elliot blacklisting - theories please

don't see me bagging McGrath, s.waugh who are clearly amongst the best in the land, and the world.

Don't see me bagging (too much) the selection of Katich on form?

if you earn your spot, you deserve selection.

sure I'm a vic, but a fan of boof, haydo's, gilly.

also defended Martyn on this forum, saying his form isn't that bad.

sure I'm spruiking our bowlers, they are the best in the land at the moment (combined)

What a bunch of whinging Victorians.

I know you guys haven't got to see many of your blokes play at test level in recent years but face the facts, as stated there has been no reason to change the top order in recent years.

But I guess you would rather just drop people who have been doing a good job at test level because someone else is doing well at state level.

Sheesh look past your bias and your bitterness.

yeah doing well

list of chronic hacks playing test cricket in recent years from cricinfo

bing lee last 20 testsvs career

Mat Runs HS BatAv 100 50 W BB BowlAv 5w Ct St

unfiltered 37 593 62* 19.76 0 2 139 5/47 31.66 4 9 0
filtered 20 265 46 15.58 0 0 67 4/63 39.40 0 8 0

****er last 10/20 tests
unfiltered 74 5312 219 42.83 14 21 1 1/4 10.00 0 33 0
filtered 20 1133 143 34.33 1 7 0 - - 0 10
filtered 10 636 96 37.41 0 4 0 - - 0 3 0

jnr last 10

unfiltered 128 8029 153* 41.81 20 47 59 5/40 41.16 1 181 0
filtered 10 506 86 33.73 0 4 3 2/43 72.33 0 20 0

I could go on, but really the returns by these players are really ordinary and it makes you wonder would any other player get as soft a run from the selectors?

Originally posted by dan warna
yeah doing well

list of chronic hacks playing test cricket in recent years from cricinfo

bing lee last 20 testsvs career

Mat Runs HS BatAv 100 50 W BB BowlAv 5w Ct St

unfiltered 37 593 62* 19.76 0 2 139 5/47 31.66 4 9 0
filtered 20 265 46 15.58 0 0 67 4/63 39.40 0 8 0

****er last 10/20 tests
unfiltered 74 5312 219 42.83 14 21 1 1/4 10.00 0 33 0
filtered 20 1133 143 34.33 1 7 0 - - 0 10
filtered 10 636 96 37.41 0 4 0 - - 0 3 0

jnr last 10

unfiltered 128 8029 153* 41.81 20 47 59 5/40 41.16 1 181 0
filtered 10 506 86 33.73 0 4 3 2/43 72.33 0 20 0

I could go on, but really the returns by these players are really ordinary and it makes you wonder would any other player get as soft a run from the selectors?

So you'd banish M.Waugh for a recent average of 34, but Elliott was a victim of treachery with an average of 35?

did elliot get the chances that m.waugh got? 3 years of no return?

does brad williams? did martyn love? (poor bugger got his ave just under 50 and then gets the choparoonie)

as for second chances, lehmann got his test call again after many years, as did hayden, is this haydens second or third recall? his career got of to a spluttering start.

if not for the protection of slats, hayden would have 8k runs at 50 plus at test level by now!

how was Slater protected??

He produced good cricket for the country time and time again. Got the chop once and fought back into the team in 97/98 and played good consistent cricket for 3 years before poor form against India and England saw him get the chop for good (at which point Hayden was just begining to dominate and Langer was given a shot at opener and took it with both hands).

In Elliots time for Australia, outside of that 199 he didn't really do anything major. He got his average up to 50, than it dropped down to 35 from 20 tests. When someones trying to establish themselves into a team going 6 tests in a row with only 3 scores in double figures will always see someone dropped.

A guy whose averaged is 35 from 20 tests doesn't command the respect a guys whose average was 44 from 50 tests.

that chip against NSW just gets bigger and bigger. maybe its because our trophy cabinet is just a little too full :)

did elliot get the chances that m.waugh got? 3 years of no return?

And how many years of terrific service did it take for M. Waugh to actaully get ONE year of no return before getting the chop. Look at his performances. He averaged 53 in 2000, 44 in 2001 and than in 2002;

7 tests, 268 @ 26.80, with 2 half centuries and HS of 58.

He got the chop after that.

After 121 tests of very good solid service he got the chop after 7 ordinary tests. and at the time i agreed, it was time to move on.

Elliot had 14 tests of pretty good service, and had 6 pathetic tests. of course he was gonna get dropped.

and since than the doors has never been open as our opening batsmen have been superb.

Bad luck MTG Elliot. You had your chance. Didn't take it. You still may get it as your only 32 and got years left in you, especially when you have ones like this. but when you had the chance to cement yourself in the team, you didn't take it. bad luck.

BTW Martin Love will still play lots of test cricket for Australia

also looking Mark Waugh year by year stats made me remember the period around 97 when he was facing major pressure after a rough period in the team (mainly due to a shocking Ashes series). He nearly god the chop than and rewarded them with his best year on record.

Originally posted by Black Thunder

that chip against NSW just gets bigger and bigger. maybe its because our trophy cabinet is just a little too full :)

I remember one year dropping into the NSW Cricketer's Association in Barrack Street for a beer and a look at yet another Shield won.

As I stared at the fine Shield losing count of how many NSW badges it had on it (40 odd?), an old bloke was watching me. "That's right, mate" he said, "It's back to where it belongs".

What do they give out these days - a milk jug?

elliot, hodge and hussey are better than clarke and katich

warne is better than mcgill, hogg and white is as good as mcgill on current form.

everyone in victoria, first x1, second x1 and most of the middle aged hacks in district cricket are better than bracken and most are better than nicholson too.

the fact is there are fewer NSW being selected in Aus, that the heydey of tubby, ****s, bevan, m.waugh, s.waugh, mcgrath, so they pick out the least worst and give them a guernsey, like hadden, brocken, bing etc.

You are seriously a fool. Darky, Dry Rot etc this guy is nothing like the rest of us. Though given he's a Vic, he must have a superiority complex, not inferiority. ;)

I must say I agree that it’s disgusting about White not being on the $20 note ahead of Kingsford Smith. Actually, Kingsford Smith was from Sydney wasn’t he? More bloody NSW bias!

You want to know why Elliott was blacklisted - well here is the rumour I heard, I can't believe it hasn't cropped up yet. I have no idea how accurate it is, if at all, but here goes -

When Elliott was in England, he fooled around a bit on the side. Somehow his missus found out, and when she confronted him with it, his excuse was that "all the boys did it when on tour". His missus then went and told all the other missuses, and the proverbial hit the fan.

As you can imagine, MTG would not be too popular with the team.

There it is for what it's worth, it may be absolute cr*p, but it's certainly a ripper of a rumour...

Originally posted by P76
You want to know why Elliott was blacklisted - well here is the rumour I heard, I can't believe it hasn't cropped up yet. I have no idea how accurate it is, if at all, but here goes -

When Elliott was in England, he fooled around a bit on the side. Somehow his missus found out, and when she confronted him with it, his excuse was that "all the boys did it when on tour". His missus then went and told all the other missuses, and the proverbial hit the fan.

As you can imagine, MTG would not be too popular with the team.

There it is for what it's worth, it may be absolute cr*p, but it's certainly a ripper of a rumour...

Actually come to think of it I have heard that one. And I agree, it's a beauty!

Originally posted by phatandphreaky
We've been playing good cricket, hell the best cricket in the land, for 6 months.

We are sitting two games clear atop the table, with two batsmen who have scored 2100 runs and 9 centuries between them, and yet we can't get a national selector to watch us, and you honestly expect Chuck to keep quiet about it? Get real.

Any captain worth his salt would push up for his teammates, and also highlight ineptitude and laziness from national selectors.

And I'm sure that the selectors don't sit down and review tapes of Victorian games :rolleyes:

Originally posted by Zeke
Has anyone ever considered that Elliot just might not have what it takes to sustain a successfull career at the highest level?

Yes, zeke we have considered it, and we know that he did / does have what it takes.

Certainly better than the BNG, bit behind Haydo though

The P76 rumour was certainly doing the rounds for a while and, who knows, it might have legs.

The source I heard it from even asserted that, if you check the dates, it coincides with marital problems for Damien Martyn.

Scuttlebutt - but who knows?

An average of 35 is not the best, but 3 centuries and 4 fifties gave an indication of what would have happened.

Hayden's average after 20 tests was 37, with 3 centuries and 4 fifties - zeke, are you saying he's no good as well????

Originally posted by P76
Yes, zeke we have considered it, and we know that he did / does have what it takes.

Certainly better than the BNG, bit behind Haydo though

You are delusional.

And I bet you thought you were conceding ground by admitting that Elliot is a 'bit behind Hayden though".

To this stage of their careers, he's not even on the same planet as Langer, and to even include him in the same sentence as Hayden is going too far. Why? Because he is playing shield cricket only.

Jezus, every state has parochial support on here, but there are a couple of victorians who have delusions of grandeur approaching stupidity.

elliot blacklisting - theories please