Employment & Career Guidance: In Honor Reykjavik 2015

Until very recently I was employed as a Business Intelligence Analyst specialising in SAP Business Objects but unfortunately my employer has fallen on tougher times and is restructuring. I am now unemployed and trying to find my place again in the world. My head is all over the place right now because there is not a lot of call for mid-fifties aged IT specialists right now although potentially I could go back to consulting which I did for many years dealing with companies like BHP Billiton and Fosters Group but consulting is probably not a great option for someone my age. Unfortunately, with consulting comes numerous job changes and as I get closer to retirement age the opportunities will likely become more and more scarce. I'm really not sure what I'm going to do now but I'm looking for something a little simpler and less demanding. Perhaps I will start my own business and it may even be something like a Jim's franchise but getting my head around such a change is proving to be very difficult. Time will tell I guess.
Hi PNS - I'm a habitual watcher of employment opportunities everywhere. Strange enough I'm happy in my current role and will be happier when I actually relocate back to Darwin to be imbedded with the company again rather than working away from home, but anyway, I had a little to do with SAP when we rolled it out into a company I worked for a few years ago that was bought by Serco.

Anyway, long story and jibber about nothing, but I do notice a lot of SAP jobs advertised. Seems it's becoming a pretty popular system for companies here in Australia. Here's one advertised today in Melbourne that might interest you and good luck with whatever you choose to do.

upload_2015-7-16_10-22-50.png

This applies everywhere I think. I had a similar experience with what started out as getting my eyes checked, and ending up with an exclusion on my Income Protection with regards to my eyes. Bottom line is there is nothing wrong with them. Being self-employed after this experience, I am very very selective of when and if I ever go to the Doctor

I have exclusions for a range of generally banal conditions, mainly because I had a few things checked out at the doctor, treated, and all good! The conditions remain on your medical record, and being an honest person, I disclosed everything - EVERYTHING - to the insurers when applying for income protection. The one that really grates is a back problem I had in 2000, and which I have not had since, due to my mum being in a wheel chair at the time and me being one of her carers, which involved lifting. Yep, 15 years ago, but if I get a new back problem I have no incomce protection. Wonder if its all worth it TBH. The insurance premiums are staggering.

Agree 100% - my premiums for both my wife and I which included IP, Life Insurance and TPD was over $10k and that was through a friend of ours who was a broker.

We had a range of exlusions but I was furious about having mental illness placed against mine for telling the doctor I was feeling tired and run down during a heavy period of work when they weren't concerned one bit about my operational deployments with Defence. I was fuming on this and actually switched my policy.

I'm like you VP, try to be honest but am always second guessing myself whether I should be or not. The nurse who came to take bloods from me who worked for the insurance company actually told me to be very careful what I tell my doctor. If you can't be honest with your GP for fear of financial repercussions than we are already failing somewhere.

Bit of a random thought but stick with me. I watched a documentary recently on a retirement home in Italy, the Casa Verdi, which was paid for by Giuseppe Verdi to cater exclusively for aged and retired opera performers.

So instead of a random bunch of retirees with varied interests sitting around withering away and doing the hokey-pokey (the cultural equivalent of elevator music - intended to be offensive to none but uninteresting to all) they are all actively involved in continuing to do what they loved in life with great independence, vitality and dignity. The very specificity of that place I think is amazing and I reckon such themed retirement homes should be rolled out everywhere (those interested in music, sport, writing/art, gardening etc) but that's for another conversation perhaps.

Regarding employment/interests, it's difficult sometimes to find like-minded people to collaborate with. I reckon this thread has shown that there is a cross-pollination of interests. Young Bard the bard for example is studying film at Swinburne and yours truly screenwriting/doco at RMIT. There appear to be a heap of project managers, IT people, scientists and the like as well.

Maybe we can set-up some threads in the nest based on joint interests/projects/job opportunities/training/networking opportunities. So for example, 'the writing thread' or 'the Project Management thread' where interested folk can post upcoming events, seminars, industry tricks, contacts or projects that people might want to get off the ground.

We all love Collingwood but it would be good if we can truly be 'side by side' and help a brother or sister out as Reyk clearly did with others. It might also take some heat out of discussions on footy matters and civilise the board a bit.

What do people think?

I'm a "Screw" and a good one at that I must add.....but my advice 2 you all is don't end up where I work lol

Great idea with this thread though and the ideas and effort that people are putting into it.

In your Swedish social policy learnings, did you discover why swedish women are so hot?
Swedish (and Scandinavian women in general) tend to be amazing in the looks department due to the actions of the Vikings. In addition to the standard pillaging/looting/invading, they would select the most beautiful women they would come across, and then take them back home to spawn their children. As a result, over time Scandinavians by and large became one of the best looking races on earth.

I started out getting my eyes tested. I knew they were fine but my wife and her mum kept at me to do it for some reason so it was easier just to go along and do it. Initially the guy said he thought he could see some sort of spot in the back of my eye and suggested I go to a specialist to get a proper look at it. Did that. Next step the specialist said he could see something and sent me for an angiogram. After that I got booked in to do an MRI on my brain, spine and abdomen. Starting to worry at this point. Go back to the GP for the results and he says its all good. I'm now just thinking I was put on the roundabout and getting passed around between all the diffent Dr's. A few week later the GP rings me and says he wants me to have another brain scan as there was something he thought he saw on a second look. Hmm, not good. So along I go with my wallet, again, and have another brain scan. After a while I hadn't heard anything so I ring the Doc. "Nah mate, its all good"

Thought nothing of it apart from getting the feeling that I'd been fleeced at bit. Until the Icome Protection gets looked at and all of a sudden I have an exclusion for my eyes, which are bloody fine. They are red hot with the exclusions bit still happy to take massive premiums. Its a big spend for me and there are times when I think the extra $7K or so could be better spent. I keep paying it because I don't want to be the dill who stops paying and 3 weeks later falls off a roof:rolleyes:

Bit of a random thought but stick with me. I watched a documentary recently on a retirement home in Italy, the Casa Verdi, which was paid for by Giuseppe Verdi to cater exclusively for aged and retired opera performers.

So instead of a random bunch of retirees with varied interests sitting around withering away and doing the hokey-pokey (the cultural equivalent of elevator music - intended to be offensive to none but uninteresting to all) they are all actively involved in continuing to do what they loved in life with great independence, vitality and dignity. The very specificity of that place I think is amazing and I reckon such themed retirement homes should be rolled out everywhere (those interested in music, sport, writing/art, gardening etc) but that's for another conversation perhaps.

Regarding employment/interests, it's difficult sometimes to find like-minded people to collaborate with. I reckon this thread has shown that there is a cross-pollination of interests. Young Bard the bard for example is studying film at Swinburne and yours truly screenwriting/doco at RMIT. There appear to be a heap of project managers, IT people, scientists and the like as well.

Maybe we can set-up some threads in the nest based on joint interests/projects/job opportunities/training/networking opportunities. So for example, 'the writing thread' or 'the Project Management thread' where interested folk can post upcoming events, seminars, industry tricks, contacts or projects that people might want to get off the ground.

We all love Collingwood but it would be good if we can truly be 'side by side' and help a brother or sister out as Reyk clearly did with others. It might also take some heat out of discussions on footy matters and civilise the board a bit.

What do people think?

Terrific idea re the specific professional threads in the Nest.

You also nailed it regarding themed retirement homes: one for Collingwood supporters only! Where do I sign up (although a while off yet:oops:)?

Then again, if the residents reflected the broad spectrum of views we have on here, it would be a rowdy place.:rolleyes:

Swedish (and Scandinavian women in general) tend to be amazing in the looks department due to the actions of the Vikings. In addition to the standard pillaging/looting/invading, they would select the most beautiful women's they would come across, and then take them back home to spawn their children. As a result, over time Scandinavians by and large became one of the best looking races on earth.
Hmmm - Old Spice and wednesdaywarrior are the history experts here, is there any truth to this? :rolleyes: I started researching and googling/oogling Swedish women but I'll be in more s**t than Flash Gordon if my lovely wife goes through my browsing history!

Bean counters.

I've not got private health insurance for such reasons. Reckon it's a massive con-job. Insurers don't go into the business to bleed money but to make money and these tricks of the trade show how they do it. Things you're most likely to need money for become excluded based on you medical record or your premiums go up.

My two daughters were born via the public system where there was no pressure to push the baby out and where we had a room to ourselves. No clock on it and a push for Cesareans.

I like a system where the patient comes 1st, not the doctors golf schedule. Universal healthcare is much more efficient and cost effective than the US private system.

Terrific idea re the specific professional threads in the Nest.

You also nailed it regarding themed retirement homes: one for Collingwood supporters only! Where do I sign up (although a while off yet:oops:)?

Then again, if the residents reflected the broad spectrum of views we have on here, it would be a rowdy place.:rolleyes:
Promise me that if they mix my retirement home up that you'll all put me out of my misery very quickly! I don't want to end up here

upload_2015-7-16_14-15-32.png

Hmmm - Old Spice and wednesdaywarrior are the history experts here, is there any truth to this? :rolleyes: I started researching and googling/oogling Swedish women but I'll be in more s**t than Flash Gordon if my lovely wife goes through my browsing history!

If mercenary behaviour was the basis for good looks in history, we'd all be hunks and honey-pies by this stage.

We might need to bring in the scientists Sicarius ppoiter at this point to explain the massive genetic variance at work in the gene pool.

Dear Mr NT.Thunder, you have to learn the most important function on your computer -- "DELETE HISTORY".

That is all.

I'm currently in year 12 and am thinking of doing architecture in uni to become an architect. Does anyone have any experience with this. Apparently there's not much work in architecture but that seems the same for every line of work.

If mercenary behaviour was the basis for good looks in history, we'd all be hunks and honey-pies by this stage.

We might need to bring in the scientists Sicarius ppoiter at this point to explain the massive genetic variance at work in the gene pool.
Sorry spiceman Im not that kind of nerd, although I do remember reading somewhere that theres more genetic variation in a group of 150-odd chimps than the entire human race. We really do exist in quite a small, shallow gene pool

Hi Guys,

I'm the State Manager (WA) of a Freight Forwarding & Customs Broker, so if anyone has any queries about Importing or Exporting feel free to drop me a line.
Can handle shipments into our out of any port / airport in Australia and worldwide...

Been in the industry for over 15 years. Started at the bottom as a courier driver, and have worked my way up without tertiary edumaction...

Other hobbies / interests in case people want to know about them.

I was in the Air Force Cadets (a.k.a. AIRTC) for 7 years as a cadet reaching the top rank of CUO and then a further 5 as a staff member as an LAC(AAFC).
Was a group leader at my local scouts back in Victoria.

So happy to answer any q's about these too.

Hi Guys,

I'm the State Manager (WA) of a Freight Forwarding & Customs Broker, so if anyone has any queries about Importing or Exporting feel free to drop me a line.
Can handle shipments into our out of any port / airport in Australia and worldwide...

Been in the industry for over 15 years. Started at the bottom as a courier driver, and have worked my way up without tertiary edumaction...

Other hobbies / interests in case people want to know about them.

I was in the Air Force Cadets (a.k.a. AIRTC) for 7 years as a cadet reaching the top rank of CUO and then a further 5 as a staff member as an LAC(AAFC).
Was a group leader at my local scouts back in Victoria.

So happy to answer any q's about these too.
Really could've used you a few years ago. I used to import a lot of ITAR gear from Israel for Defence, bejeepus what a headache. We were audited by ACS prior to getting any real knowledge of the ITAR requirements and classifications and didn't they give me a kick up the ass....trouble is, ACS don't know how to interpret or classify from their own policy IMO. I'd have one ACS person telling me it was ITAR or restricted item and others telling me it wasn't. Confusing game Import/Export.

I was using an agent also in Darwin who was supposed to be there to manage this sort of thing but once ACS went through us they dropped us like a bomb and wanted nothing to do with it!!!

I'm currently in year 12 and am thinking of doing architecture in uni to become an architect. Does anyone have any experience with this. Apparently there's not much work in architecture but that seems the same for every line of work.

I can give you some insights. I am not an architect, but have worked in a small-medium sized architecture practice for 15 years. My daughter is an architect, at a large and highly regarded firm in Sydney, with a national presence. My son-in-law runs his own small architecture practice in Sydney.

The bad news is that many architects work very long hours, and do not get paid as well as, for instance engineers, for equivalent years at uni and experience in the work force. The architects I know often do weekend work (no such thing as overtime). And the degree - I am familiar with the programs at Melb Uni and RMIT - is tough, and has a very high drop out rate. I've heard as many as 60-70% of students who start the course, dont finish it. But dont quote me on that, it is just anecdotal. Depending on the type of work, dealing with clients can also be tedious and demanding. In our office, we have a standing rule to never give our mobile phone numbers to clients, or our lives would be hell.:D

The good news is that it can be incredibly rewarding. Good and beautiful things are created by architects. It is a profession where you can have a positive impact on the built environment, and literally see the benefits of all your hard work.

There are also good and bad architecture practices. I have a list of the bad ones in my head.:(

I hope I haven't put you off, it is hard work, but there are upsides.

View attachment 152892

There is only one PRINCE
This man does not like!!!!

Fasolo240.jpg

I am a chemistry PhD student, although at the moment Im in the early stages of writing up and late stages of finishing off my experiments, so I wont be a student much longer. Cutting a long story short I look at the behaviour of biomolecules (proteins, antibodies,etc) at the solid-liquid interface, so theres a mixture of physical chemistry and a bit of biology there. If anyone is studying science and is thinking of continuing on and doing postgrad, I may be helpful. Not sure about what I'll be doing after I finish but after a period of reasonably heavy inebriation I suppose I'll have to look for a job. I was thinking of looking into patent law as a career so if anyone has any experience with that particular transition I'd be interested to hear from you
Are you willing to do Black Ops? If so a please contact J.Hird at the Essendon football club.

Worked as a therapeutic Psychologist (families / relationships) and most recently Organisational Psychologist.

Presently a 'home dad' as my wife has gone back to work to get her career back on track whilst I look after the kids and focus on my surfing and also coaching my kids with their surfing, cricket and footy.

Being a home dad is also the reason that despite joining BF 10 years ago, 80% of my posts have been in the last 2 years!!

You want to get your head around those new fangled computermathings would be my advice

I'm a "Screw" and a good one at that I must add.....but my advice 2 you all is don't end up where I work lol

Great idea with this thread though and the ideas and effort that people are putting into it.

If I do can you get me on library duty?