Autopsy Embarrassing Dogs smashed by Collingwood

• Thread starter Thread starter ossie_21

Hate to be a forward in our side at anytime but tonight would have been a huge nightmare.

22 inside 50's along with our usual butchering the ball doesn't do any forwards confidence any good.

Not sure what I would be thinking tonight if I was Bruce.

There shouldn't be any criticism on our forwards. The lack and qualities of entries was shocking and we should be surprised they managed as much as they did. Midfield lost this for us, and our defence isn't as good enough to recover. If we're committed to Naughton forward then we need to stock up on quality key defenders. They're the key for any premiership contender.

If I’m being honest, I don’t think we as Big Footy could’ve made any difference by way of team selection.

We pencilled in the Bont for the Brownlow after one pre-season game, but he was far off the votes tonight.

We bemoaned McLean & Schache from their pre-season matches yet now want them back in?

We often criticise Daniel’s ball use yet he was the more silky of our players tonight.

We said this team tonight was too tall but the Pies’ seemed to still outmark us all around the ground.

We let rip into Essendon during the trade period because we finally owned it.

Give Bevo a break. I bet he wasn’t expecting this performance. And I bet the players didn’t expect it either. Maybe Bevo thought the team we all believed was on the rise would also help lift Gardner?

It’s one game. An awful game, yes, but one game. The first half of the season last year was bleak but look at our second half. Things can change quickly. I don’t think we’ll see all 17 games. No Premier will be crowned. In the annals of history, no one will remember any of the games played this year. It will simply remembered as the year COVID-19 made us realise how vulnerable humankind is.

The last 3 times V Pies, Grundy 3 votes. That has to fall on Bevo and the coaches/match committee
We haven't brought any new personnel with fresh ideas to the coaching group or match committee for some time. How can we expect change if we keep the coaching lineup the same?

Not that it matters, but how clever of the AFL to keep the roof open, because that will stop the virus spreading 🤣🤣🤣🤣

Aha.

Here is the truly damning stat mate:

View attachment 843734

Tonight's Bulldog tally of 22 x inside 50's, was the 4th worst result in recorded history.
Whilst I don't disagree with you that we were terrible, remember the gametime is 20% shorter. Adjusting for that (x20/16=27.5) it wasn't in the bottom 20 recorded.

Not that this really proves anything, it was a shocking performance. Felt like they didn't expect or want to be there which is no excuse.

We haven't brought any new personnel with fresh ideas to the coaching group or match committee for some time. How can we expect change if we keep the coaching lineup the same?

their idea of fresh is playing musical chairs and rotating the same people into a different role

Well at least we saw a Bulldogs premiership before we all die soon.

FMD that performance was absolutely covid.

How about that Ryan Gardner bloke ? 😂

Not that it matters, but how clever of the AFL to keep the roof open, because that will stop the virus spreading 🤣🤣🤣🤣
It gets around the lower limit which would apply on the number of people who can gather in an indoor venue compared to the number who can gather in an outdoor venue (500).

Apparently there are just over 400 people involved in running and broadcasting a game of AFL.

The last 3 times V Pies, Grundy 3 votes. That has to fall on Bevo and the coaches/match committee
Yes - key problem. I guess the just want to keep faith with English, which mostly works well but not v Grundy. Looks like he just doesnt have any confidence against him, though he improved a little after half time. I doubt any of the alternatives would have done much better but would be interesting to try them.
When Trenners was playing people were calling for him to be dropped and Sweet maybe not up to it yet?? - and we haven't gone with two ruckmen for ages

Yes - key problem. I guess the just want to keep faith with English, which mostly works well but not v Grundy. Looks like he just doesnt have any confidence against him, though he improved a little after half time. I doubt any of the alternatives would have done much better but would be interesting to try them.
When Trenners was playing people were calling for him to be dropped and Sweet maybe not up to it yet?? - and we haven't gone with two ruckmen for ages

Sweet on the bench might have been good. They play a very different game and it might have been good to switch back and forth between them.

Couldn't have been any worse than what English was able to achieve against Grundy tonight.

If I’m being honest, I don’t think we as Big Footy could’ve made any difference by way of team selection.

We pencilled in the Bont for the Brownlow after one pre-season game, but he was far off the votes tonight.

We bemoaned McLean & Schache from their pre-season matches yet now want them back in?

We often criticise Daniel’s ball use yet he was the more silky of our players tonight.

We said this team tonight was too tall but the Pies’ seemed to still outmark us all around the ground.

We let rip into Essendon during the trade period because we finally owned it.

Give Bevo a break. I bet he wasn’t expecting this performance. And I bet the players didn’t expect it either. Maybe Bevo thought the team we all believed was on the rise would also help lift Gardner?

It’s one game. An awful game, yes, but one game. The first half of the season last year was bleak but look at our second half. Things can change quickly. I don’t think we’ll see all 17 games. No Premier will be crowned. In the annals of history, no one will remember any of the games played this year. It will simply remembered as the year COVID-19 made us realise how vulnerable humankind is.
Spot on

We can rightly criticise the players but they weren't the only ones who weren't switched on. We on BF didn't even have the composure to start a Match Day thread. When was the last time that happened?

At quarter time Collingwood had nearly enough on the board to win the game, 5.2 32. It took us until the final quarter to beat that.

This was like so many of the floggings I got so inured to a few decades ago (shudder). Without the crowd it just looked like a circle work session for the Pies.

We'll see in the next few weeks (if the season lasts that long) what Bont is made of and whether he's ready for captaincy. He's going to cop heaps in the media. He doesn't just have to lift his own game, he also has to show leadership and somehow lift a side that's physically and mentally down.

He and the players and the coaching staff need to recognise that they have just blown a fantastic opportunity to show we deserve the big stage and the big matches. Good luck trying to build any public momentum this season.

I think both Buckley and Bevo were stunned at how uncompetitive we were. Weird, low key press conferences.
As bad as we were, Collingwood were very good. They'll give it a shake this year.