Analysis Elliot Yeo?

I think he needs to be sent back to the WAFL and played as a full time inside midfielder. See if he can prove he can pull big numbers consistently and give him a kick up the bum that he needs to play with real hunger. He can't keep getting games in the hope he will turn flashes of brilliance into a consistent game because right now, the way he flashes in and out of the game and struggles away from home epitomises where we are at right now. There are other players in the same boat too.

It was the same story last year - where should he be played? Does he need that consistency?

I flip-flop on his role so much. I think MID-FWD is my preference right now, though yesterday without Guv I could definitely see a case for down back. Let's not turn him into Staker shall we.
I thought we should have used him to lock down stringer forward and mid but the stupid Web doesn't allow for that .

Looked pretty good against hawthorn in that prelim.

Hes Got the goods - he gets played all over the shop which doesnt help - his position is as a defensive mid
we don't seem to be using him in the midfield apart from tagging fyfe this year and probably his best game .
He doesn't look like he has improved his running capacity so maybe that is why .

Looked pretty good against hawthorn in that prelim.

Hes Got the goods - he gets played all over the shop which doesnt help - his position is as a defensive mid
A defensive mid?? Hell no. He's shown he can take marks, kick goals and break away from contests. I get that his ball winning ability may have dropped this year and if he cant get it back I'd much rather play him off HB or HF than as a defensive mid.

There's a reason your Cornes, Selwoods, Crowleys etc are your defensive mids

A defensive mid?? Hell no. He's shown he can take marks, kick goals and break away from contests. I get that his ball winning ability may have dropped this year and if he cant get it back I'd much rather play him off HB or HF than as a defensive mid.

There's a reason your Cornes, Selwoods, Crowleys etc are your defensive mids

Yeah well i was thinking of ling.....

Yeo has the attributes but not the footy iq - playing on a champ brings him to where the ball is.

Yeah well i was thinking of ling.....

Yeo has the attributes but not the footy iq - playing on a champ brings him to where the ball is.
Again, Ling could never dispose further than 40m, couldnt take a mark, had no speed, rarely kicked goals. Yeos place isnt as a defensive mid. If he cant make himself a midfielder its half forward or half back

I think he needs to be sent back to the WAFL and played as a full time inside midfielder. See if he can prove he can pull big numbers consistently and give him a kick up the bum that he needs to play with real hunger. He can't keep getting games in the hope he will turn flashes of brilliance into a consistent game because right now, the way he flashes in and out of the game and struggles away from home epitomises where we are at right now. There are other players in the same boat too.
Where are we going with this. Yeo played OK yesterday and got a couple of goals and gave a very good one off. He chased and put pressure on and did his bit but was in the forward line a lot of the time and the ball didn't come to him. In short, he is not playing as well as he can but it will come. In contrast several of his team mates played atrocious games. You can forgive Kennedy as he had a rare shocker but Gaff turned the ball over several times and it cost the team badly. Hutchings fumbled and farted around and not only played little part but for a mid, hardly saw the ball. In addition, he gave away a shocking free kick just when we were coming back in the last. He did get a goal but it was from a very lucky bounce which was fortunate as he ignored a teammate to the right of him in the clear to throw the ball on his boot.
Darling and Schofield fumbled a bit but still did some good things as did Cripps. Cripps however is in the same league as Gaff in that he butchers the ball which costs the team. Redden was hardly sighted and that miss was just schoolboy stuff but he did tackle and probably had a specific role to perform. Duggan was out of the game until the last quarter and you simply can't miss goals like he does or he gets out until he learns to kick them. He is still inexperienced though so any action should be to help rather than punish. Nic Nat played OK in the ruck but couldn't hold marks. Shepherd is another who didn't hold marks and he still turns the ball over under no pressure. I still contend that Priddis is far too slow and far too unskilled to be in a side wanting to win a GF at the MCG but he did nothing wrong yesterday as he just threw himself at the ball and at tackles. He is not the person to be directing the taps to however and that is what happened on most occasions.
There is always a bit of luck involved in these games and the Bulldogs got away with quite a few HTB and push in the back decisions but that is the game. Fact is they should have won by more. Mind you, Etihad is just as much an advantage to them as Domain is to us so the end result wasn't too bad.
The only way WCE can improve is to work together more and develop as a team. There needs to be changes from time to time but you don't drop class players because they haven't reached their potential and keep players who play worse but have little potential.
By the way, anyone who blames Masten for the loss needs their head read. He presented all day and kicked well unless under severe pressure. If not for him, the Eagles would have struggled to get out of defence into attack.
It's nice to watch the recorded game without emotion and with the benefit of replay whenever you wish. Some things just become more obvious.

we already have two threads on yeo up. it seems like every time we make threas on underperforming players. its just easier finding and commenting on the previous threads.

I get the impression that he is a bit of a show pony who finds the social media lens more than the football. More footy and less pout mate. To boot he is one of a few Eagles that have gone backwards from last year. That in itself doesn't auger well. He needs to find something or will be left on the outer

Club is just using him incorrectly. He isn't ready for a full time spot in the middle. Play him up froward or off the HBF/BP (as he did at the Lions) for a whole season. Give the kid a chance to get some confidence.

Named at HB, Wellingham moved to the wing. Could be a really good move, Wellingham might be ready for that spot?

I'd rather they swapped personally. Reckon Yeo could be better utilised on a wing where he has a bit more space and can present as a marking option (Gaff and Masten don't offer much in that regard).

I also like him as a half back. Reckon Yeo should be either HBF or Wing

I'd rather they swapped personally. Reckon Yeo could be better utilised on a wing where he has a bit more space and can present as a marking option (Gaff and Masten don't offer much in that regard).

Seems like they're trying to get more run/quicker ball movement from the wings.

Wellingham doesn't mind breaking a line, and is a pretty good kick. I think it's a good decision.

I don't think Yeo is thattt suited to the wing, to be honest. I think that was shown when he got towelled by Stringer..

Dont think yeo's gonna be a consistent performer on a wing, midfield and hb till his tank improves. I personally prefer him in the current HF/mid role. Last week he wasnt awesome but probably his best away game this season. He really adds another dimension to our forward line. Unfortunantly he is one of many players for us this season out of form and i think playing him all over the ground wont help.

Agree Wellingham has played midfield

Elliot yeo hasn't got the gut running ability nor great disposal

Wellingham is quicker, has ball sense and has good foot skills

People have short memories.

Wellingham is playing the best football of his career off half back because he's able to get behind the play and go straight at the footy, doesn't have the nous to rack it up in the midfield.

Wish he'd start smashing blokes a bit more often again.. Think he saves all the aggression for home games lol..
Agree with others that his best position for now is down back..

I remember commenting before the start of the season that in one of EY's press conferences he seemed almost resigned to the fact that it's very hard to make a GF and that he gave of the vibe the Eagles missed out on a opportunity they may never get again. Whilst I understood he was being realistic I drew a parallel between Benny C's speech after we lost 05, where he quoted we'd be back next year and was generally inspiring.

Elliot Yeo seems to be playing in the same manner as that press conference. Looks like a shadow of the player he was at times last year. I was at the Dogs game and he was just so fumbly and I can barely remember the last time he took a contested mark.

Where is he at and what has happened to him?

Edit: Just disclosing I think he is gun and do think he'll regain form

Stats say otherwise.

with redden in the team hes hardly playing in the centre - more in the forward line on a flank.

and you are saying he isnt having the same impact eh?

Last year he played limited time in the centre square. Additionally undoubtedly his stats and effectiveness had a major drop from about 3/4 of the way through last season. I can guarantee for the first half of the season last year he had far more presence around the ground then he has this year. Plus at his age you expect him to improve on last year not remain steady or go backwards.

He played heaps more in the middle last year than this

Any stats to back that up? Just curious because I can't find anywhere which breaks down positional percentage time? Not saying you are wrong but I don't necessarily agree and can't find anywhere to verify

Analysis Elliot Yeo?