Embley gone? *OLD THREAD FROM 2002, Have a Laugh*

Originally posted by GoEagles
Channel Seven had another 'dirt' story on Embley tonight. And I thought Seven were one of our sponsors?

Basically the weeping bloke made a formal statement to police yesterday and that tomorrow the police would speak to Andrew Embley.

Going to be interesting to see exactly how much dirt the police get and if they choose to press charges. I think Embley is in a bit of trouble quite frankly.

Originally posted by Thrawn666
I reckon Port just saw and heard what Embley can do in a pub and want him around for the next time they meet up with the Crows in any of the establishments on Adelaide :D

:D He would come in handy...interesting news though that the police will speak to him.

I'll actually be dissapointed if he doesn't get traded.

I'm looking forward to getting rid of him after this crap.

Originally posted by ozzult
I'll actually be dissapointed if he doesn't get traded.

I'm looking forward to getting rid of him after this crap.

Hear Hear; its time to start cleaning out the trash - the reputation of the club has taken a huge battering over the past couple of seasons

Originally posted by vicki
Chad Cornes is also one of my favourite players that's why I asked Porthos. Well, no harm in trying.
Porthos - How about Andrew Embley, Quinten Lynch (can't get much larger than that) and 2nd round pick? That way you get two forwards and a draft pick.
To get Chad Cornes, you would have to look at whatever you'd reckon Brisbane would take for Headland just to start with. A 2nd round pick in a weak draft, an erratic half forward with discipline problems, and a bloke fresh off the rookie list that started well but got found out during the year for one of Port's best finals player, 3rd highest contested mark taker in the league, and vital key forward is really a joke.

Originally posted by Thrawn666
I reckon Port just saw and heard what Embley can do in a pub and want him around for the next time they meet up with the Crows in any of the establishments on Adelaide :D

from the look of where that other bloke copped most of it... I would guess that Embley is probably a southpaw. Very handy for an all in donnybrook...

Firstly Embley, as far as I know, cannot get traded unitil next year, we can only delist him or keep him on our list. To delist him would be a waste hence he will most likely stay on our list.

If he remains on our list then he should still get a game, regardless of this off field problem, as he is still one of the top players on our list and earlier this week most of the posters here were singing his praises. He may well be a tool but the club IMO cannot give up on him.

It is too easy to say this guy is too much of a headcase get rid off him. The problem with this attitude is that both the club and the player lose. The player looses because he has to move away from his mates and the people he cares for whilst the club loses because its forced to trade on of the games genuinley talented players. I know that htere is an argument that says well trading him may be the best thing for him and the club, however I genuinly do not subscribe to that argument in this case. For one he is not desruptive within the team, its more when he is out on his own that problems arise. Lets also note that he is not undisciplined within the team environment, just within his social environment.

Therfore in my opinion, and remember he is still 22, the club needs to assist him and counsell him, even provide him a mentor, someone that can advise him on what is appropriate behaviour.You may say that why do the rest of the people within the population do not need nursing maids, well lets not forget that young football players are in a unique situation, ie they go from nobodies to superstars within a very short time span and in lots of cases they do not adjust quickly enough to the additional responsibility and pressures that they are faced with.

Personally I do genuinly subscribe to the approach that Carlton has taken with Angwin, ie rather then discard hi tehy work with him and try and transform him into a better member of society and not just a better footy player.

This is just my opinion and based on what other people have said within this post I am definately on the outer, but I do believe that Embley needs help and not to be discarded.

Originally posted by no1bankteller
Firstly Embley, as far as I know, cannot get traded unitil next year, we can only delist him or keep him on our list. To delist him would be a waste hence he will most likely stay on our list.

If he remains on our list then he should still get a game, regardless of this off field problem, as he is still one of the top players on our list and earlier this week most of the posters here were singing his praises. He may well be a tool but the club IMO cannot give up on him.

It is too easy to say this guy is too much of a headcase get rid off him. The problem with this attitude is that both the club and the player lose. The player looses because he has to move away from his mates and the people he cares for whilst the club loses because its forced to trade on of the games genuinley talented players. I know that htere is an argument that says well trading him may be the best thing for him and the club, however I genuinly do not subscribe to that argument in this case. For one he is not desruptive within the team, its more when he is out on his own that problems arise. Lets also note that he is not undisciplined within the team environment, just within his social environment.

Therfore in my opinion, and remember he is still 22, the club needs to assist him and counsell him, even provide him a mentor, someone that can advise him on what is appropriate behaviour.You may say that why do the rest of the people within the population do not need nursing maids, well lets not forget that young football players are in a unique situation, ie they go from nobodies to superstars within a very short time span and in lots of cases they do not adjust quickly enough to the additional responsibility and pressures that they are faced with.

Personally I do genuinly subscribe to the approach that Carlton has taken with Angwin, ie rather then discard hi tehy work with him and try and transform him into a better member of society and not just a better footy player.

This is just my opinion and based on what other people have said within this post I am definately on the outer, but I do believe that Embley needs help and not to be discarded.

psssst....

mate....

this is a topic from 2002 that was brought back to the front again...

We'll hang on to him these days no question. :D

Originally posted by Black JuJu
psssst....

mate....

He's been locked in the vault for too long. ;)

Originally posted by Black JuJu
psssst....

mate....

Ooops my f... up....

ahh well my point still stands...lol....

But I am sure that everybody on this post would be more aggressive in defending the young man these days as I did. The question I guess is what would I have done last year...mhhh Well I guess I will never know..lol

:D :D :D
droll.

Actually, no1, if someone were to suggest delisting Embley now, I'd think the majority of the board would be a lot more voracious than you in defending him.

Originally posted by Mead
Actually, no1, if someone were to suggest delisting Embley now, I'd think the majority of the board would be a lot more voracious than you in defending him.

Too bloody right. If you suggested trading (or god forbid delisting) Embley now you'd be hung, drawn and quartered. Twice over if it could be managed.

I just wonder what Porthos would be prepared to trade for Embley today :D

Originally posted by daddy_4_eyes
Fantastic thread, capped off by the goof up of the week. Nice one no1 :D

Goof up of the week you think....personally I would say that it was a goof up of the month...come on give credit where credit is due...

:D :D :D

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Originally posted by ONE EYE
Channel 7 News tonignt said that Port Power are interested in Embley. I would rather keep Embley but I would be interested in seeing if Josh Carr or Dominiv Cassisi were interested in coming home.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA
HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA

Yours,
Porthos

Actually this was the best bit.... I wonder if Porthos would be laughing at the possibility of swapping Domenic Cassisi for Andrew Embley now :D

Originally posted by Frodo
The point is that same "bagging threads" are occurring again. I hope the Kane Munro thread comes back to haunt the detracters in a years time, like this one.

I hope you're right. If Munro does an Embley I would be over the moon.

I just don't think that there's any chance that he will.