Opinion Elliot Yeo to the midfield

He's already better than Masten.

Just need Gaff to get some confidence and pick up where he left off at the end of 2012, and with Shuey and hopefully another gain in free agency our midfield is looking better. Not to mention Sheed will be all the better for another pre-season.

Not really fair on masten - masten is tiny - yeos a big boy

We got spoiled by having kerr in the team - we assume because mighty mouse could hammer guys like baz and gehrig that all small blokes are the same

They arent

yup pound for pound kerr was one of the strongest players Ive ever seen.

How can this kid get to every contest and compete like a bulldog , but players like Shuey , Masten drag their feet, shits me.

I was at Launceston and watched the contests intently.

9 times out of ten Priddis is at the bottom of the pack and the others are hanging back. Selwood gets in there a bit.

Lots of our mids are averse to getting their hands dirty.

I'm really surprised Masten doesn't do this (AT ALL) because he was touted as a great inside mid when we drafted him. Wasn't he feeding a lot of the pill to Palmer in the u/18s?

Not really fair on masten - masten is tiny - yeos a big boy

We got spoiled by having kerr in the team - we assume because mighty mouse could hammer guys like baz and gehrig that all small blokes are the same

They arent
fair - masten is tiny - that's toe point soft, tiny and no composure.
Its not fair - it is just a fact

9 times out of ten Priddis is at the bottom of the pack and the others are hanging back. Selwood gets in there a bit.

I'm really surprised Masten doesn't do this (AT ALL) because he was touted as a great inside mid when we drafted him. Wasn't he feeding a lot of the pill to Palmer in the u/18s?
masten was touted by his godfatrher who recruited him. just another pretty schoolboy mid recruited by woodhouse.

Unless they are playing to old instructions still, habits do take a while to change.

That said, at most footy clubs there is a premium on keeping your feet at a stoppage. If one player is on the ground fighting for the ball, you are putting yourself at a disadvantage with 2 rolling around because that usually means the opposition has one more player than you ready to run off into space.

Our players may be misinterpreting that instruction, or our structure is rigidly based around Priddis being the one on the ground, but who knows?

You want priddis on the ground with one or preferably two players with him - negates his leg speed issues - if he has two players on the ground with him then it creates a mismatch

If you are going to play priddis its playing to his strengths - which is ripping a ball out of a pack - he is second to none in the league at this

If only we could give him transplanted dalziell legs or something -

www.pixelpac.com.au

Don't use Mastens size as an excuse. It's his hunger that is the problem. You don't need to be a huge bodied mid to hunt the football, you just need to grow a set of testicles and actually go get it. Mcglynn is 171cm, Bird 179cm, Hannebery 181cm, Parker 183cm, Dahlhaus 178cm Masten has no excuse.

It's not just him though. It's kind of sad when you can see how immediately fond of Yeo everybody has become in only a handful of games being rotated through the guts. Compared to the likes of Shuey, Masten and Selwood that have lived in there for the past few seasons yet show a fraction of the hunger and strength in the contest that Yeo does.

I though Mastens game against pies was impressive, his lateral movement was Awesome the pies couldn't land a finger on him ! then he pulls up tight ! I think he doesn't have confidence in his hamstrings and it shows in some games

how we going now boys still want to get rid of priddis ???he keeps us in the game , i reckon trade Masten and Gaff and Shuey needs to get dinkum as well

Masten and gaff are too easily pushed out of the way,need to strengthen up or ship out , i beleive Yarran is on his way back over next year could be a potential trade for one of them

Yarran signed a new deal during the week

Opinion Elliot Yeo to the midfield