Endless Summer of Cricket

Doesn't bode well for the Ashes

Poms will have their tails up if they win Sunday

Or like most positive English experiences, they will drink their own bathwater and live off this experience for 30 years.

Like 1966 and the World Cup Of soccer.

Australia to flog them 5-0.

Anywhoo, go the Black Caps.

Or like most positive English experiences, they will drink their own bathwater and live off this experience for 30 years.

Like 1966 and the World Cup Of soccer.

Australia to flog them 5-0.

Anywhoo, go the Black Caps.
Yep test is a different prop
But we must learn from this world cup and not repeat the same selection blunders
History would suggest we shouldn't be too confident in that regard
As I said langer must be ruthless but they will rig the pitches

Sent from my SM-J730G using Tapatalk

Doesn't bode well for the Ashes

Poms will have their tails up if they win Sunday
Poms have sunk most of their efforts into ODI's rather than Tests, given the WC was on home soli.

2 different games & different sets of players.

Don't forget Ali and Rashid
Let's hope nz got one more surprise left

Ali was born in Birmingham and Rashid was born in Bradford. They are as English as they come. Stokes has lived in England since he was 10 or something.

Morgan meanwhile was born in Dublin and previously played ODIs for Ireland, but as soon as it looked like he was good enough to play for England he dropped them. Same with Jofra.

Our bowlers let us down as much as our batsmen, if not more. Cummins was one of the biggest disappointments of the tournament, Starc had a stinker and the dorf didn't look threatening at all. As for Lyon, he just isn't an ODI bowler, we severely lack a specialist ODI spinner. Even if Warner and Finch didn't get out cheaply and we made 300, it still wouldn't have been enough.

Warning signs on a brittle middle order were there right from Day 1 v Windies.

We coasted on the back of an inform top order, even then the middle squandered good starts.

The 1st we were chasing a moderate score, but collapsed. Our no11 who had barely made a run all year slapped 30 odd at the death to get us over the line by 1 wicket. Classic cricket tale but true story.
I have 2 similar experiences, from both sides of the fence.
In one game, their 9th wicket chased down 48 runs in 4 overs to win (I was bowling, copped some stick).

In the other, we were chasing 181. One of our openers made 70-odd, but we were 9/139 and I went in at #11, to join our #6 who was a 18yo kid built like Fogarty, nice young fella, talented. He said something like "Doesn't look good does it?". I said "I'll try to stick around", but thinking "Fat chance", really.
I noticed also that our blokes were packing up. In fact, our keeper had gone off to shower, not expecting anything good to happen.

Batting L-handed, I had only 2 shots --- if the ball was pitched up on leg, that was in-the-hole for me and I could hit them hard over midwicket. Dunno why, just 'felt' right. The other shot was the sweep. I'd borrowed the skipper's bat, which was a bat-shaped log, heavy. The second ball I faced was in the hole --- sweet! --- and it went over midwicket for 6.
First ball of the next over, our #6 was dropped at second slip. A couple overs later, I pushed forward and was stumped by about 4 inches, dragging my foot back too late. Umpire at square leg shook his head emphatically, NO, not out. The keeper was livid, abusing the Umpire often enough to make sure neither of us was going to be given out stumped or lbw by either umpire. That was proven true when my mate was hit full, low and plumb two overs later, yeah-nah, not out.
They brought on a leggie . On balls 2-6, I went sweep 4, sweep 4, sweep dropped at backward square which had been put there after the first two, sweep 4, then dropped again at mid-on off a mistimed sweet spot slog.
Close to the target, I actually fluked a square cut behind point which was more a sliced thick edge which spun wickedly to the left of the fielder there, for 4.
Our #6 hit the winning runs and I got out when we were 192. 53-run partnership, and both of us could have been out more than twice. #6 made most of it 31, with 2-shot-me 22 (6, 4, 4, 4, 4).
That was over 30 years ago, never forgotten it.
If we'd lost that game we'd have missed the finals and we went on to win the GF in the game I mentioned earlier.

If we can pull out an Ashes series win, would make it all the more sweeter after the English are getting all cocky in this World Cup.

One thing not mentioned so far is the fortress that is Edgbaston, we have a shocking record there.

I’ve been to a day of Ashes test cricket there and it’s certainly a different atmosphere. More akin to a soccer crowd it’s the most raucous day at the cricket you can imagine. I swear the poms get momentum from that atmosphere.

I know the Kiwis played well, but playing them at Old Trafford is a far better proposition - then the Poms at Lords.

The loss to SA was a bad one

One thing not mentioned so far is the fortress that is Edgbaston, we have a shocking record there.

I’ve been to a day of Ashes test cricket there and it’s certainly a different atmosphere. More akin to a soccer crowd it’s the most raucous day at the cricket you can imagine. I swear the poms get momentum from that atmosphere.

I know the Kiwis played well, but playing them at Old Trafford is a far better proposition - then the Poms at Lords.

The loss to SA was a bad one

The loss to SA was like us losing to West Coast at home with top 4 on the line

Yep - hate to have a crack at Carey as he’s had a wonderful series with the bat, but the routine stumping he missed off that Saffer that ended up making 90 odd, was the turning point of the WC.

Things like that happen in a game
But Maxwell and Stoinis spudded it up the whole tournament and simply should not have been picked
I think Hazelwood being Inj unsettled us from the beginning and I feared the worst when he dropped out
Why Travis Head wasn't picked and even Handscombe came in ahead of him signals serious administrative issues in our set up

Turns out giving Warner 1/3 of the tournament and infinite balls to crawl along playing himself into form and get some easy PR about his newfound maturity may not have been worth playing every other batsman out of form.
This reads as bitterness but I reckon it's a good point.
They could have mixed up the team a bit to ensure that other batsmen had some quality time in the centre eg vs Afghanistan/Bangladesh/Sri Lanka. They could have dropped one of those games and still made 3rd or 4th place depending on RR.
When's the last time Handscomb played under match conditions before facing Archer/Woakes et al?

Maxwell was selected on explosive batting potential. Top fielder, but bowling plodder. He scored 50+ in 8 of his last 49 ODI digs. 3 (!!) out of his last 27, all vs Pakistan:
Stoinis was selected out of Kumbaya-like mateship ("Beauty! he passed the fitness test; must play!"), not form (only 2 x 50+ scores in 16 digs pre-WC).
Form!! Teams have got to be picked on FORM, Cricket and Crows both.

1) Cummins was one of the biggest disappointments of the tournament,
2) Starc had a stinker
That's a bit tough, especially since the batsmen only gave them 233 to bowl at on a deck that had flattened out. RRR 4.68 was always going to be hard to defend.
1) Cummins took 14 wickets, was tenth most successful bowler for tournament. We definitely needed a third bowler to step up, though.
2) Agree, but he's allowed one bad game in ten. Pity it was in the knock-out game, for sure :'(.
1) As for Lyon, he just isn't an ODI bowler, 2) we severely lack a specialist ODI spinner.
1) Wickets were prepared to suit English pace bowlers, not other teams' spinners. VERY few spinners in the top-20 wicket-takers, none in top 10.
2) Yep. I hoped that Zampa would do it, but I reckon he froze on the big stage. He's young enough to improve for 2023. Any other young Oz spinners coming along, do you know?

Our bowlers let us down as much as our batsmen, if not more. Cummins was one of the biggest disappointments of the tournament, Starc had a stinker and the dorf didn't look threatening at all. As for Lyon, he just isn't an ODI bowler, we severely lack a specialist ODI spinner. Even if Warner and Finch didn't get out cheaply and we made 300, it still wouldn't have been enough.
Starc and Dorf couldn’t carry us all tournament, other bowlers just didn’t step up often enough. Hasn’t Starc just taken the record number of wickets for a WC with 27? Lyon was good in patches, Cummins clearly out of form but is a much better Test bowler.

Turns out giving Warner 1/3 of the tournament and infinite balls to crawl along playing himself into form and get some easy PR about his newfound maturity may not have been worth playing every other batsman out of form.
Ah, what the? We made 300+ in the majority of games off the back of him, Finch and Smith. He very rarely went under a SR of 90, which is perfectly fine for an opener. But ok, he made the middle order play terribly, bloody hell Davey!

I've been disappointed in Hazelwood in previous tours to England. Thought he'd kill it over there but has only been steady. Hasn't looked threatening or like winning us a game.

Could Pattinson overtake him?

Josh Hazlewood’s Ashes spot must be in serious doubt after his poor start to the Australia A tour of England, with James Pattinson pressing his case strongly.

While Pattinson ran amok with 7-71 in Australia A’s match against Sussex which finished yesterday, Hazlewood went wicketless and has just three wickets at 64 on this tour across three one-dayers and this four-day match.

Hazlewood is also coming off a run of poor form in Tests, taking just 21 wickets at 37 in his past seven matches. It is now 18 months since Hazlewood has looked at his best, in any format, and he is currently trying to regain rhythm and fitness after a five-month layoff due to a stress fracture in his lower back.

While I expect Hazlewood to make Australia’s Ashes squad, he now has just two four-day matches left to prove he should be in the starting XI for the first Test at Edgbaston in three weeks. Australia A play the England Lions starting this Sunday, followed by the fixture between Australia and Australia A starting on June 23.

Ah, what the? We made 300+ in the majority of games off the back of him, Finch and Smith. He very rarely went under a SR of 90, which is perfectly fine for an opener. But ok, he made the middle order play terribly, bloody hell Davey!
Top order was excellent. Middle order was the problem with only Carey reliable.

Maxwell contributed only to collapses and didn’t contribute to consolidating great starts

Some good points by all
Not convinced we rig our pitches though
Every pitch is slightly different and it is what it is
Whether some sides avoid playing in some cities is another matter