be the same in each division.

Promotion/relegation has proven to work Leo. Look at the VAFA and the Eastern League. Clubs have been known to win premierships in one division then go up and win the flag in the higher division. Clubs generally find there level and there is not as much yo-yoing as you suggest.

What happens if Nyora get a group of players like they did 10 years ago? Those players deserve a crack at the best team. I reckon clubs would have better luck keeping their locals too if they have a chance to go and play at the higher level.

Promotion/relegation has proven to work Leo. Look at the VAFA and the Eastern League. Clubs have been known to win premierships in one division then go up and win the flag in the higher division. Clubs generally find there level and there is not as much yo-yoing as you suggest.

What happens if Nyora get a group of players like they did 10 years ago? Those players deserve a crack at the best team. I reckon clubs would have better luck keeping their locals too if they have a chance to go and play at the higher level.

Eastern and VAFA are completely different though, larger population bases mean clubs can move up and find it easier to recruit players, Ammos the gap between divisions is very small. I dont know of any country leagues where it works, MPNFL had it and that didnt work so they went back to regions.

If Nyora was in the higher division then the juniors would be losing by 20 goals every week, not good for the retention of kids which is hard enough as it is. If the west ends up with under 18,16,14,12 how will any of the smaller clubs have enough kids for 4 age groups and enough people to play juniors on sunday which may happen.

YVMDFL two divisions works ok, but they dont have any juniors, even the under 18s play in one separate division. All juniors play in a separate comp.
My personally opinion is that the west teams may as well just form their own league now, and not worry about the EDFL. They'd then have full control over finals dates etc etc. As it stands, with more teams in the east, its possible that when things are voted on it will follow league lines, and therefor more outcomes could suit the East.

Cora Lynn have already organised a meeting (or had one) with all West teams to try and do exactly that Bards. The EDFL are not happy at all.

But what did they expect, clubs to go " yeah, no worries, we'll play in a six team comp"? Clubs have every right to access their options. I have no idea what bunyip want to do, but if it was me, I'd form a separate league.

Do we know the make up of the vote? I thought it was predominately driven by teams that ended up in the east, but would like to know who voted for what if its public knowledge.

Ellinbank FL