Ellinbank FL

The way the AFL cant decide from week to week how they interpret rules makes it even harder for local umpires. I assume our umpires get the same videos and explanations of rules that the AFL gets.

Umpire standard has always been poor in this league, not much we can do about it though unless more ex players take up umpiring.

Umpires we had on the weekend were excellent. Think the key was they didn't pay too many free kicks. Nothing worse than when you get umpires who wan't to get involved in the game when it isn't necessary.

We had 13 to 1 paid against us last week in 1 quarter. 14 free's in 1 quarter is alot, let alone 13 against and only 1 for.

We usually get 3 umpires most weeks, so its always funny watching them try get in on the action at the start of each quarter and then try maintain the same rules throughout the rest of the game.... Which is always interpreted and umpired in 3 different ways.

Hey mate- Kimber is going to the tribunal tomorrow night... No idea about Bunyip and their player.

Umpiring in this comp = The rules change from quarter to quarter.

Umpiring at Cora Lynn on Saturday was baffling at times. Seemed to go our way in the first half then swung to Cora Lynn in the second half (which did reflect general play). Kimber seemed to be carded and reported, ran off the ground and then came back on after about 2 minutes. Pretty sure you can't be reported but not sent off? Very confusing. Also hate to see an umpire overrule another from 50 metres away when the umpire 10 metres away has an unimpeded view.

After being told he was reported, Kimber thought he was carded aswell so he came off. But no umpire actually displayed any card, so we sent the runner out to ask the question and the umpire said "no card, but he is reported".. So he went back on. Very confusing!

The report itself... Well thats another story. I've tackled my BF harder than that.

Agree on the umpiring in the CL V Dusties game. The rules changed each quarter for both teams.

After being told he was reported, Kimber thought he was carded aswell so he came off. But no umpire actually displayed any card, so we sent the runner out to ask the question and the umpire said "no card, but he is reported".. So he went back on. Very confusing!

The report itself... Well thats another story. I've tackled my BF harder than that.

Agree on the umpiring in the CL V Dusties game. The rules changed each quarter for both teams.

We had 3 umpires as well on Saturday which I think causes more problems as than it solves.

Once instance an umpire side on called play on in a marking contest and the other umpire was only about 15 metres away on a 45 degree angle in front of the contest called a push in the back.

Play is not fast enough on a small ground like Nyora to ever warrant 3 umpires, they just end up in each others way and not knowing who is in control which causes confusion for the players and the umpires. 3 umpire system is about getting free kicks for holding off the ball around contests and at FF/FB away from the play. These umpires dont position themselves in the right spot with 3 umpires to do this.

Last night the league voted on the East West division for next year. I hear all clubs were represented apart from Lang Lang. So it will go to the delegates meeting to be approved in a couple of weeks.

But looks like next year the two leagues could look like this:
East:
NNS
Buln Buln
Ellinbank
Nyora
Poowong
Nilma
Longwarry

West:
Garfield
Bunyip
Cora Lynn
NNG
Koo Wee Rup
Lang Lang
Catani
Dusties

Obviously they will be looking to recruit at least one other club to make it 8 teams for both comps. But hopefully this gets approved so that we are seeing more competitive footy each week. Hopefully (But I doubt it) it will stop players being paid well over their market value and believing that they are actually worth the amount they are being paid.

It's killing clubs, and it looks as though players are more interested in getting paid each week, than holding up the cup at the end of the year.

Thats a great result.

Players will always be overpaid and that will never change. But now the smaller clubs can worry about trying to make finals than just trying to put a side on the park just trying to survive the season.

How are Dusties in west? You have to drive past Longwarry to get to Warragul. Why don't they just call it Division A and Division B and have promotion/relegation. What happens if the Dusties turn into a basket case again in 3 years time?

They were orginally in the East, but requested to be in the West. I believe they will stay as mentioned above for the first couple of years, with a promotion relegation system to be put be in place after the divisions have been settled.

They should leave those divisions for the first couple of years and then have a look at it again and see whats working and what isnt. Either way its better than what we have now. 7 teams is not the best, be good to get to at least 8.

Anyone know if the final interleague team has been picked and where the game is at next weekend??

They should leave those divisions for the first couple of years and then have a look at it again and see whats working and what isnt. Either way its better than what we have now. 7 teams is not the best, be good to get to at least 8.

Anyone know if the final interleague team has been picked and where the game is at next weekend??

Speaking to one of the guys and the team hasn't been picked, and squad won't be cut. Team will be announced next Thurs. The game is played at Inverloch.

Have most of the top players made themselves available?

Mjrob, you playing?? Many blokes at CL playing?

Hey mate, nah no game for me. I booked a holiday to Bali when the draw came out thinking we had the bye.

I redid my hamstring on the weekend, plenty of good forwards there so I dont know if they would have been able to squeeze me in anyway!

As far as I know all our guys that were picked are keen to play. Dalton, Kimber, Payne, Gillis and Allen maybe off the top of my head?

7 teams isnt so bad.

21 Rounds. Play each other 3 times with 3 byes on a 2 year rotation, so everyone plays everyone at home and away 3 times over 2 years.

Pretty easy, I reckon. An 8th team could also work with 21 rounds with the above-mentioned 2 year turnaround. No real big issue to look for an 8th club.

7 teams isnt so bad.

21 Rounds. Play each other 3 times with 3 byes on a 2 year rotation, so everyone plays everyone at home and away 3 times over 2 years.

Pretty easy, I reckon. An 8th team could also work with 21 rounds with the above-mentioned 2 year turnaround. No real big issue to look for an 8th club.

7 is OK to start with unless we lose a club. Lang Lang was the undecided club because they didnt go to the meeting and put in a preference of where they wanted to play.

Also heard Buln Buln had approached the Mid Gippsland league prior to this meeting. I would assume they would stay in the Ellinbank league if this went through.

7 is OK to start with unless we lose a club. Lang Lang was the undecided club because they didnt go to the meeting and put in a preference of where they wanted to play.

Also heard Buln Buln had approached the Mid Gippsland league prior to this meeting. I would assume they would stay in the Ellinbank league if this went through.

Cant see the Mid Gippy league letting anyone else in. 10 is perfect and other than Mirboo Nth, none of the other teams spend more than 30 minutes on the road to get to other grounds.

I think others have tried in the past and been sent packing.

Reckon the only way it would happen is if the VCFL ruled it to happen, but even then I think there is an appeals process that could be used.

Take yarr
Last night the league voted on the East West division for next year. I hear all clubs were represented apart from Lang Lang. So it will go to the delegates meeting to be approved in a couple of weeks.

But looks like next year the two leagues could look like this:
East:
NNS
Buln Buln
Ellinbank
Nyora
Poowong
Nilma
Longwarry

West:
Garfield
Bunyip
Cora Lynn
NNG
Koo Wee Rup
Lang Lang
Catani
Dusties

Obviously they will be looking to recruit at least one other club to make it 8 teams for both comps. But hopefully this gets approved so that we are seeing more competitive footy each week. Hopefully (But I doubt it) it will stop players being paid well over their market value and believing that they are actually worth the amount they are being paid.

It's killing clubs, and it looks as though players are more interested in getting paid each week, than holding up the cup at the end of the year.

Take yarragon they r crap

Ellinbank FL